Nth Gippsland Football League p2

Long time watcher first time user looking forward to Big Footy banter...

I hope this is Nuggett trying to go under the radar as there is only 1 Mr. Big Footy!!!!

The North Gippy is starting to shape itself. Heres some opinions

Biggest Improver - Woodside and Steve Nicholls
Biggest Disappointment - The game between Heyfield Vs Woodside. Promised alot but did not deliver.
Biggest Surprise - Churchill loosing to Stratty.
Best Rookie - Toss up between Darryl Mayman and Jarrod Clohsey. Daryl by a whiska.
Premireship - Heyfield
Woodenspoon - Stratford / Cowwarr. Hope it is not Stratty again.
Best and Fairest- T. Ron. The man is huge.
Best Ground - Stratford for surface, Heyfield for rooms and Churchill for Social rooms.
Best Umpire - Red Clapton. Understands how to play the game.
Things we would like to see in 2009 -
1- Interleague Football again.
2-Stratford to play finals
3- Someone to kick 100 goals again!!!!!!!!!!!!
4- Churchill to have thirds. This is a must.
5- Yarram to come into the league to get rid of the bye. (won't happen but it would be great.) The league could have rivalry rd-
Woodside Vs Yarram
Heyfield Vs Cowwarr
Churchill Vs TTU
Boisdale Vs Stratty
Glengarry Vs Gormandale
Rosedale Vs Sale City
Clubs could wear there Heritage jumpers if they have one.

I hope this is Nuggett trying to go under the radar as there is only 1 Mr. Big Footy!!!! hahahaha

The North Gippy is starting to shape itself. Heres some opinions

Biggest Improver - Woodside and Wayne Knight, Heyfield Thirds
Biggest Disappointment - Scott Dennis, Sam Anstee not playing i would have to say Sale City promised big yet to deliver
Biggest Surprise - Nathan Wellins handballing, Stuart Andersons black shoes he wears to Football.......terrible.
Best Rookie - Toss up between Darryl Mayman and Jarrod Clohsey. Daryl by a whiska. Agree with that.
Premireship - Churchill
Woodenspoon - Stratford sorry boys
Best and Fairest- Dave Kelly, Justin Staley, Travis Ronaldosn, Stuart Anderson in a four way tie
Best Ground - Heyfield and Stratford for surface, Tyers for rooms and Churchill for Social rooms.
Best Umpire - the bloke with the long neck...
Things we would like to see in 2009 -
1- Thirds to go to Under 17s
2- Ronnie Burns to really get hot
3- Interleague Football again.
4- Churchill to have thirds. This is a must. yes

Boisdale for the Flag? Cant see the ladder changing to much at the top so 4th spot going to be best finish for the combine and we know how the elimination final turmed out last year for them! Even allowing for the fact everyone has a couple of bad games a year, I witnessed the Churchill massacre first hand and cant help but think Boisdale are a couple of defenders short on quality, so winning a flag from elimination final too big an ask. Having said that I'm not sure Woodside is finishing the year as well as it started and top 3 could be on the line when they travel to Churchill in the last game, so if Boisdale can beat Heyfield along the way they can still sneak the double chance.

If anyone would like to elaborate on this john or luke...how many of the current stratford players will be around in 2 years time??? If you leave hendo, will they not play??? I know you need the youngsters yes (which is what your pushing to become the next generation), but mature players are critical in anyones premiership aspirations...and if stratford cant retain these players will it be hard to maintain or become a success.
Thoughts???

After Saturdays 3/4 time spray I think I few blokes just kept quiet, the season is done and dusted. Who should coach Stratford next year?
Hope the players don't make the new coach look worse than he really is?

THE BIGGEST THING TO HIT NORTH GIPPSLAND FOOTBALL EVER!!!
In for his first game of the year, a dashing mid fielder as brave as they come, loves to get his own hard ball and flick it to the running reciever but often then running recieve hitting up a target lace out, can play all positions on the ground (even a beautiful tap ruckman) best hands ever seen in the game of football, raking left boot, a team orientated player that is never selfish, but loves a goal!! unlucky not to be in power/drafted. heart and soul of the heyfield football club, and without him would be nothing like it is today fighting for the flag!!! making his senior debut for the HFC young KODIE WOODLAND! son to farther kevin, known around all areas of north gippaland. also known as the chodie, chod, woody, kod, mayney, the love doctor, chodalenko.
come and see the man in action at the boisdale football reserve at around 2 o'clock. free enrty for anyone that mentions his nickname at the gate.... all welcome and wanted to come!!

John mayman is a superstar at the stratford footy club i rate him very highly... lachie channing is a superstar in the 14s at stratford....

kissy kicked an easy 11 goals against woodside in the under 14s. he should be a star for the stratford football club in the future. and source of mine tells me he is going to stay at stratford.he shoud be playing senior footbal for stratford by the time he is about 16 he is already 14. kissy is a tall athletic forward with good skills...

if straty are 2 win a flag in senoir football hendo should stay at straty because he is a great coach and has done heaps for that club

First of all josh, you dont have a username called Kissy then start talking about yourself and Stratford without looking like an idiot.

I like your theory on Hendo, this quotation that you provided "he is a great coach and should stay because he has done heaps" is hilarious, the above will be used in the future by Hendo especially if his future is ever questioned.

How is Joey your crazy old Ukrainian dad going, still ripping peoples throats out and stabbing people in there eyeballs with Bic Pens....

