North announce arrangement with World Vision Australia

I assume pokies was going to be PDR's answer for non-football revenue that he was promising as part of his last Board push. Gee, how original. Flog.

I havent read through all the posts, and Im sure its been mentioned.

But it strikes me that in a limited sponsorship market we have positioned ourselves better than other clubs to garner those companies that dont want to be associated with gambling.

Good move IMO.

I would hope the AFL would not support nor publicise this group of evangelical Christians :thumbsdown:

Whilst I am neither evangelical nor Christian, I find the undercurrent to your post to be rather vile, hate filled and disturbing. If you need this explained, simply replace evangelical Christians with Jews or Homosexuals or any other historically oppressed minority and you will see why your attitude has no place in a tolerant society.

I assume pokies was going to be PDR's answer for non-football revenue that he was promising as part of his last Board push. Gee, how original. Flog.

That's what I thought too. Not much imagination going into it is there? Let's do what everyone else is doing, except that we'll probably do it worse.

Whilst I am neither evangelical nor Christian, I find the undercurrent to your post to be rather vile, hate filled and disturbing. If you need this explained, simply replace evangelical Christians with Jews or Homosexuals or any other historically oppressed minority and you will see why your attitude has no place in a tolerant society.

And assuming he did make that substitution. Would you want to align yourself with such intolerant people?

No?

So why go near an evangelical Christian organisation.

I am very disappointed with the club on this. There is nothing wrong with supporting a charity or avoiding revenue streams originating from gambling. But you have to be careful with who you do it with. While world vision does a hell of a lot of good, they are also an organisation that is actively promoting Christianity. This is not how to achieve that. We should be aiming to be a secular, non religious club. It is simply not an appropriate match.

And assuming he did make that substitution. Would you want to align yourself with such intolerant people?

No?

So why go near an evangelical Christian organisation.

I am very disappointed with the club on this. There is nothing wrong with supporting a charity or avoiding revenue streams originating from gambling. But you have to be careful with who you do it with. While world vision does a hell of a lot of good, they are also an organisation that is actively promoting Christianity. This is not how to achieve that. We should be aiming to be a secular, non religious club. It is simply not an appropriate match.

My business partner of nearing ten years is a Christian, and after nearly ten years, I'm not. How does that work? :p

In a twist, part of our business relationship has involved us supporting our respective passions over the years. In my case, the NMFC and the agenda of sustainability, the former significantly influencing our business directions. Part of his has seen him accept, with my blessing, a role on the Board of WVA!

Gotta love it! :thumbsu:

I don't know how to feel about this. Barcelona have 90,000 reserve ticket holders so they can afford to be 'sponsored' by Unicef or the Abu Dhabi foundation.

I'm not sure we are in a position to be turning our back on any potential revenue streams, ever.

No gambling revenue, no maccas drive through at Aegis park.... we are running out of options which don't include cold calling our membership database and hitting us up for cash which happened to me again today... naturally I bought two of what they were selling (@$200 a pop) but seriously this can't be the way forward.

For the record and older North people will be able to help me out with this one but aren't we a catholic club historically?

To quote Euge today "“World Vision helps more than 20 million people every year and provides critical relief, community development and addresses poverty throughout the world". Personally, I couldn't give a toss whether they're Christian, atheists, Muslim, Buddhist, gay, straight, whatever. To be chosen to partner with a group that does the above makes me very proud to be associated with our Club. And at the risk of borrowing a biblical parable, you reap what you sow, and I reckon in the long run, this partnership will cultivate much more for us than jumping on the pokie train.

For the record and older North people will be able to help me out with this one but aren't we a catholic club historically?

Yeah we are.

I can't speak for others, but my dear old Ma is a staunch Catholic but that hasn't stopped her from being a World Vision financial contributor for the last 30+ years. I'd hope peoples religious leanings (whatever they may be) would not preclude them from embracing what is essentially a good charitable organisation.

