Other Australasian casinos (not Crown or Burswood)

Re: Australian (and NZ) Casino discussion (except for Crown Casino)

Borgsta, I'm slowly getting all the Brisbane info together (see 1st post). I just called Treasury's poker room and asked about their opening hours. Just need some info on rake, fees and buy-ins on a couple of their games (relying on the Brissy guys to help out there).

Little bit of furthur info from tonight. Limit games have a $1 participation fee on the $100 table, I think the lady said 5/10 - but as I don't play limit can't tell if that seemed right? She said the bigger table ($200) hasn't been up for three weeks or so.

Tables open at 10, with two tables, "more open at 12". I was there at around 4.30 today there was no $80 table up yet, and when I left at 7 he said that it probably wouldn't get up at all today as some of the names on the list had been there since 11! (I left my name on the list even though I left for the purposes of this exercise and I havent been texted yet so I assume it never got up) There were three 100/250 tables, and one 200/500. Wait was about 30 mins for the 100/250.

I think I've now covered the rakes / buyins in total. The only one I was unclear on was the 200/500 rake which was 5% or $20 max. No rake on any table when pot is 20 or under.

so no one can tell me what the gold coast jupiters are currently running in terms of poker and what are their times of opening etc?? surely someone?

Hrrmmm that sucks, pity the guy rocked up at all lol. Wish gold coast or Brisbane had tournaments, we only just got NO-Limit cash tables lol. Thinking about going to play at the coast, should be donkey central.

Played in Brisbane the other day.

That would have to be the softest place to play in all of Australia. People call you down with 3rd pair as you are betting 3/4 of the pot.

Some strange rules they play include
* No dead buttons. If the person on the button is not there the button moves - meaning someone skips the small blind and big blind.
* You ARE allowed to take money off the table. An absolutely disgraceful rule.
* If the small blind folds you can not bet the pot. Blinds of $2.50 / 5.00 - you can't bet any other denomination than $5. Eg. $5, $45, $70 all ok. $72.50 not ok.

Overall I highly recommend going there.

I've booked a weekend in Adelaide (Feb 14-16) for the SA Backgammon Open at the Hilton Hotel. I arrive Saturday morning and will probably try and get to the casino, I think it's still closed on Sundays. Leaving Monday avo.

I think it's still closed on Sundays.

Just found it:

Times aren't great. Why not open at 4 or 5pm on weekdays? Why not open before 4:15pm on Saturday? And the cash games don't usually start till later on the Saturday because they run a tournament first.

PS: I've updated the times on the 1st post of this thread. Check it out if you haven't seen it before.

Checked out Jupiters Casino the other week. Wasn't very impressed. Signed up for a seat at $2.5/$5.0 (only 2 games going both this limit)... waited around for 3 hours and no-one left. Just decided to leave. Made $30 at blackjack though :D Hittin Crown this Friday :D :D :D

Checked out Jupiters Casino the other week. Wasn't very impressed. Signed up for a seat at $2.5/$5.0 (only 2 games going both this limit)... waited around for 3 hours and no-one left. Just decided to leave.

From February last year:

So I get there at 1:45pm Friday, put my name down for 2/5 PLH. Was 4th on the list. One table of 5/10 Limit and one table of 2/5 Pot Limit open. 5:15pm rolls around and hooray, I'm top of the list, but unlikely to get on for some time, so I leave :rolleyes:. 3 1/2 hours and I couldn't get on!

:thumbsdown:

Conrad Treasurey casino
No limit $2.50-$5.
Max buy in $250.

Up to my third re-buy, new table with 3 calling stations and flush chasers.
I have at this stage doubled my starting stack .

Table is pre-flop friendly, 8 limp in ($5) I am on big blind with Pocket 7's.
I raise to $25- 5 callers.

Flop 8,7, 4. rainbow

I'm first to act and I raise to $75,

Every one folds except one young guy who thinks then calls.
I'm not sure what why the hell he is calling?
Turn is a 5.

I make a feeler bet of $50 , he re-raises instantly to All in, $180 more for me to call. I can afford it.

I think, no pressure from the dealer, who is encouraging and says no timer on.
People start mumbling gut-shot. I think could he have paid $75 after the flop to chase a gut shot?
I look at him, he's not staring me down or anything,I reveal to the table that I have pocket 7's . He says to me I have outs. Finally after much pain I fold.

He shows A6.
Everybody asks dealer to show next card. He discretly shows 3. (The burn card was a 7.

Good fold. I've saved myself $180 and prevented myself going on tilt.

A hand or two later,
I get A.Q middle position suited and raise to $30, two callers.

Flop is A, shit card heart, shit card heart.
I bet $75
They both call.
Turn-nothing significant
I bet $75
River nothing significant

I check cause I have no bloody idea, they both check both chasing flushes.
Wow
Karma for the previous hands

I walk away a few hands later making $185 profit after investing $750.

Table is pre-flop friendly, 8 limp in ($5) I am on big blind with Pocket 7's.
I raise to $25- 5 callers.

