Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

viccountry5 said:
Has anyone heard how Young Gun Rhys Archard is going over in SA?

I heard he got knocked out in a paractice match. Not much has been said about him i think.

Echuca have moved on without him. all their inclusions have covered for him easily, well so i have heard.

I have seen alot of Brent Colbert at VFL senior level and reserve level and i just dont know where the tag "GUN" comes from in regards to him. His skills are ok, is not overly quick and is not an in under type of footballer, he is also fairly skinny. Give credit where credit is due though because the guy has a massive tank.

Was always on the outskirts at Preston and probably lacked the football smarts and ability to win his own football to become a regular good VFL footballer. I just dont see him being anything more than a "Player" at GV level or at Seymour. Perhaps should he have gone to a Echuca,Shepp Utd,Shepp Swans side he would be more of an important player and there for be recognised more. I most certantly wouldnt have Brent Colbert starting on the leather for Seymour.

How about Moroopana? does anyone else have the same reservations about them as i do?, the club has all the talent in the world but mentally are they going to be there?

cookie33 said:
I have seen alot of Brent Colbert at VFL senior level and reserve level and i just dont know where the tag "GUN" comes from in regards to him. His skills are ok, is not overly quick and is not an in under type of footballer, he is also fairly skinny. Give credit where credit is due though because the guy has a massive tank.

Was always on the outskirts at Preston and probably lacked the football smarts and ability to win his own football to become a regular good VFL footballer. I just dont see him being anything more than a "Player" at GV level or at Seymour. Perhaps should he have gone to a Echuca,Shepp Utd,Shepp Swans side he would be more of an important player and there for be recognised more. I most certantly wouldnt have Brent Colbert starting on the leather for Seymour.

How about Moroopana? does anyone else have the same reservations about them as i do?, the club has all the talent in the world but mentally are they going to be there?

Mate, I understand where you're coming from, but I think you might be underestimating the standard of VFL footy. I think it's fair to say that Sage, for instance, is classified as a "gun" on-baller in GV footy circles, yet he wouldn't have played as many senior games as Colbert did..both Seymour and Euroa have a large number of ex-VFL players for them and a majority (though def not all) of them left coz they weren't getting the regular senior games that they deserved due to the Bullants (for instance) being pressured to play AFL-listed players, who may or may not be as good a footballers..

I think you'll find Colbert will be a very very handy acquisition for the lions this year..

In regards to Mooroopna, I agree, and have my reservations based purely on the fact that I think most of their big name players are a bit "hit and miss" and will all need to fire on the one day to challenge Benalla, Seymour and Euroa..should make finals though..

bradrowe#32 said:
Haven't seen you around these parts for a while HJ. I hear a whisper that you might be engaged.

So Slab finally popped the question...:D

cookie33 said:

Not sure if Colbert would fit into Echuca's midfield of Butler, Durie, Maddox (All played VFL and GV rep), Smith (Gun of the GV ask anyone who knows a bit about it), Halloran (made St Mary's geelong side of the centuary) and young fella Chris Casey (played in the middle for the Pioneers last year). From what you say the tide is still out on whether this Colbert fella is a true gun or just another player who can run a bit. Time will tell.

bradrowe#32 said:
Haven't seen you around these parts for a while HJ. I hear a whisper that you might be engaged.

This is my first glimps of BF for about a week Rowey, been busy with work, and just happened to play in my first ever cricket flag on the weekend... so it's been gas gas and more gas since. Today i'm sober again and back at work - it's a fair comedown, but BF is getting me thru.....:eek:

did hear that the Bundoora Boys were confident of rolling the lions prior to the weekend, however they went home with tails between the legs. Pascoe played at Mt Pleasant last year in the HDFL and was easily the most dominant player in the competition winning the flag for mounts off his own boot at CHF.

