Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion

Before dogwatch asks, that photograph does me no favours with the lighting. I was an early victim of the newly-introduced order-off rule in the VFA that year, and after my 4th consecutive game of being ordered off, the captain 'Big Dave' De Coite and the president 'Old Man' James Cuming decided I should cool my heels on the sidelines for the remainder of the season. Consequently I was not listed in the 21 premiership players:

View attachment 861935

But was at least allowed to appear in the team photograph. I wasn't a big fan of knickerbockers either, but I did introduce the 'wet willy' to the chaps over a few ales to celebrate awarding of the 'premier-ship'. (There was some concern at Port Melbourne's protest, but luckily the Northerners argued their case well, and my room-mate and team-mate Tender-touch Edmondson - also not listed above - and I let out a thunderous 'Hurrah' in the midst of our celebratory clinch, slipped our lace-ups over our well-oiled bosoms, and marched down to the club to embrace all and sundry. Sadly, we were never invited back for the 1899 season... :think: )
I enjoy your sense of humour, Ivan.

Thanks Ivan, I had no doubt you were there somewhere so I didn't have the temerity to ask this time. Appreciate the human interest angle though.

Actually I thought I might have been able to catch up with you yesterday. I knocked but there was no answer.
No doubt you were off somewhere ... which era was it?
View attachment 862029

Well, I popped back to Prelim Final day 1997, and disguised as an MCG attendant, stood near my 1997 self. I had to leave before the end though, as I don’t know how my 1997 self didn’t punch the Crows supporter next to me full in the face. She was a piece of work, the abuse and filth that emanated from her mouth as the final siren was imminent was disgusting tbh. Rightly or wrongly, I now assume all their supporters are like that. I might go back to late 1990 and try to steer the AFL towards Norwood - but then 2016 might not pan out... 😲

With a lot more time on my hands, getting back to some early to mid 2000s games. The footy I remember as a 12-13 year old.

watched round 22, 2002. Peter Rohde’s coaching debut and a win over grand final bound Collingwood.

Later years Tony Liberatore, Chris Grant in fine form, the time when Luke Darcy was my hero in footy. A young Sam Power in long sleeves, Bob was one of the league’s rising talents. Nathan Brown exciting but you could tell he’s a prick.

robodog guernsey doesn’t look too bad.

might chuck on the 2006 elimination final later

With a lot more time on my hands, getting back to some early to mid 2000s games. The footy I remember as a 12-13 year old.

watched round 22, 2002. Peter Rohde’s coaching debut and a win over grand final bound Collingwood.

Later years Tony Liberatore, Chris Grant in fine form, the time when Luke Darcy was my hero in footy. A young Sam Power in long sleeves, Bob was one of the league’s rising talents. Nathan Brown exciting but you could tell he’s a prick.

robodog guernsey doesn’t look too bad.

might chuck on the 2006 elimination final later
Following year, 2003 wasn't a great one. Grant does his knee in Round 1 and a pathetic 3 wins for the season. Highlight was probably drawing in Perth against West Coast, when Dogs had the game won but played a shite last couple of minutes. Brown was very good that year, played full forward and kicked around 60 goals.

Posted on facebook:

Chris Heckerto Western Bulldogs Forum
1 hr
·

Last night on my way to the shops I saw Bontempelli handing over all the notes and coins in his wallet to a young homeless person.. It's nice to no even though he is a superstar he is still humble and cares for other people.

Should be using tap and go ;)

Following year, 2003 wasn't a great one. Grant does his knee in Round 1 and a pathetic 3 wins for the season. Highlight was probably drawing in Perth against West Coast, when Dogs had the game won but played a shite last couple of minutes. Brown was very good that year, played full forward and kicked around 60 goals.

yeah I remember that.

if anyone can help I’d love to get my hands on a couple of guernseys from that era. My oldest one still in my possession is a 2009 one. I’d love to get hold of one when we still had the Leaseplan sponsorship, without the red trim on sleeves and collar.

and also if anyone has a candy stripe one. I’ll pay. Wear large.

yeah I remember that.

if anyone can help I’d love to get my hands on a couple of guernseys from that era. My oldest one still in my possession is a 2009 one. I’d love to get hold of one when we still had the Leaseplan sponsorship, without the red trim on sleeves and collar.

and also if anyone has a candy stripe one. I’ll pay. Wear large.

I'm not a big purchaser of jumpers (do buy them for the kids though) - a middle-aged man with middle-aged spread wearing a sleeveless jumper at the footy is not a look I can carry off well! I do still have my sleeveless 70s version though, which I struggle to get into, but one of the offspring wears it occasionally to matches. I also still have a pair of the mid-late 1970s socks too, used to wear them at junior footy training for years:

1587699414628.png

I'm not a big purchaser of jumpers (do buy them for the kids though) - a middle-aged man with middle-aged spread wearing a sleeveless jumper at the footy is not a look I can carry off well! I do still have my sleeveless 70s version though, which I struggle to get into, but one of the offspring wears it occasionally to matches. I also still have a pair of the mid-late 1970s socks too, used to wear them at junior footy training for years:

View attachment 863825

I’m more of a collector. although I do wear guernseys at footy training etc.

largely nba jerseys, but Dogs gear too.

1587703820116.png

Is this Mocca and Alan Stoneham - just enterested.

I was really wanting to know if anyone else finds Dwayne Russel's voice annoying. Usually I am positive on all aspects of life , however , this bloke give's me the TOM **** big time.