Big Cigar, interesting to see in tagger about Jenkins and Kelly returning from injury. Dont they have to play five games to qualify???

Jenks played a few games earlier in the season so no drama there, best on ground in his return on the weekend, expect him to be in seniors against Glen this week, Kelly had massive first half before tiring in second half, understandable as it was first game in over 2 years. Pretty sure you only need to play 3 games to qualify for finals but I may be wrong, does anyone know for sure? Kelly unlikely to make it into seniors for finals as we wont make the same mistake as 07 against Heyfield carrying injured players. Jason Sutherland played his first senior game this week as well,so it looks like he will be the back up ruckman for Brown.

VCFL rules say 4 games, but could be varied by the league in the form of a bylaw.

VCFL also says that any player who plays half a season plus 1 game in the Seniors is ineligible to play Reserves finals if Seniors team is not playing on the same weekend. For most competitions of 18 rounds, that is equal to 9 games + 1. Any more than 9 Seniors games and thats it. Kaput.

Its definately only three games to qualify though.

Interesting opinion on Kelly was the best midfielder in the league three years ago imo, still is only young 27???. And i believe could be very important.

Not sure if your opinion on churchill in 07 is a valid excuse, considering if you were going to not pick blokes who were injured? Then who would have made a difference in there absence?

I only say his because your seconds lost the grand final by twenty goals that year. And the 07 side of Heyfields was an outstanding team.

A couple of guys who missed out should have played, then played in the win last year, they were left out to play guys who were more experienced but did not run out the game and imo were never likely to.Thats where I see it hard for Kelly to play, he could go into the GF on 5 games in 2 1/2 years and if it is stinking hot like last year he could struggle. What happened to the Reserves that day is still a friggin mystery! Plenty to unfold before this year plays out, but am looking forward to a pretty competitive finals series.

Heyfield had a very, very good reserves side. Thats what happened. Brett Szabo, Damien Birss, Nic Dowse, Luc Wilson, Bernard Marchesi were all changes that came in for the grand final, from the semi final side that won.

We had blokes who didnt get picked that day that had played seniors that year. We were very fortunate that everyone was fit and firing...

Giles, Williams and Richer??? Players that missed

Finals are looking great, very even competition...

Heyfield to have six thirds players playing tommorow great for the future of the league and heyfield not so great for heyfield thirds coach, me.

But who cares?? Its thirds and we are developing players for seniors football.

Speaking of 3rds, Churchill will be up and running next year, hopefully will be competitive, 16's having good year in Traralgon league and a few returning from other teams

Not the best game of football I have seen, heyfield did enough to win and played alot of players out of position and still won by a 100 points.

After one of the most even North Gippy seasons in recent memory there will be some major changes to the coaching of the clubs. Wuld love to have some rumours confirmed by the folk.......

Stratford - Henderson - Gone - Confirmed
Rosedale - Birss - Gone - Rumour????
Sale City - Hider - Staying - ???????
Cowwarr - Bannister - Staying - ?????
Heyfield - Anderson - Staying - ???????? swap for Cox @ Sale (Rumour)????
Churchill - McDonald - staying - ???????
TTU - Hiel - Staying - Confirmed
Woodside - Ronaldson - Staying - another 2 years???????
Glengarry - Adams - Gone???? Advertised position in local paper.
Boisdale - Gieshen - staying???? u would imagine he wouldn't go anywhere.

Any rumours doin the rounds on replacments???????????????

Didnt know that hendo...I reckon King will coach Glen...doubting whther stu would leave very awkward time to go back to sale...you never know though!

I think Birssy will return to heyfield next year, as a non playing seconds player who drinks fifteen cans watching the seniors.

What will Henderson do???

Rod Tatterson would be a good fit at Stratford if they cant find a playing coach...stratford would be better served going to EGFL, brings something to players in terms of sparking an interest in playing in another league...

Heard A. Burgiel to coach rosedale in cricket and foootball from this year onwards...

Didnt know that hendo...I reckon King will coach Glen...doubting whther stu would leave very awkward time to go back to sale...you never know though!

I think Birssy will return to heyfield next year, as a non playing seconds player who drinks fifteen cans watching the seniors.

What will Henderson do???

Rod Tatterson would be a good fit at Stratford if they cant find a playing coach...stratford would be better served going to EGFL, brings something to players in terms of sparking an interest in playing in another league...

Heard A. Burgiel to coach rosedale in cricket and foootball from this year onwards...

Not real sure. Think i will just have a kick. Wouldn't mind just having some fun next year but you never know??? ODFL? EGFL? WGFL 2's?

I am adement that Stratty needs a gun playing coach. Emphisis - PLAYING. Good young kids who need some quality players to set the example. If a non playing coach was best for Stratty i wouldn't have stepped down. Up to them though i guess. Rod would be good but not sure if he could get enough senior players to the club to make life as a non playing coach easier. Budget restraients.

On to something better though

With rumours going round that Cox and Robbins arn't at Sale and Maffra it will be hard for clubs @ NGFL to sign the best coaches a decent rate as i am sure people that want to coach will look around for the best oppurtunity in the area. Sale - Maffra - Stratty - Rosedale - Lindenow - Glengarry all in a small area and all looking for coaches.
I think the North Gippy will be very intresting next year as Sale and Maffra scout the best of the best young players with 2 new coaches.