#6 Thorp #7 Selwood LOL
- Jul 11, 2020
- AFL Club
- Geelong
Absolutely zilch correlation between match result and FK +/-
Super interesting graph. Thanks for posting. Would not have predicted that.
I was at the port tigers final in I think 2014ish at Adelaide oval.OK so I've slept on this and also was reminded by a mate of one point...
But when you look back at just the last 10ish years there are some equally hilarious things that have all contributed I reckon
- Karmichael Hunt beating them after the siren at a Tigers "Home" game they sold to Cairns
- Having their most dominant season in all of their lives destroyed in about 40 mins by an American Mason Cox
- and potentially most fitting and most hilarious was losing an elimination final that they were up and about for, to the team that finished 9th and only got in after the Druggy Bombers were booted out
Feel free to add your own hilarious mind destroying Tiger moments that we can all enjoy
Obviously the billion point loss to us in 07 and every time Senior ran out against them are already on list
To be fair though that free kick against Moore is not what the rule is there to stopI must say, if you want to see some sooking from a different opposition team - Collingwood fans aren't happy with a couple of decisions from yesterdays matches
- They're not happy with the deliberate rushed behind call against Moore. The wet ground wasn't helpful for Moore in that situation yesterday, but it's a textbook example of the rule:
18.11.2 Free Kicks - Deliberate Rushed Behinds
A field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against a Player from the Defending Team who intentionally Kicks, Handballs or forces the football over the Attacking Team’s Goal Line or Behind Line or onto one of the Attacking Team’s Goal Posts, and the Player:
(a) is greater than nine metres from the Goal Line or Behind Line;
(b) is not under immediate physical pressure;
(c) has had time and space to dispose of the football; or
(d) from a Ruck contest, hits the football over the Goal Line or Behind Line on the full.
- They also aren't happy the umpire called play on when Sidebottom had his kick for goal from like 15m out & the umpire didn't afford him the full 30 seconds. Yet again, Sidebottom clearly was trying to push the boundaries with what he could get away and ultimately after a couple of warnings the umpire called him out:
(1) Where a player is clearly and deliberately delaying the commencement of a normal goal kicking routine, the umpire will blow his whistle to instruct the player to move the ball on (as per around the ground marks and free kicks), and if the player does not do so immediately, then play on will be called.
Social media has a lot of ranting and sooking - it's great
You don't have to name him, the mental image rose up in my head like a meteor.Now there is a Tigers fan (I’ll let you guys guess which one) trying to draw a link between the Dangerfield fend on Vlastuin a few seasons ago to the Stewart bump - saying it’s proof of deliberate targeting.
I’m staggered that someone at or near an adult age can actually be that stupid
To be fair though that free kick against Moore is not what the rule is there to stop
Saw some videos of Trump supporters, it is actually amazing and depressing that people can. I don't know if its a mental issue or a circle jerk/troll but I think some of those might actually believe in what they are posting.Now there is a Tigers fan (I’ll let you guys guess which one) trying to draw a link between the Dangerfield fend on Vlastuin a few seasons ago to the Stewart bump - saying it’s proof of deliberate targeting.
I’m staggered that someone at or near an adult age can actually be that stupid
Saw some videos of Trump supporters, it is actually amazing and depressing that people can. I don't know if its a mental issue or a circle jerk/troll but I think some of those might actually believe in what they are posting.
Hahahahahahahahaha oh man, I didn't know the march stuff but I remember that game and the belting/disappointment they sufferedI was at the port tigers final in I think 2014ish at Adelaide oval.
They'd missed finals for years and were really up and about. Famous names tipping them to beat Port senseless.
They decided they'd do a march to the oval the same way that Port did at the time, but they had to go after Port so the marches didn't interact I guess.
By the time the first of the marchers arrived at the gates to Adelaide oval I think they were 5 goals down.
