Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

kingfooty said:
i have stated numerous times that i thought that the gv standard is a bit stronger. but if what your saying is true that rochy just beat lower with a good side in and that they will make the 6 then maybe you have just changed my mind. that confirms to me that the standard outside the top 6 in the gv must have fallen away a hell of a lot. if you would like to stick up for your league then i suggest you dont post because you are making a fool of yourself and misrepresenting your league. If you would like to learn more about the game of footy then read my posts.
You really are keen to denigrate the standard of the GVFL Kingfooty. I'm not too sure why.

It is very hard to judge leagues and teams by one off practice games and whilst it is of course better to win these games than lose them, you can get peculiar results at times. If a club could play a whole season at a different league you would get a much fairer indication. And then you have variables like clubs being down for a few seasons, or vice verca making it all fairly subjective.

The main problem with all of this speculation is the fact that people generally are fairly biased in their view of their own league and this will always cloud people's judgements.

Tusken you have made some very good points. Even interleague games are not a true indicator as most leagues can readily find 24 topliners. Its the next 24 and so on that give you the depth of the talent in the league. :)

TuskenRaider said:
You really are keen to denigrate the standard of the GVFL Kingfooty. I'm not too sure why.

It is very hard to judge leagues and teams by one off practice games and whilst it is of course better to win these games than lose them, you can get peculiar results at times. If a club could play a whole season at a different league you would get a much fairer indication. And then you have variables like clubs being down for a few seasons, or vice verca making it all fairly subjective.

The main problem with all of this speculation is the fact that people generally are fairly biased in their view of their own league and this will always cloud people's judgements.

Completely agree Tusken. Most practice games I've played in or watched over the years have been little more a good hit-out for the veterans or a chance for the young players to prove themselves against men. Clubs do take them semi-seriously, but only to get a good game into the players.

I'm not really sure why kingfooty is so keen to compare leagues etc. It's a pretty pointless exercise. I'm happy with the standard of the GV, as are most around here. I couldn't care less about how it stands up against Melbourne leagues, as I have no interest and will probably never watch a game of it.

gazza12 said:
i dont no if anyones got the time but it would be good to get a ins and outs
on all clubs similiar to whats at the start of this thread

Cookie did an excellent preview on page 285 of this thread and I did one on page 284.

The one cookie did is better than mine because he is a lot cooler than me!:thumbsu:

Doona2 said:
Im sure the Euroa lads will be on here quick smart to defend their man about your "soft" tag BYSTANDER. gta3 may be onto something, the Lions will definately miss Chipper Douglas, but as for "No Douglas No Seymour" Im sure Steve has plenty of options.

Why you ask about Sage is there some doubt over him playing? Has Lamaro fronted to training yet, will Marcus Hill & Mark Mills be in action on Saturday?

Seymour will definately miss the run created by douglas, along with his defensive pressure. Pilling may end up taking a key-post down back or Dave Brockway???

Doona you cant be serious about the Inness-Hilton run with role... please ive always thought you to be a very bright football minded person but this is a little far fetched...

hilton will either get, scarlon,o,keefe maybe king or b,liddel... not inness...

is the douglas injury confirmed yet?

BYSTANDER said:
Doona you cant be serious about the Inness-Hilton run with role... please ive always thought you to be a very bright football minded person but this is a little far fetched...

douglas will miss this week i'd suspect.

Rattray will be playing with seymour in 2006. Not sure what is going on with the whole bendigo pay-back thing, but he is living in melbourne and working full time with SJD...so i can't imagine he would play anywhere but seymour.

He has missed a lot of pre-season with a knee and ankle injury, so i don't think we'll see him in the ones straight up...but once he gets right into it, could provide the forward line with a bit of extra bite.

BYSTANDER said:

Appreciate your sentiments BYSTANDER especially as I have no idea to your identity. Look Im a mate & a big Robbie Inness fan & would love to see him in action on Saturday thats all.

Douglas is a definite ommission, caught up with him yesterday will be definite 4-6 week loss for the Lions.

Word around a few football circles in Brad Mellington, {brother of Shepp Bears forward Anthony} is pulling on the boots this season. Is a big framed lad and can kick the pill. Massive fitness fanatic, good athletic type. Just wondering if any of the Shepp boys can confirm Brad as a starter for the Bears???

ky took on mooroopna in a prac match on the weekend and i think to many peoples surprise they came up trumps, winning by about 3-4 goals.
With both teams having noteable players out, ky(newman, taylor, ciavola, seriakowsi?) and mooroopna from what i could tell(campbell x2, hall, and a couple of other recruites.
Ky put in there best showing so far playing some good footy with heath barnett kicking 4 or 5 majiors(looking good), nunn was in for his first hitout for the club was very impressive in the ruck, looks to have a bit of a dodgy knee by will definitly help out in a big way with the tall stocks at ky. V.j singh was sent off after throwing a cheap shot out of what looked like frustration of not getting a kick, but did come back to kick 2-3 goals. Norman was ok for them, but only in patch, was playing in the ruck at one stage which was interesting to see.
On a bad note for ky dustin brown when down with a knee injury and looks like he could be gone with his third reco in as many years.
i believe ky is in about the same positon as they were last year personal wise but mooroopna will be better then they were last year when they all come together

Just noticed that Mick Sheils has applied to be cleared from Seymour home to Nagambie. Plenty to offer and will dominate in the KDFL, unfortunately due to the Lion's great depth the past 2-3 years he hasn't been able to crack a regular gig.

