Official 2013 Collingwood Trade Talk

Been told that Armstrong is on his way to the Pies.

Trying to find out what we are giving up. Source would definately know.

Been told that Armstrong is on his way to the Pies.

Trying to find out what we are giving up. Source would definately know.

I've got to say I'm suprised.

I think a few swans fans have already been on here to give feedback, but I'll reiterate anyway. We played him off half back and he had a couple of really good games (including quality opposition like Geelong and Essendon) in his first season. He didn't get much of a look in this year but didn't do a great deal.

Positives: He can find plenty of the ball by providing the link from half back and he is a good kick who can hit a target, has decent pace and he is also apparently a good bloke who loves his footy and works hard

Cons: He is < 80kgs and can't stick a tackle, he doesn't use his best assets of pace and disposal as effectively as he should (i.e. he gets himself out of trouble but doesn't take on the game, and his kicks are neat and short to mid as opposed to long and raking), and there are question marks over his defensive game generally and whether this will consistently stand up in finals pressure football.

At best you'll get a bloke who will lift that extra notch required an add run out of your defence, at worst you've got a bloke who is handy depth and will step straight into the senior team and not embarrass himself.

I can't imagine his trade value will be significant, presumably we are throwing him in with Jessie White for a lesser trade to cut some salary cap and find the young bloke a new team

That sums up what I've heard about him, although pace isn't actually highlighted as a strong point. Clever enough type, and is a good kick, although does lack depth and plays safe.

Free to a good home and only us have any interest. Not sure we can afford a spot on the list for one of Rendell's pets.

From what i've been told out of the club, it'll be for a throwaway pick, bit like how Collingwood told Tom Young that they would trade him for more opportunity elsewhere, given they couldn't garuntee that he'd have an impact on 2013.

We traded him for a pick that wasn't going to be utilised, and i'm assured the same will happen between Sydney and Collingwood who have a fantastic trading history.

I pray that it is GWS...

Please be GWS...

I would love nothing more than watching Heath Shaw be the General in defense and Dids kicking some Magic Sausage rolls out at Skoda stadium...

I will buy a GWS membership if Dids signs.

(If he goes to the Swans - you can forget about it)

Speaking to somebody who is close with both Shaw and Didak, the major reason for Shaw chosing the Giants, was moreso because the Giants will also offer a lifeline to Didak, whereas nobody else was interested.

Dids will be at the Giants next year, mark my words.

Speaking to somebody who is close with both Shaw and Didak, the major reason for Shaw chosing the Giants, was moreso because the Giants will also offer a lifeline to Didak, whereas nobody else was interested.

Dids will be without his buddy Heater if GWS's don't take a more realistic approach to the trade deal involving Taylor Adams.

What is really starting to get my goat is these "Reporters " who are constantly throwing out trade rumours that never seem to have any factual basis. But when a big story comes out like McEvoy or Franklin's snub of GWS for Sydney, they all seem to be completely blindsided! As soon as the deal is done, the same reporters state " It's been in the making for a long time" and " They organised this over a year ago"

I love discussing trades and rumours on these forums because generally speaking, we are speculating on what might happen without the inside knowledge that the media types are supposed to have. I would love to hear a Journalist say " I'm throwing this trade rumour out not based on any factual knowledge, but because its fun for people read. Unfortunately I have no idea what is going on behind those walls but I'm required to earn my pay by writing my daily column".

I would be absolutely livid if I was the head of a company that payed someone to get inside scoops and when there was a big story, he missed it completely because he busy spreading false rumours Womans Day style.

Rant over.

I thank you for the information paige but you have thrown up some bizarre situations

Why on earth would GWS consider Didak?

for his leadership?

For his big tough body to protect the kids? :confused:

I thank you for the information paige but you have thrown up some bizarre situations

Why on earth would GWS consider Didak?

for his leadership?

For his big tough body to protect the kids? :confused:

I'd say Didak still has a lot to offer a club, which is just my own personal opinion. Krock were reporting that Didak had toured GWS' facilities and Glenn McFarlane from the herald sun had said previously that GWS were the only club to have any real interest in Didak, and that Heath Shaw's choice (along with the money) was helped with Alan Didak looking likely to go to the club as a delisted free agent.