He's supposedly heading back to Bundoora, but I havent seen a clearance lodged yet on the transfers list, and was wondering if he played in the hit out on the new Kings Park surface on the weekend...

the word over mooroopna way is that they are extremely confident for the upcoming season. top 4 is obviously their aim and will be disappointed if they do not achieve this. the coach has been working hard to gel the group together and he has a good ally in Peter White helping on the bench. he will leave no stone unturned with his match ups. expect a big year from the 2 campbells.

no left foot very keen to pump up Echucas tyres, I like it. Have you been watching the boys on the track? How does everything look?

I think Nathan Bovalino was mentioned earlier, kid can't play. Plays back but not on anyone, and drops the ball onto his foot like its a watermelon. Dud, prolly win Shepp Utd's B & F though..peasents...

ECHUCABOY said:
no left foot very keen to pump up Echucas tyres, I like it. Have you been watching the boys on the track? How does everything look?

I think Nathan Bovalino was mentioned earlier, kid can't play. Plays back but not on anyone, and drops the ball onto his foot like its a watermelon. Dud, prolly win Shepp Utd's B & F though..peasents...
So does Mark Mcgough, but he can win the footy.

BYSTANDER said:
I also reckon colbert will be hand but what positions im not sure..still havent had anyone from seymour give us there best 21...

B P.King, Jeff Anderson, Jake Anderson

HB T.Hooper, R. Douglas, M.O'Keefe

C R.Van Reit, Paul Scanlon, A.Reid

HF B.Colbert, M.Pilling, G.Pemberton

F S.Saad, S.Gordon, B.Bailey

Foll S.Schottner, M.Penn, B.Haberman

Int from (in alphabetical order)

J.Amad
S.Boruch
D.Brockway
B.Davey
R.Inness
B.Liddell
G.Liddell
P.Rattray
M.Thomson

Sitting on the fence there by naming a huge interchange in alphabetical order !!

I thought the question was who you thought was your best 21?

11 March 2006 Herald Sun
David Hastie

DELISTED by Richmond at the end of 2005, utility Rory Hilton was understandably disenchanted with football.

Dogged by injury for much of his eight seasons at the top, Hilton confessed he never really enjoyed his time in the AFL.

"My AFL career, I didn't really enjoy it that much because I was always injured," Hilton said.

"Footy's a game and you have got to enjoy it and I suppose I haven't."

After he was told by Tigers coach Terry Wallace that his contract wouldn't be renewed, the talented 26-year-old felt an enormous weight lifted off his battered shoulders.

"When I found out off Terry, I wasn't upset, let me tell you," Hilton said. "It was probably more a feeling of relief than anything. I'd had enough of AFL probably about three seasons ago to be honest.

"But I just sort of hung in there for as long as I could."

Ready to turn his back on football altogether, Hilton had a change of heart, agreeing to play with country side Euroa in the Goulburn Valley Football League this season.

"Initially I wasn't sure if I was going to bother with footy because I had sort of had enough," he said.

"Footy isn't a priority any more. I'm doing it purely to play with some mates and enjoy it."

Hilton, who kicked 54 goals in 91 matches, will return to Euroa where he played as a junior. For the first time since being selected by the Brisbane Lions with their third selection in the 1996 national draft, Hilton is enjoying his football.

The refuge of country football is a welcome escape for Hilton from the AFL landscape.

"I certainly won't go and watch the footy," he said.

"I'll still support (the Tigers) from afar, but probably my mates more so than the actual club. But that's not to say I'm bitter or anything because I loved my time there.

"I loved all the staff and everyone there but I haven't been in touch with them, not at all."

Life after AFL has been kind to Hilton. He is working full-time and studying property part-time, a welcome change from lengthy spells on the sidelines because of injury.

"I'm pretty happy just to be playing footy on the weekend and working during the week and studying and doing all normal things," he said.

"I'm loving it, wish I had have done it about five years ago."

Former Kangaroo Lance Picioane is another to embrace the country alternative.

Picioane will play for North Central League side Boort.

Other AFL players to move to country clubs this season include four-time premiership player Martin Pike, who will coach Hastings in the Mornington Peninsula League, former Saints defender Austinn Jones, playing coach at Narre Warren in the Mornington Peninsula Nepean League and Roo Michael Stevens to Mulwala in the Murray League.

