Mega Thread Official 2012 Trade period discussion thread - 8th-26th October

Yeah people forget that this. Tynan was also at about pick 50 wasnt he?

Tynan was pick #52 in last years draft. I assume we'll go 4, 26 F#S, 49, 53, then whether or not we use the 70's picks depends on whether or not someone slides, otherwise 2 or 3 of our rookies will be upgraded. Pick 49 & 53 will be very useful I think. Good players always slide, and I back our guys to get the job done. It's better we bring players onto the list we actually want rather than keeping those we don't..

Martin is a very ordinary footballer and i wouldn't pay more than what the lions did, same goes for the rest (other than the Gysberts pick downgrade).

What's the point getting Norf's second rounder when we wouldn't be able to use it anyway?

We've got Viney and pick #4 coming in - unless we want to turn over the list in record numbers we aren't going to use any more picks other then those we upgrade rookies with.

This, and people are forgetting that although we might think all our players have great currency, they really don't. Our players carry very little reputation outside of our club - with the exception of Rivers, and to some extent Moloney.

I'm not too fussed about "winning" every trade. It's just going to be nice to watch a new bunch of guys running out there. I've become jaded with watching all our "young, developing" players who are really getting nowhere. I think Bailey effectively castrated this squad. A lot of them just need to be somewhere else to clear the deck and rebuild themselves as footballers. Like it or not, playing for Melbourne during this period has really screwed with the psyche of several of our players. I'm sure they'll flourish much more in a new environment with new faces. The flipside is that our club also has many new faces and it will hopefully reenergise the group.

In the last couple of years I think our guys probably looked at each other with a certain helplessness and confusion. They'd done so much losing together, they probably couldn't see themselves as a group that could win. Now the group looks very different and it allows new thoughts to enter. Got to be a good thing.

The trades today all needed to be done. I'm dissapointed that we didn't get more in return, but i would have been more dissapointed to keep players on our list that are not part of the future under our current coach.

If your team is better off after a trade, even if its not considered fair value, then its still worth doing.

For anyone bitching......how....why? You approve of the soft c*ck attitude of a lot of the players of the past couple of years? You don't think Neeld knows who has the shitty attitudes and who doesn't?

It's high time a coach took this list by the balls and built the right mentality around this place. We want to build a good culture first and foremost.

When we start to climb the ladder, I hope all the negative nancies offer a sincere apology.

dudes, thought i'd invite myself in. if kneeld has gotten rid of players who were divisive to the group or were working their own agenda, and brought in players who will buy into the game plan, then it's a massive win for the dees.

What pick did we get for Gys?

North got Gysberts and pick 63 ... we got Pederson and pick 74

I'm pretty sure this is the overall change so far from retirements, Free agency, and trades. Apologies if I've missed any .

IN

Dawes
Viney
Byrnes
Rodan
Hogan
Barry
Pederson
Picks 49,53,58,73,74

OUT

Rivers
Gysberts
Martin
Green
Jurrah
Moloney
Morton
Picks 3,13,27,45,63

FA compensation may have pushed a couple of those picks out a little

I'm pretty sure this is the overall change so far from retirements, Free agency, and trades. Apologies if I've missed any .

IN

Dawes
Viney
Byrnes
Rodan
Hogan
Barry
Pederson
Picks 49,53,58,73,74

OUT

Rivers
Gysberts
Martin
Green
Moloney
Morton
Picks 3,13,27,45,63

And we kept pick 4.

The trades today all needed to be done. I'm dissapointed that we didn't get more in return, but i would have been more dissapointed to keep players on our list that are not part of the future under our current coach.

If your team is better off after a trade, even if its not considered fair value, then its still worth doing.

Exactly.

But the fact is, we didn't need to get more back.

As others have said, we won't be using these draft picks.

We'll probably look at using pick 4, 27 for Viney and upgrading 2 rookies.

Why swap for all of these picks when we're not even going to use them?

When we reaslied Ray was a no go, we pulled to trigger on the trades to get them done.

