• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

tige19 said:
Dude i doubt anyone underestimates the VFL, its common knowledge that outside the AFL the standard of footy is the best in Australia.

But if you where to ask a neutral observor like Footyman who has seen a bit of both im sure that he would say from a spectators POV the GV is alot more attractive to watch.

The VFL is very crash and bash and with not alot of open space for free flowing footy. No doubt the VFL is a higher standard but dont expect VFL players tp be dominant in the GV.

cheers
I have to disagree with you tige. Have a look at the grannie. Approx. 20 players that are from the VFL and some of those only played VFL ressies. Sage, Howse, Penn, Haberman, Pilling, M. Clayton, Saad, Grainger were all pretty dominant in GVFL right through the year. I have no doubt that if these players were not in GV it would not have been Euroa v Seymour final. Also if VFL players were not going to dominate then why are so many clubs chasing them. I agree that the bigger grounds of country footy gives them more space to operate in and they always use the ball very well when they get it.

Have a mate who plays VFL (North Ballarat) and know a bit about his club, but Im not privvy to the difference in pay from VFL to GVFL. Could anyone shed some light as to whether GVFL clubs match or better VFL clubs in regards to match payments.

Wizz said:
ha ha ha yeah forgot about that one. yeah Brett played a role in there as well. There is also a couple more due for release not sure if you have seen them but one involves travy hann on melbourne cup day last year and another one of sizo hicks in canberra.
yeah I have seen both of them also. movie directors such as smokey rathjen are believed to have been impressed by sizo's talents in that short film and apparently offers were made to advance his acting further as a result. unfortunately though big sizo decided not to take the opportunity of making the most of his talents.

the travy hann one wasn't quite as good was it wizz?? the other major character was a bit of a space cadet wasn't she??

GVFootyfan said:
I have to disagree with you tige. Have a look at the grannie. Approx. 20 players that are from the VFL and some of those only played VFL ressies. Sage, Howse, Penn, Haberman, Pilling, M. Clayton, Saad, Grainger were all pretty dominant in GVFL right through the year. I have no doubt that if these players were not in GV it would not have been Euroa v Seymour final. Also if VFL players were not going to dominate then why are so many clubs chasing them. I agree that the bigger grounds of country footy gives them more space to operate in and they always use the ball very well when they get it.

Mate while im yet to play GV and my last competetive football was in the VFL i would still say by just looking at both games of footy that the GV is far more exciting and interesting than the VFL.

The gap overall between the GV and VFL seniors is HUGE, VFL senior footy is as hard and tough and quick as you will will get outside the AFL. However the gap overall from the VFL 2s to the GV seniors is just as large.

No doubting the good reserves sides like Port,Willy,Sandy and North Ballarat would be more than competitive in the GV and would be able to match the Euroas and Seymours however the VFL 2s drops away very very quickly.

As an overall standard the VFL 2s is miles the GV as is the GV with the VFL seniors, in saying that i do think that alot of the good players in the GV would more than hold themselves in VFL senior footy.

cheers

Doona2 said:
Have a mate who plays VFL (North Ballarat) and know a bit about his club, but Im not privvy to the difference in pay from VFL to GVFL. Could anyone shed some light as to whether GVFL clubs match or better VFL clubs in regards to match payments.

Cannot tell you exact numbers doona, although i know julian field was on over $1k a game with the roosters

im bored at work....... Jezza Campbell to coach Blackburn in EFL, timmy rass to come and play, anyone heard if any other rochyites heading there?

Wheres grandale (or anyone else) lets talk melbourne cups!

ECHUCABOY said:
im bored at work....... Jezza Campbell to coach Blackburn in EFL, timmy rass to come and play, anyone heard if any other rochyites heading there?

yeah besides jezz and timmy they are also getting paul mcmahon. he is good mates with timmy and has played at lbu/bendigo pioneers/kangaroos and more recently north ballarat, and is the brother of sharelle.

don't really know much about the efl but can promise you that blackburn have 3 very, very handy recruits there.

jmain14 said:
yeah besides jezz and timmy they are also getting paul mcmahon. he is good mates with timmy and has played at lbu/bendigo pioneers/kangaroos and more recently north ballarat, and is the brother of sharelle.

don't really know much about the efl but can promise you that blackburn have 3 very, very handy recruits there.

mmmmmmm does seem that way Jmain, whos ganna win the cup?

ECHUCABOY said:
mmmmmmm does seem that way Jmain, whos ganna win the cup?
mate, my instincts along with my wallet were towards carte diamond. I was a big rap for him and thought it'd be a huge show. its record over that distance is pretty good and its lead-up seemed impressive enough. so obviously I was crying y'day when I heard what had happened.

so now... obviously you can't go past the great mare. if she wasn't to run I'd say railings, but to be honest there are a few horses there that I don't know much about.

what you think??

jmain14 said:
mate, my instincts along with my wallet were towards carte diamond. I was a big rap for him and thought it'd be a huge show. its record over that distance is pretty good and its lead-up seemed impressive enough. so obviously I was crying y'day when I heard what had happened.

so now... obviously you can't go past the great mare. if she wasn't to run I'd say railings, but to be honest there are a few horses there that I don't know much about.

what you think??