Former Demons rookie Brendan Van Schaik will play with Goulburn Valley League club Benalla alongside former Roos skipper Anthony Stevens.

Here's some news hot off the press: Marty McGrath is heading back to Perth, citing "family reasons"
Can you confirm or deny please Tige.

Daniel to lead league's title defence

By Wes Cusworth
March 23 2006
Shepparton News
Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has been appointed to lead Goulburn Valley Football League's country championship title defence at Lavington in May.

In what is a coup for the league, Daniel has signed on to lead the region's best players into what is potentially new ground, as back-toback titles becomes the league's most immediate goal.

"I'm really looking forward to it," Daniel said yesterday at news of his appointment.

"I knew last year that Simon Eishold was looking not to do it anymore, so I was rapt to accept it when Eric Bott wrote to the club and spoke to me."

With the success of last year's campaign in the final year of Eishold's four-year tenure, Daniel is reticent to make too many changes to what is obviously a winning formula.

"There's no need to up-end it all," he said.

"There are good structures in place with interleague and I'll be seeking to keep most of them in place.

"I've been lucky enough to coach representative football before with the Southern Football League and I really enjoyed it."

Mindful of the lift in the standard of football that interleague provides, Daniel is eager to start putting the pieces of the puzzle together.

"We'll really get serious about a month before the carnival, but I'm already looking at assistant coaches and looking at players in my video collection," Daniel said.

"Everybody knows that the GVFL is the best standard of football outside of the VFL, so it's just great to be involved in this role."

The GVFL Worksafe Country Championship defence is on May 13 and 14.

THE RIGHT MAN FOR THE JOB

March 23 2006
Shepparton News
Steve Daniel's coaching achievements at VFL level and on the fringes of the AFL makes him the man for the moment according to Goulburn Valley Football League general manager Eric Bott.

"Steve's got a record of proven success, along with experience at the higher level," Bott said yesterday.

"We needed someone who would cope with pretty much anything that was thrown at him, whether it be a new or different experience, and we knew that Steve was that man.

"We looked at other blokes like Ken Sheldon, but he's just started a new job and couldn't commit to the position.

"We're very happy with who we've got for the job."

The league has benefited from a long line of quality leaders for its interleague squads, including Melbourne Football Club trio Des Campbell, David Williams and most recently successful coach Simon Eishold.

Daniel assumes the responsibility after Seymour's success of last year, along with time at Northern Bullants and working with Denis Pagan at Carlton.

"We had a few irons in the fire," Bott said.

"Steve will be looking to pick young, fit and strong blokes that want to play for the GVFL.

"He's a good fit for what we want in the GVFL."

No Heart said:
B P.King, Jeff Anderson, Jake Anderson

HB T.Hooper, R. Douglas, M.O'Keefe

C R.Van Reit, Paul Scanlon, A.Reid

HF B.Colbert, M.Pilling, G.Pemberton

F S.Saad, S.Gordon, B.Bailey

Foll S.Schottner, M.Penn, B.Haberman

Int from (in alphabetical order)

J.Amad
S.Boruch
D.Brockway
B.Davey
R.Inness
B.Liddell
G.Liddell
P.Rattray
M.Thomson
U sure Scanlon is playing for Seymour? Nothing on past BF posts have indicated he is playing and there is nothing on the transfer list either. Where did you get this one from?

Chance said:
U sure Scanlon is playing for Seymour? Nothing on past BF posts have indicated he is playing and there is nothing on the transfer list either. Where did you get this one from?
Every 6 months I have to get the LPG system in my cab checked out by a specialist for any leaks. He told me so it must be true?

they are not serious are they???? Add up the total of half of seymor, euroa and benallas team and they would be lucky to fit them all in!!!
SHocking descision by the league!!!

ADDING IT UP

By Wes Cusworth

March 23 2006
Shepparton News

Goulburn Valley Football League looks set to trial a contentious player points system this season with a view to adopting the scheme fully next year.
"We've assessed the systems that the Sunraysia, Mornington and Gippsland-Latrobe football leagues have put in place and we'll be looking at employing the points system for a one-month trial," league general manager Eric Bott said yesterday.

