No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXIX

Given the CFL and their crackdown , what did Tex get ?

6 weeks

I reckon the two situations are slightly different, because Tex said it toward an Indigenous player, so it was a pretty overt case of racial discrimination.

Unless the Essendon player Finlayson said it to was gay (and Finlayson knew it), but we don't know that.

Makes it up as he goes along, some could argue that it was actually Astbury who knocked Shiels head prior to the Cotchin incident. However, people like to conveniently forget this because Cotchin was an easier target.
Astbury got him after Cotchin did. If you slow down Cotch's bump, most of the contact is to Shiels' shoulder. Shiel goes to ground clutching his shoulder which is a bit of a giveaway. Astbury definitely collected him head high though.

This is 100% spot on. We just said s**t back, laughed and moved on their was none of this reporting stuff like nowadays.
Problem is the AFL went to political and it snowballed from there.

There's a difference between suburban footy and professional AFL footy though.

They are supposed to be role models.

There's a difference between suburban footy and professional AFL footy though.

They are supposed to be role models.

I get the professional part re AFL house but here's the thing most aren't role models they are footballers. They are told how to behave, some toe the party line and others don't.

Dont want to repeat the s**t that was being said when I was playing suburban football.

We just gave it back twice as hard. Harden up campaigners!
same here, in general play not so much, players having a set shot at goal would cop a dreadful barrage of filthy sledging. umpires rarely intervened.

Its not being scared of words, it's not wanting them used when the meaning of those words and the harm they can cause to others is well known by the people using them...
Surely it's the context that it's used. What was the intent behind it, and was the Essendon player offended? If he wasn't, then once Finlayson apologises that's the end of it.

It's a much, much bigger story than it should be.

6 weeks

I reckon the two situations are slightly different, because Tex said it toward an Indigenous player, so it was a pretty overt case of racial discrimination.

Unless the Essendon player Finlayson said it to was gay (and Finlayson knew it), but we don't know that.
Walker didn't say it directly towards the Indigenous player, though, did he? Didn't he say it around his teammates and one of them dobbed him in?

Would it make a difference in terms of weeks if the Essendon player was actually gay or not? If we somehow knew that the player was gay, would he then be looking at a bigger suspension or fine?

Walker didn't say it directly towards the Indigenous player, though, did he? Didn't he say it around his teammates and one of them dobbed him in?

Would it make a difference in terms of weeks if the Essendon player was actually gay or not? If we somehow knew that the player was gay, would he then be looking at a bigger suspension or fine?
They need to add a gaydar to the ARC. Finlaysons call is the player is gay, just confirming whether the player is gay.

Interesting thought - how would they confirm it?

Let's say the Essendon player spoke to the media and came out as gay and said that he wasn't offended by what was said. Would Finlayson still be in trouble?

Interesting thought - how would they confirm it?

Let's say the Essendon player spoke to the media and came out as gay and said that he wasn't offended by what was said. Would Finlayson still be in trouble?
Probably not, the AFL would introduce homophobic slur round.

Astbury got him after Cotchin did. If you slow down Cotch's bump, most of the contact is to Shiels' shoulder. Shiel goes to ground clutching his shoulder which is a bit of a giveaway. Astbury definitely collected him head high though.
astbury getting off with that because the media were too focussed on trent isn’t spoken about enough, very funny in hindsight

Dont want to repeat the s**t that was being said when I was playing suburban football.

We just gave it back twice as hard. Harden up campaigners!
the new generation is soft as shit. I have been dealing with 2 of them all week. Worst decision i ever made was giving young people a chance. 2x19y.o - literally the most entitled, useless ****s i have ever worked with. You give them a vaguely stern talking to and they freeze up like pornhub on dial-up & cry "past trauma". worst employee decision i've ever made, never again. entitled little pricks. Never on time. Always crying. No accountability for mistakes that cost significant money. Great at coming up with excuses or ideas for other people to action & then being judgemental at the results. Will sack them both within the month

Nah finlayson can get ****ed, anyone defending him saying it's just words are likely bigoted and probably love being homophobes. How would finlayson feel if someone made a jibe about his terminally ill wife? Just words?
how is that similar?

the guy he said it to, was not gay from my understanding?

