Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

- Euroa vs Seymour = Euroa - Euroa just too strong, With the addition of Hilton i cant see them losing many games this year.

- Echuca vs Rochy = Rochy - As T.Perry said their half back line looks to strong, plus the depature of Rhys Archard is a very big loss

- Mooroopna vs Tat = Mooroopna - Key match ups dont work out, Cats centre line (Karl Norman, Jarrod Best, Blake Campbell, Brad Campbell) to strong as is their foward line (Balraj Singh, Rob Osborne, Nick Aloi, Ben Tremllen if he fires can be very crucial). The likes of Paul Kirby and Linc Wellington, David McDonald will just be over run

- Bears vs United = United - Addition to Uniteds side including the return of the Hazleman boys, Tyson Sidebottom and if Matt Forys and Dale Osborne fires they will all be the x-Factor.

- Kyabram vs Swans = Kyabram - Kyabram just simply to strong, Who will take Newman?

- Benalla vs Mansfeild = Benalla - Their big men, Mark Porter and Brendan VanShaik will run amonk, Mansfeild dont have the ruckman to contain these two in partnership. Also the departuers of many big Mansfeild names i belive have made the finals hopes slipped.

Overall Ladder of the year;
1. Euroa (Simply Class)
2. Seymour (May push to 1st but will have to bond well and preform well)
3. Benalla (Have always had a strong side and always will have)
4. Mooroopna (Big improvers with some Big names, may take a few games to gell but after that may push the likes of Euroa and Seymour)
5. Kyabram (Play really well together, have had good pre-season form and should continue that into Home and Away season)
6. Rochy (Dont know alot about them but generally have a strong line-up)
7. United (They are at full strength and hopefully should preform, if do may push hire on the ladder)
8. Echuca (Loss of Archard will put a big hole within their team, did pick up a good onballer forgot his name though, cant see them pushing more than 2 spots higher)
9. Swans (Going by the second half of last season, did pick up a handy recruit [once again forgot his name] but dotn think they will be finals contendors)
10. Tat (yes have some recruits including local star David Mcdonald, he is only playing a few rounds though, they will improve from last year but then again so have the rest of the competition)
11. Bears (May be a surprise to many people i have them spooners but have lost 18 players over the pre-season with the majority of that figure beign seniros players, they may budge Tat, Swans and Echuca, not higher though)

BYSTANDER said:
Doona did your mate inness get a gig...

should be a cracker of a game, both teams missing players..

maybe t.perry could add abit more to his earlier mail about sgae and gibson not playing...

You tell me weren't u there when they read em out last night? Dont think he did though (just saw all the GV teams). Interesting also after talk during the pre-season no Brad Smith at Echuca, and I didn't see Paul Kirby or recruit Creighton named for Tatura (squad named from).

Sage was named in the paper and on the Mag's website, no Lamaro or Gibson though . . . and much to my disgust no Mark Mills named in the Maggies 1's either which now means I must trek up the Hume earlier to catch the dew kickers in action!!!

Sage was named in the paper and on the Mag's website, no Lamaro or Gibson though . . . and much to my disgust no Mark Mills named in the Maggies 1's either which now means I must trek up the Hume earlier to catch the dew kickers in action!!![/QUOTE]

Have a sleep in Doona. I have a feeling he wont get too many kicks anyway!

Whippet said:
Sage was named in the paper and on the Mag's website, no Lamaro or Gibson though . . . and much to my disgust no Mark Mills named in the Maggies 1's either which now means I must trek up the Hume earlier to catch the dew kickers in action!!!

Have a sleep in Doona. I have a feeling he wont get too many kicks anyway!

Been a long time since Ive noticed the Whippet on these pages, bit nervy about the round 1 clash are we???

Just unsure how he is travelling thats all. I'll find you in the crowd tomorrow and speak to you then.

Whippet said:
Just unsure how he is travelling thats all. I'll find you in the crowd tomorrow and speak to you then.

Any word if the Mag's were able to woo me old mate Hilly onto the track?

