Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

10 times in fact, 4 of which have been against Heidelberg. Quite a pathetic record when you look at it which coincides with the gutless nature of the club and supporters. It's funny how people like you who have no idea are so quick to point the finger at Heidelberg for their spending yet in reality all you base it on is assumptions and it's ultimately fueled by jealousy. Back in 2006 Heidelberg had more ex juniors in their grand final side than Bundoora so have a look at yourself simpleton.
Thats the stupidist thing i have ever heard. there are no assumptions being made at all, each year every club gets a record of how much each clubs spends on players. so we all know, how much heidelberg spend. its heidelberg and then daylight second. And what juniors are u referring to? under 17's im guessing, becuase u hadnt had under 19's since 2001. one man runs your club and if he left so would half your side.

NFLFAN, It was Josh Gilbert that played on Hall, at least i think its hall you were referring to. Great leap, great closing speed and has bulked up abit from last year.
Watched the young kid Josh Gilbert last week and he was outstanding,he has the Mr Gadget arms,always seems to get a fist in...No disrespect to Hall(as he's been there,done it and achieved plenty),but Hall in the 3rd qtr was moved to a role as a higher forward and basically played the lead up dummy role,which was team orientated(done this against Lalor as well and J.Murphy went berserk deep forward),Heidelberg pushed M.Seiter,Danny Nolan and M.Favrin deep forward to change it up... The other kid Daniel Bramich is very good also,not through any lack of effort on his part,he got the rough end of the stick at Coburg VFL last year and deserved better opportunities(unsure if he is back full time at North?).He looks a little bigger and stronger this year...

Don't quote me on stats and seasons,too much juice in me heyday...I was involved with Bundoora in seasons 2004 - 2007 as an Assistant Coach and some opposition assessment stuff.We lost 3 grand finals and I think got knocked out in a prelim v's North in 2005?Don't forget this is only MY opinion.Players at Bundoora were a terrific bunch of kids(still are)and very coachable(Still watch and note what players are doing, achieving)...2 x Grand Finals I totally believe were winnable,1 x Heidelberg were a step ahead and in 2005 when North won,I knew throughout the season our list just wasn't strong enough...Unfortunately when it came to the crunch or the big dance we never stood up as a group,weren't ruthless enough,didn't learn enough or hurt enough from previous season encounters.Obviously you can't put all players in this category but I believe a slice of all the above mentioned,hurt us...I'm not shying away from the fact I was part of it too and if your guiding / coaching these kids and there not getting the job done,your a fair portion to the blame and if you don't assess yourself as a coach in this manner then your not credible...Again MY opinion !!! As with all the aggro with Heidelberg and the sugar they spend,it's never really upset me,even when we were competing against them.The only part that made me a little sour was the cockiness of a minimal amount of Heidelberg boys that I used to run into around the traps(but when you have produced,I suppose you can be cocky)...I only slighty know Trevor Barrott,had a footy chat here and there with him.Whenever I cross him at the footy he always says g'day and how ya doing.Can't ask much more than that in a bloke.What he does with his bugs bunny is his business.From a coaching perspective,you'd be a happy bloke knowing that the club and it's dealings would be pretty professional and solid.Hopefully a few of the boys give him the whisper now and again that they appreciate it.At most clubs it's the same half dozen busting their ass to find the match payments.We all know it's a prick when your clubs battling and doing it hard(we've all been there)and to be honest, I'm unsure how to remedy or even things out...
Well said whale. we still miss you down there and your antics. you will make a great coach one day and maybe i can play under you if everything goes right. bundoora will be premiers sooner rather than later. and u will have played a big part in that

... At most clubs it's the same half dozen busting their ass to find the match payments.We all know it's a prick when your clubs battling and doing it hard(we've all been there)and to be honest, I'm unsure how to remedy or even things out...

A good start would be relegate Premiers of Div 1 (team not club) down to Div 2 instead of bottom ladder club.

I just saw Boof driving around with a few bags of cement on a trailer. He said he was dropping it off at rest of the divvy 1 clubs so they could harden the **** up.