My understanding is all we've done so far is make a solid commitment to no gambling revenue, of which we making sweet **** all anyway, and possibly opened up new avenues of sponsorship and business opportunities. The goodwill generated by our image and standing in the community could receive a huge boost leading to more sponsorship partners and their $$$, blah,blah.

One door closes, one door opens, etc.

My understanding is all we've done so far is make a solid commitment to no gambling revenue, of which we making sweet **** all anyway, and possibly opened up new avenues of sponsorship and business opportunities.

One door closes, one door opens, etc.

Exactly, today's sensationalism was once again outrageous.

As much as you disagree with it, the herald sun wouldn't have got ten hits on the article if they put it your way Groggy.

The flip side is, because of their headline every football follower in the land now knows about our new partnership.

About 150 comments under that article and nearly all the reasoned sensible efforts are tipped in our favour. Massive PR win for North today.

Exactly, today's sensationalism was once again outrageous.

As much as you disagree with it, the herald sun wouldn't have got ten hits on the article if they put it your way Groggy.

The flip side is, because of their headline every football follower in the land now knows about our new partnership.

Yeah it's weird OE.

Stick the words North Melbourne Football Club in front of something and perfectly normal people turn into foam at the mouth, ranting, raving ****wits.

It would've been interesting to see what AirPlay we wouldve got had we not had the SEN membership day already in place.

Things like that article may actually be beneficial to our club.

Geez the SEN day was awesome!

Time for boner and mates to do Roosistence 2.
A rock and roll fund raiser for a club with Community Social Responsiblilty.
Not a pokie in sight. Let the music flow.
I got a feeling we'd need a bigger venue this time.

Very proud of our club for this. Have always thought that if you can't run a football club without being reliant on ripping resources out of poor communities around Melbourne thru pokies, then your football club isn't actually financially sustainable.

I thought we already got the sponsorship with Aegis because of the direction the club is going - surely this will help with the next one. And having the World Vision logo on our branding will continually remind everyone of the unique approach we're already taking.

I can see a 2013 fixture request to play a Coll/Ess on a Friday night at the G.

With a portion of the gate takings going to World Vision.

It might even become an annual event, if the AFL wants to promote the idea that the AFL supports the WorldVision organisation..
I'm tipping a renewed tilt at Good Friday footy with % of proceeds going to WVA.

Anyone?

I hope this means that as a member of North I can now adopt starving African children at a discount.

None of this 10% off garbage like with our other sponsors, either. Gimme 20% off or I'm walkin, baby.

On that note, my mate Onip pointed out to me the irony in how a mob which normally gets you to sponsor African kids is now sponsoring NMFC. He said it would be gold for the Bay but I reckon the Bay is too busy bagging the African kid which the North Board already sponsors (the North Board which isn't having a brawl, I mean. Well, the other North Board which isn't having a brawl). Is he back from suspension yet, by the way? I digress.

Anyhow, I think this is a great partnership. Wonder Woman and World Vision. If there's anything that combo can't do, I say 'make it happen, Euge'. :thumbsu:

I'm tipping a renewed tilt at Good Friday footy with % of proceeds going to WVA.

Anyone?

Good thinking, hopefully get it as an ongoing home game as Melbourne does with QB, so then we can donate a percentage each year. Im not sure WVA are really after donations from us, id like to think they're happy with us being a positive community presence. So perhaps the Good Friday appeal, a bit to the Huddle program (?) and/ or WV. One would think being endorsed by WVA and a percentage going to charity would make the game more palatable for many.

I am not sure about good friday football, I know I have my time old tradition of watching movies about who killed Jesus, the Jews or the Italians.

Stick the words North Melbourne Football Club in front of something and perfectly normal people turn into foam at the mouth, ranting, raving ****wits.

Yes it is now part of Aussie culture to kick North.

Guess the victim culture we live in now would never knock back a handout and that is where the outrage comes from.

makes a big difference to me one of the reasons I became a member was the pokie machine thing it was a big part of my spiel to couple of mates who've just moved here and they're now die hard fans. So yeah does equal money certainly didn't hinder Barcalona

North announce arrangement with World Vision Australia