Unsure Doona. Id say he is still recovering from ruffy's cricket grand final celebrations. By the time Hilly works out if he is interested in playing footy, the season will probably be finished. I will be sure to have a encouraging word to him about it if he ever ventures down from the mountains. Would be great to see him pull on the boots, even though he has been out of the game for a few seasons.

GO SEYMOUR!!

What a match.. everyone expected it to be firey etc. but both teams were disiplined and put on a show. Saad Saad took some nice marks, Colbert ran all day, Bailey was always involved, Schottner was great in the ruck. What a finish.. euroa thought they had it when watson kicked that behind, but as soon as Saad had it we were pretty confident. The siren wen when he was on his run up which made it all the more harder and he split the middle. LIONS BY 5!!

Euroa 16.12 (108) v Seymour 17.11 (113)
Echuca 21.16 (142) v Rochester 16.4 (100)
Mooroopna 14.15 (99) v Tatura 9.9 (63)
Shepparton 12.8 (80) v Shepparton United 20.7 (127)
Kyabram 9.9 (63) v Shepparton Swans 19.17 (131)

Pupster said:
GO SEYMOUR!!

What a match.. everyone expected it to be firey etc. but both teams were disiplined and put on a show. Saad Saad took some nice marks, Colbert ran all day, Bailey was always involved, Schottner was great in the ruck. What a finish.. euroa thought they had it when watson kicked that behind, but as soon as Saad had it we were pretty confident. The siren wen when he was on his run up which made it all the more harder and he split the middle. LIONS BY 5!!

The boy from Brunswick does it again. :thumbsu:

Seymour 5.2 1.1 6.5 5.3 (17.11) d Euroa 3.2 6.5 4.0 3.5 (16.12)

Seymour
Goals: SAAD SAAD 4, GERARD LIDDELL 3, BRENT COLBERT 3, BERNARD HABERMAN 2, BRENDAN LIDDELL 2, SIMON GORDON 1, SHANE SCHOTTNER 1, BEN DAVEY 1
Best: BRENDAN LIDDELL, BERNARD HABERMAN, SAAD SAAD, GERARD LIDDELL, BENJAMIN BAILEY, JOSEPH AMAD

Euroa
Goals: SHANE CLAYTON 3, SCOTT GRAINGER 3, MARK JANSZ 2, DAVID KING 1, CRAIG MARSHALL 1, SCOTT WATSON 1, RORY HILTON 1, LUKE HYATT 1, NATHAN GILLILAND 1, CRAIG BAMFORD 1
Best: DAMON CLARKE, MARK CLAYTON, NATHAN GILLILAND, WESLEY STOTT, SCOTT WATSON, SHANE CLAYTON

Echuca 3.0 6.4 3.3 9.9 (21.16) d Rochester 5.2 3.0 6.2 2.0 (16.4)

Echuca
Goals: STEPHEN WHITE 6, LUKE AGG 4, COLIN DURIE 2, BRADLEY SMITH 2, JOSHUA MADDOX 1, THOMAS MCKITTRICK 1, JAMUS CAMPBELL 1, CHRISTOPHER CASEY 1
Best: COLIN DURIE, STEPHEN WHITE, JOSHUA MADDOX, BRENDAN PRENDERGAST, LUKE AGG, THOMAS MCKITTRICK

Rochester
Goals: MARTIN MCKENZIE 3, ANTHONY MCPHEE 2, LACHLAN O`CONNOR 2, CLINT WHITSED 1, ROBERT TUOHEY 1, DEAN MOON 1, NATHAN WHIPP 1, SAMUEL WILLIAMS 1, HEATH AITKEN 1, SCOTT HANN 1, MATTHEW LETCHER 1, CHRISTOPHER MCCARTY 1
Best: ELLIOT BOWEN, KAHL OLIVER, DANIEL SCHMIDT, ADRIAN PAPPIN, RUSSELL WEEKLEY, SCOTT HANN

Mooroopna 3.3 2.4 4.4 5.4 (14.15) v » Tatura 1.4 1.3 3.2 4.0 (9.9)

