Play Nice North Melbourne - 2018 and beyond

I would say he is worse
Scott's softness has infected the club from the top down
The clubs that had the coaches you posted about got rid of them.As we saw this year Scott has a job for life.
He has surrounded himself with a weak pathetic coaching panel that seems to be able to coach any skill,flair,fitness and aggression out of the playing group

It will take a decade to fix the damage done,if the club grows a pair to get rid of B Scott his entire coaching staff and match day panel

I think there’s an element of truth in this post but is highly exaggerated.
Scott handed out a lot of senior careers to his boys that were not entirely earned.
I think he was a bit different this year and has shown he’ll wield the axe - will be interesting to see how he handles the new younger guys that don’t perform.
I have overrated his assistants in the last and have been underwhelmed at how they’ve not got the best out of their units. Letting brad green go is a good thing imo.

The investment in Scott might prove ok, if he’s a guy that’s learnt from the past cycle of list rejuvenation. Throwing out his experience may have been a mistake - hopefully it isn’t a case of staying too long in the same place.

Whilst north isn’t in the strongest shape list wise I’m really surprised at the negativity directed at them currently.
There’s plenty of talent who will play better in 2018 than 2017 and the last two years have been injury ravaged.
5 wins and a strong % is not disastrous.
I think we’ll be a bottom 4-6 club in 2018, hit that 2018 draft and see the benefits from current investment out of guys like Clarke simpkin Durdin McKay EVW Wood Garner hibberd and a few others.
Not all will make it but there’s some good guys in there.

It’s a bit frustrating being an “irrelevant” club (whatever that means) that nobody watches but still having a bunch of experts rubbish the list despite not really knowing much of many of them

I think there’s an element of truth in this post but is highly exaggerated.
Scott handed out a lot of senior careers to his boys that were not entirely earned.
I think he was a bit different this year and has shown he’ll wield the axe - will be interesting to see how he handles the new younger guys that don’t perform.
I have overrated his assistants in the last and have been underwhelmed at how they’ve not got the best out of their units. Letting brad green go is a good thing imo.

The investment in Scott might prove ok, if he’s a guy that’s learnt from the past cycle of list rejuvenation. Throwing out his experience may have been a mistake - hopefully it isn’t a case of staying too long in the same place.

Whilst north isn’t in the strongest shape list wise I’m really surprised at the negativity directed at them currently.
There’s plenty of talent who will play better in 2018 than 2017 and the last two years have been injury ravaged.
5 wins and a strong % is not disastrous.
I think we’ll be a bottom 4-6 club in 2018, hit that 2018 draft and see the benefits from current investment out of guys like Clarke simpkin Durdin McKay EVW Wood Garner hibberd and a few others.
Not all will make it but there’s some good guys in there.

It’s a bit frustrating being an “irrelevant” club (whatever that means) that nobody watches but still having a bunch of experts rubbish the list despite not really knowing much of many of them

You think the most stubborn clone in the AFL can learn at the required rate?

We are talking about a guy who apparently doesn't read newspapers, or have foxtel/watch games and by accounts isolates himself in his office.

On top of this he has 2 very small children and a fetish for time consuming golf.

You wonder why he uses that passive-aggressive, bewildered face in media conferences? It's because he doesn't really give a shit and is behind the 8 ball on just about everything.

Every improvement he attempts is merely coming up to speed and even his positive traits like loyalty are questionable.

Time to let Tudor share the duties.

They are going to have some challenging years ahead no doubt. Their revenue, crowds and membership will become an issue if they aren't already. It remains to be seen what the AFL does to help North in this regard, but their presence in Tasmania is key because it's really the only point of difference they have. Wouldn't surprise me if that presence gets stronger over the next 10 years, to really hit that Tassie market hard, because they are not going to generate any growth in Victoria.

Revenue must be doing fine if north's debt has been completely eliminated.