"That will involve looking at the systems in place, tabulating the scores and benchmarking it to see what the leagues get out of it."

Viewed as a more manageable structure than the salary cap system, the player points approach will be recommended to the July meeting of the league executive and if approved will be adopted by the end of the season.

"The number of players transferring from club to club at the moment is a concern," Bott said.

"It's hoped that this system will manage player movement better, if clubs choose to go that way.

"The decision will then be made to adopt the system or not."

Based on the models employed by other leagues across the state, the league would give a point score based on criteria such as club of origin, level of play attained along with experience in the game.

A draft proposal under consideration for the league's player points system would see 38 points allowed for each senior home and away game or finals match.

The total is based on the aggregate points of players in the match, with all players receiving one point and additional point ratings between one and six based on the level of competition at which the player has competed.

All players who have played in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL would attract three additional points for one to 20-game players, four points for 21 to 50 games and five points for more than 51 games played.

A player returning to his original club from a state league would attract no additional points, while two would be deducted if returning to the last GVFL club he played at.

Former AFL players of one to 50 games' experience would be worth five additional points, while 50 games plus would mean six additional points, minus two points if seeking registration with the player's original club.

Status is also given to major league experience with an addition of two points, while players moving between clubs could incur a two-point penalty.

Significant concessions are afforded players who remain loyal to an existing club, while the points system also outlines harsh penalties for clubs providing false or misleading information.

Hi guys new to the site. Just wondering if you could tell me the best young players(18-23) in the league. I go to uni with a few boys from around the Gv area who talk themselves up, so just wondering if their all talk

No left foot - Echuca would take any half quality players at this stage! And that would include Colbert. From what I have heard they have a better senior side than last year but have had a mass exodus of fringe players from the club. So their depth once again will be questioned. The only senior players who have left are Martin, Wilson, Murphy, Frost and Reyne. But they need more numbers in case of injuries.

GVFLFAN said:
they are not serious are they???? Add up the total of half of seymor, euroa and benallas team and they would be lucky to fit them all in!!!

Not sure how serious they are about bringing it in yet anyway - only four/five clubs went to the meeting held last week regarding the points system so it obviously hasn't got the support or interest of the majority of clubs.

Apparently the limit on points they had in mind would be around 38. Euroa would have been right on this last season and obviously this season have probably gone over with Hylton on board. Not sure how Seymour of Benall would fair.

As its only a trial I dont think we can criticise the league too much.

If it was to come in, you would think a trade-off would develop between the league wanting the best standard comp in country victoria, therefore increasing the points limit, but also having to keep the teams with less cash competitive, ie put pressure on reducing the points limit.

Other factors like player movement between clubs and the long term survival of big spending clubs would also have to be considered when deciding the points limit.

GVFLFAN said:

ADDING IT UP

By Wes Cusworth

March 23 2006
Shepparton News

Goulburn Valley Football League looks set to trial a contentious player points system this season with a view to adopting the scheme fully next year.
"We've assessed the systems that the Sunraysia, Mornington and Gippsland-Latrobe football leagues have put in place and we'll be looking at employing the points system for a one-month trial," league general manager Eric Bott said yesterday.

"That will involve looking at the systems in place, tabulating the scores and benchmarking it to see what the leagues get out of it."

Viewed as a more manageable structure than the salary cap system, the player points approach will be recommended to the July meeting of the league executive and if approved will be adopted by the end of the season.

"The number of players transferring from club to club at the moment is a concern," Bott said.

"It's hoped that this system will manage player movement better, if clubs choose to go that way.

"The decision will then be made to adopt the system or not."

Based on the models employed by other leagues across the state, the league would give a point score based on criteria such as club of origin, level of play attained along with experience in the game.

A draft proposal under consideration for the league's player points system would see 38 points allowed for each senior home and away game or finals match.