Flop 8,7, 4. rainbow

I'm first to act and I raise to $75,

Every one folds except one young guy who thinks then calls.
I'm not sure what why the hell he is calling?
Turn is a 5.

I make a feeler bet of $50 , he re-raises instantly to All in, $180 more for me to call. I can afford it.

Big fold there. $180 investment to potentially win around $500. You have 10 clean outs, so are roughly a 10 to 35 underdog to win if he has a straight. Pot is laying you 2.5 to 1. It's a clear fold if you know he has a straight, but judging how often someone will bluff in that situation (or show up with a worse hand like 44 or 87) is difficult.

I walk away a few hands later making $185 profit after investing $750.

Nice job.

Conrad Treasurey casino

No limit $2.50-$5.
Max buy in $250.

it seems to me at a lot of casino's you can only buy-in for 50 big blinds.... i really don't like it. star city is the same at most of their tables from memory, although ive never played there - was speaking to a mate last week who plays there a lot.

In perth the buy in for 5/5 is 20 to 100 BB's, though occasinally if demand is there they will open a 5/5 with a 200-1000 buy-in, so basically 40-200 BB's.

Good effort Royal Flush, though I would have bet a bit more on the turn with the AQ.

i'll be playing at Adelaide casino this week, will report back some time.

read somewhere it's the best value casino in australia in terms of low rake, no time charge and drinks are pretty cheap....

I've updated some details in the first post re Adelaide. Played Saturday night and Sunday night. Max of 3 tables running 2-3, 1-2 and 4-8 limit also usually running. Up $400 over the weekend.

One hand came up on Sunday night. 65cc in the CO. LAG Greek raised to 18 UTG, two callers, I call in position. Flop 7c-3c-3d. I saw the two clubs first and I'm thinking "Come on miracle flop!" UTG bets 98 on the flop, next guy calls, one folds, I half think to push for 400 or so, I'm putting the caller on a better flush draw than me, and I fold :(. Turn is a miracle, 4h. UTG bets 120, other guy calls. River is Qd, UTG bets 200, other guy folds. UTG shows 95o :mad:. But other guy had AJcc, so my read on him was right and I guess I can justify my fold. I probably tank call if the other guy had folded.

On another table, I saw a guy with AQhh flop broadway, turn the nut flush and river a royal :eek:

Last major hand on Sunday night, I get 10-9ss OTB. There's a raise to 15, 3 callers, I call. Flop Jc-8c-4d. PFR bets 40, one guy min-raises to 80, I call assuming PFR won't 3-bet. He doesn't, he calls. Turn is a blank. PFR checks, other guy pushes for 101. I'm behind but I'm not buying this aggression. PFR is confused and reluctantly folds AJ he said later. Other guy says my Jack is good! So I'm assuming he has an 8.

So, what did he have, and what was the river?

But other guy had AJcc, so my read on him was right and I guess I can justify my fold. I probably tank call if the other guy had folded.

I probably also fold this after the call (reasoning that the fold equity is too small), but if it goes heads up I reckon a shove is definitely better than a call.

Last major hand on Sunday night, I get 10-9ss OTB. There's a raise to 15, 3 callers, I call. Flop Jc-8c-4d. PFR bets 40, one guy min-raises to 80, I call assuming PFR won't 3-bet. He doesn't, he calls. Turn is a blank. PFR checks, other guy pushes for 101. I'm behind but I'm not buying this aggression. PFR is confused and reluctantly folds AJ he said later. Other guy says my Jack is good! So I'm assuming he has an 8.

So, what did he have, and what was the river?
As I said, one guy (wrongly) folded his AJ. Aggressor was betting with 99. River was a 10.

Played at Jupiters on Saturday night after about seven Long Island ice teas so I was suitably *******.

Bought in for $100 on the 1/2 table. First hand hit two pair on the flop which I overbet to no calls and won about $20. Second hand nothing, third hand get Q8s early which I should not have played out of position but the drinks got me. Limpers all round and hit JT9 on the flop. Someone bets about 10, I raise to 25, he calls. Turn came a K which to my drink-addled mind made me happy but upon looking back was a terrible card. Anyway, my opponent checked, I bet, he thought I was bluffing and re-raised, and I re-re-raised all in.

He hits nothing on the river and I walk away after three hands with about $270.

Good times.

not a nice day;

$22 tournament in town, 10k chips and 25/50 blinds to start so a good tournament. about 20-25 runners, got to final 8 about 6th in chips. going ok blinds 400/800, i have about 11k, i have JT latish position. standard raise to 2400, dealer shoves for about 6k. not entirely happy but really have to call, he has 77. the best i could hope for but i don't hit. before the blinds get around i have KQs, insta-shove first into the pot. BB is the only caller and showes J9... flop comes QAx :) turn comes T (8 outs for BB), river comes K :(

APL freeroll tonight just not my night;
pocket tens standard raise 3xbb, flop comes 9-high, i shove for just abit more than the pot, called by pocket fours who's a set and rivers quads.