No growth aye, except for:

Under North's proposal, its Arden St headquarters' footprint would grow from 4.5ha to 11.2ha and would be upgraded to include:

- An indoor centre with a large synthetic oval.
- A second indoor centre with four multi-use hard courts.
- An indoor aquatic centre with a 50m pool.
- An outdoor synthetic oval with lighting.
- Sports changerooms and social rooms, which could be used for AFLW and VFL games.
- A café and other shops.

The Kangaroos' plan was submitted in response to a proposed $7 billion redevelopment of an industrial pocket of North Melbourne, which will become known as Arden.

The redevelopment will stretch over 10 years and, by 2051, is forecast to bring 34,000 workers and 15,000 residents into Arden. From 2026, the precinct will be serviced by an underground railway station, which will be one stop from the CBD, western suburbs and Melbourne University (Parkville).

It became a business a long time ago. What do you think all the TV rights, contracts, agents, commentators do it for? It's the $$$.

It's not a business. It's big business.

Actually as there is no tax paid on earnings it's not a business.

Yes, they try and maximise revenue, but given the stated aim of the afl is game development it's not a business

Under North's proposal, its Arden St headquarters' footprint would grow from 4.5ha to 11.2ha and would be upgraded to include:

- Sports changerooms and social rooms, which could be used for AFLW and VFL games.

The Kangaroos' plan was submitted in response to a proposed $7 billion redevelopment of an industrial pocket of North Melbourne, which will become known as Arden.

The redevelopment will stretch over 10 years and, by 2051, is forecast to bring 34,000 workers and 15,000 residents into Arden. From 2026, the precinct will be serviced by an underground railway station, which will be one stop from the CBD, western suburbs and Melbourne University (Parkville).

Proposing all of that was free, and you're further hoping that the government will foot the bill for these plans.

There's also been a lot made of the 40k members this year 'in a poor year'. If you look back at threads from a year ago, there weren't many North supporters that believed that the cliff was real. At worst most seemed to think they'd just drop out of the 8 for a year or two. So how many delusional Kangas fans signed up before the start of the year, expecting a much better result? Where is the membership tally at now compared with 12 months ago?

North's membership only passed Melbourne's in 2012-2013, when we were absolutely terrible, so any claims that there are more North members than Melbourne is ignoring 87 of the last 92 years.

Proposing all of that was free, and you're further hoping that the government will foot the bill for these plans.

There's also been a lot made of the 40k members this year 'in a poor year'. If you look back at threads from a year ago, there weren't many North supporters that believed that the cliff was real. At worst most seemed to think they'd just drop out of the 8 for a year or two. So how many delusional Kangas fans signed up before the start of the year, expecting a much better result? Where is the membership tally at now compared with 12 months ago?

North's membership only passed Melbourne's in 2012-2013, when we were absolutely terrible, so any claims that there are more North members than Melbourne is ignoring 87 of the last 92 years.
The government forked out money to Geelong, sure, why not.

Come on Percy, we both know you wear special glasses when you read threads on North.

I never claimed North had more members than Melbourne. You've got the MCC to fall back on, which was fortunate for you guys a few years ago, as you were close to the edge without the MCC and the mere fact that you were one of the foundation clubs.

The government forked out money to Geelong, sure, why not.

Come on Percy, we both know you wear special glasses when you read threads on North.

I never claimed North had more members than Melbourne. You've got the MCC to fall back on, which was fortunate for you guys a few years ago, as you were close to the edge without the MCC and the mere fact that you were one of the foundation clubs.

Sorry, I know you didn't make any claims about members, I just couldn't be bothered starting another post.

Rumours of an Arden St stadium package in the next State Governments election pitch, it will be inncorporated into North's town planning application to seize 2 square blocks of a mixture of council and private land, including the abolishment of 2-3 current streets, part of the complete $7billion redevelopment of the Arden Precinct with the new Arden Station.

Watch this space.

I dont think its a huge issue. Your position off field isnt too bad. Posters only troll you guys on it because its so raw, and it's only raw becuase it keeps rearing its head from time to time.

