Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Can Shop said:
Centreman have you heard on any news about ezra pyas coming to the GV

Ha ha. No I haven't. That's a blast from the past. Where is he supposed to be headed?

ringo1 said:
Doozy I think Archard is still contracted to Sth Adelaide and will stay. Wilson has had a great year in WA-(job is a concern he may have written an article for the local paper up in Echuca a few weeks ago). Baker was on big bucks at United but the word is that they may lose a few key players but I thought he would stay there. Heard nothing about Murphy at this stage. Any move with Archard would also involve his good mate Scott McGlone. Believe Josh Edgar has been offered huge money by Leitchville-Gunbower.:thumbsu:

Thanks ringo - I just heard rumblings about Archard being approached by Echuca to return, and he would have to be thinking about it, if not this year then maybe next, that is if he is not taken on a rookie list of course.
Baker would be offered even more money since he won the B&F I suppose.
I would have though Wilson would only go back if Archard was to return. Probably be hard too since he won a premiership this year.
Edgar was a real surprise packet this year and Echuca would be desparate to keep him

Doozy_Man said:
Thanks ringo - I just heard rumblings about Archard being approached by Echuca to return, and he would have to be thinking about it, if not this year then maybe next, that is if he is not taken on a rookie list of course.
Baker would be offered even more money since he won the B&F I suppose.
I would have though Wilson would only go back if Archard was to return. Probably be hard too since he won a premiership this year.
Edgar was a real surprise packet this year and Echuca would be desparate to keep him

No worries:thumbsu: Edgar apparantly offered well over 500 a game. Wilson has an opportunity to represent the Amatuers in a game of Gaelic footy in Ireland if he stays. He must have really developed his footy as my view was that he had potential but not realised. Only saw him play once but he kicked 5 at full forward. McGlone is in Archards class too!

Can Shop said:
Is there somethign going on at euroa that no one wants to coach them??? With the list they had i thought the town would still be pretty confident in them even though they had a injury riddled year this year.............. Urple any update......
I live in Melbourne now days mate and havent been home since the day after we lost the grand final. So I wouldnt have a clue whats going on. Interesting times ahead though. Some players might leave soon if we cant find a coach or able to recruit anyone to replace the players already gone.

ringo1 said:
No worries:thumbsu: Edgar apparantly offered well over 500 a game. Wilson has an opportunity to represent the Amatuers in a game of Gaelic footy in Ireland if he stays. He must have really developed his footy as my view was that he had potential but not realised. Only saw him play once but he kicked 5 at full forward. McGlone is in Archards class too!

if mcglone and archard were to return to echuca this would be a huge huge plus for the club as both are out and out guns. however i think people need to remember that when wilson left he was playing as a permanent twos player that got the odd senior game which to me tells the two leagues standards. the gv must be much better if wilson has a chance at the state team over there. agree?

still cant believe there is 5 clubs with no coaches guys. what is going on. The colbert word at echuca is gaining momentum, if not him another high ex afl profile player. cannot believe euroa dont have a coach, as they were hit hard with injuries and seem to have loads of talent and depth. tat and ky, well good luck with whoever goes there. where is united at at the moment??

ringo1 said:
still cant believe there is 5 clubs with no coaches guys. what is going on. The colbert word at echuca is gaining momentum, if not him another high ex afl profile player. cannot believe euroa dont have a coach, as they were hit hard with injuries and seem to have loads of talent and depth. tat and ky, well good luck with whoever goes there. where is united at at the moment??
I wouldnt leave Seymour out of that either Ringo, still no coach after Stevie D resignation. Will also be very interesting to see who coaches them.

:thumbsu:
FOOTYBOSS said:
I wouldnt leave Seymour out of that either Ringo, still no coach after Stevie D resignation. Will also be very interesting to see who coaches them.

Boss heard that Daniel is going back to the lions as a joint coach with Amad?- Have you heard anything?. Echuca is expected to announce their coach Wednesday. I heard that a coach from Geelong league is the front runner-no AFL experience and Paul Newman will coach Kyabram

The Flying Dutchman said:
if mcglone and archard were to return to echuca this would be a huge huge plus for the club as both are out and out guns. however i think people need to remember that when wilson left he was playing as a permanent twos player that got the odd senior game which to me tells the two leagues standards. the gv must be much better if wilson has a chance at the state team over there. agree?

Flying Dutchman - Of course the GVFL is a better standard than the one Wilson is playing in at the moment.
Wilson played more senior games than twos, but apparently he has really carved up over in Perth, not sure why that is, maybe a fresh start or new coach? And he is playing CHF over there where he played the majority in the back line at Echuca.
It would be massive for Echuca to regain Archard and McGlone, and it will be very interesting to see who the new coach is also!

