North Melbourne supporter punches Daniel Motlop

Was a really stupid thing to do. In response to the allegation that Motlop kicked the ball at the cheerquad, are you serious? He just gently lobbed the ball a few rows back.

Bloke looked scared and worried. If he apoligises shouldn't really be any major punishment, but the security guard who was right there couldn't give a f*ck! What do these guys do? I hope there won't be any stupid overreaction by the AFL like there usually is, like keeping those stupid nets they use in the warmups up.

Nothing in it really. Foolish act if anything and at least the offender can be commended for leaving immediately. Will feel terrible with himself. Hopefully he can write a letter to Daniel Motlop to opoligize for his brain snap. Doesn't warrant anything more than a smack on the wrist. The act of remorse on his behalf was enough to convince that he is sorry. End of story.

I'm not commending him for anything. Unless the supporters surrounding him are all complete morons, they probably let him know that it might be wise if he took his leave. The screen shows the same shots as the television broadcast, doesn't it? After a few close ups of him on the big screen, he might also have tweaked that he could be in a bit of trouble.

Didn't say it was nothing, he was an idiot and he was either kicked out or left before he was kicked out. End of story.

Deal with things on their merits. If someone is going to go to the footy and stab a player that runs to the fence I doubt a life ban imposed on someone else the week before will put them off.

I"m not talking about stabbing.

I'm talking about a blanket rule that aggressive contact, of any kind, is a major transgression.

So it is a question of a kind of action that is unacceptable, not a degree of action which is unacceptable.

Applying degree, instead of kind, to these things only invites the line to be pushed by those numbnuts out there...

rofl. what an overratction from everyone here. it was a fairy hit.

not that long ago that players had to dodge swinging brollies from Old Grandmas whenever they came to Ardne street.

if anyhting the Kid should be banned for not hitting Motlop hard enough:thumbsu:

When I first heard about it, it sounded really bad, but after seeing that, the guy looks borderline intellectually disabled and with about as much punching power as a falling marshmellow. A stern talking to should be enough to stop him doing it again.

This ^^ my 9yr old daughter hits harder than that...give him a stern warning and make him watch every North Melbourne game this season ..that should be punishment enough ;)

I"m not talking about stabbing.

I'm talking about a blanket rule that aggressive contact, of any kind, is a major transgression.

So it is a question of a kind of action that is unacceptable, not a degree of action which is unacceptable.

Applying degree, instead of kind, to these things only invites the line to be pushed by those numbnuts out there...

Flogging in the public square for a first offence and drawn and quartered for the second? :thumbsu:

Deal with things on their merits. He was kicked out for fairly innocuous contact. Get over it.

I'm not commending him for anything. Unless the supporters surrounding him are all complete morons, they probably let him know that it might be wise if he took his leave. The screen shows the same shots as the television broadcast, doesn't it? After a few close ups of him on the big screen, he might also have tweaked that he could be in a bit of trouble.

Trouble? Ha !! to put this 'storm in a teacup' into context of how to deal with a 'love tap' unsavory contact in comparison to what occured in Tassie to Buddy Franklin... tell me where you draw the line to supporter conduct?

Commending the wrong doer for his immediate actions is one thing but to crucify the guy on this occasion is bewildering. Sure, it's crystal clear he was in the wrong but ask yourself two questions:
A. Was the incident deemed as intentionally malicious?
B. Did the offender get ejected without issues?

That's all you need to know.

Flogging in the public square for a first offence and drawn and quartered for the second? :thumbsu:

Deal with things on their merits. He was kicked out for fairly innocuous contact. Get over it.

A little heavy with the sarcasm, perhaps? :rolleyes:

Yes, deal with it on it's merits.

Aggressive contact with a player. Ban for a length of time.

Trouble? Ha !! to put this 'storm in a teacup' into context of how to deal with a 'love tap' unsavory contact in comparison to what occured in Tassie to Buddy Franklin... tell me where you draw the line to supporter conduct?

He is in trouble. There will be ramifications for his actions, which greatly impact his ability to watch his favourite team and certainly his spot in the cheer squad (if the leaders of that group and the NMFC are at all fair dinkum). And while it's certainly not as disgraceful as the Buddy incident in Tassie, I think there's a few factors in this instance which do make it more serious and demanding of swift action:

1. He lent over the fence and initiated physical contact with a player, which has to be a no-no in the modern era. As others have mentioned, if the groups behind the goals can't be counted on to keep their hands to themselves and a few of these incidents happen, they'll end up putting barriers up to avoid the possibility. As Eldorado put it very eloquently, we can't concentrate on degrees in cases like this.

2. He's part of the cheer squad, so he's a representative of the North Melbourne Football Club. I'd like to know what James Brayshaw's take on the incident was. I'll bet he condemns the guy's actions in no uncertain terms on The Footy Show tomorrow.

Commending the wrong doer for his immediate actions is one thing but to crucify the guy on this occasion is bewildering. Sure, it's crystal clear he was in the wrong but ask yourself two questions:
A. Was the incident deemed as intentionally malicious?
B. Did the offender get ejected without issues?

That's all you need to know.

A. I'd say it was offensive and aggressive, rather than malicious. Which I think is a concern.
B. Remains to be seen. As I said, it's very possible that if other members of the cheer squad have any sense, they told him to piss off. Let's wait and see. I'm sure we'll get more of the background and aftermath tomorrow.

The guys a moron but please.. it was a little love tap being blown way out of proportion.

You don't touch players, if people do stupid shit then we will be stuck behind pastic or netting like other sports overseas to keep the ferals away from the players.

Was it the way he was dressed?

I'm not one to laugh out loud often but damn that was worth a chuckle, and trust me I need one about now.

Can't have supporters slapping, punching, pushing or touching a player in my opinion as where is the line in the sand on 'just' how hard it has to be before it's too serious.

This said, we need our supporter base as much as North do at the moment so I'd say he'll make an apology which will be excepted and North will impose a 3 match ban or something like that.

What sports are those?

Seen the use of fencing to keep ferals contained in some soccer games on espn. Not sure which countries, probably one of the countries that like to use flares and tommahawks.

Having seen the footage, whilst inexcusable that he has made contact with the Port player, it was hardly forceful.

If I were that fan, I'd be calling Port Adelaide to apologise and also writing a letter of apology to Motlop. I'd also be in at the North offices on Monday to personally apologise for my conduct.

Should be banned for life (suspended sentance) and forced to miss 2 weeks.

It's a good time for the AFL to come out and remind fans that instances of this nature will not be tolerated in future and any future instances will be met with season or even non suspendable life bans.

Again, the guy is a deadset moron for what he did but I don't think a straight out life ban would be appropriate for this transgression.

North Melbourne supporter punches Daniel Motlop