Nth Gippsland Football League p2

I'm sure he'll play next round, but i'm not convinced that he'd be in their best 21 when everyone is available. When everyone is available, their foward line will consist of Sticks, Dane McGennisken, Treasy, Shannon Edwards, Luke Hegarty, Leigh Stockdale, Dave Downes, amongst others, so there aren't many spots available, and i'm not sure he can play anywhere apart from full forward.

Gormy play Churchill at Churchill in Round 2. Gormy have never won a game at Churchill since they entered the NGFL in 1994. An amazing stat. Surely now is the time that they finally win a game there.

Aah I see the excitement is building in Tigerland again! Probably should beat Churchill next week but its never easy at Gaskin Park, but we have dropped the odd game at home early in the season before.

Will Shannon Edwards play the whole year??? He is a good player but not really known for sticking around the whole year. Where is Dane at the moment too?

Churchill v Gormandale will be a good game in two weeks, I wonder if the slick churchill midfield can find gormandale out through the middle. This is one of the percieved deficiencies about gormandale and something churchill will look to exploit, not sure how Churchill will handle Richards, Downdes, Callow and Stockdale especially with no Patterson and Jenkins playing in the midfield apparently.

Will Shannon Edwards play the whole year??? He is a good player but not really known for sticking around the whole year. Where is Dane at the moment too?.
Good question. Shannon could either be in the NGFL Team of the Year at seasons end, or be finished with footy by Rd 3. Who knows. He didn't play in the finals last year, and would have been extremely handy if he did.

Dane is only available for approx 12 games for the season. Not sure if next round is one of them, but handy if it is. With QAFL and NT experience since his last season in NGFL, should hit the ground running.

Cougars got over the line against Gormy in a tight game in very average conditions. Chris Burke the difference in the game with 5 goals.

The reserves also went the way of the Cougars in another tight battle and the Tigers had a good win in the 3rds, showing a bit more poise in front of goals to reel in an early deficit in what was the most entertaining game of the day.

Big win today and with games against Boisdale, Stratty and Woodside in the next 3 weeks it sets up the first half of the year well for the Cougars.

Cougars got over the line against Gormy in a tight game in very average conditions. Chris Burke the difference in the game with 5 goals..
Burkey was unbelievably good. Was the difference between the 2 sides. I reckon he had a hand in every goal the Cougars kicked. Should be given the 3 and 2 votes he was that good.

What a star!!! First game back from a knee reconstruction!!! Have to admire the guy for the amount of work he must have done to be able to produce a performance like that.

Can still remember him and Scott Kelly single handedly beating Heyfield in 06 elimination final.

Yeah Berry is playing just recently changed jobs which has seen him work a few weekends. Never say never to duff who told everyone he wasn't playing last year but pulled the boots on mid way through.

Mark Stevens probably won't play injuries have nearly got him, but again never say never and I would not be surprised if he made himself available at some point.

Heyfield will have a fair few players that will gradually make there way back into the team over the next six to eight weeks and as always we will try to be fully fit and firing on the run home.

8......the amount of times I have heard over the last three days that Sale City are the team to beat for the flag!!!!

Wins against TTU and Cowwarr really don't make you the team to beat (nothing against those teams) but Sale City will have a huge test this week as they were saying similar things last year and got thumped by heyfield.

Should be a cracker game though.

I would have Sale among the top teams this year but I said that early last year and it went sour so only time will tell.

Stratty away this week, surely not 2 years in a row!

Haha, fortunately I don't think so.

The game of the round surely will be Heyfield v City, as I have said I can't wait.

Something that has dissapointed me and probably Sale City is that Sale and City both play there home games on the same day seems a bit strange to me, everytime we play there its always a big crowd, hope it doesn't detract from either club's crowds and atmosphere.

I would have Sale among the top teams this year but I said that early last year and it went sour so only time will tell.

Stratty away this week, surely not 2 years in a row!

