• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

NTFA Div 2

Word on the street is that Uni have had a very good preseason and finished it off with two solid games of footy against Hillwood and Ringarooma.. beat hillwood 12 goals to 5, then on saturday smashed Ringarooma by 120 points!
Good to see a club who dont dish out money playing good team footy...

You are joking me aren't you?

I am good mates with a couple of blokes up there and know for a fact that they get paid, well helped out with their accommodation but it is still money in the back pocket.

Regardless it is good to see them playing good footy, they have picked up a few talented footballers and I reckon will be a threat come finals. My prediction is that they will give Old Scotch a bit of a touch up this weekend also!

You are joking me aren't you?

I am good mates with a couple of blokes up there and know for a fact that they get paid, well helped out with their accommodation but it is still money in the back pocket.

Regardless it is good to see them playing good footy, they have picked up a few talented footballers and I reckon will be a threat come finals. My prediction is that they will give Old Scotch a bit of a touch up this weekend also!

The boys did look very slick on the weekend. Moved the ball quick and the skills were really good. Ringarooma had a few out though and they had a few playing two games.

As far as the cash goes I plead ignorance and don't wish to get involved in that side of things. All I know is that everyone appears to get along famously with many new faces this year.

Being an ex Old Scotch player I'm looking forward to this weekend. Should be a great game. Unfortunately Old Scotch have up to 6 senior players out this weekend because of Rob Rigney's wedding (Old Scotch captain). One would expect Uni-Mowbray to win because of that. Should be a very interesting contest. I'm just hoping for a good close game where both clubs get a lot out of it because there is mutual respect between the clubs.

The boys did look very slick on the weekend. Moved the ball quick and the skills were really good. Ringarooma had a few out though and they had a few playing two games.

As far as the cash goes I plead ignorance and don't wish to get involved in that side of things. All I know is that everyone appears to get along famously with many new faces this year.

Being an ex Old Scotch player I'm looking forward to this weekend. Should be a great game. Unfortunately Old Scotch have up to 6 senior players out this weekend because of Rob Rigney's wedding (Old Scotch captain). One would expect Uni-Mowbray to win because of that. Should be a very interesting contest. I'm just hoping for a good close game where both clubs get a lot out of it because there is mutual respect between the clubs.

The big question is will J Randall be pulling on the boots for the big game this week?

Uni may pay their players, but in comparison to a lot of other clubs in the competition its only very small time and insignificant... and there's not a lot of blokes who get paid either.

As for saturday, I don't think we could ask for a better first up match. I wouldn't go as far as 'touch up' but playing arguably the competition yardstick (as far as depth and consistency is concerned) is going to give us a great platform to test ourselves and see how successful our preseason has been.

My thoughts on 2009 Div 2 NTFA action are as follows:
1. Old Scotch: A well polished line up that has learnt the lessons from 2008.
2. Fingal: The same old faces that will give it a shake, but will fall short.
3. Tamar Cats: Too much relying on coach Bronc Barron to kick a bag.
4. Uni-Mowbray: A dangerous side in more ways than one, especially their midfield.
5. St Pats: New faces and new coach will equal same result
6. Perth: A lack of depth will hamper the Magpies challenge
7. Evandale: Will beat OL’s, but that’s about it.
8. OL’s: Winning one game will be a miracle this season.

Now now Mr Duff TV, no need to bring out those kinds of rash statements...

No I am not Sportstalk07 lets clear that up right now. I think Sportstalk07 has been absent for a while as he is probably concentrating on his role with the Westbury Cricket Club. We all look forward to his contribution to the forums in '09!

Exactly right Voice of Sport, bit hard to get into the football swing of things at the moment, considering Saturday for me will consist of being at the 3rd Grade Grand Final and not at Round 1 (probably at the Uni).
After that will be the Club dinner on the 4th (yours truly is MC) and the 11th is Easter.

Speaking of Perth, they have lost one of their legendary sons in Rodney "Goggin" Dransfield who passed away last week. his funeral was today.
A 36 year playing veteran, Goggin played 31 of those years at the Perth Rovers/Magpies and in total played over 500 games and has been involved in almost every position possible at a Sporting Club.
To Gayle and the family, deep sympathies.

The big question is will J Randall be pulling on the boots for the big game this week?

Look, apparently he's had a badly interupted pre-season dogged with recurring hamstring injuries. Has trained the last two weeks and is apparently doing everything to be right for the weekend. I'm sure he'll cop a bit, mainly from supporters!

