• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

Is that the same Cam Gillet that played a season at United a few years ago now?

it is the same. he looks in good nick and will be a handy addition to an already strong line up at the lions.

reid, penn, schottner are all new players basically, after having injury plagued years last year.
all have had massive preseasons and their early form shows that they will be in for huge seasons.

also young players such as, green, le cerf, hately, loraine, belsten and cole, who will all be pushing to play in the senior side will add depth.

should be a very good game to start off the season for the lions. benalla are never an easy task, and have recruited well.

it is the same. he looks in good nick and will be a handy addition to an already strong line up at the lions.

reid, penn, schottner are all new players basically, after having injury plagued years last year.
all have had massive preseasons and their early form shows that they will be in for huge seasons.

also young players such as, green, le cerf, hately, loraine, belsten and cole, who will all be pushing to play in the senior side will add depth.

should be a very good game to start off the season for the lions. benalla are never an easy task, and have recruited well.
Must be some quality and depth at the moment BAZZA, they could only find room on the bench in the 2s for you, the numbers must be good, Jeff Anderson to return mid season will be handy at that time of the season.

Anyone able to post the sides from the paper?

I'm too tight (and can't afford) the astrinomical cost to sign up for the Shepp News online.

SEYMOUR
B: Judge-Williams, Inness,
Anderson
HB: Colbert, Gillett, Pemberton
C: Hooper, Scanlon, Russo
HF: Reid, McCarthy, Spargo
F: Haberman, Stevenson, Saad
Foll: Schottner, Penn, Liddell
Inter: Amad, LeCerf, Ellis, Watts,
Green, Loraine

BENALLA
B: Polwarth, Fahey, Rockliff
HB: Green, MacKenzie, Bull
C: Challis, M. Stevens, Croxford
HF: D. Symes, B. Stevens,
McKean
F: F. Priest, R. Symes, Harrison
Foll: Cooper, Sharp, R. Priest
Inter: Firth, McKenzie, Dalton

EUROA
B: Wilson, Watson, Smart
HB: Bonson, Harper, Ruane
C: Sleigh, Clayton, Jansz
HF: Ivill, Doxey, Roberts
F: Bamford, Grainger, Mills
Foll: Clarke, Lamaro, Marshall
Inter: Saville, Tate, Fox

ROCHESTER
B: Moon, Oliver, Rasmussen
HB: O’Brien, Oliver, Schmidt
C: Bubb, Collins, Watson
HF: Haitsma, Bowen, Whipp
F: Cuttriss, McPhee, Letcher
Foll: Givney, Hann, Moon
Inter: Hyden, Perry, Williams,
Duscher, Cavallaro

MANSFIELD
B: Gallagher, Walsh, Vincent
HB: Roy, Flint, Trenfi eld
C: Dai, Storer, Hopkins
HF: Smith, Fagen, Leitch
F: Saunders, Trewhella, Herridge
Foll: Jones, Stevenson, Monohan
Inter: Spykes, Darby, Mahoney

KYABRAM
B: Chambers, Vick, Hanson
HB: Edwards, Morgan, Croxford
C: McCormick, Pell, Thomson
HF: D. Newman, P. Newman,
Finn
F: Butler, Singh, Mangan
Foll: Coventry, Deledio, Atkins
Inter: Gentle, Whykes, Edwards
Emerg: Coulstock, Hardwick

SWANS
B: T. Hebbard, M. Hebbard,
Baker
HB: Ryan, Vallejo, Lanyon
C: Best, Carroll, McCarty
HF: Hackett, Sutherland, White
F: Best, Dundovic, Barton
Foll: Wilson, Yze, Ilett
Inter: Bell, Henry, Ballinger

TATURA
B: Burns, McWhinney, Caldow
HB: Thorne, McPhillamy, DiPetta
C: Durwood, Crawford, Lovell
HF: Fraser, Barnett, MacGibbon
F: Pollard, Stammers, Keast
Foll: Chessells, Charles, Neville
Inter: Eaton, Pollard, Gledhill
Emerg: Isakovic, Barnett

I remember Gillett, he was only a kid when he played the one season. But he played a couple of blinders at CHF, really hard at the contest and a great set of hands. Handy pick up

Anyone able to post the sides from the paper?

I'm too tight (and can't afford) the astrinomical cost to sign up for the Shepp News online.

I don't blame you. Last year was perfect; there was a six month deal that from memory, cost between $30 and $40. You could get it to run for the whole footy season.

The current offers are just too much.

Whats the go with the Shep News??? Why can you access all other papers yet have to pay for this one. Disappointing:thumbsdown:

What's with all the whinging about the price?
I am happy to post stuff out the paper, but fair dinkum, it's not that much to get what is a pretty comprehensive footy coverage. If you were getting the hard copy you would have to pay and $1.10 is, in this day and age, S-F-A!!

What's with all the whinging about the price?
I am happy to post stuff out the paper, but fair dinkum, it's not that much to get what is a pretty comprehensive footy coverage. If you were getting the hard copy you would have to pay and $1.10 is, in this day and age, S-F-A!!

With the hard copy subscription you get the online version thrown in as well. But it is a bit steep for us who don't live in or around the valley.