The best win i have ever been involved in (H&A). I remember telling the boys after the game to keep a lid on it as there will be plenty more to come in the future if we work hard and build on it. 5 turned up to Tuesday training and only 3 on the Thursday. We had the bye that Saturday. Only 10 the following Tuesday and 15 the Thursday. Woodside won by 28 goals. We should have taken the lid off and got the same next up result.

Churchill, Glengarry and Gormandale wins for the year and thatw as it.

The best win i have ever been involved in (H&A). I remember telling the boys after the game to keep a lid on it as there will be plenty more to come in the future if we work hard and build on it. 5 turned up to Tuesday training and only 3 on the Thursday. We had the bye that Saturday. Only 10 the following Tuesday and 15 the Thursday. Woodside won by 28 goals. We should have taken the lid off and got the same next up result.

Churchill, Glengarry and Gormandale wins for the year and thatw as it.

And, then, we drank piss non stop from when the final game finished right through the night until 6 o'clock the next evening!! What a club! 25.5 hour drinking binge on the back of a 3 win season!

First upset for the year I would think with TTU getting up over Rosedale. Heyfields slow start must be a worry now especially in both losses they have been stitched up in the first quarter.

Cougars happy to cruise back down the highway with the 4 points from Stratty in the bag, Stratty had a crack but not enough tall timber in the side to cause anyone but maybe BB or Woodside some grief. Bulk talent in the 3rds tho, hope they hang on to them plus the young blokes already in the seniors.

Looking forward to the visit of Woodside this week, return home of the Pavey boys to Churchill has been highly anticipated since Paves took over the coaching gig and will receive a very boisterous welcome I am sure!

Tell me about it, excuses are excuses but I think we will be fine, up to ten players missing on the weekend and all prime movers at that. Sale City played well and got the jump on us, we got to within 14 points but luke conway missed from 15 metres. Josh Tollner was very impressive for the bulldogs and hider got alot of it early.

Oh well there is always next week.

Cougars happy to cruise back down the highway with the 4 points from Stratty in the bag, Stratty had a crack but not enough tall timber in the side to cause anyone but maybe BB or Woodside some grief. Bulk talent in the 3rds tho, hope they hang on to them plus the young blokes already in the seniors.

Spot on the young Stratty players are doing very well.
The 3rds after back-to-back flags are still flying this year.
And the young players in the senior side are also player very well.
Dyl Cartright was best on for Stratty on the weekend and also players like Bacon, Kertian, Bolton have been in the best every week for players 18 and 19. As well and Breakspear, Cantwell and Sicluna.
So there is a 1/3 of the team under 20 and playing well so the future is looking bright.

Some ripper games this week, Can heyfield bounce back with a few inclusions against an undefeated glengarry who have hit there straps early.

Cowaarr v Rosedale both sides will be desperate for the win to stay in touch with the top contenders Cowwarr have got a few back but can rosedale gain some confidence, get their structures right and start back on a winning way.

Stratford v Boisdale at least one of these sides will have a gained a win and maybe some confidence, both have had hard start up runs into the season and this should be a tight game.

Gormandale v City another big test for City with two full strength sides going at it this will be game of the round, there should be no excuses form either side, Sale City have impressed but this will be there biggest game of the year. If they win this you can guarantee that they will definately make finals and more than probably finish in the top three. Sale City were a different side than what I have seen over there last few seasons, they had good structures and a better attitude/application.

Tips below in bold

Heyfield v Glengarry 9 points
Cowwarr v Rosedale 10 points
Churchill v Woodside 89 points
Stratford v Bois/Briag 27 points
Gormandale v Sale City 15 points
TTU v BYE

Some ripper games this week, Can heyfield bounce back with a few inclusions against an undefeated glengarry who have hit there straps early.

Cowaarr v Rosedale both sides will be desperate for the win to stay in touch with the top contenders Cowwarr have got a few back but can rosedale gain some confidence, get their structures right and start back on a winning way.

Stratford v Boisdale at least one of these sides will have a gained a win and maybe some confidence, both have had hard start up runs into the season and this should be a tight game.

