Nth Gippsland Football League

Kodie Woodland out for a possible 10 weeks with a guilty plea after being reported for flattening a Glengarry thirds player.
If he doesnt take the guilty plea it could be a possible 15week ban.
It was one badarse hit.

Skeen out for about 3 weeks with ligament damage to the left foot.

Im suddenly rich
Oops. And i'd be homeless. May have severely overrated the Gormy side. I know Stratty is improving, but would still expect Gormy to account for them pretty comfortably. Got Heyfield next week, so will probably be winless after 4 rounds. Can start planning their End of Season trip for finals time, as they won't be playing.

any other news on woodland and skeen? both potential team of the year so was just interested in their performances this weekend

Just on my way down to the Commonwealth Bank to remortgage my house so that i can whack every cent i own on Gormy at $1.90. Far too generous. I think the Tim Lights influence will be blunted by the weather.

I hope the bank was close by the time you got there Pump daddy-o!

Well, I would nearly wager money on the fact that this weekend, statistically, would be the closest round in the NGFL for a while. 2 games decided by less than a goal, only one game decided by more than 8 goals.

Another upset by Stratford, defeating Gormondale, who play Heyfield next week and are now 0 - 3, staring down the barrel of having their finals aspirations over a month into the season. Gormondale jumped out of the blocks, aided by a thumping gail and put 5 goals on the board to nil in the first quarter. However, Stratty hit back with 4 to finish the half a couple of points behind. The difference in the game was Startford's ability to kick a couple of goals into the wind in the 3rd quarter. Gormondale are certainly not a bad side and will beat some good opponents this year, but, as with the game against Glengarry, Stratford played good solid footy for most of the game and were rewarded when Nick Channing kicked a goal with 3 seconds on the clock to put them in front by 5 points.

As for the other results, Boisdale Briag defeated Woodside by 1 point. Wouldn't say it was an upset, but, I think most were expecting Woodside to get over the line. I'm sure Bois played well, but, it looks like poor kicking from Woodside may have contributed (I could well be wrong, was obviously not at the game, could have been rushed behinds).

I travelled to Rosedale on saturday night to watch 2 young fit and fast sides battle at Rosedale. TTU probably surprised a few by getting over the line, however, Rosedale may be turning out to be the underachievers of the season at this stage. There were certainly some positive signs from Rosedale, however, probably a few guys who underperformed.

The Churchill result was probably fairly predictable, and Heyfield were always going to beat Glengarry.

So, if you get the chance have a look at the NGFL ladder, 1 side has won 3 games, then 8 sides have won 4, 2 sides yet to get off the mark. Would be the first time in a long time that positions 2 - 9 are level on points. I know it is still early, however, I think it is very good to see a number of unheralded sides making positive steps early in the year. A close competition is a good competition in my eyes.

Yeah big well done to Straty who I did actually pick to beat Gormy.

Verdict on Woodland is his 10 week sentence has been reduced to 6 as he succesfully proved he was fairly going for the ball with help from umpire Scott Wagner.
Skeens ligament injury is a positive 3 weeks at the minimum, could be more but the results will come through today.

Well done to stratty on there victory on Sunday, i heard Nick Channing snagged a beautiful goal to win the match.

Hugh Cullen-scholes play a brillent game of football for the Heyfield thirds this weekend and could be up for possible senior selection.

Congratulations to Luke Henderson brilliant win on the weekend.
Really showing his class now on and off the field. Inspirational leadership in those conditions. Expected nothing less from a man of his stature.
Always keen to put in the hard yards for stratty and it's beginning to show now with success forming across all grades.
Hendo wondering if i could get your stats for the game? I imagine the 1% count would've been right up there with those conditions prime for your gritty, passionate, hard at it, no fuss football

Congratulations to Luke Henderson brilliant win on the weekend.
Really showing his class now on and off the field. Inspirational leadership in those conditions. Expected nothing less from a man of his stature.
Always keen to put in the hard yards for stratty and it's beginning to show now with success forming across all grades.
Hendo wondering if i could get your stats for the game? I imagine the 1% count would've been right up there with those conditions prime for your gritty, passionate, hard at it, no fuss football
Good post yummy6 your on the ball...i agree that Hendo is a brilliant leader and an inspiration to us all! It's about time he's recognised for the hard yards he's put in to the Stratty Football Club over the past few years! Well done Hendo u deserve it mate! Oh i hear that some of the stratty 3rds lads have been fooling around with the local badgirls...i'm not ashamed to say that that also insires me...good work all round!

Everyone has been quick to jump at hendo not realising it takes more than one year to rebuild a club. Hendo has done well to get the club to the situation it is considering the shambles he had to begin with. The amount of hours,blood, sweat and tears put into that club has got them achieving more than they would've imagined at this stage of their rebuilding phase.
He has been a great ambassador for the club and all grades employing a rotation policy with the underage players. A great intiative giving them a sniff of what its like aswell as enjoying success with their mates in the thirds.
From an outsider it gives me great pleasure to watch luke henderson evolve this club.
Some people question his playing ability. Sure he's not the most talented footballer in the league but he does have a wealth of experience playing at various levels. People need to cut him some slack as his personal game may suffer for the good of the club and the direction it is heading.
What would stratty prefer? another star footballer who may reduce the loss by a few goals or an above average, hard working, passionate and ambitious man who is moving the club forward in leaps and bounds which is what they truly need.
keep it up hendo!!

