Player Watch Oleg Markov

Skill acquisition is taught from about 9 years old. Before that it's mostly making it fun for kids and keeping them interested. Markov wouldn't have missed out on any of that technical development.
The right coaching and he's sweet.
Just a little improvement is all.

It's funny how many on here saying kicking can't improve are also saying Adams kicking has improved...whatever the reason..😆 technique, time, space, coaching, position..

Guess I’m the odd one out. Markov’s kicking unlikely to improve, Adam’s kicking was always fine, it was his decision making letting him down, that’s improved.

That's the thing isn't it. It's all really a matter of opinion. Many think Adams kicking has always been s**t. Many think Oleg's kicking is s**t. Many think Taranto's (from Richmond) kicking is s**t too. And many, many other footballers who are in their clubs best 22 are s**t kicks 😆 Some improve. Some adapt. Some don't.

Your suspicions are wrong.
Rochelle at the Crows played soccer most of his life and is a gun kick!!

Comparing Rachele to Oleg is just folly. Rachele is a country boy growing up in Shepparton and would have grown up playing both footy soccer and I’d even say cricket. That’s what kids in Australia do. Especially country kids. He would have been playing both sports all the way through. Then finally made the choice. Probably like Pendles did. And Rachele’s parents I’d say were both born here in Australia. Totally different situation. Rachele has that Ethnic Aussie kid balance about him. Daicosesque….

Oleg has come from a recently immigrating family. Whose main focus would have been other pursuits before footy was on the radar. Totally different.

Good try though. Take a star out of petty cash for your efforts.

The right coaching and he's sweet.
Just a little improvement is all.

It's not that easy. Once a kicking technique is developed it's difficult to change. Markov has had 8 years in the AFL system including under our current coaches and it's a flawed technique. Markov brings other qualities to the footy field but it'd be naive to think kicking is one of them, or that it'll change.

That's the thing isn't it. It's all really a matter of opinion. Many think Adams kicking has always been s**t. Many think Oleg's kicking is s**t. Many think Taranto's (from Richmond) kicking is s**t too. And many, many other footballers who are in their clubs best 22 are s**t kicks 😆 Some improve. Some adapt. Some don't.

The difference between Adams and Markov is the “shit” kicks of previous years for Adams would have laced out a team mate at training. He just didn’t allow for the players between him and his target who would/could intercept. It was a poor decision to try it on. Markov is just a poor judge of distance and weight as seen by his overcooked passes to team mates in space when he had time and space to get it right. That’s a lot harder to fix than decision making.

Adams’ kicking is bad, and Markov can improve after 8 years in the system. And 10 is “late” to take up football. Ok then

I’ll stand by my assessment of Adams’s kicking style. It’s spot on. If you get a chance to see it in slow motion you’ll see exactly what I have described. He may be having a better go of it lately but his action is horrible. Not elite.

On the Oleg issue. Absolutely 10 years of age will not be enough time to develop the elite kicking that you want from him. He has a wonderful kicking action for someone taking the sport up at 10. But that action and repetition he missed in the earlier 4-10 year brackets goes a long way to shaping the elite kickers.

On the start age thing. I watched a young girl 6 yrs old slotting goals from about 20-25 meters out. Some from the boundary. Thinking she must be 10-12 years of age. When I was told she was 6, I was astonished. Most of the junior boys U12’s weren’t kicking the ball as well as her. But her brother was……And her father told me that he practices with her. As he has no one else to play kick to kick with. And she’s been doing it from 2 yrs old. I’m looking forward to seeing her in 10-12 years time playing AFL. Maybe.

Oh they talk about it all the time. How often do you see a players kicking actually improving after nearly a decade in the AFL though?
I mean, Travis Cloke was always trying to improve his goal kicking, but did it work? People act as if Fly has some magic wand that will allow players to completely re-work their flaws, but he doesn’t. The odds are if you’re a bad kick this late in your career you’ll always be a bad kick.

You’re not understanding the mechanics behind what and how most players kick. And why they kick in the ways they do. Some have beautiful flowing actions and some are bog ugly.

And it all stems from the early developmental years. If the action isn’t bedded down properly earlier on. Then all the e bad lessons learnt will remain later on and they are way to hard to fix. Trav’s problem was in his ball drop. He used to release one had off the ball and then lift up and then come down with the ball in a releasing action downwards. And it was in that slightly downward part that he sometimes would put a slight twist on the ball and wooshka we would see it fly everywhere. When he did get it right in a straight up and down motion to his foot. It sailed through post high.

But he also had the too close to goal demons. And they were grey matter stuff. Psychological……

@73% not bad. You are only as good as your last game. Get behind him.
Don’t stress FJ.

His kicking is fine.
Everyone going him and being super critical of technique when the outcome was already decided before it left his hand.

Like I said earlier, let’s see how he goes when he gets up to speed with our game plan….you never know, he may magically improve like Adams has!!

Don’t stress FJ.

His kicking is fine.
Everyone going him and being super critical of technique when the outcome was already decided before it left his hand.

