Player Watch Oleg Markov

He only had 7 kicks from memory. What was his kicking efficiency?
Had 2 Clanger turnovers, another that was a scrubber turnover under pressure, one long to a contest that was intercepted (counted as effective), and 3 that hit the target.

Great stats!

What were his clangers?

Were they poor execution?
Or decision?

You seem keen to point him out as a poor kick…yet you’re changed your tune on Adams.

You’re not understanding that the mechanics of your action will get set at the earliest of stages.

This is exactly why it's hard to improve kicking technique later on. Markov is unlikely to improve his kicking skills at this stage of his career.

Great stats!

What were his clangers?

Were they poor execution?
Or decision?

You seem keen to point him out as a poor kick…yet you’re changed your tune on Adams.
Poor execution. Overcooked kicks.

I haven’t changed my tune on Adams, he’s a poor field kick due to his decision making, which I’ve always maintained. He tends to try to bite off more than he can chew and doesn’t have the same vision as the Daicos boys. His kicks more often than not would hit their target but get intercepted by someone he hasn’t seen.

His move forward has changed 2 things. He’s taking more shots at goal (and nailing them, because you can’t intercept a ball 5 metres above you), and most of his kicks are relatively short and straight, he’s not in the position be trying to execute difficult switch kicks or diagonal kicks through the corridor anymore.

Poor execution. Overcooked kicks.

I haven’t changed my tune on Adams

Apex FEB 23:

I do trust my own eyes, that’s why I said what I said. Adams is a garbage field kick.

Stupid idiot FEB 23
I actually don't think his 'field kicking' is actually that bad......IMO its his decision making that makes it bad.
If you go back and look at the kicks he 'misses', he takes on the most difficult of options.
He does this with regularity, so it constantly looks bad.

So yes it all looks bad and results in him being "a horrible kick".
But the die has been cast before he even begins the kicking action...

GF 2018 was when i started to really take note of his decisions as opposed to execution......that kick up middle should have been the 'easy' kick across to the fat side where we had a player 35M on their own.

Goal kicking isn't so much about the decision. So he is far better than he gets credit for in my book.
Apex APR 23
His technique was never in question, it was his decision making that was the main issue. I’d say the fact he’s playing a lot more forward of the ball and kicking goals rather than delivering inside 50 is more the reason that his kicking looks like it’s improved. He’s always been a very good set shot.

One of the things people like is humility.
Sometimes you just can’t know everything!!

I learn heaps from you.
Amazing that you are always correct!!

Apex FEB 23:

Stupid idiot FEB 23

Apex APR 23

One of the things people like is humility.
Sometimes you just can’t know everything!!

I learn heaps from you.
Amazing that you are always correct!!
I mean, if you want to take one sentence that wasn’t elaborated on (he is a garbage field kick due to his decision making) that’s your prerogative I guess. There are plenty of instances in the past where I have explained my stance on his kicking. Heck, even in that post you cherry picked the “garbage” sentence from I was arguing that his kicking for goal was actually good. Not sure why you’re trying to pick a fight here when we seem to actually be on the same page regarding Adams..?

Irishman indeed. Seriously, trying to have a genuine discussion with you is Ike that old adage….

It’s like pleasuring yourself with a cheese grater. Slightly amusing but mostly painful.

You don’t have the mental capacity to understand the technical machinations involved in this. So there is no point continuing. As all that will happen is an argument.

So best it ends now.

You know someone has lost an argument on here when they completely disregard the topic and chuck out some insults while trying to shut the discussion down. You’re 3 for 3 on this one Ronnie. You lose.

I mean, if you want to take one sentence that wasn’t elaborated on (he is a garbage field kick due to his decision making) that’s your prerogative I guess. There are plenty of instances in the past where I have explained my stance on his kicking. Heck, even in that post you cherry picked the “garbage” sentence from I was arguing that his kicking for goal was actually good. Not sure why you’re trying to pick a fight here when we seem to actually be on the same page regarding Adams..?
Lol.
“One sentence that wasn’t elaborated on”. Gold.
If you really thought it was decision making ….you would have said so.
We’re all wrong mate!!!
It’s what makes this forum great!

At some point you’ll admit that maybe, just maybe, someone had a different opinion than you that is correct.

I’m glad you’ve come around to my thinking (can post the entire thread if you want?!?)

We’re def on the same page moving fwd.
I’ve noticed we are very alike in our thoughts around football.

Why don’t you post previous posts around how it was clear it was decision making?!?

I mean….it’s only fair you defend yourself ?!?!?

Lol.

Who was arguing about kicking for goal?!?

Pretty sure my quotes suggested that wasn’t the issue.

Was responding you your comments about field kicking…..so you go and make up whatever you want!!!

Fmd.

At some point you’re going to realise you’re view of football isn’t everything!!!
(Or even correct)

You know someone has lost an argument on here when they completely disregard the topic and chuck out some insults while trying to shut the discussion down. You’re 3 for 3 on this one Ronnie. You lose.

Apex you have no credibility.

The Village Idiot exposed you…..

It just has so much more impetus when you spit his name.

I explained the Naturally gifted kids like Rachele. Who have been playing the sport longer than all of you may think. I refer to it as Daicosian. A natural balance. That’s why the kid is also special.

The Irish boys a far from elite kicks. They have the action ok. As the round ball or oval ball get kicked the same way. But our ball needs a modicum of proficiency to execute at an elite level. And doing for just a short period doesn’t cut it.

On your way Apex. You’re no longer at the top of the food chain. Not when the Village Idiot is besting you.

Apex you have no credibility.

The Village Idiot exposed you…..

It just has so much more impetus when you spit his name.

I explained the Naturally gifted kids like Rachele. Who have been playing the sport longer than all of you may think. I refer to it as Daicosian. A natural balance. That’s why the kid is also special.

The Irish boys a far from elite kicks. They have the action ok. As the round ball or oval ball get kicked the same way. But our ball needs a modicum of proficiency to execute at an elite level. And doing for just a short period doesn’t cut it.

On your way Apex. You’re no longer at the top of the food chain. Not when the Village Idiot is besting you.

Don’t bring me into this!!!!!!

Quicky didn’t have an absurd theory blaming Markov’s immigrant origins and the round ball, as the reason for his poor disposal.

Do you know why they have the NGA academy players?

And they make them a special category.

You are so out of your depth it’s not funny.

I’ll be like the penguins from Madagascar as I exit.

Smile and wave boys……Smile and wave.

Do you know why they have the NGA academy players?

And they make them a special category.

You are so out of your depth it’s not funny.

I’ll be like the penguins from Madagascar as I exit.

Smile and wave boys……Smile and wave.

So out of my depth, that I’m making the “expert” you think you are, look completely naive, by exposing your baseless theories.
It’s thankless work, but someones got to do it.

Anything else?

He was solid. It was a really good game by 1st/2nd year standards, not 8th season standards.
That’s right if you can’t kick by year 8 (+ 10 years of junior footy) you never will. You can’t afford liability kicks out of the backline or anywhere really. He’s a dud. Don’t know why we picked him up when we needed KPP depth.

Player Watch Oleg Markov