Mooroopna
Goals: BALRAJ SINGH 6, JARROD BEST 4, BLAKE CAMPBELL 1, ROBERT OSBORNE 1, BEN TREMELLEN 1, NICKOLAS ALOI 1
Best: DANIEL COLLYER, BLAKE CAMPBELL, KARL NORMAN, JARROD BEST, BALRAJ SINGH, DEREK HALL

Tatura
Goals: DAVID MACDONALD 2, SHANNON DOWNEY 1, BRYCE WELLINGTON 1, JASON DAGGER 1, TIM LANYON 1, MARTIN MCGRATH 1
Best: LINCOLN WELLINGTON, TIM LANYON, ANDREW CRAWFORD, SCOTT THORN, BRETT SCARCELLA

Shepparton United 4.2 8.1 4.0 4.4 (20.7) d Shepparton 4.2 2.4 4.1 2.1 (12.8)

Shepparton United
Goals: MATT FORYS 6, TYSON SIDEBOTTOM 4, STEPHEN HAZELMAN 2, ASHLEY ROUND 2, ADRIAN MEKA 1, ROBERT SMITH 1, STEELE HALFORD 1, MICHAEL BARLOW 1, SAM DAWES 1
Best: STEPHEN HAZELMAN, SAM DAWES, JAKE COWMAN, MATT FORYS, TYSON SIDEBOTTOM, STEELE HALFORD

Shepparton
Goals: PAUL KENELLEY 3, ANTHONY MELLINGTON 3, TROY KING 1, BRENT CHAPMAN 1, MATT CHAPMAN 1, CHRISTOPHER CULLINAN 1, MARC HARRAP 1, NATHAN JONES 1
Best: NICHOLAS ALLAN, GLENN ARCHER, PETER CARNOVALE, MATTHEW J KELLY, MATT CHAPMAN, MATTHEW BYERS

Shepparton Swans 5.4 2.7 6.4 6.2 (19.17) d Kyabram 4.0 2.3 2.6 1.0 (9.9)

Shepparton Swans
Goals: GLENN DUNDOVIC 6, MATTHEW MCCARTY 4, LUCAS WHITE 3, BRETT WARBURTON 2, HEATH BARTON 1, SIMON RYAN 1, CAMERON THYER 1, KANE UEBERGANG 1
Best: CRAIG STATHAM, JARROD SUTHERLAND, BRETT WARBURTON, SIMON RYAN, GLENN DUNDOVIC, ROBERT MONTGOMERY

Kyabram
Goals: MARK ADAMSON 3, JOSH FINN 2, BRETT MORGAN 1, PAUL NEWMAN 1, ANDREW SIEROKOWSKI 1, JAMES TAYLOR 1
Best: JASON MORGAN, RYAN EMMETT, JAMES TAYLOR, JAMES MARTIN, LUKE QUINN, HEATH BARNETT

What are great game between semour and euroa yesterday. Interesting to see that some of the big recruits for both teams didn't really fire with the likes of Hilton, Scanlon and Gorden beening pretty disappointing. Good to see the big man Bailey back and in some form too, hopefully seymour can keep him injury free this year.

Ahbroke Miandad said:
Interested to hear how Footyboss rated his game yesterday.

I hear the Euroa 2's were having a bit to say before the bounce, sledging the Lions as both sides run out. With Simon Boruch and Mick Shiels dominant in the midfield, Euroa looked slow even with Shannon Gibson returning from injury. Gibson was polished and used it well after a sluggish 1st term when he burnt Gus Mills twice.

Thought the Boss showed glimpses at times, especially early in the 1st term when he collected Patty Rattray. In fact Patty came in for some over the top scrutiny most of the 1st half of the reserves clash, Buck Trotter another to collect Patty high and leaving a handy little shiner. The bearded one #37 went back onto Rattray and it was a better battle to watch after Patty took some big marks early and ended with 5 goals.

