Old Scholars - Part 2

Im expecting a close game at Queenborough.I know the last couple of weeks would suggest Dosa to win but im still a little unsure about the Roosters.Have Dosa got the midfield to go with Harriss and Lister?

There is still a lot of unknowns about this years group but the regular blokes seem to be popping up in the best players ,Loveless,Penwright,Harvey and Dooley (they seem to have been there forever)
Even though match of the day is out at the bike track i might go to this game and have a look.

Im expecting a close game at Queenborough.I know the last couple of weeks would suggest Dosa to win but im still a little unsure about the Roosters.Have Dosa got the midfield to go with Harriss and Lister?

There is still a lot of unknowns about this years group but the regular blokes seem to be popping up in the best players ,Loveless,Penwright,Harvey and Dooley (they seem to have been there forever)
Even though match of the day is out at the bike track i might go to this game and have a look.

They went ok against Richmonds midfield.

Followed Dosa down to queenbrough, to see how they managed to knock off Richmond last week, was expecting a blowout but left the game highly confused about how they did actually knock off richmond last weekend? as hutchins ran riot from the first bounce, had some very good ball users through the middle, and look very hard to beat down home

I went to this game aswell,Dosa were terible and Hutchins were good.
The hutchins runners did as they liked and controlled the game all day
They would have won by more if cat palyfreman had of played ones,the difference in foot skills was huge with some of the Dosa blokes unable to hit targets 20m away.

I went to this game aswell,Dosa were terible and Hutchins were good.
The hutchins runners did as they liked and controlled the game all day
They would have won by more if cat palyfreman had of played ones,the difference in foot skills was huge with some of the Dosa blokes unable to hit targets 20m away.

Why was Palfreyman playings 2's? Is he coming back from Injury?

No injuries was dropped due to form I believe must admit the Lions forward line operated very nicely without him. Could find himself in the early game for a few more weeks yet!!!

OHA beat Channel by 100+ points after a 14 goal last quarter. Jury kicked 11. OHA won the twos by about 30.

Think I saw that the Saints won over DOSA, and heard that Uni were about 20 points up.
Uni just snuck home by 2 points. The 'Bows were down to one bloke on the bench after half time, and ran out of legs midway through the last qtr. The last qtr by the way, went for 41 minutes by my clock :eek: With Uni tiring late in the qtr, and Richmond storming home, questions have to be asked about the standard of time keeping out there in Bluesville:confused::confused: Top class game all the same. One would think result might have been different if Daft and Barwin were available for the Blues...

I had a stopwatch on the last qtr due to involvement in game and it went for 31 and half minute so the time keepin was spot on there are a time keepers from each side so it doesnt matter what ground your at!! it cannot be rigged!!

Wasn't suggesting it was rigged.:thumbsu: I'll have to take my watch to the shop to get fixed then....;)

Can u give us a bit of a run down on the game silly season. where was the game won? Midfield? Fwd Line? i see Uni have got hogan, he must be getting on in age now surely

Richmond were just breaking down across the half forward line in the first 2 1/2 quarters. Gilmore for Uni brought his own ball, continually mopping up and repelling most Richmond forward thrusts. Yes, he does gather an enormous amount of uncontested possessions in the back half, but with good reason. His vision and foot skills are something that Uni exploit with great effect. He doesn't panic and hits a target 99 times out of 100. He is also very good at reading the ball in the air and coming over the top of a pack to 'kill' the ball in the oppositions forward 50. Burgess was also very important to Uni all day.
Wayne Hogan was a focal point, and got his goals with just sheer size and strength. Has a vice like grip on the ball as soon as its in his palms. Not very fit atm and when the ball did come to ground, well, that was someone else's problem:D Not sure how old he is, but if he can stay on the park and kick 2-3 a week then coach Beams will be happy.
Richmond battled hard all day and was very impressed with no.23, Williams i think his name is. Has a heart the size of Phar Laps and gave 110% all day right to the final siren. Adam Daft would of made a huge difference around the stoppages and was sorely missed. A great game.:)

Headed to North Hobart Oval to watch DOSA V ST VIRGILS, great game of football with the Saints getting up in the last quarter, i must admit it may have been alot closer game had the umpiring not been auskick like some critical decisions going against the Roosters in the latter stages of the game, its not very often you have both sides fans sitting near each other tearing shred's of the umpires quite commical really.

Thoughts on round 8?

Uni should beat Hutchins (36 pts)
Dosa too good for Channel (50 pts)
I'm picking OHA as the upset over Richmond.......

Thoughts on round 8?

I rate the Beans against Uni, I reckon they will knock them off. Interested to see how big Hogan goes second game in.

DOSA, yes, far too good for Channel, will beat them by a lot.

Richmond have Daft and Barwin coming back, can't see them getting beaten by OHA. I reckon they'll win by quite a bit also.

St Virgils set to take on the Telegraph, Montgomery's, the Old Hobart, Welcome Stranger and SOHO in what looks to be match up of the round.
Too close to call

Pretty slim pickings in the forum this week. If anybody has something slightly controversial and/or contentious please feel free to post it and get a bit of discussion going.

I rate the Beans against Uni, I reckon they will knock them off. Interested to see how big Hogan goes second game in.

DOSA, yes, far too good for Channel, will beat them by a lot.

Richmond have Daft and Barwin coming back, can't see them getting beaten by OHA. I reckon they'll win by quite a bit also.

St Virgils set to take on the Telegraph, Montgomery's, the Old Hobart, Welcome Stranger and SOHO in what looks to be match up of the round.
Too close to call

Pretty slim pickings in the forum this week. If anybody has something slightly controversial and/or contentious please feel free to post it and get a bit of discussion going.

I heard through my OVA contacts that Saints legend Brad Hastie plays his 200th club game against old foe Hutchins next week.
Brad has played every game in the senior team and most of them as captain. WOW.
You won't find a bloke that has given more to old Scholars footy than SOS.
If by chance you read this Forum mate, well done and good luck in your milestone game.

Thoughts on round 8?

Hutchins should account for Uni comfortably. Some handy players might not be suiting up for the 'Bows. With Hutchins rested up after the bye, and Uni coming off a very tough ( and long??) encounter against a very physical Richmond, the Beans should get over the line.

If the rumours are true and Robbie Devine has retired,how long will it be before he follows his mate Bear down to the Rainbows?

Dosa def Channel by 5 goals
Any other scores ? Can any one tell me what happened in the twos game between Richmond and Oha?I heard Richmond had 19 on the field,lost thier score , stormed home to win. any body see it?

Dosa def Channel by 5 goals
Any other scores ? Can any one tell me what happened in the twos game between Richmond and Oha?I heard Richmond had 19 on the field,lost thier score , stormed home to win. any body see it?

Was bizzare for sure. OHA was up 50 to 48 at half time...Richmond started with 19 on the field and it was noticed by some OHA supporters who let the bench know. hence, the score changed to 50 to zip...

OHA relaxed and Richmond seemed to be stung into action...ended up storming home and won by almost 30 points. Amazing turnaround.

In a pretty big upset in the seniors, OHA won by 5+ goals. Scott Jury kicked another bag (7 I think). They looked good the Ships, although both sides had a few missing.

Can someone please tell me how the hell this works!
Richmond smash Hutchins by 140 a few weeks ago, which was the same Hutchins side that beat University a few weeks before that then lose to OHA who weren't travelling well.
Then beat University again after University smash OHA and just beat Richmond in the weeks prior to that? Bizarre...
How does Hutchins shut down Beams, Reeves, Gilmore, Burgess, James etc...