NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything

With putting scores on is the home club the only one can do.,One of my pet hates if I can not go to an away game I would like to see the progress scores even if at the end of each quarter.Realise you need a volunteer to do and is that hard any way.

Footy needs to get its arse into gear and educate and demand all timekeepers to use the gameday progressive scores on mobile. It’s not hard to do. Almost all sports have live scoring and footy doesn’t.

The timekeepers are inputting scores these days as most clubs have electronic scoreboards. To have them go from one screen to another is a recipe for fck ups. The solution is simple, the scoreboard software needs to be linked to gameday. It's not rocket science and in saying that someone needs to pay for that development/software. The League can't raise umpire wages so I can't see them paying for that.

Ideally yeah but I’d imagine there’s different scoreboard setups and software. The good news is they’re all using laptops now as you say because the scoreboards are electronic. I reckon they can handle having another window open for gameday and putting the scores in there.

The next step after that is to throw the old school egg timers in the bin and get them to use gameday as the proper clock, so the live timing is right. But one step at a time.

Ideally yeah but I’d imagine there’s different scoreboard setups and software. The good news is they’re all using laptops now as you say because the scoreboards are electronic. I reckon they can handle having another window open for gameday and putting the scores in there.

The next step after that is to throw the old school egg timers in the bin and get them to use gameday as the proper clock, so the live timing is right. But one step at a time.
Obviously you have done it Bunk?

Often the timekeepers are quite elderly. Even older than my old mate G. 😜 Bit of a stereotype but it many cases it’s true. If we cant get the actual scores after a game correct perhaps it’s all too hard to appease a small minority? Keep it simple guys.

Not easy getting players at times, let alone unpaid volunteers. Perhaps get someone at your game to send quarter by quarter messages of scores to those interested. I get group updates every week in this fashion, which I certainly appreciate.

Often the timekeepers are quite elderly. Even older than my old mate G. 😜 Bit of a stereotype but it many cases it’s true. If we cant get the actual scores after a game correct perhaps it’s all too hard to appease a small minority? Keep it simple guys.

Not easy getting players at times, let alone unpaid volunteers. Perhaps get someone at your game to send quarter by quarter messages of scores to those interested. I get group updates every week in this fashion, which I certainly appreciate.
Firstly I am a lot younger then you think.When Ben Waterworth was the EFL Media Manager one of my jobs at home games was to text him our scores by the end of each quarter.Not sure whether it is the same procedure now or if it is would take about 10 seconds.Some clubs use their club Facebook page to post progress quarter by quarter scores for all games played during the day on Saturdays BUT not every one has Facebook.By posting scores at the end each quarter we are looking after our elderly and our supporters who can not get to the games.And of cause all supporters like to see what is happening in other games as well.

As I said G surely one of the many regular hundreds of supporters that you have at Mitcham could message you the scores privately?

I get this every week quarter by quarter as do others. In a tight match like Saturday I might even get some commentary. It’s very much appreciated from my end.

As I said G surely one of the many regular hundreds of supporters that you have at Mitcham could message you the scores privately?

I get this every week quarter by quarter as do others. In a tight match like Saturday I might even get some commentary. It’s very much appreciated from my end.
I am usually at the game and get the texts "what is the score"It is 2023 not 1973 and the technology is there and why not use it for people that can not get to the game and others who want to know scores at other games during the afternoon.

Thought I would give a big shout out to those at The Basin FNC for their Dane Swan appearance on Saturday against Templestowe. What a great day and one of the biggest crowds I have seen at local footy for many years. It was great to see Dane interacting with everyone and see him involved with the women’s teams and the many children there on the day.

Many of these guys turn up and just take the money and that wasn’t the case in this instance. Swan also played well too and provided his thoughts to a young and developing team who really took it up to Templestowe for 3 quarters. They will certainly win their share of games and the investment in local homegrown players is to be applauded.

Was talking to someone involved with the club post Saturday and was told the club was thrilled with how the day went and they will do very well financially too.

Again, well done to all involved. There are some great photos from the day on various Facebook pages including that of the club.

Obviously you have done it Bunk?

Only a couple of times. We’ve taught em how to use the scoreboards, I reckon they could do this too. Timekeepers aren’t useless, a few might be older but we’re not talking the dementia patients here. They’d do it.

Whatever the technology is then of course it’d be good to have it improved.

But seriously, practically every local sport… cricket, basketball, soccer… has live timing and scores. Except the biggest one, footy. Somebody just needs to make it happen with the right tool.

Give a spectator the app if it’s too much work for the timekeepers. Quarter start, quarter end, add goal, add behind. Not rocket science.

I fully understand the issues with volunteers but this is one that is ridiculously easy for somebody to do.

Perhaps one goal umpire keeps score on paper and the other one keeps score via the app on their phone which updates the websites live. Then the two come together at the end of each qtr as usual and confirm the app and the written score are correct.

