Oppo Camp Opposition supporters say the strangest things

Don't normally see opposition posters contributing directly to this thread - more often it's screenshots, edited posts being shared or social media shares

As crazy as a few of tonight's contributions have been, this seems a rather apt thread for them to be read & laughed at

It would be an absolutely fascinating case study on why we trigger them so much, like on recent history they have swatted us in finals and have it over us and really that should be enough, like we hate Hawthorn, but at least I feel there is a mutual respect and dislike there.
The Tigers however are obsessed, irrational and constantly feel like they are being cheated or not respected enough maybe?

All I can think of is just mental scaring from either that massacre at the Dome in 07 or Snr basically belting them solo every single time he ran out against them..

Like it's the shortest of short man syndrome stuff from a club that probably is one of the big boys.

I mean don't get me wrong, it is absolutely hilarious, but also incredibly sad

It would be an absolutely fascinating case study on why we trigger them so much, like on recent history they have swatted us in finals and have it over us and really that should be enough, like we hate Hawthorn, but at least I feel there is a mutual respect and dislike there.
The Tigers however are obsessed, irrational and constantly feel like they are being cheated or not respected enough maybe?

All I can think of is just mental scaring from either that massacre at the Dome in 07 or Snr basically belting them solo every single time he ran out against them..

Like it's the shortest of short man syndrome stuff from a club that probably is one of the big boys.

I think they fear a swift slide back into irrelevance from here too.

Yeah I agree with that, maybe it's because we won't go away that we trigger them so much

I think they know their system is not sustainable and relies too much on a bit too much arse.

Don't get me wrong - they have won more than us recently and that is on the record, but their style is not "football" in any sense of the traditional sense of the definition.

They are super triggered, like, frothing at the mouth, driven to distraction.

I think they know their system is not sustainable and relies too much on a bit of arse.

Don't get wrong they have won more than us recently and that is on the record, but there style was not "football" in any sense of the traditional sense of the definition. And Dusty is a great player

Dusty is fading.

Re - the Tiger supporters- 2 points

Anyone who talks conspiracy theories are just complete nutters

The one thing i can see why they get upset - is since theve been good - they have had or received a shocking free kick count for and against - and Haw has copped the same actually - game after game where there is a big discrepancy for and against

With Geel the past 10 years we are about level for and against - we are about level - so its a non issue - and you have got W/Coast Nth Melb and Footscray in that order - who have had fantastic/charmed runs receiving hundreds more free kicks than against

Thus i do think if we copped game after game after game - conceeding 10 plus more frees it would pisss off quite a few of our supporters - however with the Rich supporters re Big Footy - the bottom line is - its only a game - a form of entertainment - but i think with alot of them its an obsession

Re - the Tiger supporters- 2 points

Anyone who talks conspiracy theories are just complete nutters

The one thing i can see why they get upset - is since theve been good - they have had or received a shocking free kick count for and against - and Haw has copped the same actually - game after game where there is a big discrepancy for and against

With Geel the past 10 years we are about level for and against - we are about level - so its a non issue - and you have got W/Coast Nth Melb and Footscray in that order - who have had fantastic/charmed runs receiving hundreds more free kicks than against
Both the Hawks and Tigers played/play right on the edge of the line, so that is why they get penalised accordingly, and also part of their game plan and success IMO, but naturally they wouldn't see it that way

OK so I've slept on this and also was reminded by a mate of one point...
But when you look back at just the last 10ish years there are some equally hilarious things that have all contributed I reckon

• Karmichael Hunt beating them after the siren at a Tigers "Home" game they sold to Cairns
  • Having their most dominant season in all of their lives destroyed in about 40 mins by an American Mason Cox
  • and potentially most fitting and most hilarious was losing an elimination final that they were up and about for, to the team that finished 9th and only got in after the Druggy Bombers were booted out

Feel free to add your own hilarious mind destroying Tiger moments that we can all enjoy
Obviously the billion point loss to us in 07 and every time Senior ran out against them are already on list :tearsofjoy: :shoutyoldman:

I'm sure Dion Prestia was just hanging out to see all the well-wishes from... checks notes... Geelong supporters on a pseudonymous footy forum on the world wide web.