Gormandale v City another big test for City with two full strength sides going at it this will be game of the round, there should be no excuses form
either side, Sale City have impressed but this will be there biggest game of the year. If they win this you can guarantee that they will definately make finals and more than probably finish in the top three. Sale City were a different side than what I have seen over there last few seasons, they had good structures and a better attitude/application.

Tips below in bold

Heyfield v Glengarry 9 points
Cowwarr v Rosedale 10 points
Churchill v Woodside 89 points
Stratford v Bois/Briag 27 points
Gormandale v Sale City 15 points
TTU v BYE

Speak about ripping games, the block buster between Boisdale & Stratford, i'm going for a nil all draw
Tips
Glengarry 25 points
Rosedale 20 points
Churchill 40 points
Boisdale 45 points if somone scores
Sale City 20 Points

bet of the round is GLENGARRY

Well, a few truths were put to a head on the weekend. Sale City seem to be the real deal and will finish in the top two or three. Amazing how much self belief and a percieved wanting of success does to a club that has only included three or four new players from last year, beating Gormandale at home is a massive effort.

Can't see the top five changing though from Sale City, Gormandale, Churchill, Glengarry and Heyfield.

EDIT: Didn't realise gormandale were missing three of the most important players Richards, Domaille and Dane Mcgennisken.

Ladder After Round 5 2010
P W L D FF For Agst % PTS
1 Churchill
5 5 0 0 0 527 321 164.17 20
2 Sale City
4 4 0 0 0 560 233 240.34 16
3 Glengarry
4 4 0 0 0 433 262 165.27 16
4 Gormandale
5 3 2 0 0 588 302 194.70 12
5 Cowwarr
5 3 2 0 0 575 501 114.77 12
6 Heyfield
5 2 3 0 0 384 442 86.88 8
7 Traralgon Tyers United
4 2 2 0 0 293 430 68.14 8
8 Rosedale
4 1 3 0 0 414 360 115.00 4
9 Boisdale Briagolong
4 1 3 0 0 278 512 54.30 4
10 Woodside
5 0 5 0 0 330 660 50.00 0
11 Stratford
5 0 5 0 0 267 626 42.65 0

Ladder After Round 6 2009
P W L D FF For Agst % PTS
1 Woodside
5 4 1 0 0 494 373 132.44 16
2 Boisdale Briagolong
5 4 1 0 0 518 454 114.10 16
3 Churchill
6 4 2 0 0 552 533 103.56 16
4 Sale City
5 3 2 0 0 601 416 144.47 12
5 Heyfield
5 3 2 0 0 522 412 126.70 12
6 Traralgon Tyers United
5 3 2 0 0 434 448 96.88 12
7 Rosedale
6 3 3 0 0 557 617 90.28 12
8 Glengarry
6 2 4 0 0 505 496 101.81 8
9 Stratford
5 2 3 0 0 360 523 68.83 8
10 Gormandale
5 1 4 0 0 346 405 85.43 4
11 Cowwarr
5 0 5 0 0 328 540 60.74 0

The interesting thing that caught my eye straight away was Gormandale who ended up finishing third in 09 (they were one quarter away from a grand final) are second last. Also Heyfield were situated fifth and won the flag.

It is amazing how much things change over the course of the year

Well, a few truths were put to a head on the weekend. Sale City seem to be the real deal and will finish in the top two or three. Amazing how much self belief and a percieved wanting of success does to a club that has only included three or four new players from last year, beating Gormandale at home is a massive effort.

Can't see the top five changing though from Sale City, Gormandale, Churchill, Glengarry and Heyfield.

EDIT: Didn't realise gormandale were missing three of the most important players Richards, Domaille and Dane Mcgennisken.
I'd put the number of important players missing as 6 or 7, rather than 3, including their entire first string midfield. Having said that, Sale City are much improved on past years and should play finals, although i don't think they will beat the Cougar this week. Not sure of their names but No 40 (little blond kid with surfy hair) and number 5 (big left footed midfielder) + Schuback were the standouts against Gormy.