NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything

Having grown up supporting the Mpnfl before moving to Wantirna I can guarantee you that there won’t be any clubs joining the Mpnfl soon. The constitution says that 75% of clubs must agree before any changes are made and you only need 5 clubs to say no and the Southern clubs from Dromana down to Sorrento will always vote no. I believe close to 50% or more wanted Cranbourne but it was the clubs down south that stopped it.

Well that's a strange one... the Berwick, Beaconsfield and Narre North junior clubs have been denied a clearance from SEJ to the EFNL.

AFLSE apparently has new management and AFL Vic want to give them 12 months to get the comp sorted.
Three of the biggest clubs they have.
Funny that AFL vic are comfortable telling junior clubs what they can and can’t do but have had no interest in sorting out the senior mess in the area for the last 10 years.

1. VFA

[Bottom 2 relegated, Premiers promoted]

2. VFA D2 South East / VFA D2 North West

[Bottom 2 relegated, Premiers promoted]

3. Southern / Eastern / Northern / Western, each with as many divisions as required.

4 comps into 2, into 1

You need to have promotion and relegation at all levels to keep the league strong, weakening clubs need to be replaced by strong clubs.

Of course you’d need the AFL clubs to leave and have their own reserves, and you’d need to merge the WRFL / EDFL / NFNL into two leagues, Northern and Western.

For the majority of clubs it’d be the same but those at the top would go further up. Only the Top 10 (VFA) would be city-wide, and would include any existing VFL clubs that wanted to join initially.

VFA D2 would be (at absolute worst) Coldstream to Frankston, 55 - 65 mins. And Laurimer to Werribee, 65 - 70 mins. That’s the worst case, if the most outlying clubs made that level. We already cover Coldstream to Beaconsfield which is around 50 mins.
Sounds good in theory, but what happens if the two bottom teams come from the same competition. You can't have two teams go down when only the premier goes up, because you will then have an extra team in that grade. I can see a number of other problems if there are two different competitions feeding into one grade.

agree, it doesnt work.

I think the VFA or state level clubs need to be much bigger, well funded clubs that sit above local level footy, like the old VFA used to and SANFL and WAFL clubs do.

I am not a fan of having two VFA divisions, I reckon it should just be a 10-team competition for the best metropolitan clubs.

If two teams from the same competition are relegated from the VFA then they go back to their former competition and a domino effect takes place down the grades (you'd expect it would be an uncommon occurrence). The four league premiers would still meet in their playoff match (e.g. North v East; West v South) with the two winners taking the place of the relegated clubs.

If there is no automatic promotion/relegation to the VFA, then the next best alternative would be promotion/relegation by a vote of the VFA clubs. If a VFA club does not achieve 15 wins over three consecutive seasons, then they are automatically relegated and applicants who meet any necessary criteria can fill the vacancy. The replacement club is voted in by the VFA clubs.

It’s easy enough to manage I think. If say, 2 teams were relegated into the EFL, then two teams would be relegated from EFL D1 and so on - it just filters down as the league wishes. If two clubs get relegated then it’s probably just a sign the area isn’t strong enough anyway so it’s appropriate that more go down.

Every year at the moment leagues are dealing with clubs leaving and coming in so they don’t find it too hard to work out if they had to fit in an extra one.

It’s not perfect but I think the aim should always be the best and closest standard of competition at all levels at all times. The only way to achieve that is keeping the movement going at all levels.

I think the biggest improvement would be at local level where you’d have much more even competition without domination from those clubs who clearly spend more than others can. Let them go up if they win a flag.

Robbie Gray to Doncaster for 2023 when his Port Adelaide commitments allow him to play. Huge.

Wonder if Big Stu had a hand in him choosing the destination - No longer EB coach & his son is down there.
They weren't the only ones interested, so that is entirely possible. It looked like he would be leaving well before the season was completed. A real good player who will do well at Rowville.

Robbie Gray to Doncaster for 2023 when his Port Adelaide commitments allow him to play. Huge.
This is old news, always going to play with his mate/best man at his wedding who just happens to be the coach. Would have liked to see him at EB for 1 point. Hope he gets through the season, he will put them in the Premiership window off his own boot.

Doncasters starting midfield gone- Spencer (Montmorency), Mahon and Henden (QLD) gone?
Jamar going again?
They’ll have to get recruiting to stay up.

NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything