Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

centreman said:
Kingsley has been mentioned in some circles at Demonland from what I'm led to believe. I think the met wit him at the weekend, just informally. I doubt they would go for Bradshaw. They seem to be working very hard to build the right sort of image and to be fair Forys is a much better player than Bradshaw anyway.
Hasnt Bradshaw played an AFL game during his career, I dont think Forys can say that.

Both are quality players at country level.

FOOTYBOSS said:
Hasnt Bradshaw played an AFL game during his career, I dont think Forys can say that.

Can't argue with that. But Bradshaw's committment level is highly questionable. Forys had a run at Hawthorn and at Williamstown never quite cracked it. Isn't really a footy head. If Bradshaw's last name was Smith he might not have got the look in he did. His brother made the path for him a little easier. Can't question the fact he did play a game though. They can't take that away from him

daisy_train said:
And Bradshaw is a footyhead?

A few Ovens and Murray clubs have considered Kingsley but decided he wasn't up to it.

heck off to your OandM thread moron.

bradrowe#32 said:
Demon's 'grave mistake'
The Age - Monday October 16th 2006

David Williams played 67 games for Melbourne in the mid-1980s but missed playing in the one he really wanted to be part of, being dropped for the 1987 preliminary final against Hawthorn when Jim Stynes infamously ran across the mark of Gary Buckenara, costing his team the match. Well, 19 years later and coach John Northey has acknowledged the axing was a grave mistake, admitting as much at a function at Rochester in Northern Victoria to honour Williams, who has coached his hometown for the past 15 years. What's more, former Demon captain Robbie Flower told the gathering of 350 that Williams' axing was his greatest disappointment in football and firmly believes that had he played that day the result would have been different.

Garry Lyon and Noel McMahen also attended the function, hosted by Brad McEwan. There were video tributes from Ron Barassi, Kevin Bartlett, John Northey, Crackers Keenan, Chris Connally, Cameron Schwab, Kelly O'Donnell, Earl Spalding, Barry Connally, Steve Ash, Des Campbell and Kayne Pettifer.

Do they reckon Williams should have got a game before Eishold?

LOBSTER said:
Cripps might not have a say on whether he will move on from AFL circles, he might get told by Lyon his services are no longer wanted. As for Woewodin mate, all tongue in cheek. Who is Mifsud anyway???

Was'nt Misfud linked to a couple of clubs in the GV' this time last year....!? There was a fair bit of speculation at the time because Hamilton in the WBfl had signed him as a coach.Being that as it may there were still mumors floating around that he was also touted to be going up there because of a couple of freindships he made w a few of the GV boys that were also vic country reps he played with !?

Mifsud was already conducting pre-season training with Hamilton when he was strongly linked with one of the Oven & Murray clubs last year before Corn Flakes snapped him up.

Grimmett said:
Mifsud was already conducting pre-season training with Hamilton when he was strongly linked with one of the Oven & Murray clubs last year before Corn Flakes snapped him up.
Stand corrected....concerning whether it was GV or O'M clubs linked, i remember it well coz it was big news down here at the time.And yes he'd just taken over them (Hamilton) when the 'bush telegraph' was working overtime about his immediate future.

i played a game against bradshaw this season whilst he was playing for cobram, he was over weight and got towled up by a 4th game teenager. the kicked 7 goals in 8 games from fullfoward for cobram. and he was on $1300 a game roomer had it. he wouldnt have got a game at half of the GV clubs

FOOTYBOSS said:

centreman said:
heck off to your OandM thread moron.

why don't you two take your dummies and tickle me elmo's to the "bigfooty for babies" thread

centreman said:
Do they reckon Williams should have got a game before Eishold?
I was wondering the same thing. I was at that game in 87 when Eishold took a beautiful mark near the goalsquare in the dying minutes of the game and shanked the kick straight left for a point. Eishold was pretty young then, only about 20 but I can't remember if he played in the earlier finals that year or who were the ins and outs for the prelim.

Melbourne should have won that game anyway. Graeme Yates & "Gloves" Campbell both missed shots on the run from about 40m, which would have sealed the game, plus Eishold's miss.

Williams did play in the 88 Grand Final though, and Eishold went on to play some pretty good footy at Melbourne before coaching Echuca. I think he was BOG in the 1990 elimination final against Hawthorn.

flagpie said:
why don't you two take your dummies and tickle me elmo's to the "bigfooty for babies" thread

Fair enough mate. Fair enough. Any chance of you having a run in the O and M this year?

centreman said:
Fair enough mate. Fair enough. Any chance of you having a run in the O and M this year?

nah you know me mate ... happy in the comfort zone

daisy_train said:
Sound a bit rattled Centreman, the heat of the recruiting season getting to you?

Recruiting? I couldn't recruit my thumb up my bum

whats happening with the coaching positions of the once powerful sides of tat and echuca. surely these 2 must be close to filling their positions. cannot believe a major league club looking to improve would not have a coach yet. i would have thought to recruit other quality players you would want your coach involved in the process. thoughts??

BIGANT said:
Stand corrected....concerning whether it was GV or O'M clubs linked, i remember it well coz it was big news down here at the time.And yes he'd just taken over them (Hamilton) when the 'bush telegraph' was working overtime about his immediate future.

Wodonga had a fair crack at getting Mifsud as coach despite him already accepting the Hamilton coaching job.

TuskenRaider said:
I was wondering the same thing. I was at that game in 87 when Eishold took a beautiful mark near the goalsquare in the dying minutes of the game and shanked the kick straight left for a point. Eishold was pretty young then, only about 20 but I can't remember if he played in the earlier finals that year or who were the ins and outs for the prelim.

Melbourne should have won that game anyway. Graeme Yates & "Gloves" Campbell both missed shots on the run from about 40m, which would have sealed the game, plus Eishold's miss.

Williams did play in the 88 Grand Final though, and Eishold went on to play some pretty good footy at Melbourne before coaching Echuca. I think he was BOG in the 1990 elimination final against Hawthorn.

Russell Richards got dropped for Eishold

ringo1 said:
whats happening with the coaching positions of the once powerful sides of tat and echuca. surely these 2 must be close to filling their positions. cannot believe a major league club looking to improve would not have a coach yet. i would have thought to recruit other quality players you would want your coach involved in the process. thoughts??

Definately, and Ky is the same, new they didnt have a coach over a month ago and they have still got their coaching position open for applications until october 28. Way to long and should be sorted out by now. The people running Tat at the moment may just have to move out of the area shortly, because I dont think to many bulldogs supporters and players could be happy with them getting rid of Trav Ryan and not having a bloody good replacement to take over the reigns. Even if they did land someone out of the AFL system now, it may just be too late as a lot of players have already moved on.

Yeah you would think the horse may have bolted in all 3 cases, tat ky and echuca. Echuca might be ok because they have depth, but the other 2 you would have to suggest are in trouble. maybe they cut their losses, get a local who can draw or retain players and rebuild. im thinking all in charge of these clubs are throwing up ideas as we speak.

slim18 said:
Allegedly big rumblings to happen [have happened] at the saints. Anyone close prepared to comment?

C'mon Slim tell us what u got?

hank1 said:
Definately, and Ky is the same, new they didnt have a coach over a month ago and they have still got their coaching position open for applications until october 28. Way to long and should be sorted out by now. The people running Tat at the moment may just have to move out of the area shortly, because I dont think to many bulldogs supporters and players could be happy with them getting rid of Trav Ryan and not having a bloody good replacement to take over the reigns. Even if they did land someone out of the AFL system now, it may just be too late as a lot of players have already moved on.

Echuca has spoken to two coaches but believe that they are'nt that happy with them and are speaking to another two this week. Personal opinion is that it has been a closed shop to outsiders and it might be time to get some new blood in. There are plenty of people in the area that could do a good job so perhaps that could be an angle to take.The Ky closing job is far too late and all this does is slow the recruiting process.There have been plenty of ex AFL players that have failed as coaches son sometimesthe local bloke is a better bet.