i'm not in the next hand but the same lass has pocket kings, flops top set and turns quads. anyone seen the same person gets quads two hands in a row?? freaky....

about 5 hands later i'm very shortstacked in the BB, there's about 600 in the pot pre flop and i have 150 left and have 58 flop comes 544.... surely no ones got a naked four. i throw in my 150, one caller who played K4o UTG :)rolleyes:)... she rivers the case four for quads again.

luckily this is an APL freeroll, all a bit of fun, and i can get back in with drinks card. i have 2000 chips blinds 100/200 and double up to about 4500 over a couple of nice hands.

have AT utg+1, i raise to 700. next player calls, next player shoves for 1100, cut off calls, blinds fold, i call, original players calls. so there's about 5000 in the all-in and a dead side pot.

flop comes QTx check around to the last player who decides to bet into the side pot... 600's the bet. not folding that. turn is a blank, another 600 bet, i call. river is a blank.... i check, she bets 2000.... i fold. she shows AJ for nothing.... nice bluff into the dead side pot.

next hand A7, i raise to 600. pretty ambitious but i'm a bit over it. someone shoves for their last 200. dealer puts me all-in, i fold thinking for sure he's got a better ace. he shows K9.... flop comes 7-high and turn is a 7.....

i shove not long after with junk and busto....

very frustrating day. such is poker though :)

Treasury Casino Brisbane $2.5/$5, $100-$250 buy in.

My first hand AK early position, take it out with Top pair Kings.
Welcome to the table.
It was a non-raising preflop table. A few hands later I get pocket 4's in the SB. Calls all around,so I raise $20, incase of a re-raise. 8 callers. LOL

Flop is 7 J 4 with two hearts. I come out firing to get the chaisers out $75.
Two callers late position. An Asian dude covered in gold and a regular guy, I'm sure he lives at the poker table.
No heart , no heart - I was sure one of them was drawing a flush.
Turn no heart, so come out firing again-$100
was my bet. Call, Call.
One more card- River is a Jack so I hit more full house. All I had was about $50 left-all in. Asian guy says '***" and folds, the other guy thinks thinks thinks, I reckon he's counting his pot odds or something. Eventually calls. I show my pocket 44, and he just shows a 4 and I hav no idea what he was doing? He must have had Ace 4?

A $785 pot. I said to myself that I would leave if I got to $1000, but I got there in 1 hour. I thought to myself I'm hear to play poker, just dont lose it.
I eventually played for another 7 hours and left $300 ahead.
This is a hard game.
Anybody have tips on how to maintain a big stack? I tend to play better with a reasonable stack like twice the buy in. Is taking the odd $100 chip from your stack ethical? Cause it's the only way I can be assured of playing good poker and making money?

The Casino is very hard because you have all sorts of players and standards. That night I made some excellent folds also which saved me heaps$. All in all I didn't make many mistakes, just maybe a couple that cost me a bit. Others just got lucky on the river.

Flop is 7 J 4 with two hearts. I come out firing to get the chaisers out $75.
Two callers late position. An Asian dude covered in gold and a regular guy, I'm sure he lives at the poker table.
No heart , no heart - I was sure one of them was drawing a flush.
Turn no heart, so come out firing again-$100

Pot is $160 if there were 8 callers. You're not going to get chasers out betting less than 1/2 the pot. You turn bet is also far too small considering there's like $400 in by that point.

Bet, say, $130 on the flop, and then shove turn regardless of what comes.

Anybody have tips on how to maintain a big stack? I tend to play better with a reasonable stack like twice the buy in. Is taking the odd $100 chip from your stack ethical? Cause it's the only way I can be assured of playing good poker and making money?

Not only is it unethical, it's downright disallowed by the Casino.

If you really feel you play badly with a large stack, and don't want to have that amount of money at play, maybe changing games/tables is the way to go. Not sure how many games run at Brisbane though, so don't know if that's possible.

I'm fairly sure you're wrong there. By law, ratholing IS allowed in NSW and QLD. Thus, I would do whatever I personally feel comfortable with. RF, confirm with floor staff that you are allowed to chip down, they will probably say that you can, but it is frowned upon. So if you want to pocket $200-$300, just do it.

Pot is $160 if there were 8 callers. You're not going to get chasers out betting less than 1/2 the pot. You turn bet is also far too small considering there's like $400 in by that point.

Bet, say, $130 on the flop, and then shove turn regardless of what comes..

On reflection and actually writing this I realized it was too small a bet. But in context of the table it was big enough to get 6 to fold. Your right, there was one flush chaser who called.
The other had a piece of the flop.

If you really feel you play badly with a large stack, and don't want to have that amount of money at play, maybe changing games/tables is the way to go. Not sure how many games run at Brisbane though, so don't know if that's possible..

Brisbane is wierd because people do take chips away and apparently it is not illegal(?). There are only 6 tables and the wait is like 1 hour.

Are there poker players here that have the discipline to leave when they have achived their goal? Because I dont get free nights to play poker much, I cant help but play for as long as I can.

Other Australasian casinos (not Crown or Burswood)