North Melbourne supporter punches Daniel Motlop

I don't like cheersquads. It's cause people like him are in them.

They should get rid of him and the rest of them so our club can actually some decent noise and chants.

Agreed. Cheer squads are pathetic. 20 years ago they had their place but not these days. And don't get me started on grog squads. The Essendon grog squad are full of people that all look like close relatives of Sloth from the Goonies.

sloth.jpg

What's a grog squad?

A group of lunatics who can be found in standing room behind the goals. They're loud and obnoxious. Essendon, Collingwood, Richmond all have them. Not sure about any other clubs. A couple of years ago I was in standing room when one of the grog squad threw a full cup of beer which drenched a girl sitting about seven rows in front.:thumbsdown:

If he'd taken a proper swing a life ban might be appropriate, as would criminal charges.
He'll get kicked out of the cheer squad and, ordered to make an apology and will probably have his membership revoked I imagine.
The cost of getting a new membership (if he chose to ever show his face at the footy again) plus the shame of having to apologise and the expulsion from the cheersquad is punishment enough.

Ban him for the rest of the season. It wasn't a punch it was more of a slap on the back but the dude had his hand clenched in a fist. There wasn't any force in it but its more the principal of the matter. Like what runs through that guys head to do that. Then he started mouthing off at Motlop when Motlop was merely staring at him. He probs knows he done the wrong thing but the AFL needs to set an example to show they won't tolerate shit like that.

A bit off topic but does anyone know what the punishment was for that female who threw beer at brad johnson? whatever that female got i think the Norths supporter deserves something similiar.

I was there and the guy was definitely 80% a port supporter.

Wouldn't have happened if North had relocated. JB's fault really. Life ban for JB.

Anyway, the kid looked fractionally nuffy and was sitting in the cheer squad. He'd be feeling terrible right now.

Call up Port and offer to apologise to Motlop personally, in writing if need be, he should apologise to North too.

AFL can deal with him however he needs to be dealt with, but life ban for that, come on.

You can just about bookmark it that JB will have him in the audience on Thursday night.

He will send an apology to Motlop who will be on live cross from Adelaide and they will make a big thing out of it is just not acceptable etc etc and it will all be good.

Sam will take the piss out of him, he'll go back to his workshop a hero on Friday and JB will say North Melbourne take it very seriously and he is banned from the front-row of the cheersquad for the rest of the year.

What sports are those?
Not at all saying they are ferals as the poster you are replying to suggested, but the sheer number of passionate Indian cricket fans at games they have barbed wire at some stadiums I think

A soft punch and not deserving of a life ban... still AFL need to send the message this stuff is NOT ON. Season, year or 2 ban is a little soft... I think a 5 or 10 year ban suits. Punishes him, sends the message, but gives him time to mature and wisen-up and return to AFL in the future.

I have heard from a source the AFL is looking at a 15 year ban.

Most cheersquad members are somewhat slowwww on the uptake, so I'm sure a little slap on the wrist will ensue.

As I've previously said, what is the difference between a 2 year ban and a 5 year ban? If he's not wearing the same clothes or sitting in the cheer squad, he could probably get into Etihad for North Melbourne's next game there, if he wanted to, let alone to any other AFL venue around the country. Think the MCG attendants will be keeping an eye out for him before the round 8 Geelong vs Collingwood match? I've seriously got no idea how you can ban people from getting into games where upwards of 40,000 people are in attendance, if they have a valid ticket.

Once he is named and shamed by the media, the public embarrassment is punishment enough. It would be different if he threw something at Motlop, or ran onto the ground to attack him, then criminal charges would be in order.

You can just about bookmark it that JB will have him in the audience on Thursday night.

He will send an apology to Motlop who will be on live cross from Adelaide and they will make a big thing out of it is just not acceptable etc etc and it will all be good.

Sam will take the piss out of him, he'll go back to his workshop a hero on Friday and JB will say North Melbourne take it very seriously and he is banned from the front-row of the cheersquad for the rest of the year.

It's funny coz it's true.:thumbsu:;)

He is in trouble. There will be ramifications for his actions, which greatly impact his ability to watch his favourite team and certainly his spot in the cheer squad (if the leaders of that group and the NMFC are at all fair dinkum). And while it's certainly not as disgraceful as the Buddy incident in Tassie, I think there's a few factors in this instance which do make it more serious and demanding of swift action:

A. I'd say it was offensive and aggressive, rather than malicious. Which I think is a concern.
B. Remains to be seen. As I said, it's very possible that if other members of the cheer squad have any sense, they told him to piss off. Let's wait and see. I'm sure we'll get more of the background and aftermath tomorrow.

Solid response. If the AFL care to weigh into this, then I think that the racial abuse conduct needs to be followed up as well because there will be instances where some players can be severly traumatized by these loud mouth idiots.
Nothing wrong with supporters giving sprays that don't have racial or threatening remarks but seriously, the manner that anyone can lean over and actually inflict harm (emationally - physically) on players / umpires is very likely with $$$$$ on games. That's what makes these offensive actions from
beyond the fence an unenjoyable experience for all concerned.

The AFL should have accountability in areas which starts with their own people
who offensively traumatise the loyal fans with absolute garbage decisions during gameday.

North Melbourne supporter punches Daniel Motlop