Northern Football League Divison 1 U19's

do u have a job??? or ne other interests because i think you may have oversteped the mark here m8. i personally dont care about the 90's and i dare say many others on here dont either. this is a under 19's thread about footy so id rather not read an essay on why players are playing footy and where they are. dunno if ne1 else agrees with me but i reckon they would

hahahaha spot on jaw....spot on

Looker, You are quite right in everything you have said and yes many of those on this particular thread are too young to remember the "good old days. :thumbsu:

As much as I have a passionate hate (hate is a very strong word - but very appropriate)for the bloods - I do respect them ( :eek: I can't belive i said this!), they were an absolute unit throughout the 90's and you knew they would do all they possibly could do (even sometimes illegally) to win every game of football possible.

Football is cyclic game - you need to make the most of it while you at the top of your game and work your A$$ off when you are not.

There are no real comparisons that can be made between Eltham & Lalor in terms of 1st Division success (at least at this stage) But success can be measured in many different ways - not just Div 1 premierships, so it is fair to say both are proud and successful clubs in their own defined ways.

What happens with both clubs over the next 10 or so years is the destiny that is in the very own hands of both clubs. And of course so it is too with the other emerging clubs and those traditionally strong.

Go Panthers.

KA, read with interest your response to Looker and you both expressed your opinions which I can't disagree with.

But (KA) you really should have a chat to your panther cubs and tell them to carefully read other Big Foot respondents' postings and respect them as they are written. Not all are directly attacking Eltham FC but instead trying to give a subjective view:).

Looker, You are quite right in everything you have said and yes many of those on this particular thread are too young to remember the "good old days. :thumbsu:

As much as I have a passionate hate (hate is a very strong word - but very appropriate)for the bloods - I do respect them ( :eek: I can't belive i said this!), they were an absolute unit throughout the 90's and you knew they would do all they possibly could do (even sometimes illegally) to win every game of football possible.

Football is cyclic game - you need to make the most of it while you at the top of your game and work your A$$ off when you are not.

There are no real comparisons that can be made between Eltham & Lalor in terms of 1st Division success (at least at this stage) But success can be measured in many different ways - not just Div 1 premierships, so it is fair to say both are proud and successful clubs in their own defined ways.

What happens with both clubs over the next 10 or so years is the destiny that is in the very own hands of both clubs. And of course so it is too with the other emerging clubs and those traditionally strong.

Go Panthers.

leroy do you think the standard of footy has droped since the 90s. I think most young sides in the nfl would stuggle against sides in the 90s eg lalor eltham greensborogh, i imagine that our young blokes would struggle against the likes of trevor robinson, Ricky abbatangalo, joe and mat ahmad, Athos hyroliakos, peter dean, marty kemp, john burke, spider shaw, ledgends of the nfl dont think theres many blokes running around.

Its a fair call. Some real tough cookies amongst the names you mentioned, some real champion players and some (not all) real champion blokes.

Yes, Footy was different in those days mate and I for one thoroughly enjoyed it. But, times change and playing styles come and go. Players adapt to the way footy is governed and strategy is implemented to combat newer or refreshed playing tactics.

Some of the tactics employed in the past just simply wouldn't cut it in today's game and some players would have to curb their natural desires for agression or could find themselves umpired out of being effective.

The kids of today are no differnt to those of yester year, except they are seemingly more skilful, have more pace and don't fear the reputations or respect built up by clubs over the years.

Comparing the current crop to the best of the 90s is very unfair as some of the current teams would have a red hot go in the past era just as those teams would still be competitive in more modern times.

Stoogey, in 10 -15 years time, you'll probably have Little Stooge02 b.s on bigfooty to K.A jr about how good their era is in comparison to the present. Of course hopefully by then, Eltham will have collected a few Div 1 premierships and Lalor are the yo yo side between Div 2 and Div 3.
Ha ha ha :D

Just wondering what will happen with the ladder now that lalor have pulled the pin, at this stage it says eltham is the only team to have a bye, which means they are robbed of 4 points that other teams have gained due to forfeits during the first 6 rounds.

E the K,

I think you will find that the Bye will mean 4 points awarded to the team that has it. It hasn't yet been reflected in the ladder but i'm sure it will be added in for the Panthers.

Lalor had up until withdrawel not won a match in U 19's in season '08 so no team will be disadvantaged by the draw being an auto 4 pts.

Eltham have get a bye as will Bundoora and North Heidelberg.
Northcote have no result recorded for lalor's forfeits.
So the teams to be advantaged are Heidelberg, Diamo, Monty, Greensy and West.

Re: Northern Football League U19's

Bundoora will win the flag by a country mile and they will play WPL.

Eltham are spuds and only play well against lesser opposition.