Joey Amad snuck onto the bench in the Lions line up...the Lions have a blooded a few youngsters from last years under 18's side which is great.

Few players still to return, should be a great game...be interesting to see who gets R Symes with Joffa Anderson out until later in the year.

Im not sure Knaggsy does the Gv draw.. Looking at their draw last year:
played the 3 bottom teams (shepp,tat,kyabram) only once!
but i suppose they have to do that to save Tat the embarrassment of only scoring 1 rushed behind again..
good luck to tat this weekend, they will need it

Shep Swans won by about 150pts in the seniors:(
Shep Swans won by 3pts in the reserves:mad:
Shep Swans won by about 50pts in the thirds:(

Oh well there is always next week! A pity we didn't kick straighter in the magoos. Score S.S. 9.2.56 Tat 7.11.53:mad::mad:

Round Name: Round 1 (Split Round) Starting Date: 12/4/2008

Home Team v Away Team
Seymour 20.13 (133) v Benalla 14.10 (94)
Euroa 10.9 (69) v Rochester 14.11 (95)
Mansfield 12.17 (89) v Kyabram 8.17 (65)
Shepparton Swans 29.15 (189) v Tatura 6.6 (42)

Round Name: Round 1 (Split Round) Starting Date: 12/4/2008

Home Team v Away Team
Seymour 20.13 (133) v Benalla 14.10 (94)
Euroa 10.9 (69) v Rochester 14.11 (95)
Mansfield 12.17 (89) v Kyabram 8.17 (65)
Shepparton Swans 29.15 (189) v Tatura 6.6 (42)
No suprises in the seniors really! But looking at the 2's scores - Swans beat Tat by only 3pts - Shock! With their heavy recruiting I'd expect them to flog Tat 2's. Mooroopna beat last years premiers Echuca and Rochy lost to Euroa...Even bigger shocks! Have Rochy and Echuca lost many from last years GF side? Injuries maybe? Anyone know of any reasons for the above results?!!! Or maybe the reserves comp will be very even this year?

We were missing about 8 players from seniors so that would be why the Tat game was close.

Rochy have lost 5-6 from last years ressies team. I looked at the team sheet and I reckon they were missing about 7 players today. The seniors are also missing 3-4, so the ressies should be decent this year.

Does the loss to Rochey indicate that the Pies are no chance or are Rochey in the mix. I'd appreciate any game details and Op's on where these 2 are at.

Time will tell, but I think that Rochy may be quite a good side this year. Played a fantastic running game which saw their forward thrusts containing 3 or 4 runners each time. Grainger was well held by Perry Oliver and only kicked 2 goals. A young bloke played on Bowen (not sure of his name) and got a footy lesson, pretty tough bloke to start on in round 1. Nathan Whipp was brilliant as was Ash Watson. Downside for rochy being that Bowen was reported and sent off in the first quarter. Wasn't much in it so should be fine to line up against Seymour this week.

Downside for rochy being that Bowen was reported and sent off in the first quarter. Wasn't much in it so should be fine to line up against Seymour this week.

I would suggest Mr Bowen might be having a few weekends off Tiger. Nice hit to the jaw. Barry would be proud;)

off footy playing and onto calling I heard Peter Cardamone on 3AW calling the footy for 6PR in Perth. I am suggesting the GV's own? and how long has he been calling for a major station?

We were missing about 8 players from seniors so that would be why the Tat game was close.

I think we had 1 out of the seniors and 1 out of the reserves so won't get much better? he he:eek::eek:. Shit, if you had 8 out you may have beaten our seniors by what - 80 or 90 goals. Get a grip of yourself. In the magoos we finished the last quarter off with no fit players on the bench. 1 corkie, 1 hammie, 1 ankle and an ugly dislocated knee - never seen that happen before. Kneecap to the right, leg to the left, yuck..... so considering we didn't get close to many teams last year I think it was a _____ing great effort. I think the Swans twos may have went into the game a bit like Collingwood against Carlton and Freo against the Tiges. We only lost due to shit kicking accuracy.:mad::mad:

I see Rodney Van Reit was name for Seymour on the weekend.

Did he really play and can anyone shed some light.

He has signed at Abers this year.

Has he had second thoughts?

I think we had 1 out of the seniors and 1 out of the reserves so won't get much better? he he:eek::eek:. Shit, if you had 8 out you may have beaten our seniors by what - 80 or 90 goals. Get a grip of yourself. In the magoos we finished the last quarter off with no fit players on the bench. 1 corkie, 1 hammie, 1 ankle and an ugly dislocated knee - never seen that happen before. Kneecap to the right, leg to the left, yuck..... so considering we didn't get close to many teams last year I think it was a _____ing great effort. I think the Swans twos may have went into the game a bit like Collingwood against Carlton and Freo against the Tiges. We only lost due to shit kicking accuracy.:mad::mad:
Big difference between being competitive in the seniors to the reserves, hey bud. If you dont have the coin or ability to recruit quality footballers for your seniors you wont be competitive. The GV isnt a district league where you can rely on local talent for the seniors. Having good locals may get you success in the 2s (as Rochy prooved) but you need a lot more to be competative in the 1s. Its a profesional league and if your not prepared to do the hard work and do it right you will be just making up the numbers!!!