As with all the aggro with Heidelberg and the sugar they spend,it's never really upset me,even when we were competing against them.The only part that made me a little sour was the cockiness of a minimal amount of Heidelberg boys that I used to run into around the traps(but when you have produced,I suppose you can be cocky)...I only slighty know Trevor Barrott,had a footy chat here and there with him.Whenever I cross him at the footy he always says g'day and how ya doing.Can't ask much more than that in a bloke.What he does with his bugs bunny is his business.From a coaching perspective,you'd be a happy bloke knowing that the club and it's dealings would be pretty professional and solid.Hopefully a few of the boys give him the whisper now and again that they appreciate it.At most clubs it's the same half dozen busting their ass to find the match payments.We all know it's a prick when your clubs battling and doing it hard(we've all been there)and to be honest, I'm unsure how to remedy or even things out...

Well said. If half the blokes that complain about Barrot's coin, had the same coin and resources - would they do the same thing?? I mean the bloke is obviously passionate about his club .. so he backs it up with $$. I'd do the same at Mont if I had the coin. I'd buy better blokes though ;)

Great post whale but can you please give us your opinion????????

Heard a rumour you have been approached to take the ruck coachs position at Punt Rd, with your mate steping up to the big job. Any thruth to this rumour??

I just saw Boof driving around with a few bags of cement on a trailer. He said he was dropping it off at rest of the divvy 1 clubs so they could harden the **** up.

Mate, GVFL had a split round so I came and watched some metro football.

On the Sat went and watched some Shep boys play for M.Park vs Coburg West and on Sunday went to Northcote vs Bundoora.

The Essendon game looked much more faster & better skills. I didn't think there would be much difference. M.Park were massive and reminded me of Rochester who are dominating the Gvfl. They moved the ball unbelievable.

The Sunday game was not a bad spectacle, but just a bit behind. But, both sides looked really determined and it had a bit of a finals feel.

In saying that the ground standard was massive and the crowd was really good standard. They really got into it. It was great to see.

Bundoora may have been bridesmaids a few times, but at least they know they got there busting there arse. id rather be in a team that earnt there spot in a grand final and not bought it. heidelberg are a bunch of arrogant **********s. Cant wait for someone to knock them off this year and put them back in there box. good luck to bundoora, northcote, north heidelberg and mont. :thumbsu:

Busting their arse and paying a fair bit of coin at the same time!Also notice you have disregarded Lalor from your final comment,maybe you'll rate us after tomorrow

10 times in fact, 4 of which have been against Heidelberg. Quite a pathetic record when you look at it which coincides with the gutless nature of the club and supporters. It's funny how people like you who have no idea are so quick to point the finger at Heidelberg for their spending yet in reality all you base it on is assumptions and it's ultimately fueled by jealousy. Back in 2006 Heidelberg had more ex juniors in their grand final side than Bundoora so have a look at yourself simpleton.

It has always amazed me as to what people mean by "home grown talent" when referring to players at their particular club. It appears to really be a matter of a person's own personal interpretation.
To me, "home grown talent" at a sports club, in this case the local football clubs, should really mean those players that have come up thru the junior ranks and are now playing with the clubs senior teams - irrespective of whether or not they did leave the club at some point to try their luck at either the TAC or VFL competitions - or maybe even at another competition or club! So in that sense, only clubs like Eltham, North Heidelberg, Montmorency, West Preston and Lalor could truly claim to have "home grown talent" playing at their club, although Greensborough, and now Northcote Park could also argue a case for inclusion in this list.
Because Heidelberg, Bundoora and Thomastown don't have any directly linked junior teams they don't have any real claim to fostering and promoting home grown talent amongst their playing stock ! True Heidelberg will claim that they have a junior club in the Yarra League and Bundoora will claim that they sponsored Mill Park (to what degree I'm not sure) and have a link with Bundoora juniors also in the Yarra League, while Thomastown now trumpet that they have a link to Lalor Stars. But in reality these are separate clubs in their own right.
So I, like many others on this board, would be interested to see who are all these players that RiverRat lists as the current home grown talent running around in the first eighteen at Warringal Park. Him and others from down by the river continue to make this comment without any tangible support.
Now. I have consulted with some gents who have a more extensive library of facts than I and Heidelberg did field an under 17 age team in the DVFL back in the late 1990s, and were premiers in 1998 and 1999. But they folded their involvement in the DVFL under age competition at the end of 1999. From those teams the only names that are still around are Mark Favrin and Jake Williams (with Chad Walker in the Magoos). So in fairness, there are two but nowhere near the number alluded to by RiverRat and others.
So. Who are the players that have played in the seniors this season that are your club's true "home grown talent" ?
Oh, and during my research I noted that so far this season Heidelberg have had some 56 players in their Reserves. That's nearly three full teams. Maybe they should send some across the park to their neighbours and help them out !
icon12.gif