Interesting that last season the Gormondale boys made no secret of the fact that they thought Hendo was hopeless, and that there coach was a star. Well, Steve Hazelman and Luke Henderson have coached exactly the same of NGFL premierships, nil. In Luke Henderson's favour is that he is building the club to be sustainable long term, and Gormondale can hardly argue that they have been left in a better position by there man Hazelman, who was apparently being paid more than the entire Stratford senior list last year.

The facts are here Hendo will serve Stratty better coaching from the sidelines rather than putting himself on the ground. He could free the bench up for another player to be included in the line up. Most people I have heard appreciate his leadership and coaching but also feel he should not play himself. Keep up the good work as a coach. Good win.

Breaking News!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kodie Woodland was just cleared by the tribunal for a rough conduct charged, Woodland faced up to 10 weeks on the sideline but the Match Review Panel gave him a reprimand and 99 carry over points.

Early we spoke to mr Woodland out the front of the tribunal after his hearing he said holding rosary beads "I just knew that God would get me over the line and that i got the punishment that i deserved, nothing!!!". His manager Marcus "Fruitcake" Hill, said that it was stupid that the report was even made", Fruity later quoted that the Match review Panel was nothing but a bunch of Half-Casts and referred to them as his Cattle...

Great reporting there Rooboy, that news was probably more up to date than anything Hutchy has delivered in the past 5 years. There could be a slot for you on the Footy Show if you didn't have to go to training at Heyfield on Thursday nights! Keep up the good work.

The facts are here Hendo will serve Stratty better coaching from the sidelines rather than putting himself on the ground. He could free the bench up for another player to be included in the line up. Most people I have heard appreciate his leadership and coaching but also feel he should not play himself. Keep up the good work as a coach. Good win.

He would easily be in their best 10.

Football isn't defined by Fitness. Especially in the North Gippsland Football Leauge.

the more suitable facts are hendo will serve stratty better doing what he's doing. the weekend and the last year and a bit speaks for itself. The club has improved on the whole and they have him to thank for it and they policies etc he has employed and will continue to employ in the future.
keep at it hendo!

I hope the bank was close by the time you got there Pump daddy-o!
The CBA, like most banks, are completely opposed to customer service so was closed by the time i got there. The Ranch is safe.

Will you be at Runts's joint on Sunday arvo? If so, we might have to convince him to invest $12 of his $100,000 annual remuneration towards getting Fox Sports on, so we can watch the Dogs vs Saints.

He would easily be in their best 10.

Football isn't defined by Fitness. Especially in the North Gippsland Football Leauge.

Thanks Dylza for that, but you have to be honest top 10 he is not. Although he finished 6th in the B&F last year a few have past him in the last 6 months.

Tips for this week?
1- The Boisdale V Stratford game is a must watch game. stratford surprising a few and Boisdale red hot after there game against Woodside. Boisdale to start favorites.
2- When Heyfield beat Gormandale that is good bye finals for Gormandale as they would be 0 and 4. Heyfield by 6goals
3- Sale City can they handle the game without there coach Hider? Woodside should start favorites but the bulldogs at the kennell should be hard to beat. Sale City by 3 goals.
4- The united front (TTU) are at home to the Cougers. The united front are playing with spirit but the Cougers should make an easy game of it and win by 8 goals
5- Interesting game the last one. Rosedale at home against Glengarry without King. Rosedale to bopunce back and take the points.

Thanks Dylza for that, but you have to be honest top 10 he is not. Although he finished 6th in the B&F last year a few have past him in the last 6 months.

Tips for this week?
1- The Boisdale V Stratford game is a must watch game. Stratford surprising a few and Boisdale red hot after there game against Woodside. Boisdale to start favorites.
2- When Heyfield beat Gormandale that is good bye finals for Gormandale as they would be 0 and 4. Heyfield by 6goals
3- Sale City can they handle the game without there coach Hider? Woodside should start favorites but the bulldogs at the kennell should be hard to beat. Sale City by 3 goals.
4- The united front (TTU) are at home to the Cougers. The united front are playing with spirit but the Cougers should make an easy game of it and win by 8 goals
5- Interesting game the last one. Rosedale at home against Glengarry without King. Rosedale to bopunce back and take the points.

$1.60 Boisdale Briag V Stratford $2.50 > Boisdale Briag will cramp down Stratford as their youthful side will be looking to run. Its even cramped enough playing 6 up Forward and I can't see Tim Light taking a pack mark every time the ball enters the forward line. Boisdale Briag to win by 5 goals

$1.30 Heyfield V Gormandale $3.00 > Another game for Heyfield, Gormandale to travel a distance for this game. Will tend to struggle against the season favorites. But they still have class.

$2.50 Sale City V Woodside $1.50 > Without Hider is a big loss and will be a big challenge for the Dogs. Schuback is in, and the Doggies have had the break. Woodside will be looking to bounce back after their heart broken loss which rumors tell me it was an umpires fault.

$4.50 TTU V Churchill $1.30 > Churchill will be too good, will need several players out to be an even game.

$2.30 Rosedale V Glengarry $1.70 > King sidelined for 8 weeks, but I still think they will be too classy for Rosedale. Seniors players such as Rick Galea coming back for Rosedale, but with Matthew Cogan being out due to soreness from when D Marshall crunched him outside the crown casino while he lost his footy. Glengarry should be able to notch up their second win.

Will be taking bets at the local Greyhound establishment on Friday evening