You mean it keeps rearing its head monthly on the main board because the moderators allow it to.

This started as a dubious thread and turned into a troll thread when the first call to relocate to Tasmania was posted, about five posts in.

Well you're clearly not worth bothering with.

They have got a pretty decent backline and a beginning to add some midfielders like Kennedy and Lang plus whatever they draft this year. Losing Gibbs will of course set them back in the short term but you're stupid if you truly believe they are in no mans land.
13th - 2014
18th - 2015
14th - 2016
16th - 2017 plus losing Gibbs.

They are well and truly in no mans land.

I think North rather than the hapless Gold Coast may be the AFL's biggest worry going forward.

Which is why they gave us an AFLW licence ahead of Essendon and Hawthorn, because they are worried we will fold in a year or two.

Sigh.

No. We really don't.

There is an element of fair discussion with talk of relocation. There is a large element of trolling as well.

Report the latter and well whack them for you.

No you do, this bullshit has been going on for years. You've just internalized it as "normal" for BF though.

I will say one thing, Chief - I have been at this place for a while and you've invested in the tech and that really shows.

Still getting your mods from Bargain Barry's Beykoard Bashers though.

I

Hard to figure them keeping Waite

Need someone to help out Browny, the young KPFs not ready yet. Cheap for a year.

hard to figure Goldsteins demise

Had a pretty crap run off the field, still got plenty of time to recapture his form.

hard to figure not playing Pruest this year,

Not fit enough to run out games, as you could expect from a giant young player.

hard to figure not blooding Daw with games,

Form, injury

hard to figure screwing Gibson....

Screwing him? We gave him a rookie chance at 25. Now we're rebuilding he's taking up a spot that we can use for a kid. We got him to another club with no hassle.

hard to figure letting B.Brown become an out of contract possibility

He's not going anywhere.

Couldn't give 2 sh**s what any flog from any other club thinks, that includes the glorified supporters in the media masquerading as journalists.

You hate us. I HATE YOU

So line up, buy your tickets, take a swing. We cannot be killed.

13th - 2014
18th - 2015
14th - 2016
16th - 2017 plus losing Gibbs.

They are well and truly in no mans land.

Yeah nah.

Over those same years we've brought in Weitering, SPS, Marchbank, Plowman, Keneddy, Curnow, McKay, Pickett, SOS, Williamson etc plus picks 3, 10 and 30 this year to go with Cripps and Docherty.

I think we'll be fine.

Yeah nah.

Over those same years we've brought in Weitering, SPS, Marchbank, Plowman, Keneddy, Curnow, McKay, Pickett, SOS, Williamson etc plus picks 3, 10 and 30 this year to go with Cripps and Docherty.

I think we'll be fine.

Yeah - NAH YOU WON'T

let's see if the plaudits keep coming for Bolton and Silvagni after another backwards year.

No you do, this bullshit has been going on for years. You've just internalized it as "normal" for BF though.

The persecution complex is strong in this one.

I assure you around half the infractions I give out go to tools trolling North. It's probably the highest ratio after personal attacks.

The only reason they troll you is because you guys get so defensive and rage about it.

Report it instead and I'll deal with it.

Revenue is only part the issue though

My mob got rid of its debt, but a big part of this being done was through cost cutting. Reducing funds to the footy dept and recruiters saved us money, but it also continued our shitty list management and development

Fwiw im still worried about my team in this regard. We are still mid tier for footy dept spending, barely mid tier for recruiting, and i expect the arms race on both with the academy system to only get worse

Do the members have the final vote on relocation? If so, they will never relocate unless the club becomes a financial basket-case again and the AFL intervenes, which is the main solution they have fixed. Just because they aren't relevant atm or never draw heaps of interest, doesn't mean there aren't thousands of people in Melbourne who love them and want to see them play.

Play Nice North Melbourne - 2018 and beyond