Non-Lions Footy Discussion

What's going to grate, is the common misconception that "Not guilty" = "Innocent".
Bombers fans gloating that their players, club, and golden child did nothing wrong (you know, apart from secret dodgy injections of **** knows what).
Yeah that was annoying the first time around and I am sure this time will be no different. It wasn't even 'not guilty' before was it? I thought it was just 'Insufficient evidence' which is a bit like saying we all know you did it but we can't quite prove it beyond doubt

I've never really followed the Essendon thing cause I never really cared but could someone ELI5 how Jobe Watson didn't get into any trouble when he admitted to taking that weight loss drug? And why his Brownlow wasn't stripped? I find it all terribly confusing.

The brownlow is an interesting one, as i understand it stephen Dank was James Hird's personal coach when he won his brownlow and Dank was also looking after Shane Wo Woden (bloody auto correct) when he won his. If Watson looses his on suspicion then shouldn't Hird loos his give Dank himself I thought said he was giving it to the coaching staff.

Personally I can see how WADA will let anyone off when the defence's position was - "We didn't keep records of what the players got" so fine us for being slack but you can't get us for the dope.

The brownlow is an interesting one, as i understand it stephen Dank was James Hird's personal coach when he won his brownlow and Dank was also looking after Shane Wo Woden (bloody auto correct) when he won his. If Watson looses his on suspicion then shouldn't Hird loos his give Dank himself I thought said he was giving it to the coaching staff.

Personally I can see how WADA will let anyone off when the defence's position was - "We didn't keep records of what the players got" so fine us for being slack but you can't get us for the dope.

Are you deliberately spelling ''lose' incorrectly or are you a...........

I expect the two most likely outcomes are...

1. Not guilty/insufficient evidence

or

2. Some sort of guilty verdict but with backdated suspensions resulting in no effective bans for Essendon players in the 2016 season.
It is fair to say the end result didn't quite match up with your expectations TBD. I have to say I am surprised as I expected something similar to what you thought. These bans a massive. Essendon are in serious trouble. They'll face legal issues, players will undoubtedly want out in the coming years, they will struggle to attract corporate sponsors, they'll most likely struggle to attract quality opposition players.

I dunno. It'll be a painful stretch, but they're an old club that play a lot of games at the MCG, and people have short memories. I reckon they'll be fine again in 3 or 4 years. The financial burden will be an issue, but in AFL terms I reckon they're too big to fail.

4 former lions mentioned as possible top up players for Essendon. In my opinion, it says something in that the players we've drafted/recruited have only just been under AFL standard and all players currently on our list look like very good replacements. Reaffirms my belief in our list.

Leuenberger might want to get himself on the park because he might be fighting it out with Zaharakis and one or two others for the Bombers B & F at this rate. Strange days indeed.

I don't get why the other clubs with suspended players can't sign a top-up. Why just Essendon?
The only reason top ups are allowed is to protect the *integrity (*guffaw) of the comp and other legals, requiring Essendon to field a team (at all).
12 out makes it almost impossible with a few injuries, whereas the others can afford to lose one (or 2 in the case of Port).
I don't feel too sorry for them either; this was always on the cards.
Those other clubs do get a free rookie upgrade, I believe.

The only reason top ups are allowed is to protect the *integrity (*guffaw) of the comp and other legals, requiring Essendon to field a team (at all).
12 out makes it almost impossible with a few injuries, whereas the others can afford to lose one (or 2 in the case of Port).
I don't feel too sorry for them either; this was always on the cards.
Those other clubs do get a free rookie upgrade, I believe.

Yeah, the AFL would be very worried about the implications of this for the season. Each week they'll be fielding a generous number of topups and elevated rookies as it stands. Things could look very bleak in June once injuries set in and the topups feel the impact of a shorter pre-season.

In round 13, Essendon play GWS at Etihad. If Essendon are 0-12, and it's a real possibility, who in the hell is going to go to that game?

They might also think about shifting the round 12 fixture against Hawthorn from the Friday night to another timeslot. I can't see that being a ratings bonanza.

And then there's Geelong, Gold Coast, Carlton, St Kilda and Richmond, whose season just got a little bit easier because they're drawn against the Bombers twice.

Leuenberger might want to get himself on the park because he might be fighting it out with Zaharakis and one or two others for the Bombers B & F at this rate. Strange days indeed.
BJ Goddard will win the bnf by a mile if he plays out the season

Take 11 of their best 22 out + injuries, Essendon will drop away massively as the season goes on you'd reckon. It'll be more Neeld like Demons than GC/GWS rookies however - just utterly depressing to watch.

BJ Goddard will win the bnf by a mile if he plays out the season
Odds on to spend most of the season sulking and avoiding contests. When the going gets tough, BJ does not get going.
I'm sure he'll be more than happy to provide leadership by pointing the top-ups toward the contest.

Speaking of which, I looked at the list of remaining Essendon players and Craig Bird appears to be about the closest thing they've got to an inside mid :confused:

Just our luck not to get the Bombers twice this season...

Geelong and Richmond will be laughing. Could get the Suns into the finals.

St Kilda and Carlton won't really benefit from it.

Yeah, the AFL would be very worried about the implications of this for the season. Each week they'll be fielding a generous number of topups and elevated rookies as it stands. Things could look very bleak in June once injuries set in and the topups feel the impact of a shorter pre-season.

In round 13, Essendon play GWS at Etihad. If Essendon are 0-12, and it's a real possibility, who in the hell is going to go to that game?

They might also think about shifting the round 12 fixture against Hawthorn from the Friday night to another timeslot. I can't see that being a ratings bonanza.

And then there's Geelong, Gold Coast, Carlton, St Kilda and Richmond, whose season just got a little bit easier because they're drawn against the Bombers twice.

ANZAC Day and Dreamtime at the G are going to feel like absolute nothing games.

If you check out our injury list last year, the Bombers' list of suspended players is probably going to be comparable at times. I don't see them winning heaps, but I think they could easily surprise a few teams. IMO they'll definitely be better than GWS and GC in their first couple of years.

I think our team needs as many hard games as possible
Yeah, no-one will learn anything or win respect from walloping the Bombers this year.