I'd say Didak still has a lot to offer a club, which is just my own personal opinion. Krock were reporting that Didak had toured GWS' facilities and Glenn McFarlane from the herald sun had said previously that GWS were the only club to have any real interest in Didak, and that Heath Shaw's choice (along with the money) was helped with Alan Didak looking likely to go to the club as a delisted free agent

I dare say that if we had Bontempelli at pick 6 and Freeman at pick 10 - we'd has some serious speed and x-factor in our midfield, which at times has looked somewhat one-paced.

Considering Didak will be long and truly gone before the GWS are even contenders to make the finals, i'm struggling to see any value what so ever. Off the field he is far from an angel and has a checkered history, on field he offers no protection for kids and will take up a kids spot and hinder his development, he also wouldn't be in GWS best 22 come start of next year when you look at all the extreme young talent they have that will start to blossom.

Just my opinion.

Didak has sublime foot skills and was averaging around 10 possessions a quarter when he made his way back into the team late this year.

He will lift the crowd and the young players and has an abundance of experience in high pressure situations... Exactly what GWS are looking for.

Didak is also a father now - his days of off field indiscretions are well and truly behind him.

Sign me up - I'll be going to Skoda stadium alot next year (wearing my duffle coat of course)... Will be beautiful to watch.

Didak has sublime foot skills and was averaging around 10 possessions a quarter when he made his way back into the team late this year.

He will lift the crowd and the young players and has an abundance of experience in high pressure situations... Exactly what GWS are looking for.

Didak is also a father now - his days of off field indiscretions are well and truly behind him.

Sign me up - I'll be going to Skoda stadium alot next year (wearing my duffle coat of course)... Will be beautiful to watch.

Yeah OK.

I'd say Didak still has a lot to offer a club, which is just my own personal opinion. Krock were reporting that Didak had toured GWS' facilities and Glenn McFarlane from the herald sun had said previously that GWS were the only club to have any real interest in Didak, and that Heath Shaw's choice (along with the money) was helped with Alan Didak looking likely to go to the club as a delisted free agent.
No offence as I do appreciate your information, but you went from "mark my words" to "looking likely".

I just don't see it. As Blaze says, Dids is the last sort of player GWS needs

Considering Didak will be long and truly gone before the GWS are even contenders to make the finals, i'm struggling to see any value what so ever. Off the field he is far from an angel and has a checkered history, on field he offers no protection for kids and will take up a kids spot and hinder his development, he also wouldn't be in GWS best 22 come start of next year when you look at all the extreme young talent they have that will start to blossom.

Just my opinion.
I think GWS are just interested in improving and winning some games this year and next, they aren't thinking flag ATM obviously, GWS need to put some bums on seats first, premiership second.

I can't reveal my source, but I have strong mail that Facebook is going to be traded to Twitter, along with an exchange of likes. Deal should be done before notifications are finalised. Only sticking point could be that Facebook wants more followers. Stay tuned.

I can confirm 100% that this trade period is sending me doolally! But of course come next Friday arvo when the 'Pies have picks 1, 6, 10, 11, 27 in the draft, plus Adams, Bugg & White, all for the loss of Thomas, Shaw and (I hate to say) the boot studder, all will be well with the world....:p

I've got to say I'm suprised.

I think a few swans fans have already been on here to give feedback, but I'll reiterate anyway. We played him off half back and he had a couple of really good games (including quality opposition like Geelong and Essendon) in his first season. He didn't get much of a look in this year but didn't do a great deal.

Positives: He can find plenty of the ball by providing the link from half back and he is a good kick who can hit a target, has decent pace and he is also apparently a good bloke who loves his footy and works hard

Cons: He is < 80kgs and can't stick a tackle, he doesn't use his best assets of pace and disposal as effectively as he should (i.e. he gets himself out of trouble but doesn't take on the game, and his kicks are neat and short to mid as opposed to long and raking), and there are question marks over his defensive game generally and whether this will consistently stand up in finals pressure football.

At best you'll get a bloke who will lift that extra notch required an add run out of your defence, at worst you've got a bloke who is handy depth and will step straight into the senior team and not embarrass himself.

I can't imagine his trade value will be significant, presumably we are throwing him in with Jessie White for a lesser trade to cut some salary cap and find the young bloke a new team

So...he's a Ben Sinclair who can kick.
Sigh

This could form part of a mega-deal involving Pinterest and Instagram as well. There is no trade value with MySpace anymore and no-one will deal with Google Plus because there are no records of it in action.

You should check out the flogs on the Instagram board, they reckon they can get Reddit for 3 retweets. :roll:

Official 2013 Collingwood Trade Talk