North Melbourne want to play in Perth

Extra four points aided their ladder position and gave their finals chances a boost that they bought rather than earned.

And yet after Brisbane gained the advantage they had to play a lower ranked opponent where to win these premierships?? Wouldn't be Collingwood's HOME ground would it?

Anyway have digressed. The last people complaining about inequity should be Collingwood and Essendon. Any one else, fair crack!

And yet after Brisbane gained the advantage they had to play a lower ranked opponent where to win these premierships?? Wouldn't be Collingwood's HOME ground would it?

Anyway have digressed. The last people complaining about inequity should be Collingwood and Essendon. Any one else, fair crack!

The point you made about Collingwood/Essendon having a neutral/advantage at away games Vs Victorian clubs is an invalid comparison

When North play Collingwood, North still house the majority of reserve seating for its members (even though Collingwood probably have the crowd advantage)

The proposal here is that West Coast will still get the reserve seating for its members, has the travel advantage, crowd advantage AND home ground advantage (which is neutral for all Vic clubs)

Who do you reckon gets sent to these dumps to play them?

Who cares. Away teams should have no choice where they play (which is my basic premise, that West Coast should not be allowed to pay to play an away game at home).

Collingwood would quite happily play them in Canberra or the Gold Coast or Launceston or Parramatta, but North could not afford the lost revenue from not playing us in Melbourne.

North should either build their own market or merge or die. Personally, I'm a bit over their indecisiveness. Its tie to let them die.

I would be interested to see if it actually worked.

As it is an Eagles away game they would need to purchase tickets on top of what they've already paid for their membership. How many would do that considering somemembers don't turn up to games anyway?

Given there is still a waiting list for memberships I would think there would still be some interest. I think we also have a fair amount of supporters in WA that probably don't go to Eagles games. It would be a good chance for a lot of people who don't want to pay a significant sum to get access to games to go to the one game. Might be a great opportunity for people in WA to get the family out to the game without having to take a mortgage out on the cost of memberships :p

In reality, AFL will cockblock it. They have never done us any favours on or off the field, they used to schedule us to play Collingwood at Manuka, Carlton and St Kilda at Carrara and play Port at the MCG, they don't give a stuff.

The proposal here is that West Coast will still get the reserve seating for its members, has the travel advantage, crowd advantage AND home ground advantage (which is neutral for all Vic clubs)

Where did you get this idea?

Surely it will be sold as tickets, after North members get a crack?

Who cares?.

Obviously not Collingwood, because Fremantle, Port and West Coast get shunted to every shitbox in the country to prop up other teams.
Send Collingwood to play in Darwin or Canberra.
We have enough travel to do already and get next to no games at the MCG/Dome as it is

The point you made about Collingwood/Essendon having a neutral/advantage at away games Vs Victorian clubs is an invalid comparison

When North play Collingwood, North still house the majority of reserve seating for its members (even though Collingwood probably have the crowd advantage)

I'm NOT arguing that West Coast don't gain an advantage. We do. It will be exactly like a home game except the members will have to pay for the ticket or a hike in annual fees. I can see it is a big advantage to the Eagles of 2006, but to 2009/10?? North Melbourne do perform well over here and are always a chance at beating us. But yes, selfishly I'm in it for the points IF we can get them. But North getting $750k and the Eagles getting 4 points. Good for both our clubs at least!;)

............to give you the best possible opportunity to promote yourselves in Canberra. Even then you botched it.

Not really. The footy club (stupidly) decided to take the GC money instead of the Canberra money. It's not like they ran us out of town. They had offers on the table for us to play there.

Anyway, this is a proposal that brings the stadium returns issue to the fore and will generate more income in one day than 8 half decent crowds at Docklands.

I ****ing hate that we have to even consider it, but I am prepared to wear it on face value.

Obviously not Collingwood, because Fremantle, Port and West Coast get shunted to every shitbox in the country to prop up other teams.

No, you get shunted there because Collingwood and Essendon prop up these teams by playing them in Melbourne and maximising crowds.

West Coast and Freo prop up nothing.

I see your point but buying home games solves nothing. It did nothing for Melbourne.

Who cares. Away teams should have no choice where they play (which is my basic premise, that West Coast should not be allowed to pay to play an away game at home).

Collingwood would quite happily play them in Canberra or the Gold Coast or Launceston or Parramatta, but North could not afford the lost revenue from not playing us in Melbourne.

North should either build their own market or merge or die. Personally, I'm a bit over their indecisiveness. Its tie to let them die.

This argument makes no sense. You are saying it is the home teams choice? So therefore North can choose to play it at Subi because we cannot afford to lose the 650K on offer. Just like we choose to play Collingwood in Melbourne because we can't walk away from that revenue.