I'm sure Dion Prestia was just hanging out to see all the well-wishes from... checks notes... Geelong supporters on a footy forum on the world wide web.
yeah this has been the weirdest take I've seen so far, and not just on BigFooty but Reddit, FB and Twitter too. Richmond fans demanding an apology from... Geelong fans?

He didn't see the required 25 well wishes from bigfooty Geelong supporters, he's passed away now.
Shame we couldn't have done more to save his life!
I only have well wishes for Tom Stewart. I hope he still doesn’t feel like shit! Great bloke

I must say, if you want to see some sooking from a different opposition team - Collingwood fans aren't happy with a couple of decisions from yesterdays matches

- They're not happy with the deliberate rushed behind call against Moore. The wet ground wasn't helpful for Moore in that situation yesterday, but it's a textbook example of the rule:
18.11.2 Free Kicks - Deliberate Rushed Behinds
A field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against a Player from the Defending Team who intentionally Kicks, Handballs or forces the football over the Attacking Team’s Goal Line or Behind Line or onto one of the Attacking Team’s Goal Posts, and the Player:
(a) is greater than nine metres from the Goal Line or Behind Line;
(b) is not under immediate physical pressure;
(c) has had time and space to dispose of the football; or
(d) from a Ruck contest, hits the football over the Goal Line or Behind Line on the full.

- They also aren't happy the umpire called play on when Sidebottom had his kick for goal from like 15m out & the umpire didn't afford him the full 30 seconds. Yet again, Sidebottom clearly was trying to push the boundaries with what he could get away and ultimately after a couple of warnings the umpire called him out:
(1) Where a player is clearly and deliberately delaying the commencement of a normal goal kicking routine, the umpire will blow his whistle to instruct the player to move the ball on (as per around the ground marks and free kicks), and if the player does not do so immediately, then play on will be called.

Social media has a lot of ranting and sooking - it's great

This is for the second tweet - exactly what is the AFL meant to appeal when the sanction hasn't been handed down?

Richmond supporters want nothing less than capital punishment.

I can't wait to hear the hypocritical cries of Richmond supporters when a Richmond player has a brain fade a la Tom Stewart. It will happen...

Richmond supporters want nothing less than capital punishment.

I can't wait to hear the hypocritical cries of Richmond supporters when a Richmond player has a brain fade a la Tom Stewart. It will happen...
It'll be Tom Lynch when it happens, but they will just moan then that Lynch is being unfairly targeted and made an example of

I must say, if you want to see some sooking from a different opposition team - Collingwood fans aren't happy with a couple of decisions from yesterdays matches

- They're not happy with the deliberate rushed behind call against Moore. The wet ground wasn't helpful for Moore in that situation yesterday, but it's a textbook example of the rule:
18.11.2 Free Kicks - Deliberate Rushed Behinds
A field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against a Player from the Defending Team who intentionally Kicks, Handballs or forces the football over the Attacking Team’s Goal Line or Behind Line or onto one of the Attacking Team’s Goal Posts, and the Player:
(a) is greater than nine metres from the Goal Line or Behind Line;
(b) is not under immediate physical pressure;
(c) has had time and space to dispose of the football; or
(d) from a Ruck contest, hits the football over the Goal Line or Behind Line on the full.

- They also aren't happy the umpire called play on when Sidebottom had his kick for goal from like 15m out & the umpire didn't afford him the full 30 seconds. Yet again, Sidebottom clearly was trying to push the boundaries with what he could get away and ultimately after a couple of warnings the umpire called him out:
(1) Where a player is clearly and deliberately delaying the commencement of a normal goal kicking routine, the umpire will blow his whistle to instruct the player to move the ball on (as per around the ground marks and free kicks), and if the player does not do so immediately, then play on will be called.

Social media has a lot of ranting and sooking - it's great
Reading that rule, I never realised that it can't be deliberate if you carry the ball over the line. I think Kolo did once in the 4th and the commentators were having a mini-fit over it. But technically you can carry it over the line whether you're under pressure or not. You just can't kick, handball or force it over the line.

Nah, forcing the ball over the line includes carry.