If someone said i hope your terminally ill wife dies, i would just laugh & say "i'm sorry sir, but you must be mistaken, my wife is not ill"

I don't reckon i've used the "many sticks term" to refer to someone who is gay for around 20 years and i doubt he said it in that sense. i am white and someone called me the N word, i would laugh at their stupidity.

Its Like calling someone a campaigner. You are not really calling them a vagina, you are calling them a more aggressive term for being a jackass

Why would it be so hard for the AFL to just defer all suspensions until Round 1/Opening Round of the next season?

no arguments from me mate, solid idea. Bit like the dissent thing i said - just common sense. Don't ruin a game over a swear word, deal with it after the game and have heavier fines/suspensions

Have a rule where players who get a suspension of 2 weeks or less can either choose to accept the penatly, or accept a 100% increase on their suspension the start of the following season.

Only issue would be the A. Lynch blokes who might go out swinging, but that kinda thing seems to never happen anymore anyway

100% on the money. Gone are the days where the AFL are “cutting off one's nose to spite one's face” eg penalising Carlton for tanking which set the club back a decade. They’ve realised that ultimately decisions like that affects the brand and the potential millions $$$$$$$$ in revenue.

lol the AFL never penalised carlton for tanking. What are you talking about?

CSI Miami over here

Looks to me from the non slow mo that it headed in one direction then deflected suddenly but then again, I do wear glasses, so I will take your word
later post i admit other footage shows it clearly hit Jackson on the tricep. The footage i looked at did not show that angle and i was looking for contact via the hand reaching out for the smother. Hence why i cant honestly say its corruption because when i saw the footage from 1 angle only, with the ability to slowdown the footage no less, i thought it wasn't touched.

Blaming an ump for missing it in real time when the ball is deflected at very close range, literally 5cm from the point of kick to point of "touched", its ****ing hard to see

Nah finlayson can get ****ed, anyone defending him saying it's just words are likely bigoted and probably love being homophobes. How would finlayson feel if someone made a jibe about his terminally ill wife? Just words?
it’s not been suggested the recipient of Finlayson’s spray is gay or if he is gay that Finlayson knew he was .
It’s impossible to therefore suggest he was intentionally discriminating against them or attempting to pot them for being gay .
I have close mates who refer to everyone as campaigner or gay campaigner and I’m yet to see anyone offended.
The worlds an interesting place when the leaders of countries are appointed via a democratic process yet in general life it has became expected that all should be done to protect the minority .
Comments about finalyson’s wife when knowing full well she is ill is shit form .

it’s not been suggested the recipient of Finlayson’s spray is gay or if he is gay that Finlayson knew he was .
It’s impossible to therefore suggest he was intentionally discriminating against them or attempting to pot them for being gay .
I have close mates who refer to everyone as campaigner or gay campaigner and I’m yet to see anyone offended.
The worlds an interesting place when the leaders of countries are appointed via a democratic process yet in general life it has became expected that all should be done to protect the minority .
Comments about finalyson’s wife when knowing full well she is ill is s**t form .
yep, spot on how i think about it to

If someone called me a gay & i got so offended that i demanded action etc, then the way i see it - im the homophobe in that story

the new generation is soft as s**t. I have been dealing with 2 of them all week. Worst decision i ever made was giving young people a chance. 2x19y.o - literally the most entitled, useless *s i have ever worked with. You give them a vaguely stern talking to and they freeze up like pornhub on dial-up & cry "past trauma". worst employee decision i've ever made, never again. entitled little pricks. Never on time. Always crying. No accountability for mistakes that cost significant money. Great at coming up with excuses or ideas for other people to action & then being judgemental at the results. Will sack them both within the month
Ok boomer

Oh my mates and I did too, but then we grew out of our edgy teenager years.
Succumbing to the expectation of others is a choice .
Some chose to , others live their life as they wish and don’t give a **** what others think .

You can chose which you think is weakness and/or immature and you can probably figure out my care factor .

astbury getting off with that because the media were too focussed on trent isn’t spoken about enough, very funny in hindsight
It was fantastic. As you said, because the media scum wanted Cotch hung, drawn, and quartered, they didn't bother to check Astbury's hit at all.