Old Scholars

I went down to watch this. Looks like both sides played there seniors in the first 3 6ths. At the long break it was OHA 73 The Ferry 61. I left after the 4th score was OHA 115 to arounf 70 odd.

Huonville beat DOSA after 6 periods yesterday by 39 points 162-123, but DOSA were leading by 15 points after the fourth period. Huonville had about 12 extra players on the bench

Who kicked the goals big fella?

I heard a rumour you trained last Thursday?

I think the new full forward kicked a fair few and the the rest where spread around.

And yes that rumour would be true, Going to have one more crack at it before the body totally packs it in

I was speaking last week to the father of a new St Virgils player.

Was very interesting to hear they appear to rate themselves very, very highly and consider themselves to be premiership favourites....it appears that the boys from Hobart have a slightly skewed opinion of the standard of OSFA footy and think they are hot to trot.

Should be interesting.

Good practice game tonight between Richmond and Lindisfarne.

Lindisfarne came down pretty confident from all reports, but Richmond put together a good effort to come out on top. Seniors played the first 2 quarters, with Richmond leading by around 7 points.

In the remainder of the game (mainly reserves players), Lindisfarne were a little more polished, and probably won out by 4 goals.

Was very interesting to hear they appear to rate themselves very, very highly and consider themselves to be premiership favourites....it appears that the boys from Hobart have a slightly skewed opinion of the standard of OSFA footy and think they are hot to trot.

Should be interesting.

Didn't the Saints learn last year?

With the first round of games thought i would have a go a tipping this weeks games.
Dosa to beat Richmond
St Virgils to beat Hutchins
OHA to beat Uni

Intersting to see where some clubs are at with heaps of new players all over the place. A few clubs talking themselves up.

With the first round of games thought i would have a go a tipping this weeks games.
Dosa to beat Richmond
St Virgils to beat Hutchins
OHA to beat Uni

Intersting to see where some clubs are at with heaps of new players all over the place. A few clubs talking themselves up.

Agree with 2 of those picks but think Hutchins will be too strong at home against the Saints.

Agree a few teams have recruited well and have talked up there chances this season but i reckon it might take a few of these teams a while to gell together.

Looking like the most competitiive season in the old scholars for a long time.

Finally the season is upon us!

Just looking at the teams in the paper this morning, Uni are barely recognisable from last year's team.

All other teams look to have a legitimate shot at winning it this year. Could be an extremely close season.

My tips

Hutchins to beat St Virgils (close one)
OHA to beat Uni (by plenty)
DOSA to beat Richmond (just, this one could go either way)

OHA beat Uni by over 150 with the reserves winning by 130 odd.

Heard Dosa pumped Richmond and St Virgils beat Hutchins by 15=20 points.

Should be interesting.

Ah! So nothing's changed then, I see.....

Should be interesting.

I see the saints got a win on the board.... Not a bad start to down the reigning premiers. Maybe the rest of the comp will start to recognise that they are gunna be a good side......

I don't know anyone said they won't be, Evvo.

More so a few learned Old Scholars people saying they'd heard those from Hobart think they're gonna cruise on through to a flag!

Looking like a four horse race to me already though - Boats, Saints, Lions and Chickens!

Tips for this week:

OHA at home to get over Hutchins in a tight game (17)

St Virgils to beat Dosa by 30

Richmond to flog Uni by 100 plus at home

Especially with the classy young players that DOSA have introduced in the first couple of rounds

Was that you I saw GerogeBluth jogging passed the Austins Ferry shop this morning prior to your big game?

St Virgils over DOSA by 3 goals I've heard, Rooster reserves won by 20 points apparently.

Richmond v Uni was level at half time I was told by one of my very, VERY impeccable sources!

Was that you I saw GerogeBluth jogging passed the Austins Ferry shop this morning prior to your big game?

St Virgils over DOSA by 3 goals I've heard, Rooster reserves won by 20 points apparently.

Richmond v Uni was level at half time I was told by one of my very, VERY impeccable sources!

Yes Barge was me had a wedding today so was putting the hard yards in this morning, was on a graham bailey training program. would like to say i was doing a matty mansfield and running 5km before a game but to old and fat for that.

On a side note Wilbur must have read the paper last week he was on the track on thursday night for the first time in 2 years