PLAYER15 said:
Word around a few football circles in Brad Mellington, {brother of Shepp Bears forward Anthony} is pulling on the boots this season. Is a big framed lad and can kick the pill. Massive fitness fanatic, good athletic type. Just wondering if any of the Shepp boys can confirm Brad as a starter for the Bears???
Played 2's for Tally a few years back.
Wouldn't play Shepp one's unless he's improved out of sight.

Interested to see that Kyabram beat Mooroopna on the weekend, i would think looking at the boys that didnt play for both sides that they would have been fairly even in importance for both sides. Are Ky a real underdog??, also is the big Nunn the bloke that played at St.Patts in school footy and Nth Ballarat 18s and seniors?? if so he will be a very handy footballer, is built like a tank and can tak a grab, stands at about 193cm so can play forward and ruck...... a very big recruit for the club.
Also got word that Sunburys premiership full back Steven Sparry is on his up the Hume to play with Tatura, the guy is probably about 6ft3 (192cm) and has a really good build as well as being a jumping machine. If true that he is heading up to Tat then it would be a massive get for the club, would be in the top half dozen full backs running in the GV.
Has anyone got word on the results for Mansfields practise matches? i have heard nothing on them, did they even play?

C'mon lads 4 more sleeps until the big clash . . . what our peoples thoughts on the grand final rematch?

Im going the Lions by under 10 points, although Im a tad weary of Douglas not being down back.
Joffa will have Grainger covered no worries, and I cant see the Maggies having the numbers to go with Saad, Gordon, Rattray if he plays and the resting Bailey/Schottner combination. Looking forward to watching Hilton, Clayton and one of my faves Sage in action, as well as new Lions Gordo, Colbert adn Scanlon.

Doona2 said:
Just noticed that Mick Sheils has applied to be cleared from Seymour home to Nagambie. Plenty to offer and will dominate in the KDFL, unfortunately due to the Lion's great depth the past 2-3 years he hasn't been able to crack a regular gig.

Are you sure it wasn't for a permit for last weekends clash with avenal doona? Just got off the phone with him then after reading your post and he is still playing for the lions this year... hopefully they realise he is an important part of the future (having not even turned 21) and give him greater opportunities to prove himself!

Doona2 said:
C'mon lads 4 more sleeps until the big clash . . . what our peoples thoughts on the grand final rematch?

Im going the Lions by under 10 points, although Im a tad weary of Douglas not being down back.
Joffa will have Grainger covered no worries, and I cant see the Maggies having the numbers to go with Saad, Gordon, Rattray if he plays and the resting Bailey/Schottner combination. Looking forward to watching Hilton, Clayton and one of my faves Sage in action, as well as new Lions Gordo, Colbert adn Scanlon.

I think Ash Thomson will be a big inclusion to the pies defence and there may be a few people underestimating his ability. Not sure but i'd say he might get the job on Gordon. Is Gordon hard at it? Or is he likely to drop his head if he cops a few?

inlimbo said:
Are you sure it wasn't for a permit for last weekends clash with avenal doona? Just got off the phone with him then after reading your post and he is still playing for the lions this year... hopefully they realise he is an important part of the future (having not even turned 21) and give him greater opportunities to prove himself!

I hope this is the case inlimbo . . . didnt think the paperwork as such went through the same channels as normal clearances for match permits. If I made a blue Im sorry for reading the page wrong and consider myself and ill informed tool :eek:

Doona apologies for early comments regarding inness...didnt mean it wrongly toward robert but he is hardly in the calabra of hilton... I hope robert has a good year saw him smash trenqullie last year but he is a backman struggle in the main play... do you reckon he will be a ones player or in and out...

and junkie i dare you to give gordon a few saw him a few years back in the eastern league..hardly some one to pick on but go ahead will make paying the entry fee worth every cent

ill back the lions to donna, but will be a close game

BYSTANDER said:
and junkie i dare you to give gordon a few saw him a few years back in the eastern league..hardly some one to pick on but go ahead will make paying the entry fee worth every cent

ill back the lions to donna, but will be a close game

I dont play BYSTANDER, was just wondering what sort of character he is. He is a pretty big unit isn't he?

inlimbo said:

mick sheilds ask for a match permit but you can't get one to play in a lower leauge, so he got cleard to nagambie and then he will get cleard back to seymour.

inlimbo said:

mick sheilds ask for a match permit but you can't get one to play in a lower leauge, so he got cleared to nagambie and then he will get cleared back to seymour.

Junkie said:
I dont play BYSTANDER, was just wondering what sort of character he is. He is a pretty big unit isn't he?

Nah not at all Junkie you'd have his measure :thumbsu:

ok boys round 1 is fast approaching so who can give us a round 1 preview?

Zippa said:
ok boys round 1 is fast approaching so who can give us a round 1 preview?

I was kinda hoping Eric Bottom might make a guest appearance for teh first round of the year, reckon he'd have some inside mail for us.

BYSTANDER said:

I hope you are a BYSTANDER as your name suggests, coz I reckon me mate Inness#15 would be disappointed to read your confidence in him if you are a fellow den member.

Maybe youre like the many Hawks supporters that left the phone dome early on Sunday, very quick to turn on their own!!! Anyways I hope to see many fellow Big Footy fans at Euroa on Saturday and Im actually looking more forward to the match reports that will follow depending on where you allegiance is.

Maybe we shoulda hooked up a BF marquee