FOOTYBOSS said:

Applications close on November 3 for the Lions gig, one would assume there'd be a list of people keen to go 4 the job.
There is obviously word of a few players moving but Im led to believe many are staying on, and there was a fair bit of depth in the 2's as well as young blokes like Clifton in the 3's who I think even won Assumption's B & F

Interesting to see Christie from the Deledio News copped a bit of a rocket today about her evaluation of Shepp Swans, in reference to their 'dirty' culture and there alledged payments this year.

bradrowe#32 said:
Interesting to see Christie from the Deledio News copped a bit of a rocket today about her evaluation of Shepp Swans, in reference to their 'dirty' culture and there alledged payments this year.

Nothing wrong with culture at Swans

October 23 2006
Shepparton News

Christie Peucker's "Report Card" on Shepparton Swans is rich in rhetoric but short on substance and facts.

She states that the club needs a change in culture.

Shepparton Swans prides itself on being a family club.

It is rich in its history and has a diverse cultural involvement.

Like many clubs it is made up of volunteers and is respected within the community.

It is competitive on the field and is proud to be.

How then does she suggest it change its culture?

Christie states that the Swans need to get rid of the "dirty" tag.

Perhaps she isn't aware that there were no reports in 2006 in its firsts, seconds and under-18s and that the club was ranked second overall in the Goulburn Valley Football League most disciplined club award.

She also suggests that the Swans are in the caper of buying a premiership.

Easily said Christie, almost a throwaway line.

Whenever a club recruits well, the rumours start, and that's all they are - rumours and gossip.

Constructive criticism is welcomed. I emphasise constructive.

It has been stated elsewhere that the pen is mightier than the sword.

In this instance and in Christie's hand it appears the pen is a poisoned one.

Reg Dickinson, Shepparton

FOOTYBOSS said:
Well you heard wrong then donkey d i c k..... What you hear is just s h i t dribbling out of people mouths. So heck from this forum. You are useless.

By the way Rory has decided to retire from footy. His body is no good and he has to many other things going on his life to worry about footy.

Ex AFL players, do you think they played for nothing....

How are you in the know, full time job of running the books there!

slim18 said:
Allegedly big rumblings to happen [have happened] at the saints. Anyone close prepared to comment?

Heard from a good source at the weekend that there may have been some fallout at the Saints after this year's grand final.

Not so much between players (originally), but wives, girlfriends, sisters, which eventually stemmed to a couple of VERY SENIOR players.

May have been some physical contact and the fallout could result in a change of heircharcy.

Don't pretend to know exactly what's going on, but would like to hear more .. Flat Track Bully, Full Forward???

Urple said:
I live in Melbourne now days mate and havent been home since the day after we lost the grand final. So I wouldnt have a clue whats going on. Interesting times ahead though. Some players might leave soon if we cant find a coach or able to recruit anyone to replace the players already gone.

A few players leaving would open the doorway for the Urple to run around in the forward pocket and snag some majors in the ones maybe?

lion's_roar said:
Heard from a good source at the weekend that there may have been some fallout at the Saints after this year's grand final.

Not so much between players (originally), but wives, girlfriends, sisters, which eventually stemmed to a couple of VERY SENIOR players.

May have been some physical contact and the fallout could result in a change of heircharcy.

Don't pretend to know exactly what's going on, but would like to hear more .. Flat Track Bully, Full Forward???

Are you sure you havent been reading the Adelaide football club website? :D

Kinda funny if its true, like something off home and away. Maybe today tonight can jump on it. Naomi can tell us how a footy club cat fight is tearing the once peaceful town of Benalla apart :rolleyes:

lion's_roar said:

My info says the tail is attempting to wag the dog. Tends to happen there a bit.

Strong rumour that Numurkah are close to signing Linc Wellington as coach and Marc Harrop as assistant for next year.

journeyman said:
Strong rumour that Numurkah are close to signing Linc Wellington as coach and Marc Harrop as assistant for next year.
That would make it 3 coaches in 3 years while they are chasing their 3rd flag. Linc would be a massive loss for Tatura, who have already lost a few players and still without a coach for next year after suprisingly telling Trav ryan he is no longer wanted for the role.

Tige, any news on what is happening at Tatura next year mate. Are you and Willoughby staying put or entertaining ideas of leaving and joing either another GVFL club or heading back to Melbourne to play.