Speaking of Perth, they have lost one of their legendary sons in Rodney "Goggin" Dransfield who passed away last week. his funeral was today.
A 36 year playing veteran, Goggin played 31 of those years at the Perth Rovers/Magpies and in total played over 500 games and has been involved in almost every position possible at a Sporting Club.
To Gayle and the family, deep sympathies.

was at the funeral.big funeral...
very very nice bloke and a legend for the perth football club
RIP

4. Uni-Mowbray: A dangerous side in more ways than one, especially their midfield.

pretty well spot on..the top 5 will be very even...
st.pats.uni,scotch have recruited very well
cats & fingal similar
perth ..not so sure
evandale will improve but not to the extent of the top 3
ol's will be better,but will still struggle still

pretty well spot on..the top 5 will be very even...
st.pats.uni,scotch have recruited very well
cats & fingal similar
perth ..not so sure
evandale will improve but not to the extent of the top 3
ol's will be better,but will still struggle still

I was talking with a bloke from Perth tonight and he said they're really struggling for numbers. Reckons there would be half a dozen of last years regular reserves players playing seniors this year. We'll see what happens. Lot of rubbish talk this time of year.

Uni may pay their players, but in comparison to a lot of other clubs in the competition its only very small time and insignificant... and there's not a lot of blokes who get paid either.

Agreed, but they still pay their players! I am sure it is not to the extent of the Fingal's and the Tamar's thought..

As for saturday, I don't think we could ask for a better first up match. I wouldn't go as far as 'touch up' but playing arguably the competition yardstick (as far as depth and consistency is concerned) is going to give us a great platform to test ourselves and see how successful our preseason has been.

How can you say they are the competition yardstick when Fingal have won the last 2 flags? I would say they are the competition yardstick no?

Would agree with all of that, although if that is your ladder I would swap a couple around. I would go:

1. Fingal - seasoned performers and have picked up a couple of quality players to strengthen their line up. Have lost a couple to Campbell Town but should still finish top 3 if not at the top.
2. Uni-Mowbray - have had a solid pre-season and picked up some quality players. Will improve a lot from last year.
3. Old Scotch - same as Uni but have also lost some quality players I do believe (C.Beaumont being a big loss up forward)
4. St Pats - Bridgenorth players will definately strengthen their side and Illingworth also.
5. Tamar Cats - Joel Baker back to George Town is a huge loss, the money crisis might affect them this year too!
6. Perth - If what The Thiste has said is true they will struggle, but will still beat Evandale, OL's and will probably win a couple of other games throughout the year.
7. Evandale - Will beat OL's twice and that is it.
8. OL's - couldn't agree more with sportstalk07, they will be lucky to win a game.

How can you say they are the competition yardstick when Fingal have won the last 2 flags? I would say they are the competition yardstick no?

Looking at the off season recruitment drive, scotch to me look more dangerous than fingal, a lot more dangerous. There are some big names headed to the NTCa ground, and even some of those who arent so hyped are very good footballers (for the standard of the competition). Fingal on the other hand have lost a few (notably Nick Denholm) whilst not picking up an awful lot. Scotch also have the sheer numbers and depth to cover a loss or two, with a very strong and deep list, as they have shown in the last 2 years by picking up the reserves flag, which by the look of things has only been strengthened and deepend. That said, my intial statement was 'arguably', and here is my arguement. :) Expect scotch to push a lot further than the last 2 years IMO.

scotch have had a good team for a few seasons now...
hope they have recruited some "hard' players...that seems to be their downfall over past seasons.

scotch have had a good team for a few seasons now...
hope they have recruited some "hard' players...that seems to be their downfall over past seasons.

I think Anthony Whitehead fixed that last year! and I reckon Shaun Smith, Kim Curtis and a few others will help get rid of that reputation quick smart. Someone also told me they have had some rugby coaches down there teaching them proper tacking techniques.

A mate also told me that he saw Matthew Harvey around Launcestion the other day, if he is back playing there it would be very handy for them.

I think Anthony Whitehead fixed that last year! and I reckon Shaun Smith, Kim Curtis and a few others will help get rid of that reputation quick smart. Someone also told me they have had some rugby coaches down there teaching them proper tacking techniques.