Our very own FBP thru himself around at times also, I even heard he copped a nice spray over the fence about Big Footy from a prominent Euroa identity.

Did notice he (FOOTYBOSS) had several "blows" on the pine, seems that trip overseas hampered his preparation a bit although I dont think he was meant to even play yesterday. Would be more interested to hear how he fared at the Magpies aftermatch doo last night with the two piece female duo on show!!!

head67 said:
Noticie that in the Euroa,Seymour match summary no Hilton Lamaro how did they go .

Hilton disappointing, may just take a week or so to realise that the GV is quite a handy standard, just got caught a few times when it appeared he thought he had time.

Unfortunately for Hayden Lamaro word has it he has a rather serious injury stemming back to the GF last year and is still battling to free himself up. Although I was one who was disappointed in his input in the big one I now have a better understanding and hope for the Mag's his recovery progresses in time to get back in the side.

Must say one of Big Footy's more talked about footballers, big Janz looked more comfortable leading up the ground from the Fwd line and with Damon Clarke (goes alright) part of things he just may stretch a few defences with Grainger and Hyatt (ripper hair do) also.

Better players for me were B. Liddell, Haberman, Gez Liddell's 3rd term got the Lion's going, Colbert did well in patches and Bailey got thru and also played well . . . for Euroa I thought in order was Gilliland, S. Clayton, Clarke & Stott.

Boruch, Rattray and Shiels were good in the 2's and will push for the Benalla clash and Gibson will come in for the Magpies Id presume

interesting margin between the swans and bombers. Ky,s pracy form was pretty good what is happening over there, or are the swans that good.

Doona2 said:
Someone from Seymour tell me what's the go with Rattray? I heard the Bombers hooked him up with 3 different jobs and the longest he lasted at any was a week. Such a shame if the VFL experiment is over before it began. Where will he fit into the Lions set up around Saad, Gordo and the resting Schotty/Ben Bailey combo?

It appears my mail was incorrect, Patty tells me it was one job and it wasnt to his liking. After watching the meat tray in action yesty for the Lion's 2's I have no doubt he'll slot back into the Fwd structure as he appeared unstoppable in the first half.

BYSTANDER said:
Doona

Expect to see the one of the softest ruckman to ever pull do the boots in the gv run around... D. Clarke...Expect Shottner to dominate. Expect euroa to go tall in the forward line, Is sage playing or not... Seymour will be quick across the ground, and should win.

will be a cracker of a game

What were your thoughts on D. Clarke yesterday BYSTANDER? I was fairly impressed, he looks very athletic and has pretty clean skills for a big unit. Thought the ruck duels (Schottner/Bailey vs Clarke/Janz) were even all day and I didnt notice a "soft" side to Clarke at all.

Doona2 said:
What were your thoughts on D. Clarke yesterday BYSTANDER? I was fairly impressed, he looks very athletic and has pretty clean skills for a big unit. Thought the ruck duels (Schottner/Bailey vs Clarke/Janz) were even all day and I didnt notice a "soft" side to Clarke at all.

What a game , both teams had a crack and the standard at times the way both teams moved the ball was great. D Clarke was okay to , Hilton was disapointing and as for that bloke they call saad , hes a freak.I watched the Benalla v Mansfield game also, how good is porter he would of taken 15 marks in the first half. Benalla look good, but it was way of the standard of the Euroa Seymour game. I think Seymour have let Euroa, Benalla , Mooroopna,take all the lime light and just sat back, let me say they are better than last year as is the magpies.

Duff Man said:
. I think Seymour have let Euroa, Benalla , Mooroopna,take all the lime light and just sat back, let me say they are better than last year as is the magpies.

Duff, Euroa, Benalla and Mooroopna can have all the lime light, leave the lions alone its great.

No Heart said:
Duff, Euroa, Benalla and Mooroopna can have all the lime light, leave the lions alone its great.

I must admit NO HEART [ the whole ten of you ]I thought Euroa would beat you yesterday, after winning it last year i thought you might take a while to get going, but from what i saw yesterday i was wrong.