Yes yes very much agree. Like Railings alot, and Vinne Roe but thats because of seen them run, dont know alot about these raiders. The fact that distinction is over here again, and hasnt raced in much lead could be a factor.

Apart from the obvious ones, i liked, like a jeunes run, even tho it was in very much a lower class.

Im ganna put my head out and call distinction early, only for that reason above, ill need to have a closer look! But obviously Railings could get my money.

Will wait till the day though! I have only ever backed the Diva once so I dont wanna jinx myself!

jmain14 said:

Squeek Mcmahon has beenw ith the roosters for a bit, more recently spending the majority of time int ehreserves. Is an impact player who does good thigns in bursts. His claim to fame is that he was drafted one pick before Simon Black to ***whoever*** in the **** national draft.

jmain14 said:

They certainly do have 3 handy recruits! Jezza is a gun mid-fielder/half back, Timmy Rass can play anywhere, but you'd expect would be used as a forward, as he would be capable of kicking 70-80 in the EFL and McMahon, on his day, is an absolute freak. Rarely plays a game where he doesn't kick a goal. Wouldn't have played at that standard of footy since he was prob 15-16, so if he puts his mind to it, he could have a huge impact for Blackburn.. Doubt even with those 3 they could win the flag, but expect them to be very dangerous..

Doubt those three have played on a ground that small and lets face it, that crap every 2nd week. But who knows might be a dry one this year!

Travvy43 said:
Squeek Mcmahon has beenw ith the roosters for a bit, more recently spending the majority of time int ehreserves. Is an impact player who does good thigns in bursts. His claim to fame is that he was drafted one pick before Simon Black to ***whoever*** in the **** national draft.
hehe I didn't realise he was picked up before black in that year - well that is something to hold his hat on.

ECHUCABOY said:
Doubt those three have played on a ground that small and lets face it, that crap every 2nd week. But who knows might be a dry one this year!
yeah I heard their ground is really small. definitely is something that neither of them will be used to.

ECHUCABOY said:

yeah, good call, hadn't thought of that. Although Timmy played a couple of years at West Preston (whose grounds are worse and smaller), and although he didn't tear the DVFL apart, he was still a good player for them. Doubt Jezz or McMahon would have played on anything worse though...interesting to see if it makes a difference..

Guinea said:
yeah, good call, hadn't thought of that. Although Timmy played a couple of years at West Preston (whose grounds are worse and smaller), and although he didn't tear the DVFL apart, he was still a good player for them. Doubt Jezz or McMahon would have played on anything worse though...interesting to see if it makes a difference..
last time I was talking to jezz he said he was going to implement the flooding bull$h!t when they play at home next year ala geelong v the swans in the semi final (only done successfully for 3 bloody quarters!!). if true it makes for some pretty boring footy at blackburn next year, although I think and hope he was joking.

jmain14 said:
the travy hann one wasn't quite as good was it wizz?? the other major character was a bit of a space cadet wasn't she??

She most certainly was.

ECHUCABOY said:

Timmy and Jezza would of, its called Mansfield.

ECHUCABOY said:

Always willing to talk Melbourne Cups, EB.
I do not want to be quoted as saying ``she can't win'', but I struggle to see how Makybe's gunna win the great race off the back of a 2000m preparation when you've got the likes of Vinnie Roe and Leica Falcon that have been set for the Cup all along.
I'll say this, though; I hope like heck she does run. We'll be getting $3 about Leica Falcon is she doesn't run, where as if she's there the Falcon will be around the $4.50/$5 mark/.
Who do you like?

jmain14 said:
yeah great call. I had forgotten about that small piece of crap that they both would of played on.

What are their records like at Mansfield? Don't think Jezza would mind the small confines too much (actually, it would probably suit him), but "BOS" (Brother of Sharelle) McMahon and Timmy would both be better if they had a bit of space to work in..

Guinea said:
What are their records like at Mansfield? Don't think Jezza would mind the small confines too much (actually, it would probably suit him), but "BOS" (Brother of Sharelle) McMahon and Timmy would both be better if they had a bit of space to work in..
jezz and timmy's record at that poor excuse of a ground isn't too bad I guess - if they had of been playing for rochy in the more recent times it mightn't look so flash though. rochy always used to go to mansfield and pump the $h!t out of them - how times have changed in the past couple of years!!

yeah I agree it wouldn't really bother jezz (aka lingy) playing on the smaller type grounds, however timmy's game may suffer a little. as for mcmahon, from what I remember he relies a hell of a lot on run and space - something he may not get much of at home games next year. then again, I don't think I have seen him play since his pioneers and kangaroos days so I really wouldn't have a clue.

Duff Man said:
It has become a popular pass-time to hook into FBP.

Ahh well. I might as well join in. I reckon FBP will have 30 kicked on him.

Any advances on 30?
Looks like Duff Man has jumped the fence to give FBP a cuddle.

GVFootyfan said:
Looks like Duff Man has jumped the fence to give FBP a cuddle.

And what a warm cuddle it was too...see at least I'm not a loner like you, I'm not a bloke who jumps on the band wagon of success. I'm finding more and more about who you are you raging Homo!

Maybe you should change your name to "Magnet Pusher...but offers nothing else".

That would be a great description of you, would it not?