The total is based on the aggregate points of players in the match, with all players receiving one point and additional point ratings between one and six based on the level of competition at which the player has competed.

All players who have played in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL would attract three additional points for one to 20-game players, four points for 21 to 50 games and five points for more than 51 games played.

A player returning to his original club from a state league would attract no additional points, while two would be deducted if returning to the last GVFL club he played at.

Former AFL players of one to 50 games' experience would be worth five additional points, while 50 games plus would mean six additional points, minus two points if seeking registration with the player's original club.

Status is also given to major league experience with an addition of two points, while players moving between clubs could incur a two-point penalty.

Significant concessions are afforded players who remain loyal to an existing club, while the points system also outlines harsh penalties for clubs providing false or misleading information.

I agree GVFAN. The GV has improved significantly over the past 4 years because of the influx of players from the VFL. Crowds are up and it's good to see clubs like Mansfield, Euroa, Seymour and Benalla taking over from Shepp, Echuca, united and Tatura. But I'm sure in a few years it will change and those clubs will be back at the top. Footy goes in cycles.

It also seems strange that a bloke that returns to his country club after playing AFL will still cost 4 points (50 games or more). Surely it should be encouraged for retired or delisted players to return to their native club.
When Jarrod Waite retires, it would be a great lift to the Benalla community for him to return home for a couple of seasons - the club shouldn't be punished by having to fork out four points.

The league is trying to protect clubs from spending up big and then going under but I think this is the wrong way to go.

HJ32 said:
doona - can you post the two artilces in the shepp news about S Daniel getting the league coaching gig

Fantastic appointment by Eric Bottom, maybe we'll see a few more of the big name GVFL players keen to play under the man I believe one of the best coaches outside the AFL/VFL system.

Daniel to lead league's title defence

By Wes Cusworth
March 23 2006
Shepparton News

Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has been appointed to lead Goulburn Valley Football League's country championship title defence at Lavington in May.

In what is a coup for the league, Daniel has signed on to lead the region's best players into what is potentially new ground, as back-toback titles becomes the league's most immediate goal.

"I'm really looking forward to it," Daniel said yesterday at news of his appointment.

"I knew last year that Simon Eishold was looking not to do it anymore, so I was rapt to accept it when Eric Bott wrote to the club and spoke to me."

With the success of last year's campaign in the final year of Eishold's four-year tenure, Daniel is reticent to make too many changes to what is obviously a winning formula.

"There's no need to up-end it all," he said.

"There are good structures in place with interleague and I'll be seeking to keep most of them in place.

"I've been lucky enough to coach representative football before with the Southern Football League and I really enjoyed it."

Mindful of the lift in the standard of football that interleague provides, Daniel is eager to start putting the pieces of the puzzle together.

"We'll really get serious about a month before the carnival, but I'm already looking at assistant coaches and looking at players in my video collection," Daniel said.

"Everybody knows that the GVFL is the best standard of football outside of the VFL, so it's just great to be involved in this role."

The GVFL Worksafe Country Championship defence is on May 13 and 14.

THE RIGHT MAN FOR THE JOB

March 23 2006
Shepparton News

Steve Daniel's coaching achievements at VFL level and on the fringes of the AFL makes him the man for the moment according to Goulburn Valley Football League general manager Eric Bott.

"Steve's got a record of proven success, along with experience at the higher level," Bott said yesterday.

"We needed someone who would cope with pretty much anything that was thrown at him, whether it be a new or different experience, and we knew that Steve was that man.

"We looked at other blokes like Ken Sheldon, but he's just started a new job and couldn't commit to the position.

"We're very happy with who we've got for the job."

The league has benefited from a long line of quality leaders for its interleague squads, including Melbourne Football Club trio Des Campbell, David Williams and most recently successful coach Simon Eishold.

Daniel assumes the responsibility after Seymour's success of last year, along with time at Northern Bullants and working with Denis Pagan at Carlton.

"We had a few irons in the fire," Bott said.

"Steve will be looking to pick young, fit and strong blokes that want to play for the GVFL.

"He's a good fit for what we want in the GVFL."