As for the last part of your post. North should build there own market or die? Interesting attitude, especially when it appears we should generate more revenue as long as it is in a way approved by you. "Stand on your own two feet, but dont do this, and don't do that, and no no, don't do that either. Maybe you can do this, nah that is just whoring yourselves, don't do that either, and definitely don't do this because it disadvantages my team". Some interesting arguments for sure.

Send Collingwood to play in Darwin or Canberra.
We have enough travel to do already and get next to no games at the MCG/Dome as it is

Count yourselves lucky you don't have to play in Tassie anymore ;)

This argument makes no sense. You are saying it is the home teams choice? So therefore North can choose to play it at Subi because we cannot afford to lose the 650K on offer. Just like we choose to play Collingwood in Melbourne because we can't walk away from that revenue.

As for the last part of your post. North should build there own market or die? Interesting attitude, especially when it appears we should generate more revenue as long as it is in a way approved by you. "Stand on your own two feet, but dont do this, and don't do that, and no no, don't do that either. Maybe you can do this, nah that is just whoring yourselves, don't do that either, and definitely do do this because it disadvantages my team". Some interesting arguments for sure.

You have a point and most of it is because the team who never get affected by this crap is Collingwood...actually the "4 times a year" Magpies.

Sorry missed this bit, must have been the tears in my eyes

Please cut the selective quoting and changing the context.

Collingwood dont care where they play away games - we dont make any money from away games.

Its our opponents who want to play us at the MCG. In fact they need to play us there to survive.

Well, you shat the bed in Canberra, Gold Coast, etc. Where else can you sell games to?

Canberra was going nowhere. There is just no support there, not for us, not for Bulldogs, not for Melbourne, not for anyone.

How did we shit on GC? Because we didn't want to sell our club? They breached the term of our contract, we didn't fail to provide anything that was agreed to. There was never an agreement to relocate AND sell the club to the AFL.

You are a deadset w***er if you think otherwise.

Okay, Mr "I was at the meeting", where the hell are the White Knights. That was a promise. Well, where are they?

That idea was raised before the stock market crashed, had it been done at the time it was raised up we would have made nothing out of it. Asking people to fork over money now that they have all been burnt by the world economy going into the toilet is just not appropriate.

I was against the concept anyway, the club shouldn't be dependent on a few, it should be an across the board effort from all supporters.

And again, Why are North the only club to use the media to float ideas to their members. The circus of public opinion is exactly how it does it's business. Absolutely shameful.

Float what ideas? The club had been talking about selling of a game or two for the short-term, we wouldn't have had to if the AFL and TD had been able to resolve their issues without it going to court, we lost close to a $1m a year thanks to that and it is unlikely a resolution will come from that in the short-term.

Look at this article as a classic counterpoint:
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rfnews/demons-aim-to-raise-1m/2009/06/11/1244664795167.html
Those who did not attend or contribute last year will be expected to give $5000 to Melbourne, after which the function itself will push to raise more money. Last year the August 5 event raised $2 million on the night with a further $1 million raised throughout August.
The Melbourne board, which today celebrates its one-year anniversary, contributed $500,000 of that amount.
Stynes remained cautious on the subject of negotiating the sale of games to developing markets beyond 2009. He insisted the Demons were unwilling to consider short-term solutions.

Now the Dees and North are in similar straits, however Melbourne implements plans and achieves goals. They don't do it in the media, but rather work on business plans, then get it operational. They give facts and are cautious when promoting optimism.

North could learn a lot from the way the Dees do business. Melbourne's media presence compared to North's. Ouch, complete opposite.

Those are band-aids. Melbourne keeps sliding into debt because expenditure is greater than revenue. Clubs need to raise revenue so that it is higher than expenditure.

You can only shake the tin so many times until the sentiment runs dry. How many times did Fitzroy shake the tin before they went arse over?

Once the stadium issue is resolved we wont have a need for it, we don't want to play in developing markets because numbnuts like yourself see playing in a developing market as a promise to relocte, we don't want to relocate, we just want a short-term solution until the stadium issue is resolved.

No, you get shunted there because Collingwood and Essendon prop up these teams by playing them in Melbourne and maximising crowds.

West Coast and Freo prop up nothing.

I see your point but buying home games solves nothing. It did nothing for Melbourne.

No, just the entire VFL/AFL in 1987.

Please cut the selective quoting and changing the context.

Collingwood dont care where they play away games - we dont make any money from away games.

Its our opponents who want to play us at the MCG. In fact they need to play us there to survive.

I see...I can;t wait to see the bleating when you're actually (of course this will never happen), scheduled to travel to Perth, Brisbane, Sydney, Adelaide, Launceston and Canberra in the same year.

North Melbourne want to play in Perth