A mate also told me that he saw Matthew Harvey around Launcestion the other day, if he is back playing there it would be very handy for them.

if they improve in that area, then i would think they would be favourites for the flag..although i think the top 5 will be quite even ..

Fingal have picked up jason hall from st helens, he maybe alittle past his best but still a very good pick up. the players they have lost seem only to be reserve grade players so id expect them to be the same.

Tamar have lost joel baker but have picked up bucky bucannan who id have in my side b4 joel anyways..no disrespect to joel but bucky is a great player and good bloke not sure who else they have lost??

scotch to improve but still think they lack alittle firepower up 4ward.. how did cottam go last year? is he past his best football?

my ladder prediction

fingal
scotch
tamar
uni
st pats
evandale
perth
ols

only a game or 2 and percentage separating 1 to 4

Where are sportstalk07's tips, I am looking at going head-to-head with you this year!

Tamar Cats v Evandale - Tamar by a long way, 100+ easy.

Fingal v OL's - Fingal by a longer way, 150+. It is going to be a long year for OL's.

Perth v St Pats - St Pats with a good away win to start with, around 30 points. Have picked up some quality and Perth have done the exact opposite. Watch these 2 teams swap places from 2008.

Uni Mowbray v Old Scotch - Scotch by 5 in the clear match of the round. All week I have been thinking that Uni would be too strong as they have recruited quite well, but looking in the Examiner team lists I was quite impressed with Scotch. I also noted a Pedley being named, if this is the Pedly I am thinking of (Sth Launceston) then he will definately add to their hardness at the ball and midfield run, and I think they might just get up which would be a great start to the year for them away from home.

Where are sportstalk07's tips, I am looking at going head-to-head with you this year!

Tamar Cats v Evandale - Tamar by a long way, 100+ easy.

Fingal v OL's - Fingal by a longer way, 150+. It is going to be a long year for OL's.

Perth v St Pats - St Pats with a good away win to start with, around 30 points. Have picked up some quality and Perth have done the exact opposite. Watch these 2 teams swap places from 2008.

Uni Mowbray v Old Scotch - Scotch by 5 in the clear match of the round. All week I have been thinking that Uni would be too strong as they have recruited quite well, but looking in the Examiner team lists I was quite impressed with Scotch. I also noted a Pedley being named, if this is the Pedly I am thinking of (Sth Launceston) then he will definately add to their hardness at the ball and midfield run, and I think they might just get up which would be a great start to the year for them away from home.

Voice of Sport, I welcome the challenge :thumbsu:

Tamar Cats v Evandale - Tamar by 150.

Fingal v OL's - Fingal by 180

Perth v St Pats - Will be tight most of the day but St Pats will kick away late, get a win by 25-40 points.

Uni Mowbray v Old Scotch - No doubt the game of the round and yes Pedley is Tom Pedley. Will certainly help them as Scotch have 10 players out I heard around the traps.
Tight game, but I just think Uni might get the goods, by under a goal.

A good weekend of footy... was surprised that perth got the 4 points over St. Pats!! anyone see the game? No surprise Ol's got a thumping... they will be lucky to win a game this year... the three boys that did a preseason with uni have gone back there.. obviously didnt want to do the hard work.. good luck to them. (we all love getting flogged by 10 goals every game)!!
Uni had a good win against an undermanned Scotch... expect Scotch to have a solid week on the track.. was disappointing to only see 8 of their senior players in the clubrooms after the game! Uni called them mid week to let them know a free barbe will be on for all players/supporters of both teams. Ben Green (coach) & Kim Curtis (assistant coach) of Scotch didnt even make it into the clubrooms!! sore losers maybe?? I hope not.. as I thought the Scotchies were betta than that.

They know we're coming... 09.

Witehead the only bloke on a par with Daryn Perry in his North Hobart days to have oil put on his guns every five minutes by a trainer, handy at tennis though !

2 out of 4, not the best start, plus 1 down on Sportstalk07 already..... Here are my tips for this week:

Fingal Valley vs Evandale Fingal by a big margin, 120 points. Good couple of percentage boosting games for the start of the year for Fingal!

Old Launcestonians vs Perth Perth surprised me last week, thought they would be undermanned but proved me wrong, will tip them to win by 50+.

Old Scotch vs Tamar Cats Cats to beat an undermanned Scotch by 20 points.

University-Mowbray vs St Pats Uni must have played well last week and would be firm favourites this week. I expect them to win by around 20 points also.