Old Scholars

Re: Old Scholars
Quote:
Originally Posted by quack quack the duck
Worst kick in the Competition??

I will go first - J. Nichols from Hutchins, It is amazing this bloke continues to get a game when he cant even kick it over the man on the mark. Its no wonder he has small man syndrome, id be frustrated with that kicking style as well.

G. Shaw from Uni tumbles a few.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegame23
Yeah id agree with those two... Both disgusting kicks.

Haremza from Uni isn't far behind them either

G.Shaw >>> Broad daylight >>> Rest of field

I've seen him miss some dead set sitters. He's been playing in the magoos lately and I do wonder if it is because of his awkward action?

Also a very peculiar :)eek:) running style so any kick on the run is a lottery.

It's easy to get on here and bag guys out for lack of skills. Who would've thought there'd be blokes with poor skills playing 2s in the fourth or fifth strongest league in a state of 500k?

Never meant to imply lack of skills, BigBadCam, just some areas of the game that need addressing. Suburban footy or not, it's a little hard not to be critical when you've played at an elite level. I'd love to give a bit back to the game that has given me so much - give me a couple of hours with these guys and I'd have them kicking like Lloyd!

Off the topic of the better players in the comp, who's the most annoying/hated player in the league?
My vote goes to John Mazey from Uni. Hated by everyone in the league and apparently gives all his teammates the shits with his stupid antics.

Nick 'Trolley' Fenton of Uni.

I would be absolutely disgusted if they were let in the comp.. This will bring up the exact same dispute at Channel joining.. Many people who play in this comp do so because they're not good enough for TSL and don't want to play SFL because of the amount of travelling involved.. And there's also the players who are starting to get on a bit and don't want to travel for family reasons.. Kermandie is just too far away.. I find Channel and Richmond too far as it is!

Couldn't have said it better myself, channel is far enough. They bye seems to have worked ok. Kermandie should apply for SFL or nothing.

Richmond travelling well, not too many big names, plenty of goers though, Cato ( stand out) haines Daft , Baines been real good watched them past two weeks rumour has it Ben Waller finished for season broken foot

The worry for Richmond is that they don't get sucked into fighting like they did against Uni last week.They don't want to let their guard down this week against a team that they have had the better of all year.

Off the topic of the better players in the comp, who's the most annoying/hated player in the league?
My vote goes to John Mazey from Uni. Hated by everyone in the league and apparently gives all his teammates the shits with his stupid antics.

Our blokes played Hutchins last week and i reckon the most hated players are the entire Hutchins team, they are a bunch of ennoying pricks... they are a joke.... J Nichols who plays for them is a menace to society!:thumbsu:

Couldn't agree more.. Easily the biggest pack of nancy boys I have ever come across.. They must stress a bit about their games when ever I see them out on a Saturday night though.. They always seem to be chewing their lips, whatever that means..

Maybe its because of the success they have had over the last 10 years that no one likes them!!! Everyone hates a successful club

This is my second year of Old Scholars so I don't really know much about their success.. It's just natural if you're growing up and playing footy to hate Clarence and Hutchins..

Should be an interesting day at Richmond on Saturday, the top four has been set for a while and in my opinion it wouldn't suprise if any of the teams took the premiership.

Richmond - Hitting form at the right time, and beat StVirgils last time they played easy. Just Favourites at the moment. Any Injury Concerns from the weekend?

St Virgils - The team to beat all year then have dropped off of late. Is it going to be the same old StVirgils story Straight Sets?? D. Gray playing or not? I heard he will from a reserves player?

Uni- Had a great start to the season then dropped a couple they couldn't afford midseason to lose a top two finish. If they get past OHA will be dangerous in the Prelim. Burgess and Rae in good form.

OHA- Last years Premiers, have not had the year the ships were looking for. Injuries to key players and lack of numbers at training have seen them drop off. Still a big chance if they can get a fit side on the park. Hard nuts Moore, McCallum and B Rogers need to dominate to beat uni's run. Heard B Rogers was Injured a few weeks back with a foot, then two best ons must be a quick healer.

Heard from a pretty reliable source on the W/E that Gilmour's injury is nothing to do with his shoulder, as previously stated on this site. He has missed the last few from a sternum injury. And apparently will play in the next couple of weeks, if not this week:eek:. Can anyone confirm?

Last i heard was he had a shoulder Reco and was out for the season, that is massive in for Uni if it is true. Has won matches off his own boot up forward in big games at VFL level.

The mail I got today from the dry cleaners in Sandy Bay is Gilmour is no hope of playing this weekend. Correct the injury has been his sternum, but that is fine now, he has missed the required 6 weeks. The reason he is unavailble this week is his partner is expecting their first child and he does not want to miss it.:thumbsu:

Jeez. Priorities I guess. At least some blokes take their footy seriously. haha. :eek:

I would have to say I would make the same decision, however you would think he would play unless he is sure his partner would go between 12 and 5pm. Babies come when they want not when parents tell them. For Uni to win they need him on the park.

Big mail from inside is that st.virgils Daniel Gray's hamstring is not 100% and that he is a good chance to not play, knowing they have the double chance. If he does play and does it again, gone for the year..

Also there has been rumours some in house bitching is happening in the saints reserves camp on selection issues ? Can anybody verify this ?

Nah, that isn't true mate. Don't know where you get your info from:confused: Stop stealing the dry cleaners mail!

OHA- Last years Premiers, have not had the year the ships were looking for. Injuries to key players and lack of numbers at training have seen them drop off. Still a big chance if they can get a fit side on the park. Hard nuts Moore, McCallum and B Rogers need to dominate to beat uni's run. Heard B Rogers was Injured a few weeks back with a foot, then two best ons must be a quick healer.

I heard they were only getting 20 on the track a few weeks ago? Is this the fallout from recruiting too old in the last couple of years? 2008 saw blokes like McCallum and Probert, 2009 - Wakefield, Rogers, Archer. Any news on McCallum's movements for next year? With a couple of years of coaching, with some success, plans to move into the TSL?

Your info is wrong we have had well over 30 on the track in the past month.

When you say too old Rogers is 27 and Archer is 29 I wouldn't call them old.

Macca will be at OHA next season, in what capacity he will decide after the finals series.

budgetnews, can comfirm that rogers was injured (knee),and is going to continue playing as this looks like to be his last year,has been playing with a fractuered foot all year.
oha good chance to roll uni this week, should be a great game,
does anyone no what time the game starts.

Big rumour flying about at the moment is that current Uni assistant coach Matthew Bernes will coach DOSA next year... was apparently seen having lunch with a couple of dosa board members yesterday. Has asked for a huge amount of $$ so not sure that dosa will reach an agreement with him though.... Would be a great get for the club i reckon. didn't he play for Glenorchy??? I wouldn't of thought he would be playing next year. He has been out of the game for too long. What does everyone think? do Dosa need a playing coach or non-playing?

Was a great player for Glenorchy. Will not play again, purely a non playing coach.