Force

Apr 12, 2006
A.K Lines Reserve
Watsonia Saints
For anyone who wants to talk about NFL division 2, and to keep ifyoucandodgeawrench from complaining!

Just some topics to start us off:

Hows your team looking?
Any new recruits?
Who will win the leagues B & F?
Who is going to make the final top 6?
Who will be playing in the premiership?
Who will win the premiership?
How did your team go on saturday?

Would be nice if we can talk about some decent topics rather then verbally bashing the other teams! Lets see how we go!!

Re: Northern Football League Division 2

played thomo on the weekend and i think thomo will make the top 6.

played very well for 1 and a half quarters. but then we played our best football all year.

also thomo had out barry mcdonald,steve soloymn,stefan berak and andy cummodo. capeci had an off day as well. so they will be good.

my top six in no particular order

WHITTLESEA GO EAGLES (obviously)
lower plenty
lalor
macleod
thomostown

and either south morang (if they can keep up there good form) or watsonia.

My top 6 in no particular order:
Watsonia Go Saints (obviously)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown

Went to see the Lower vs Morang game on Saturday and it proved to be a lot more entertaining and competitive than I thought it would. Poor kicking at goal certainly cost South Morang early and they should have been about 2 goals in front at half time. Lower certainly had their chances to win late in the game but full credit must go to the home team. Better players for Morang were Jerram and Snowden, whilst for Lower Parsons and Mckenzie were prominent.
PS The new rooms at Lakes look fantastic and full credit to South Morang who put on a good spread at half time too.
I'm sure Lower will be keen to atone for their loss and this week's game against Thomastown shapes as being a good one.

My top 6 in no particular order:
Watsonia Go Saints (obviously)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown
playing of in the grand final will be macleod and lalor???
how slack are the nfl with there scores being put in the paper i think they should lift there game abit what's everyone thoughts on that?

ghost couldnt find a spot for whittlesea. hahahahahaha

about morang, bunch of young blokes that have a red hot crack.

just wondering if there ground has the biggest home ground advantage (i have never played there) but i have heard from a lot of people it is the windiest ground they have played on.

mase - Parkside is my smoky, although 6th spot could conceivably be filled by a number of clubs, including the eagles.
The Mill Park Lakes ground is becoming a fortress for Morang early on. By its design it is very open and exposed to the elements and, as such, it will always be windy. Morang have a definite advantage here.
Mase - I note you played on the weekend. Did you play in the seniors and who did you play on? How did your two's and U19's fair? Looks as though Thomastown had a few out you reckon?

yeah mate played on saturday. yeah played okay on the grand stand wing (defensive wing). probably about half way through the 2nd quarter we were down by 3 goals. we just turned it on. kicked 10 of the next 11 goals and it was game over.

2's they lost but only just and 19's won with two of their best players playin seniors.so all is good at the moment.:)

gotta go, hope thats enough info ghost.

just wondering if there ground has the biggest home ground advantage (i have never played there) but i have heard from a lot of people it is the windiest ground they have played on.
i think they have the must be used to the wind by now?

Gday boys,

Re the ground very very different to any ground in the league I think very open more a circle then a oval. As for the wind I suppose we are getting used to it but it is still pretty hard because come tues or thurs there is no wind it comes down to game day and the more we start to play on it the better we will became using it to our advantage. Thats what we want as every other club would new ground new facilities what to make it as hard as possible for other clubs to win. I think the six will be

Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown (need to pull finger out)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
South Morang

boys divi 1 thread trying to put a fantasy rep squad team together. anyone want to try and put one together. i can't as have only played against 4 clubs this year. and ill probably be biast towards whittlesea.

for divvi 2 players only

yes for divi 2 players only
this is just a sqaud
carey.box panton hill
hockey parkside
pow,wood heidleberg west
curran mernda
carmusciano,elkins,smith lalor
brant,a.bennet,j.bennet,shaw,cottier macleod
mclaughlin,parsons,monga,knee lower
smith,wall,capeci thomastown
gillchrist,eifermann,fitzgerald whittlesea
gibson,wittison watsonia

just a start boys and girls

this is just a sqaud
carey.box panton hill
hockey parkside
pow,wood heidleberg west
curran mernda
carmusciano,elkins,smith lalor
brant,a.bennet,j.bennet,shaw,cottier macleod
mclaughlin,parsons,monga,knee lower
smith,wall,capeci thomastown
gillchrist,eifermann,fitzgerald whittlesea
gibson,wittison watsonia

just a start boys and girls

Whats the ruckmans name from Whittlesea he goes pretty well??