Like I said earlier, let’s see how he goes when he gets up to speed with our game plan….you never know, he may magically improve like Adams has!!
Cheers TVI 🍻

Skill acquisition is taught from about 9 years old. Before that it's mostly making it fun for kids and keeping them interested. Markov wouldn't have missed out on any of that technical development.

You’re not understanding that the mechanics of your action will get set at the earliest of stages.

And no disrespect to any junior coaches. But dads and mums coaching know two fifths of F’All about coaching someone in their kicking actions. And by the time they get to representative footy that are already set.

This kicking action forms naturally and in a symbiotic action that’s part of the genetic make up of a kid. Their natural gifts in simple terms. That’s why they’ll have every chance of making it as a footballer. As this is one of the first markers that shows the first glimpses of the talent that could be.

Question:
Do we think that whether a player can “kick” is more about the elite versus standard?

Seriously. Every player in the AFL can kick. That’s been a non negotiable drafting asset since Jason wild!

Kicking is super important. No one gets a game that “can’t kick”.

Question:
Do we think that whether a player can “kick” is more about the elite versus standard?

Seriously. Every player in the AFL can kick. That’s been a non negotiable drafting asset since Jason wild!

Kicking is super important. No one gets a game that “can’t kick”.

Sorry TVI7, you might be able to say that about most of the midfielders and I use the most tag as some a bog ordinary. But I’ll pay it for them.

However there are some big units that I wouldn’t want kicking a ball for my life. Whether it be at goal or to a target. Levi Casboult comes to mind. And some of the lumbering Rucks as ordinary. It might be that the oxygen takes longer to get to their brains when they are kicking a ball. Don’t know.

Sorry TVI7, you might be able to say that about most of the midfielders and I use the most tag as some a bog ordinary. But I’ll pay it for them.

However there are some big units that I wouldn’t want kicking a ball for my life. Whether it be at goal or to a target. Levi Casboult comes to mind. And some of the lumbering Rucks as ordinary. It might be that the oxygen takes longer to get to their brains when they are kicking a ball. Don’t know.

Can def pay that!!!!!

So it begs the question, if you’re as bad as him….what are you bringing?!?

In his case, ripper hands and unbelievable contested marking.

No co-incidence though that he’s at his third (?) club and on the way out….

IMO - Think he’s more of a crazy exception!!!

He only had 7 kicks from memory. What was his kicking efficiency?
Dunno bro. 73% DE is all I'm getting.
4 tackles a few inside 50's and a couple of rebound 50's.
8 contested and 7 uncontested disposals.
Not a bad day in the office.
Kept Bradley Hill in check.
Can he back it up? I'm hoping so.

Dunno bro. 73% DE is all I'm getting.
4 tackles a few inside 50's and a couple of rebound 50's.
8 contested and 7 uncontested disposals.
Not a bad day in the office.
Kept Bradley Hill in check.
Can he back it up? I'm hoping so.

Was 57% against the Saints and it's at 40% across his 2 games this year.

In terms of keeping Hill quiet, we're a team that prides itself on team defence so not sure that was entirely the work of Markov.

Was 57% against the Saints and it's at 40% across his 2 games this year.

In terms of keeping Hill quiet, we're a team that prides itself on team defence so not sure that was entirely the work of Markov.
73% is what I'm getting from a few posts.
I don't care. You seem to have an agenda towards him.
I know what I watched of him.

73% is what I'm getting from a few posts.
I don't care. You seem to have an agenda towards him.
I know what I watched of him.

The 73%DE just means he went at a high % with his handball. The kick efficiency I quoted is straight from the AFL site's own stats. Feel free to have a look yourself.

I don't have an agenda against him, I have an agenda against posters continually posting incorrect information. Screenshot (5).jpg

Comparing Rachele to Oleg is just folly. Rachele is a country boy growing up in Shepparton and would have grown up playing both footy soccer and I’d even say cricket. That’s what kids in Australia do. Especially country kids. He would have been playing both sports all the way through. Then finally made the choice. Probably like Pendles did. And Rachele’s parents I’d say were both born here in Australia. Totally different situation. Rachele has that Ethnic Aussie kid balance about him. Daicosesque….

Oleg has come from a recently immigrating family. Whose main focus would have been other pursuits before footy was on the radar. Totally different.

Good try though. Take a star out of petty cash for your efforts.

You’re on thin ice sport - Rachelle was an elite soccer player proficient in the round ball code - and played soccer during winter ie football season.
But to further discredit your theory -
look at all the Gaelic footballers who don’t have an issue kicking our ball after exclusively kicking a round ball.

Your theory is therefore wrong re Oleg’s immigrant origins.

Anything else?

The 73%DE just means he went at a high % with his handball. The kick efficiency I quoted is straight from the AFL site's own stats. Feel free to have a look yourself.

I don't have an agenda against him, I have an agenda against posters continually posting incorrect information.View attachment 1669318
DE is DE. Not much else he can do

Player Watch Oleg Markov