I don't think many of them stayed out the first quarter
If a team can consistently be successful while also consistently breaking the rules more than all other teams, it merely means that the rules are out of sync with the way that the game is actually played, and that they need to be (a) tightened up to provide a more effective deterrent against rule breaking and/or (b) more rigorously enforced against serially offending clubs.That is a pathetic pisss poor response to what i actually said - so get off your great white horse
I did not say the free kick ratio affected results
What i did say - any supporter group of any club who continually got the rough end of the pineapple re the free kick count - it would grate them
2022 up to the end of round 10 Geel 218 F 219A (1) so its a non issue - and it has been a non issue for the Cats for about 10 years- because we are level For and Against
Richmond 183F 249 A (66 ) 30 worse than the 2nd worst club re free kicks - and they have had 5 years of this
So my summation was - anyone who thinks there was a conspiracy from headquarters against Rich ( which some of their supporters actually believe ) are just nutters - and should follow another sport
However i do think they have right to be pisssed off - why they continually game in game out - lose the free kick count and often by alot - eg last Sat game - negative 10 - and during that period they wernt winning 5 wooden spoons - they won 3 flags - they were the best team
OK then - thats a vague answer by youIf a team can consistently be successful while also consistently breaking the rules more than all other teams, it merely means that the rules are out of sync with the way that the game is actually played, and that they need to be (a) tightened up to provide a more effective deterrent against rule breaking and/or (b) more rigorously enforced against serially offending clubs.
They have been very good at using professional frees. Any sense that the opposition are going on a fast break, they will give away a free and make sure there's no advantage taken. Just better at it than most other sides.If a team can consistently be successful while also consistently breaking the rules more than all other teams, it merely means that the rules are out of sync with the way that the game is actually played, and that they need to be (a) tightened up to provide a more effective deterrent against rule breaking and/or (b) more rigorously enforced against serially offending clubs.
Dusty’s fend offs are pretty well high every single time for starters. Never gets called out on it.OK then - thats a vague answer by you
Tell me the specific rules they are breaking ?
I reckon you may have missed the Richmond v Carlton game a fortnight ago. The umpires were responsible - imo - for Richmond winning that game. Carlton received a square pineapple for the entire game. Were Richmond supporters complaining about that result?That is a pathetic pisss poor response to what i actually said - so get off your great white horse
I did not say the free kick ratio affected results
What i did say - any supporter group of any club who continually got the rough end of the pineapple re the free kick count - it would grate them
2022 up to the end of round 10 Geel 218 F 219A (1) so its a non issue - and it has been a non issue for the Cats for about 10 years- because we are level For and Against
Richmond 183F 249 A (66 ) 30 worse than the 2nd worst club re free kicks - and they have had 5 years of this
So my summation was - anyone who thinks there was a conspiracy from headquarters against Rich ( which some of their supporters actually believe ) are just nutters - and should follow another sport
However i do think they have right to be pisssed off - why they continually game in game out - lose the free kick count and often by alot - eg last Sat game - negative 10 - and during that period they wernt winning 5 wooden spoons - they won 3 flags - they were the best team
Teams have worked out that the fend is Dusty's one wood. Players have slowly learnt the tackling technique required to break it down and he's struggling to have the same impact as a result ... Given he doesn't defend he's not the same player.Dusty’s fend offs are pretty well high every single time for starters. Never gets called out on it.
You might have a point re tackling techniques.Teams have worked out that the fend is Dusty's one wood. Players have slowly learnt the tackling technique required to break it down and he's struggling to have the same impact as a result ... Given he doesn't defend he's not the same player.
A flash in the pan midfielder who wouldn't sit in the top 30 midfielders I've seen when you factor in longevity of performance.
Especially when they support Ninthmond.Never, ever be surprised by the sheer depth of stupidity that humans can sink to.
They need serious help. These people are walking around in public.
How amazing is that... I wouldn't have removed the twitter ID though, that kind of stupid deserves to be shamed.