Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

Is that a sign of weakness comming from The Boof ...

Just prudent mate. Read words to the effect over a thread which rings true. Won't know what they've really got until the boys face-off at least once.

IMO based on last season not in any order;

Greensborough were the best improved (this one's for you covergirl :p)
Lalor will be better after the experience
Mont will be highly motivated
Bundoora and North will as always be amongst the mix
Vinnie and some movements into West
Northcote could be the dark horse
Eltham depending on how hard they've worked in the gym ???

Hmmmm, Still Playing with ya Crystal Balls Boof ?

No disrespect ( Do I need to insert a Boof trademark sign here?) , but Thommo may surprise a few teams that are lacking respect for them or in some way complacent in their approach to their team.

It may be true that they are lacking in ability, talent, skills, commitment, courage, height, weight, strength, discipline, focus and drive but apart from all that, they will still field a team of 22 players each week, so you will never know what might happen until the final siren sounds.

BTW, I believe that Thommo will only possibly win 2 games for season. 1 against Northcote Park and one against their neighbouring rivals - Lalor, but will be headed back to D2 in 2010 richer for the experience

New to this but been reading awhile and finally the cougar is in town, and to read this rabble i'm wondering why i've signed up. what info have you on northcote to suggest this that they will be near the bottom this year, cos they are set to shock all. Yes we lost a few handy players and one or two good ones but everyone we have lost someone has filled the void with probably the same or better ability. losing one of our captains will be the hardest to replace as he was an a grader but i think with numbers we have. all the cougar will say is we have improved and we all know that other clubs have but our good was real good last season and this year will be better. Cougar OUT:thumbsu:

Just speculation mate.

I'm not writing off NP, just saying that i think Thomo will match up well against them and see that they would be a chance in at least one of there 2 face offs.

You are right, NP when they good are very good, but they also have too many bad weeks aswell.

I haven't heard any details of comings and goings down at BL Oval, but i can say unless you have big BJ firing, you are going to be pressed to be competitive every game of the season.

IMHO, NP is not the bottom side................ Just the 2nd Bottom Side! :D

Hmmmm, Still Playing with ya Crystal Balls Boof ?

No disrespect ( Do I need to insert a Boof trademark sign here?) , but Thommo may surprise a few teams that are lacking respect for them or in some way complacent in their approach to their team.

It may be true that they are lacking in ability, talent, skills, commitment, courage, height, weight, strength, discipline, focus and drive but apart from all that, they will still field a team of 22 players each week, so you will never know what might happen until the final siren sounds.

BTW, I believe that Thommo will only possibly win 2 games for season. 1 against Northcote Park and one against their neighbouring rivals - Lalor, but will be headed back to D2 in 2010 richer for the experience

Hi all, Having just signed up i'm a long time reader first time poster! Had to respond to this, what info have you got that says the cougars are in strife in 09 to say that thomo may beat one of 2 us or lalor. We are in alot better posistion than last year and we beat lalor by 100 points 2 weeks ago with both sides having key players out. Admittedly we have lost some good players but all have been replaced with equal or better ability and numbers have not been as good in ten years. losing one of our co captain's from last year is probably the hardest to replace for everything he has done around the place aswell as his on field leadership but we think we can cover his loss by spreading the load.
We know all teams have improved from last year but we know we definately have and our good was almost as good as most sides last year and we have a real tight unit coming thru. BEWARE THE COUGAR

COUGAR OUT!!!!:thumbsu:

Hi all, Having just signed up i'm a long time reader first time poster! Had to respond to this, what info have you got that says the cougars are in strife in 09 to say that thomo may beat one of 2 us or lalor. We are in alot better posistion than last year and we beat lalor by 100 points 2 weeks ago with both sides having key players out. Admittedly we have lost some good players but all have been replaced with equal or better ability and numbers have not been as good in ten years. losing one of our co captain's from last year is probably the hardest to replace for everything he has done around the place aswell as his on field leadership but we think we can cover his loss by spreading the load.
We know all teams have improved from last year but we know we definately have and our good was almost as good as most sides last year and we have a real tight unit coming thru. BEWARE THE COUGAR

COUGAR OUT!!!!:thumbsu:

WTF are you on Cougar.

Didn't you say all that crap in your first post a few hours ago???

Good Luck to you and the Cougars in 2009. Really glad to hear you have more numbers than in the last 10 years.:thumbsu:

Lets hope this extends to have more numbers supporters wise aswell, because quite frankly it is embarrassing to see so few at NP home games. Most Opposition teams out number NP home fans 3 to 1.

I suppose though, you probably count the Dinos & Ginos (actually that prob should read Achmeds & mohammeds - but I don't like to offend them coz i like my kebabs with out spittle on) watching from the verandah of the Commiso next door, so It may be more like 2 to 1 when these folk are all taken into account.

I'm also glad to hear you beat Lalor by 100 pts. Probably gives you an opportunity to get within 20 (Goals) of the Bergers in 09. :D and 10 of the rest.

5 Cougars Thankz

WTF are you on Cougar.

Good Luck to you and the Cougars in 2009. Really glad to hear you have more numbers than in the last 10 years.:thumbsu:

Lets hope this extends to have more numbers supporters wise aswell, because quite frankly it is embarrassing to see so few at NP home games. Most Opposition teams out number NP home fans 3 to 1.

I suppose though, you probably count the Dinos & Ginos (actually that prob should read Achmeds & mohammeds - but I don't like to offend them coz i like my kebabs with out spittle on) watching from the verandah of the Commiso next door, so It may be more like 2 to 1 when these folk are all taken into account.

