• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Northern Football League Division 1 - Part VI

:thumbsu: and The Boofs happy with the work in progress. A couple of Bergs assisting Stinga. 1% up and missed tackles down by a factor of a million and finally get some go-forward.

It was like looking at under 19 at qtr time. Had to laugh at 3/4. Coach tries to motivate the boys by saying words to the effect, young legs over old legs and playing for the jumper over playing for money will win this game. Keep playing that tune and its gonna be a long season. Best to get to know the enemy. He would well know that the hardest crook to catch is the crook thats never been caught. Anyway, under the circumstances Whittlesea went very well and will be thereabouts and possibly win some.

What are you trying to say here boof?
You must have had your head in the trough when writing this dribble

Saw an odd thing at Eltham yesterday with the Goal Umpire. Eltham snapped a goal that all players celebrated on for the Goal Ump to slap his chest and signal a point, the Field Ump ran straight in and said (obviously I am ab libbing here) Mate are you ****ing serious, that was a great snap by the bloke and went straight over your ****ing head! Change your mind and signal a goal will ya.

To which the Goal Ump, to the delight of the Eltham players and faithful signalled a goal

Odd. Yet this bloke still gets paid?

... Eltham snapped ... Goal Ump ... signal a point ... Field Ump ran straight in and said .... to the delight of the Eltham players and faithful ... Change your mind and signal a goal will ya ... signalled a goal ...

So thats how Eltham won the game. Standing-over the umpires. Absolutely disgraceful :p

To which the Goal Ump, to the delight of the Eltham players and faithful signalled a goal

No offense mate, I wasn't there so I can't comment on whether it was a shocker or not, but umpires do more for the league then people bad-mouthing them behind their computers on BF.

If you read my post and its tone you should take out that whilst I was taking a pot shot at the goalie I don't think I was bad mouthing them and was sort of trying to be a bit tongue-in-cheek (probably other than the comment about their pay but hey, if a ball travels over your head through the middle of the big white ****ing posts and everyone including the fieldie who was about 30 out in the middle of the field, well should you get paid????). Seriously :confused:. If I cannot make comment on a forum like this that is designed for that then :(:(. If you think that the Umpires cannot handle a little bit of a sledge ESPECIALLY WHEN ALL I COMMENTED ON IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED. :confused::confused:

I happen to be a great fan of all umps, and if you actually knew me you may know that I have quite a close relationship with many of them, most of them do a cracking job.

Pull your head in mate.....oh maybe I did take offence, oh well. :eek:

So thats how Eltham won the game. Standing-over the umpires. Absolutely disgraceful :p

:D:D close boof but it was the other Ump that stood over the Goalie, was just an interesting thing, yep we all make mistakes but it was a bit strange.;)

the grand final replay aside....in terms of match of the round in which should and will hopefully be a ripper match. Eltham v Greensborough has got to be one hell of a match. what are peoples thoughts on the big showdown next week

If you read my post and its tone you should take out that whilst I was taking a pot shot at the goalie I don't think I was bad mouthing them and was sort of trying to be a bit tongue-in-cheek (probably other than the comment about their pay but hey, if a ball travels over your head through the middle of the big white ****ing posts and everyone including the fieldie who was about 30 out in the middle of the field, well should you get paid????). Seriously :confused:. If I cannot make comment on a forum like this that is designed for that then :(:(. If you think that the Umpires cannot handle a little bit of a sledge ESPECIALLY WHEN ALL I COMMENTED ON IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED. :confused::confused:

I happen to be a great fan of all umps, and if you actually knew me you may know that I have quite a close relationship with many of them, most of them do a cracking job.

Pull your head in mate.....oh maybe I did take offence, oh well. :eek:

I may have sounded like I was directing it totally at you but I wasn't. I understand what you were saying but I think the "still get paid" comment was a little unnecissary, I was trying to have a go though at others, not just on this forum but across the NFL board, that bad-mouth umps.

Hope this clears things up :thumbsu:

Saw an odd thing at Eltham yesterday with the Goal Umpire. Eltham snapped a goal that all players celebrated on for the Goal Ump to slap his chest and signal a point, the Field Ump ran straight in and said (obviously I am ab libbing here) Mate are you ****ing serious, that was a great snap by the bloke and went straight over your ****ing head! Change your mind and signal a goal will ya.

Denny - You are a first class tool.

If you had of been coherent enough and you knew what was happening, the Goal Ump tapped his chest to say if it was his call. Tapping the chest does not always mean (although in most cases it will) that a behind has been scored. The goal was scored off a play on - advantage call, and the Goal umpire after tapping ran to the field umpire to seek clarification and an all clear.