Some very, very interesting matches set down for today to complete the half way mark of the home and away season.
A big test for Lalor to see if they can match it with one of the teams above them, this time Bundoora. They have been thumped by the other two sides so far this season. The Bulls are still favourite to make it to the grand final and should hold out the Bloods by 18 points.
Heidelberg have taken all before them so far this season, as expected, and although Greensborough will be persistent for at least half the game, the Tigers shouldn't drop their first one against the Slime today. The Tigers by around 45 points.
Montmorency appear to have their season back on track and won't allow West Preston to stop them. The Magpies by around 30 points.
Traditional rivals North Heidelberg and Northcote Park clash in the match of the day. North were very impressive last round while Northcote appeared to be off the boil a bit. The match is at the Kennel, so North should get over the line by 11 points.
In another crucial match Eltham can exorcise all their past demons, and put a break on the relegation zone with a win at Thomastown. This is the Bears biggest opportunity to show that they can play in the top division and although I'd like to select them I have to predict a Panther win by around 25 points.
Off soon to see some good local footballers !
icon6.gif

Went down and saw Monty take care of W.Preston today.

W.Preston came out trying to start spot fires around the ground. Especailly from that #20 boof head who thought putting off King at full forward was going to win them the game. Also attempted to put McGough of his game which didnt work.

They seemed to lack the harder bodies but do have some good pace. The last qtr scuffle which saw some players get sent off was pretty lame as Mont had the game won already.. dont know what w.preston were trying to do there...

Looks like North are coming along nicely with a decent win over Northcote Park. Bundoora also picking up some form.

Few good matches to come i believe :)

Watch out for Mont on the way home, should push for a top 4 finish.

Went down and saw Monty take care of W.Preston today.

W.Preston came out trying to start spot fires around the ground. Especially from that #20 boof head who thought putting off King at full forward wasn'tgoing to win them the game. Also attempted to put McGough of his game which didnt work.

They seemed to lack the harder bodies but do have some good pace. The last qtr scuffle which saw some players get sent off was pretty lame as Mont had the game won already.. dont know what w.preston were trying to do there...

Looks like North are coming along nicely with a decent win over Northcote Park. Bundoora also picking up some form.

Few good matches to come i believe :)

Watch out for Mont on the way home, should push for a top 4 finish.

don'y you mean PIN HEAD (fatboy haro):D

Lalor v Bundoora yesterday
Was a good game to watch down on plenty road with Bundoora always being in front and lalor pegging the lead back only for bundy to kick another goal....
Big name players Brayden Shaw and Little Papaluca were barely seen and had little influence as they were well beaten by Shannon Smith and Tim Murphy respectively... Hyde had a great game in defence and created alot of run but lalors inaccuracy let them down missing easy shots at goal... Finlayson from Bundoora kicked 4 goals i think it was pretty solid unit but was on a much lighter opponent in gloury from lalor who never gave up... the big fella who kicked 9 last week O Brien was well held by Shackleton all day and with shackleton gettin into him all day long physically seemed to put o brien off a bit ... Mitchell from bundy had a good game as u would expect hes a great little player and Benny Shelton on Whitnall did a good job too keeping him to three goals... Lalors Scott Morrison injured his shoulder in the 2nd quarter and was off for the rest of the game which was a blow for lalor as whitnall sometimes had 4 blokes jumping all over him.... Hughes from lalor has an injured hamstring too which enabled bundoora to have a edge on the lalor defence... Bundoora by 4 goals in a good game to be at and again another fantastic day run by the bundoora football club...

They meet again in 5 weeks at lalor will be very interesting!!!

Ventured down to the bear cave yesterday too see the bears take on the panthers, The bears didn't use the wind to geat advantage in the first term only being up by 2 goals at the first break, eltham got it out to a 5 goal lead at the half. After half tie it was all eltham kicking 9 goals into the wind to thommos 3 with it and the game was over, eltham ran out comfortable winners by 100 points in the end but the gap between these two sides isn't that much, should be interesting in the return leg.
Hopefully the bears can show something and knock off the slime this week, in there first encounter it was the bears first qtr which cost them the game