After 5 rounds 2nd divvy looking quite competitive. Lower and Thomastown dropping games during the weekend against teams that have not yet impressed, place ??'s over there capabilities. Suprising wins by both W'sea + Sth M, gives them both unpredicatability, and some credit.
Watsy seems to have hit the scoreboard in a big way over the past couple of weeks, albeit over dubious opposition. Parkside have been the suprise packet of the divvy. Seem to have won games, convincingly, yet it would look like their real test will come during the next 5 weeks, starting with Mernda away. Mernda are nortorious slow starters. Perhaps this season is no different. P.Hill may have lost touch with the top 6 during the past 2 weeks losses. It seems that H'bridge have lost their home ground advantage on their show-box ground, which will not set them in good stead once they start travelling away. Wallan and K'lake seem to be the cellar-dwellers this year. Good to see Wallan motoring thru hard times. Also good to see K'Lake get a pasting for their squibish team, after their pitiful/lacklustre decision to call off their game couple of weeks back. Just above these teams H.West, who have shown competitve form so far, yet not much goal-kicking power with Pow out of the team. At the moment MacLeod and Lalor seem to have lived up to pre-season hype. Looking to be a great game in Rd 10, when these 2 teams would expect to match-off, undeafeated.
Team Stayers = Lalor & MacLeod
Almost stayers = T'town & Lower P
Suprise Packets = Parkside
High potential = W'sea & Sth Morang
Bit of the Unknown = Watsy & Mernda
Dissapointments = H'bridge & P.Hill
Competitive = H.West
Cellar Dwellers = Wallan & Kinglake

Short season this year will not allow teams to make a late surge. It will also give those teams who burst out of the blocks, a chance to have a lull mid-season, with consequences perhaps not being as severe.
Looking forward to what the next couple of weeks bring, which will answer some of the questions, and no doubt rasie many more.
user_online.gif
progress.gif

Whats the ruckmans name from Whittlesea he goes pretty well??

Can only go on the one game I saw of him, and he may have had an off day, but Super gave him a fair touch up in Round 1 when we played them.

Gday boys,

Re the ground very very different to any ground in the league I think very open more a circle then a oval. As for the wind I suppose we are getting used to it but it is still pretty hard because come tues or thurs there is no wind it comes down to game day and the more we start to play on it the better we will became using it to our advantage. Thats what we want as every other club would new ground new facilities what to make it as hard as possible for other clubs to win. I think the six will be

Macleod
Lalor
Thomastown (need to pull finger out)
Lower Plenty
Whittlesea
South Morang

Look at the Dukes; I would agree with you about the ground that it's more of a circle than an oval.
What is your feeling when you walk off after you game, thought the crowed.
I like;
Lalor
Macleod
Lower
Sth Morang
Thomastown
I believe It's only a 5 not a 6 this season????

Can only go on the one game I saw of him, and he may have had an off day, but Super gave him a fair touch up in Round 1 when we played them.

Its their same ruckman from last year yeah? If it is, your bloke must go alright then. I like the whittlesea bloke as he is not your typical 1 dimensional tap ruckman he also covers the whole ground like a midfielder and gathers up kicks as well.

Here's a question who would be the best ruckman in divvy 2?

played thomo on the weekend and i think thomo will make the top 6.

played very well for 1 and a half quarters. but then we played our best football all year.

also thomo had out barry mcdonald,steve soloymn,stefan berak and andy cummodo. capeci had an off day as well. so they will be good.

my top six in no particular order

WHITTLESEA GO EAGLES (obviously)
lower plenty
lalor
macleod
thomostown

and either south morang (if they can keep up there good form) or watsonia.

Hey mase,

You mentioned a few weeks ago that Whittleseas would be having a big signing in the coming weeks, who was it?

By the way, how is Guy Booker and Ace Curran going this year?

Its their same ruckman from last year yeah? If it is, your bloke must go alright then. I like the whittlesea bloke as he is not your typical 1 dimensional tap ruckman he also covers the whole ground like a midfielder and gathers up kicks as well.

Here's a question who would be the best ruckman in divvy 2?

I would think Super or Mafilovski from Lalor.

macca,

the signing i was talking about was ben fitzgerald from bundoora.

and mac troy carrick did his knee last year and i think will be right to play in the 2nd half of the year.
see ya mate.