I hate sticking up for umpires, but in this instance they did everything by the "Dickie Norman school of Goal umpiring book".

As for those close relationships to umpires that you have, one was a good umpire and one was bad umpire, and they both became better blokes post their umpiring careers! ;)

While we are laughing about umpires, (that is what you kids are doing aren't you?) Macleod V Bundoora third quarter umpire Walker, gives a free to Macleod. as pack is clearing Macleod player drags Bundy player who has the ball along the ground in an attempt to get the ball back, Walker see's this as a test of strength and waits, umpy 40 metres away blows 50m and then a second 50 and almost stands on other umps toe in an effort to get his big boof head into the action.
Leaving Walker standing there scratching his head and wondering what the F#@& was that all about. Yes he was actually scratching his head, funniest thing all year. I wish more umps had a personality.:D

Great to see Rocca and Presti high fiving the kids and signing autographs long after the game had finished on Saturday. Nice touch.

While we are laughing about umpires, (that is what you kids are doing aren't you?) Macleod V Bundoora third quarter umpire Walker, gives a free to Macleod. as pack is clearing Macleod player drags Bundy player who has the ball along the ground in an attempt to get the ball back, Walker see's this as a test of strength and waits, umpy 40 metres away blows 50m and then a second 50 and almost stands on other umps toe in an effort to get his big boof head into the action.
Leaving Walker standing there scratching his head and wondering what the F#@& was that all about. Yes he was actually scratching his head, funniest thing all year. I wish more umps had a personality.:D

the 2nd 50 was for backchat. That was a no brainer.

Just on Bundoora, very impressive until this year and will take a lot of beating. Clean possession and a lot a guys with thumping kicks hurt too much on small grounds. Cameron Cloke / Moorcroft tandem in the forward line is quite imposing and I think our inexperience cost us dearly. The last 3 goals of the gam to Macleod flattered the scoreboard.

At least we have an indication of what we need to compete.....if you could throw us $100k extra and we'll win the premiership next season no doubt.

$100k?

That would get you roughly 5-6 decent players by today's standards. You would be better off trying your luck on the roulette table and doubling up.

Denny - You are a first class tool.

If you had of been coherent enough and you knew what was happening, the Goal Ump tapped his chest to say if it was his call. Tapping the chest does not always mean (although in most cases it will) that a behind has been scored. The goal was scored off a play on - advantage call, and the Goal umpire after tapping ran to the field umpire to seek clarification and an all clear.

I hate sticking up for umpires, but in this instance they did everything by the "Dickie Norman school of Goal umpiring book".

As for those close relationships to umpires that you have, one was a good umpire and one was bad umpire, and they both became better blokes post their umpiring careers! ;)

Oh KA, your killing me here.

OK, I have not looked up the rule book on Goal Umpiring and am not about to (just plain lazy and had a hard day so having a few froffs...) I will just say how I see it (or believe it to be...)

Now, from what I understand is, the decision is ALWAYS the goal umpires, why would he signal MINE......its HIS job and he should not have to tell everyone. Also you NEVER see them slap their chest when they are indicating a goal.

What has happened (and this is in the AFL not just the NFL) is, slapping the chest was ORIGINALLY to signal to the boundary umpires that they need to stop running in to collect the ball (as if a goal has been scored) as the shot missed and is a BEHIND (which would mean it needs to be kicked out by the defender) NOW, I have no idea when it became fashionable or a requirement to slap their chest all the time as you see them do it for set shots when the boundary umps are standing their and need not be told to stop running towards the goal. I am not having a go at NFL umps as the highly paid AFL umps do it and I have NO IDEA why?

Happy to stand corrected by anyone other than Kissass as he will be wrong anyway....he was wrong for the pants he was wearing on Sat so he must be wrong on this.....

Anyone with an opinion, WhilstleBlower?

Also, please remember I am NOT Umpire bashing here, hey, I saw what I thought was a mistake, we all make them (KA's parents for example), hey I saw ex-AFL players on Saturday making them and I reckon they are earning more than the Goalie.

Big fan of Umps, they put up with a hell of a lot, most are big enough to take it, Hell Georgie laughs and looks like he lives for it :D

With an absolute lack of any conversation on the Div 1 forum, seems strange that no one on here is posting, is it the Tiger faithful that we have heard so much of in previous years have gone into their shells? Is it the Magpie army of jumped off ship and decided to put the key board away? Is it the Slime followers are in a state of awe at the football their boys are producing? Or the Bull believers just keeping a lid on it? I don't know, just no real traffic on here recently...Oh well.

