Northern Football League Division 1 - Part II

Yeah that goal was great.. was on my way to the bar when I hear the North Heid supporters shouting "GO HARVS". I turned around and his ran from defence, to the forward 50 and kicked the goal.
Superstar.
But his hair.. whats going on there?

Tiger rocket where do you get your info from reading your posts you have no idea about nth. Dalton has been around nth for about six years only plays two s and has had a few senior games. he returned to nth after a couple of years in EDFL and played one game three weeks ago. He told me Mt pleasant offered him good money to go there and with a young family decided to go still going to train with nth and always turns up at functions.

mate i made a mistake was thinking of another player with similar name.
i'll be the first to admit i don't hang around the footy club as much as i woud like to.

Tiger rocket where do you get your info from reading your posts you have no idea about nth. Dalton has been around nth for about six years only plays two s and has had a few senior games. he returned to nth after a couple of years in EDFL and played one game three weeks ago. He told me Mt pleasant offered him good money to go there and with a young family decided to go still going to train with nth and always turns up at functions.

Good to have you back on bigfooty Mr. North Heidelberg.

Yeah it’s on video.

The boys were going at it pretty much goal for goal for 3 quarters. First 15 of the last. It appeared the EDFL boys were starting to gain ascendancy.

Play starts around half back on High St side of ground. While running away from a defender takes a bounce. Bounces again. Burns off a committed defender. Bounces another two. Kicks outside fifty. Ball dribbles in for goal. Inspirational stuff. I thought that effort along with a not to be snap at goal from Stinga may have been the turning point for ours. But it wasn’t to be.

I’ll stand corrected but I believe of the 13 he kicked 9. The bloke’s a ball/goal magnet. The goals he kicked weren’t lead, mark, kick and goal. They were freakish opportunistic goals. You had to see it to believe it. I’ve seen a ‘few things’ in my time boys and it takes a lot to impress me. I’m impressed.

In the rooms after the game I think I heard Stinga say words to the effect, “What about Harvey? We’ll be putting four blokes on him when we play him.” While everyone was jovial about the comment all got the point.

Anyway, putting aside the gloomy weather conditions and the small crowd it was a fantastic day of good solid grass roots football. More so, encouraging to see players, coaches, support staff and supporters, who are generally fierce rivals to the degree we all know too well, from Div 1 & 2 rally for a common cause. Well done. I believe you did yourselves, your clubs, your supporters and our League proud.

The success argument comes to mind. While it didn’t go our way it sure was a success on many fronts.

Regards
G'day Boof, also should mention the degree of difficulty, young shane was running down the left hand side and kicked a banana from 50 about 10 metres in from the boundary line for a right footer :):thumbsu:

Sorry guys to bring this to the table and change the subject but can I get onto the junior side of things within the league.
Before I continue I must say that up until now I have been totally supportive of the new (NFL) administration.
That is until tonight when I had a frank discussion with some junior people within our Club.
I, like most of you BF posters always buy the NFL Record each week and until it was pointed out to me tonight, totally overlooked or paid little regard to the fact that the junior section has disappeared from the publication.
Then, and I understand that you may all think that it is a biased view, I’ve been told that with the Metropolitan Junior Championship games scheduled to be played at Montmorency Juniors home ground this weekend, in its wisdom, the NFL have granted the catering rights to Lower Plenty FC (a senior body) when in the past it’s always been the junior body’s right.
I have two comments on this:
1. To the NFL executive it’s about time that you got your collective heads out of your rear ends and started to respect the importance of the junior competition and gain an appreciation to the efforts and achievements of Lew Hall and his supporters to junior football in the past. Regardless of the fact that they were under the DVFL banner is irrelevant.
2. Shame on Lower Plenty to take acceptance of the right to “host” these games this weekend when knowing full well that they did not have the right to.:mad:

1st post here and have to agree. No scores/ladders in footy record (but netball and girls get a mention), days of community footy (GB vs Mont or Eltham or DC all day) are gone. crowds are well done and so are canteen takings etc.

Sadly, if the NFL do not look after the juniors, we will have a crap seniors comp. Eltham paid the price for many years for treating their juniors badly and seem to have seen the light. Reports are that the juniors presidents meeting is being held at Bundoora. Did not know Bundoora had juniors in the NFL. Either the NFL just have no idea or they do not give a damm.

Whoever gave Lower Plenty the rights to the junior rep games should be ashamed. Heard there was no food for the players and other leagues had tracksuits etc and NFL had nothing. Very poor start.

lets face it you lost no excuses,what about aloi,harrison ,carey,raso,and the rest of the team.footys a team game not a harvey show see ya next year losers,typical nfl,all big mouths nothings changed since the 80s likes of lalor back then walters ,heard,kelly,
those blokes only bashed drunks,i remember lance tilley shut norn kellys gob during a final
at warrigal park i think he played with the old lakies side

lets face it you lost no excuses,what about aloi,harrison ,carey,raso,and the rest of the team.footys a team game not a harvey show see ya next year losers,typical nfl,all big mouths nothings changed since the 80s likes of lalor back then walters ,heard,kelly,
those blokes only bashed drunks,i remember lance tilley shut norn kellys gob during a final

Yeah good on ya. No excuses this end. Where were you when the slab was put up? :thumbsdown:

I used to knock around with a nephew of Norm's a few years back and he was a great bloke but a genuine lunatic who punched on with some tough blokes in his time. When he was younger, he worked for and ran with some of the more infamous characters in Melbourne's Underworld. He used make his girlfriend buy larger handbags so he could conceal a pistol in there if thats what was ever required. I seen him and we had a chat when we played Lalor earlier in the year and again a few weeks ago again at CQ. He was with an absolute stunner, and the only thing that has changed are the size of his dukes. He is the nicest bloke if your his mate, but id hate to imagine what would happen if you were ever dumb enough to get in his bad books.