I'm also glad to hear you beat Lalor by 100 pts. Probably gives you an opportunity to get within 20 (Goals) of the Bergers in 09. :D and 10 of the rest.

5 Cougars Thankz

A tad harsh massive red balls :D

Good luck for the weekend KA............how'd the sides look. Did you get a run?

Waringal Park is in great nic and our new sticks will give Hally a bit more of a sighter. He's getting on you know.

WTF are you on Cougar.

5 Cougars Thankz
haha
u will be red faced wen the cougars smash the bergers this year!

Good luck for the weekend KA............how'd the sides look. Did you get a run?

Waringal Park is in great nic and our new sticks will give Hally a bit more of a sighter. He's getting on you know.

Heya Muttles,

I did impose a self ban on myself from this site due to feedback from Mr NFL. But i have lifted said ban to answer a great man like yourself.

K.A no longer required to fill the void. (but the phone is always switched on, just in case)

The boys down at the Panther are all very excited. Loads of young talented kids jumping out of their skins ready to have a crack. All of them enthusiastic and without fear. The way it should be.

Will be great to see grass roots Footy back on the paddock and looking forward to having a few coldies as I hurl targeted abuse over the boundary towards the berger magoo backline .;) And if i can't find the right target there, I'll redirect that abuse to any camera wielding yobbos in the crowd. :D

Should be a cracker of a day, and for once in a longtime, I genuinely think the scores in the main game may be closer than many may think.

Go Panthers :thumbsu:

Cheers

K.A

Heya Muttles,

I did impose a self ban on myself from this site due to feedback from Mr NFL. But i have lifted said ban to answer a great man like yourself.

K.A no longer required to fill the void. (but the phone is always switched on, just in case)

The boys down at the Panther are all very excited. Loads of young talented kids jumping out of their skins ready to have a crack. All of them enthusiastic and without fear. The way it should be.

Will be great to see grass roots Footy back on the paddock and looking forward to having a few coldies as I hurl targeted abuse over the boundary towards the berger magoo backline .;) And if i can't find the right target there, I'll redirect that abuse to any camera wielding yobbos in the crowd. :D

Should be a cracker of a day, and for once in a longtime, I genuinely think the scores in the main game may be closer than many may think.

Go Panthers :thumbsu:

Cheers

K.A
i agree both games will be close. the seconds struggling to get numbers and forced to play 9 premiership players .welcome to all our new home grown talent to the season.lots of new names .all sides are starting of equal and we look forward to every game.so on with the games.
regards snakebite

Are you kidding me snakey? I have heard that the bergers are fielding one of the strongest reserves side in their history. Are there some big names playing in the scoobs?

WTF are you on Cougar.

5 Cougars Thankz

If you read all the quote red neck, sorry red balls i edited the bottom to say sorry that i didnt know the first one went thru. we know our numbers in the crowd are down but that to is on the rise and the greatest club in the nfl will dominate once again !! soon..... I hope. Cougar Out:thumbsu:

Are you kidding me snakey? I have heard that the bergers are fielding one of the strongest reserves side in their history. Are there some big names playing in the scoobs?

No doubt we'll miss Hayesy's leadership and contribution in the 2s engine room but I'm pretty sure we'll have him covered tomorrow.
icon6.gif

... all the best for all players & officials for the pending season wb

Welcome back WB as long as ya give the boys an even break :D

... I genuinely think the scores in the main game may be closer than many may think.

Excellant KA. But boys don't encourage KA. I thought we were rid him :p

... I'm pretty sure we'll have him covered tomorrow.
icon6.gif

I've got you covered. This season and two more should do it. That'll make it 300 and 8. I reckon you've got it in ya.

L E G E N D A R Y !

Heya Muttles,

Will be great to see grass roots Footy back on the paddock and looking forward to having a few coldies as I hurl targeted abuse over the boundary towards the berger magoo backline .;) And if i can't find the right target there, I'll redirect that abuse to any camera wielding yobbos in the crowd.
:D

K.A

Make sure you give us a wave from the hill mate

:D

If you read all the quote red neck, sorry red balls i edited the bottom to say sorry that i didnt know the first one went thru. we know our numbers in the crowd are down but that to is on the rise and the greatest club in the nfl will dominate once again !! soon..... I hope. Cougar Out:thumbsu:

Anyone who talks of themself in third person is a **********. Northcote park will never have a big crowd all their supporters are in jail

back after a summer hiatus.
all the best for all players & officials for the pending season

wb

is anyone putting their selections for round 1 on the board?
mine are:
premiership favourites heidelberg to be way too big and strong for eltham
montmorency to easily account for lalor
bundoora to prove that they are heidelbergs biggest threat with an easy win over north heidelberg
greensborough to use their division one experience to beat thomastown
west preston to start off their vinnie-era with a win over northcote park
good luck to all players.

Hello Boys,
The summer hiatus is over and the winter froffies are in flavour.

Ventured down to Main St Thommo and after beating off a few druggies watched the slime dismantle a Thomastown side clearly lacking in depth and class.

Boro opened up the first quarter 7.4 to 0.4 and just coasted the rest of the way. Thommo showed some fight in the second but were never really in it. Boro up by 11 late into the last before thommo kicked a few junk time goals.

Whilst Boro are no world beaters, Thomastown is clearly going to struggle this year. I don't mean any insult just a plain observation. They lack height and strength, their skills aren't great and they got a shock lesson in the speed and ferocity of Divvy 1. A little Thommo birdie tells me they have several senior players with poor attitudes to training which showed out on game day. I hope for their sake they can pick things up a bit but it looks like a long tough year ahead.:(

Good first up win for the boys from the slime pit.:D

I hear the bergers did it easy over eltham, what about the other games....