What we need to do is look toward this weekend, an seriously there is no better preview of the Greensborough v Eltham game than the one on the NFL web by Liam 'Mighty' Quinn. Whilst I differ to him on the result, its a cracker of a preview. See it here: http://www.nfl.org.au/League-News/mightys-match-preview-round-5.html

Anyone else with a Div 1 preview?

With an absolute lack of any conversation on the Div 1 forum, seems strange that no one on here is posting, is it the Tiger faithful that we have heard so much of in previous years have gone into their shells? Is it the Magpie army of jumped off ship and decided to put the key board away? Is it the Slime followers are in a state of awe at the football their boys are producing? Or the Bull believers just keeping a lid on it? I don't know, just no real traffic on here recently...Oh well.

What we need to do is look toward this weekend, an seriously there is no better preview of the Greensborough v Eltham game than the one on the NFL web by Liam 'Mighty' Quinn. Whilst I differ to him on the result, its a cracker of a preview. See it here: http://www.nfl.org.au/League-News/mightys-match-preview-round-5.html

Anyone else with a Div 1 preview?

Bundoora have ruined the compeition with their big spending and all the ex-AFL recruits. Bring in a points system :rolleyes:

It looks like both the big stars will be unavailable for West on satdy with Collingwood twos playing stady arvo and Essendon in brisbane. New coach should get Bergers over the line.

an seriously there is no better preview of the Greensborough v Eltham game than the one on the NFL web by Liam 'Mighty' Quinn. Whilst I differ to him on the result, its a cracker of a preview. See it here: http://www.nfl.org.au/League-News/mightys-match-preview-round-5.html

The crowd at War Memorial Park was absolutely electric last week, and with seemingly stronger opposition and the heightened emotion this week, it should be taken to another level this week.
That same crowd is also why I’m leaning towards Greensborough this week.
I think Eltham will definitely give Greensborough all they can handle, but we saw last week just how much of a lift the crowd can give to their home side.
That should give Greensborough the extra spur to continue its undefeated season this week

It may be a good preview, but I wonder if "Mighty" Quinn has his facts right about the "Crowd" being able to lift the home side?

In fact, i doubt very much that he has ever seen a full on ferocious (and yes ferral) Eltham Panther crowd. Even at away games, the Panther hoards in full voice are a sight to behold.

Can recall last year, that our crowd not only out numbered the Boro fans at the slime pit 3-1, but we were also better looking, better blokes and i think even better drinkers.

Go Panthers! :thumbsu:

The crowd at War Memorial Park was absolutely electric last week, and with seemingly stronger opposition and the heightened emotion this week, it should be taken to another level this week.
That same crowd is also why I’m leaning towards Greensborough this week.
I think Eltham will definitely give Greensborough all they can handle, but we saw last week just how much of a lift the crowd can give to their home side.
That should give Greensborough the extra spur to continue its undefeated season this week

It may be a good preview, but I wonder if "Mighty" Quinn has his facts right about the "Crowd" being able to lift the home side?

In fact, i doubt very much that he has ever seen a full on ferocious (and yes ferral) Eltham Panther crowd. Even at away games, the Panther hoards in full voice are a sight to behold.

Can recall last year, that our crowd not only out numbered the Boro fans at the slime pit 3-1, but we were also better looking, better blokes and i think even better drinkers.

Go Panthers! :thumbsu:
hope you dont mind if i come onto panther footy forum for a sec. we have just been sitting back letting the eltham boys enjoy their moment in the sun.it will be a big game this week against the slime for you. big game for us at west.they will have a few out whilst we go there with our home grown champs .good luck to stinga and the boys.the team is building slowly.nothing won at this time of the year.and isnt it great to see it so even.looks like about 6 teams fighting for it.whilst i'm able to get on here i would like to thank gav for his time at the club.we all looki forward to seeing him back having an ale with us as soon as possible. go tiges. www.heidelbergfc.com.au. kickass keep up with the insanity mate we all need a bit of fun on here.

Bundoora have ruined the compeition with their big spending and all the ex-AFL recruits. Bring in a points system :rolleyes:

Mate, give the stuck record a break, was not Northcote Park, then Heidelberg all accused and people wanting them out of the League, well now it's Bundoora's turn for a few years and then after that another team will step up and be criticised, if they have money then good on them, it's the reason Man Utd win every EPL title

I'm with you AH. These ex AFL players bring people to the footy. Great crowd at the Panthers and Roosters last weekend at Panther Park and there were a lot that didn't follow either team. They just wanted the opportunity to stand in the huddle next to Presti and Rocca. These people buy beer, pies and hotdogs. Win/Win all round. Instead of bagging clubs like Bundoora and West I reckon we should be thanking them.