Norm is a well liked and well respected bloke in many corners of the world as far as I know. He must have bashed this idiot back in his heyday.

Awesome vocabulary! :rolleyes:

yous won fair n square no ones big mouthing. wouldnt be suprised if norm give you a clip. Fu ck off to edfl thread you germ.

That wasn't the best side the nfl put on the park there champ bar probably 5 or 6 that took to the field.Who really cares anyway when the very best don't want to play.Go and have a kebab:D.

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.O.T.H.
Sorry guys to bring this to the table and change the subject but can I get onto the junior side of things within the league.
Before I continue I must say that up until now I have been totally supportive of the new (NFL) administration.
That is until tonight when I had a frank discussion with some junior people within our Club.
I, like most of you BF posters always buy the NFL Record each week and until it was pointed out to me tonight, totally overlooked or paid little regard to the fact that the junior section has disappeared from the publication.
Then, and I understand that you may all think that it is a biased view, I’ve been told that with the Metropolitan Junior Championship games scheduled to be played at Montmorency Juniors home ground this weekend, in its wisdom, the NFL have granted the catering rights to Lower Plenty FC (a senior body) when in the past it’s always been the junior body’s right.
I have two comments on this:
1. To the NFL executive it’s about time that you got your collective heads out of your rear ends and started to respect the importance of the junior competition and gain an appreciation to the efforts and achievements of Lew Hall and his supporters to junior football in the past. Regardless of the fact that they were under the DVFL banner is irrelevant.
2. Shame on Lower Plenty to take acceptance of the right to “host” these games this weekend when knowing full well that they did not have the right to.:mad:

1st post here and have to agree. No scores/ladders in footy record (but netball and girls get a mention), days of community footy (GB vs Mont or Eltham or DC all day) are gone. crowds are well done and so are canteen takings etc.

Sadly, if the NFL do not look after the juniors, we will have a crap seniors comp. Eltham paid the price for many years for treating their juniors badly and seem to have seen the light. Reports are that the juniors presidents meeting is being held at Bundoora. Did not know Bundoora had juniors in the NFL. Either the NFL just have no idea or they do not give a damm.

Whoever gave Lower Plenty the rights to the junior rep games should be ashamed. Heard there was no food for the players and other leagues had tracksuits etc and NFL had nothing. Very poor start.

bestie and m.o.t.h. i went to lower today to watch a friends son play, who didnt get as much game time as i though he and all others should have. but thats another story.
yes agree that the nfl teams looked like a rag-tag outfit compared to the professional loooking opposition in the two games. would be interested to hear why the nfl administration didnt outfit the juniors when they did outfit the seniors on saturday. a bit of discrimination there. and if it was cost, why didnt the administration go out and find a sponsor?
as for lower taking the canteen rights, i spoke to knowledgeable lower people and they assurred me that they did offer the canteen rights to monty juniors when the league asked them to run the matches but the black-and-white juniors declined the offer. and a mother who works the canteen for monty juniors confirmed the offer.

im sure a few of your clubs would love a kade carey running around a few few edfl clubs would love a shane harvey running around

Watching the bloodnut brothers .......... Carefactor - 0 :rolleyes:

I'd much prefer rather to watch the wives go at it in the ring (Jelly pit and bikini clad of course) :thumbsu:
Not sure about the effect on the kiddies watching KA.

On a lighter note watched the big Teddy Bear go round for the Albury Tigers on Saturday at the Wang showgrounds. Kicked four from limited opportunities however Wangaratta got home by a lazy ten. Took in some post match refreshments with the big man and he sends his best. Just to note J & B he misses the crowd (and chips) at Para Rd.

Well as they say a week is a long time in football, as of Tuesaday 10th June (today) Ray Shaw has offically resigned as coach of Bundoora sighting a dispute with the board. This news is totally unexpected to the whole of the playing group.

No interim coach has been appointed as yet.

Well as they say a week is a long time in football, as of Tuesaday 10th June (today) Ray Shaw has offically resigned as coach of Bundoora sighting a dispute with the board. This news is totally unexpected to the whole of the playing group.

No interim coach has been appointed as yet.

i know it has only just happened,but is there any whispers as to who might take over?

What a disloyal bunch of turds that committee would have to be. Wel lets list the player that bundoora will lose, shaw, rovere, hyde, mitchell, brown, whitnall, carmicheal. Fail to plan vogels is fail to succeed. This committee will get everything they deserve, FAILURE.

sorry but i cant see why any of those players would leave because ray is now gone, all were there before ray bar rovere and of course shaw. but still would have to think shaw would stay and therefore rovere too. from all reports ray and brayden while get along very well arnt super close, by that i mean ray wasnt the only reason brayden came down. as for whitnall and carmichael i dont get why they would leave from this happening.