An I Know , I know they have 10 or so of their 19's in the ones, but it's what is still in the 19's that aren't good enough to match Bundy and WPL, which has already been proven this year.
thats a big call there ifooty i play for bundoora and have played against both eltham and west and reckon eltham were a better team than west even tho we played west in the worst conditions ever but still only half way through the season n hopefully our boys can keep playing good footy like we have been and cant wait to get to the business end of the year after our disapointing end to last years season

Re: Northern Football League U19's

thats a big call there ifooty i play for bundoora and have played against both eltham and west and reckon eltham were a better team than west even tho we played west in the worst conditions ever but still only half way through the season n hopefully our boys can keep playing good footy like we have been and cant wait to get to the business end of the year after our disapointing end to last years season

yes yes very true time will tell. eltham are just starting to hit form and dont see believe west are as good as bundy and the panthers cant wait to play them again. will be a good game

does anyone know what the go is with the under 19s ladder? after lalor played a few games and got smashed, sides who had a 'bye' agaisnt them havent received the 4 points, which disadvantages the sides that havent played them. will this be fixed

anyone want to have a crack at the top four this year? i reckon it will stay the same, maybe northcote park a chance to slot into fourth.
Hopefully the boro beat west this week, and from what ive heard they are very very confident

anyone want to have a crack at the top four this year? i reckon it will stay the same, maybe northcote park a chance to slot into fourth.
Hopefully the boro beat west this week, and from what ive heard they are very very confident

yes you would have to think bundoora,west,eltham will occupy the top 3 in what order will be determined in the weeks to come (with what i expect to be some tough close games with one another). and your right again 4th spot is of course out of boro and nthcote, but i would have to think the slime will get in there and may not just make up the numbers in the finals either. tomorows game at west will indeed be very interesting, boro has played much of the early part of the season not at full strength and will now start to trouble the rest of the comp. very interested to see the results from that game tomorow.

here come greensborough!. Although they knocked off West Preston, I knew something was up and as i checked the seniors list i noticed that Jason Defelice, Kane Heany, James McInerny & Corey Ray played ones and those players are instrumental in Wests success, take all four out in one go and it definitly will put more pressure on other players. Take nothing away from Greensborough although not a fan, they always have been hard at it, will be interesting to see how they fare against Eltham and Bundoora.

blacky18 where r u????. or have u gone in hiding after not recieving a stat on the w.e against eltham

hahaha sorry mate been talking to your sister on msn, cant get her off webcam its hard to get onto bigfooty. Yes ive been playin well n yeah boro will fk u up this weekend. peace

i see butera didnt get in the best vs greensy on the weekend.. they must of given it to someone else for encouragement. and by the way, players in your seniors is not an excuse, greensy have blokes aswell in there ones. also, got told that vicntorio shit himself on the weekend and hardly touched it...

here come greensborough!. Although they knocked off West Preston, I knew something was up and as i checked the seniors list i noticed that Jason Defelice, Kane Heany, James McInerny & Corey Ray played ones and those players are instrumental in Wests success, take all four out in one go and it definitly will put more pressure on other players. Take nothing away from Greensborough although not a fan, they always have been hard at it, will be interesting to see how they fare against Eltham and Bundoora.

yeh i believe those players would have made a fair difference. there pace and movement through the middle of the ground would have made the game alot closer. i think eltham are getting underrated yet again. last year winning their last 9 or so games and if they had have lost any before the finals they may not have even made it. they have won 5 games in a row now with ease. and beat greensborough last time by 50 pts. they have now gained a few players such as macca rundle, big strong target up forward. matthew tucker, can be played anywhere and terrific skills. little steve whos a goal sneak up forward and can be dangerous wen on song. i heard they have lost brooksy tho? is this true, if so how come? i heard hes was quite a player

agreed the players would have made a huge difference, but your right it happens to everyone so it should not be used as an excuse. im sure west will bounce back. as for eltham no they are not being underrated, not by bundoora or by the people i speak to at greensborough anyway.. you fellas just like to put an underdog tag on yourselves all the time(and thats fair enough) but certainly not underated, as the reigning premiers your the team to beat. iv also heard gboro are full of confidence off their win and are really lookin forward to testing themselves against you as in round 1 they had a few out too. should be a good game and im looking forward to seeing the results.

yeh it should be an interesting result. im tipping eltham to run over them late in the game. they are a fit side, fitter than greensy i believe. it will be a hard fought battle all day, but im tipping eltham for this one. the match of the year i believe if eltham do get over greensy and keep winning will be eltham V Bundoora. It's bundooras home game and should be a belter if both teams keep the wins up.

spot on jase, should be quite a game

.....got told that vicntorio shit himself on the weekend and hardly touched it...

haha, probably right Nixon, Luke Vincintorio is the type of player to sneak under the radar considering his size and cherry picks like no tommorow, now his pretty much found out and its pretty simple...... man him up and he wont go near it in turn choking West Prestons goal supply as there is no other distinct goal kicker.

very interesting i personally havnt seen him play yet, but i always see him kicking bags. if what you say is true that he will struggle with someone on him tight then your right they will need to find a forward who kicks consistent goals apart from him, because looking at their results its their midfielders who kick alot of their other goals. so if vincitorio did struggle it would put more pressure on the mids to get forward meaning their accountability on the other end would be tested. not saying he will struggle because its only been 1 bad game for him... but just a thought.

example. only kciked one goal vs greensy. they played him tight. he is a cat doesnt like body contact.

does anyome know whats going on with the ladder? surely the teams that get the bye instead of playing lalor should be getting the 4 points. for example in the fight for positioning in the top4 bundoora and eltham are being greatly disadvantaged. bundoora has lost 0 games and west and the slime have both lost 2. . yet they are only 4 points behind beacause they got to play lalor. likewise eltham have only lost 2 games, same as west and boro but because of the bye they, like bundoora, miss a game and get no points for it so they are 4 points behind. does anyone know if this is going to stay or will it be fixed?