People unbunch your panties ! We have done the youth thing for the last half dozen years and where has it got us ? A one way ticket to Pooh Town. Now when the club does what was required ie. a fair dinkum harsh clean out everyone throws the toys out of the cot.This is what was required to get better, not sitting back and saying that all player x needs is a full pre season or all player y needs is a bit of luck and they will be A grade because that's all we have done for the past forever.A hard look at all those moved on will reveal one thing and that is that they were terrible anyone that struggled to get a game in the 2012 Melbourne Football Club needs to look in the mirror and ask themselves why? I for one am sick of waiting for guys with potential to have the breakout year that never comes, we have too many players that think being a league footballer is enough and it isn't.If getting rid of these players make everyone else realise they need to pull their collective fingers out of their arses then this has been a great thing, if not we need to continue taking out the trash until they do. We as supporters should be applauding this period and seeing it for what it is, a turning point in the recent pathetic history of our club. This is when we said we will not accept mediocrity anymore. Rant over.

You reckon? Was a first rounder only a few years ago. I don't pretend to be an expert on any of Port's youngsters, but looked alright when i've seen him. Port wanted pick 15 - North offered Pick 38. Seems like his value is somewhere in between.
Personality wise mate, absolutely dire

IN

Dawes
Viney
Byrnes
Rodan
Hogan
Barry
Pederson
Picks 49,53,58,73,74

OUT

Rivers
Gysberts
Martin
Green
Jurrah
Moloney
Morton
Picks 3,13,27,45,63

We've lost 7 and we've bought in 6 (including Barry and Viney). Hogan doesn't count as he'll be on a supplementary list.

That means Pick 4 can be utilised.

We will probably look at upgrading 2 rookies, which means there is 2 further delistings (Cook and Bate?)

Maybe a couple more delistings so we may use 49 and 53 and use 73 / 74 to upgrade the rookies

What's the point of bringing in these draft picks, only not to use them?

We did the trades cause we effectively didn't need anything back and we wanted to get them done.

Pick 33 from the Lions was NEVER going to happen. NEVER. Martin is no where near worth that

Yes we did .. which means it isn't one of the changes :)

However, I did forget to include Jurrah initially .. fixed now.
I know, I think it's important to mention that though. Maybe a list of 'Picks kept'. Don't underestimate pick 4 (as long as it's not another Morton :p ).

We've lost 7 and we've bought in 6 (including Barry and Viney). Hogan doesn't count as he'll be on a supplementary list.

That means Pick 4 can be utilised.

We will probably look at upgrading 2 rookies, which means there is 2 further delistings (Cook and Bate?)

Maybe a couple more delistings so we may use 49 and 53 and use 73 / 74 to upgrade the rookies

What's the point of bringing in these draft picks, only not to use them?

We did the trades cause we effectively didn't need anything back and we wanted to get them done.

Pick 33 from the Lions was NEVER going to happen. NEVER. Martin is no where near worth that

I think we could delist another 4. Cook, Bate, Pettard and possibly Davis, which would leave us with 4, 26, 49, 53 and 2 rookie upgrades (possibly Nicho and Magner?)

We reportedly Nicholson and Evans had a written agreement under Bailey to be upgraded this year (much the same as Daw did at North), so we may possibly upgrade all three OR leave Magner on the rookie list for another 12 months, and make him our nominated rookie at the start of the season

Love it. You don't think 'pick 88' could be a saying around the club from now on?
Have a strange thought of Neeld doing Morton for 88 in front of the playing group like the box cutter scene from Breaking Bad...
(the silent glare whilst signing the form, i mean. I have no ill will to the kid, best of luck and all that)
Frankly, I'm stoked that talented, softc*ck players have been given the arse for worthless picks, or picks to be used on a hardworking honest smokey who when Neeldy says 'jump', doesn't ask 'how high?' because they're so busy furiously jumping as high as they bloody well can.

Love it. You don't think 'pick 88' could be a saying around the club from now on?
Have a strange thought of Neeld doing Morton for 88 in front of the playing group like the box cutter scene from Breaking Bad...
(the silent glare whilst signing the form, i mean. I have no ill will to the kid, best of luck and all that)
Frankly, I'm stoked that talented, softc*ck players have been given the arse for worthless picks, or picks to be used on a hardworking honest smokey who when Neeldy says 'jump', doesn't ask 'how high?' because they're so busy furiously jumping as high as they bloody well can.

Neeld's new decor just outside his office:

artworks-000018717197-6udxbj-original.jpeg

Still, I think Jurrah belongs in a whole category of his own. He was barely even a player for us in the past 2 years.

Can't argue with that