The league could train all goal umpires in how to use the app. I’ve used it and it’s very simple.

Would be one less task for the club to find someone for and the goal umpires have to keep score anyway and are getting paid for it.

Perhaps one goal umpire keeps score on paper and the other one keeps score via the app on their phone which updates the websites live. Then the two come together at the end of each qtr as usual and confirm the app and the written score are correct.

The league could train all goal umpires in how to use the app. I’ve used it and it’s very simple.

Would be one less task for the club to find someone for and the goal umpires have to keep score anyway and are getting paid for it.

Fantastic idea

Can hardly use the phone for messaging due to "fat fingers", how am i going to go with keeping score and adding in team names, another app on the phone, better off a getting a drunk spectator to do it..another reason for umpires to leave the system.

Umpires leave the system if this if this ever comes in,lets not go overboard.With the suggestion brought up it will only require goals/points put in by goal umpires if this ever happened.Only early days but important we use the technology we have, will be interested in the EDFNL and other competitions on these suggestions and other Big Footy posters thoughts.

Look, TBH, will never happen, no matter how much or little you pay us.
So are you a goal umpire?If you are I understand where you are coming from and agree with you.Hard enough to goal umpire and wave the flags and then have to pull the phone out and start texting with the worry of the ball coming straight back while you are on the app.Surely the best way is a volunteer from the home club using the app/not a timekeeper or a goal umpire.

Look, TBH, will never happen, no matter how much or little you pay us.
It's always going to be little, so don't look at the upside. The scoreboard software is the solution, it's just cross-platform software. It can be done at the cost of less than what the league charges a club to host the finals. Any change leftover can increase umpires' salaries.

So are you a goal umpire?If you are I understand where you are coming from and agree with you.Hard enough to goal umpire and wave the flags and then have to pull the phone out and start texting with the worry of the ball coming straight back while you are on the app.Surely the best way is a volunteer from the home club using the app/not a timekeeper or a goal umpire.
You don’t have to text or write anything.

The app already has the teams loaded up and you simply press + or - to add or delete a goal or point. The app adds up the Score and updates the website live without any further action from the user. The only other action is to press “end” or “begin” to start each quarter.
It is literally easier to use than manually filling out a scorecard as they do currently.

Paper records are increasingly a thing of the past. only a matter of time before the old scorecard goes the same way.

The app already has the teams loaded up and you simply press + or - to add or delete a goal or point. The app adds up the Score and updates the website live without any further action from the user. The only other action is to press “end” or “begin” to start each quarter.
It is literally easier to use than manually filling out a scorecard as they do currently.

Paper records are increasingly a thing of the past. only a matter of time before the old scorecard goes the same way.
Appreciate that reply,sounds good lets all get on board and hope the EFNL and clubs allow this to come in.

How many of you have actually Goal Umpired? Being a club umpire doesn't count.

Why aren't AFL umpires using phones if it is so easy?

How many of you have actually Goal Umpired? Being a club umpire doesn't count.

Why aren't AFL umpires using phones if it is so easy?
Just a suggestion, I’ve goal umpires a few games. I’ve ran the scoring app on a few also. I reckon it’s quite possible to do both.

I do agree with whoever posted that the timekeepers are the best option though

The technology must surely already exist? The very same scoreboards used for footy are already linked to MyCricket so in cricket season all a scorer needs to do is update the live score on MyCricket and it automatically updates the scoreboard as well.
It isn't done through scoreboards it's updated through the scorer's IPad. Updating scores has been a problem for the EFNL for years. It's just lack of willingness and effort by the EFNL to do anything about it. Even MyCricket has problems with some teams updating scores, don't they GMac!

That is correct.I have been involved in cricket for over 20 years and nearly all that time looked after cricket scorebooks,early days we had to fill out the match report and send off to the BHRDC.Life got better when we started loading them on the My Cricket site which at times is a time consuming job especially if the scorebooks are not filled out correctly.Nearly all RDCA junior games are now lived scored,sure there has been issues with the My Cricket system but beats trying to put a U12 scorebook on with runs/wickets/no balls and wides if out.(If more then 2 runs out will not take,that is RDCA).The big advantage with live scoring is every one can see the progress of the game whether you are at the ground or other parts of the state.Just need volunteers to live score and more and more parents are willing to do and realise it is easier then doing the scorebook.

Back to football and my understanding is that the app.is far easier then cricket.At the end of the game I think both teams put their goalkickers and best players on and usually by 6PM you can see all the details.At Mitcham in the 1,s we usually update the score after every score even if only a point.Personally this week end I hope all games can be kept up to date as I will not be at any football,an eye operation on Friday and I think the medical boys will recommend stay at home.

NOW to sometime later in the year (maybe) - Talk about anything