All the best in these different times.
Best Wishes
Stephen

View attachment 863856

Is this Mocca and Alan Stoneham - just enterested.

I was really wanting to know if anyone else finds Dwayne Russel's voice annoying. Usually I am positive on all aspects of life , however , this bloke give's me the TOM **** big time.

All the best in these different times.
Best Wishes
Stephen

Yep, still from the 1976 R22 drawn game at Princes Park. Carlton finished top, and we snuck into the 5 by half a game, as Demons had a better percentage!

Perhaps you'll enjoy this still more from the 1979 game v Essendon at WO. Terry Wheeler just been felled (in retaliation) by Marsh, and two team-mates coming in to fly the flag... (these are the same socks as 1976 too)

1587708177378.png

Yep, still from the 1976 R22 drawn game at Princes Park. Carlton finished top, and we snuck into the 5 by half a game, as Demons had a better percentage!

Perhaps you'll enjoy this still more from the 1979 game v Essendon at WO. Terry Wheeler just been felled (in retaliation) by Marsh, and two team-mates coming in to fly the flag... (these are the same socks as 1976 too)

View attachment 863889
Stephen Power and Ian Low?

And beating Geelong twice (The second our last win at KP).

Well said. I think it deserves it's own thread though.

So sad. I stood in my driveway this morning with a candle for the national dawn service. I also have blue ribbons out for the 4 police officers who were cruelly killed during the week. Not another sole out this morning except one jogger. No blue to be seen anywhere this week (and I go for a long walk around the Whitten Oval and West Footscray several times a week). Ashamed of my neighbors.

Lest we forget?....Or lest we be bothered.

Sent from my SM-A505YN using Tapatalk

Stephen Power and Ian Low?

Two very under-rated players for us. Steve Power was a rugged but quick half back/wing, who didn’t mind a physical contest, and Ian Low came from Canberra, and also played wing, but predominantly half forward. Also handy in physical games, finished his career at Collingwood. I loved these types as a teenager, not our best players, but our stars wouldn’t have shone so brightly without tough supporting characters.

Edit: I posted a photo of Steve Power as I was replying to his post. 😉

So sad. I stood in my driveway this morning with a candle for the national dawn service. I also have blue ribbons out for the 4 police officers who were cruelly killed during the week. Not another sole out this morning except one jogger. No blue to be seen anywhere this week (and I go for a long walk around the Whitten Oval and West Footscray several times a week). Ashamed of my neighbors.

We were at our gate at 5:45 - no one else visible, but our neighbours out here in the sticks are barely visible in daylight! Didn’t detract from it though - other half and I had our candles and the livestream of the ABC coverage. Was interrupted briefly by kookaburras starting up, then a distant rooster, and then magpies. They all fell silent just as the Last Post started though - eerie, but somehow appropriate.

Lest we forget... 😔

Two very under-rated players for us. Steve Power was a rugged but quick half back/wing, who didn’t mind a physical contest, and Ian Low came from Canberra, and also played wing, but predominantly half forward. Also handy in physical games, finished his career at Collingwood. I loved these types as a teenager, not our best players, but our stars wouldn’t have shone so brightly without tough supporting characters.

Edit: I posted a photo of Steve Power as I was replying to his post. 😉
Low played in the 1980 GF for Collingwood. Saw him play a little as a kid, always had a decent crack. As you say no star, but very handy player who must have been traded for financial reasons. I reckon he took the angry pills sometimes before he played, he didn't mind the physical side and he would be first in to back his teammates up. Interesting that he only lasted one year at Colingwood and finished up in the VFL at only 26 years old. Wonder what he did after that?

We were at our gate at 5:45 - no one else visible, but our neighbours out here in the sticks are barely visible in daylight! Didn’t detract from it though - other half and I had our candles and the livestream of the ABC coverage. Was interrupted briefly by kookaburras starting up, then a distant rooster, and then magpies. They all fell silent just as the Last Post started though - eerie, but somehow appropriate.

Lest we forget...
Well done.

Funny you say that about the birds.
None here, but I could hear the cockatoos in Canberra in the background. I said out loud they must be reminding us about the animals who were by our soldiers sides (and still are) and they stopped. Around about the same time as you I'd say.

thanks mate. Wasn’t sure which thread to use.
In retrospect the “ Not worth a thread “ thread is not quite right.

I had the opposite experience, nearly all in our streets around me were up and about.
Ever since I moved here 28 years ago , Riddells Creek has and is very big on the Dawn service.

thanks mate. Wasn’t sure which thread to use.
In retrospect the “ Not worth a thread “ thread is not quite right.

I had the opposite experience, nearly all in our streets around me were up and about.
Ever since I moved here 28 years ago , Riddells Creek has and is very big on the Dawn service.

I went out, with a candle and the ABC TV broadcasting through my bedroom window, my grandfather was an ANZAC at Galipoli, my great uncle died at the Somme, where there was more loss of ANZAC life (such is the recent romantisim of the Gallipoli campaign) my partner who is Irish joined me even though the Irish were neutral and hated the English anyway. Pleased to say a number of neighbours joined us. Perhaps as Footscray has a lot migrants perhaps it doesn't mean anything to them.

My street on Sirius surprised me, people outside most homes as far as I could see. Someone had the Last Post playing on their phone loudly enough for others to hear. Some had candles or torches. Then 2 RAAF planes flew low over the beach, spine-tingling.

5246902B-AA2D-4D5D-9C42-FFC76EFAAB90.jpeg

1587785313202.png