No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XXXVI

Combined with the fact that that champion data keep 70% of the interesting stats to themselves (and the media who have access) there is so much potential for them to do interesting analysis using that data that we as fans don’t have access to
On a serious note with this, why not start a watcher driven statistical analysis? Honestly, goals from free kicks is a very easily observed stat, for example. Why not start a "crowd funded" model to capture the data that might influence match results?

A bit like how Grimes was fined for diving in the 2019 QF led by the Geesook cheer squad leader at the time Cameron Ling but come the 2019 PF and Miers went down like he was shot after Houli brushed him off and no fine and no comments from Ling and then come the GF out come the diving calls again from Dingaling against Grimes.
danger’s dive that led to the woeful 50 just before half time annoys me more

On a serious note with this, why not start a watcher driven statistical analysis? Honestly, goals from free kicks is a very easily observed stat, for example. Why not start a "crowd funded" model to capture the data that might influence match results?
I tracked goals from free kicks for every team for the 2021 season. The problem is that the vast majority of stats are kept behind locked doors. The stats page on the AFL website is next to useless and I've spent a good amount of time scouring the interwebz trying to find other relevant stats but have come up with nothing. The longer the AFL gatekeeps stats, the worse the analysis will be.

Now the players are asking the AFL to tell them what a legal tackle is AFLX incoming

AFLX is coming and at a rapid pace......the game is changing into something I'm not that interested in watching

AFLX is the AFL Boy's Club's wet dream.

Pity hardly anyone wants to watch it.

AFLX is the AFL Boy's Club's wet dream.

Pity hardly anyone wants to watch it.
I love my footy and looked forward to watching most games on a weekend
These days I watch the Tigers and that's about it ....I just don't like the road the games going or the way the Media influence things ..

..at the moment they all seem to be enjoying dancing on the supposedly Tigers grave

i dont give a crap how you tackle the tackling player can not control the tackle when the player he is tackling sometimes falls to the ground to try win a free or his momentum contributes to it being a dangerous tackle ffs this is turning me off the game along with all the other bs rules
I'm old but my philosophy is, expect inconsistencies in anything humans are involved in.
..up side is it forces coaches to play depth players.
Which they never do otherwise

AFLX is coming and at a rapid pace......the game is changing into something I'm not that interested in watching
AFL has been very slow to deal with concussion. Only now setting up funds for players post retirement. Maybe too little too late.
and now class actions are in the courts. If they lose the AFL might go broke.
I've watched and played since the 60s and the game/rules evolve. I can get enjoyment out of it.
But if you can't. Fair enough MMA?

I love my footy and looked forward to watching most games on a weekend
These days I watch the Tigers and that's about it ....I just don't like the road the games going or the way the Media influence things ..

..at the moment they all seem to be enjoying dancing on the supposedly Tigers grave
Same.
If they go teh whole AFLX I reckon I'll be done. Still interested, but not really following the AFL anymore.
Only care about the Tigers. And sometimes it does my head in how the game is changing.

Lead with the head and get frees = people lead with the head = head injuries = problems. Solution, Duckwood is the bestest captain ever and soo brave. Umm others are copying him. Not sure what to do.
Freaking idiots. If you lead with the head or duck then it isn't a free. Stop that quickly. Concussion protocols much stronger and much more support for head injured players.

Anyway, I can rant all day over the AFL being idiots. I've got to fix someone else's poor job of building a data set.

Yes very disciplined. They never give away free kicks.
View attachment 1665236

The bit below the circle is no more legal than the forearm to the face. Especially in light of Geelong's recent protestations "you are not allowed to do it," whinged Chris Sook when their rucks copped something way less dangerous than this completely unnecessary driving of the knee through a vulnerable opponent not in a marking contest and whilst grounded.

Same.
If they go teh whole AFLX I reckon I'll be done. Still interested, but not really following the AFL anymore.
Only care about the Tigers. And sometimes it does my head in how the game is changing.

Lead with the head and get frees = people lead with the head = head injuries = problems. Solution, Duckwood is the bestest captain ever and soo brave. Umm others are copying him. Not sure what to do.
Freaking idiots. If you lead with the head or duck then it isn't a free. Stop that quickly. Concussion protocols much stronger and much more support for head injured players.

Anyway, I can rant all day over the AFL being idiots. I've got to fix someone else's poor job of building a data set.
The Game I grew up loving is gone I’m sad to say …. What we have now is a watered down manufactured product of entertainment …rule changes to produce the way they want games to be played …. But nobody will call the AFL out … except Mick Warner … and he was soon shut down

AFL has been very slow to deal with concussion. Only now setting up funds for players post retirement. Maybe too little too late.
and now class actions are in the courts. If they lose the AFL might go broke.
I've watched and played since the 60s and the game/rules evolve. I can get enjoyment out of it.
But if you can't. Fair enough MMA?
MMA … no thanks …. I understand the concussion concerns … what I don’t like is rules hastily brought in to produce how the AFL Want things to go … I’m more pissed off with nominating for the ruck … The Stand rule and letting the full back just wander out 30m to kick out .. all didn’t need to be introduced … that’s not evolving … In my opinion is being manufactured … By that’s only my opinion …. I still enjoy watching the Tigers … but the others not so much 🤷🏻‍♂️