Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion

I live in Adelaide, Mark. It's a funny old place! I don't know many Collingwood people at all, so I have to make do with whoever comes along!

I've even got a Carlton friend, FWIW!!

we all have to make compromises... i've lived in fremantle for a long time. I've never been able to support south fremantle in the WAFL even though they play down the road. I have made friends with fremantle people, but I never admit to it on BF...and Port people are another level...but i dont judge you...and I suppose port people start looking like actual human beings if you live with them long enough

He is not that good
They are tight for list spots
They want to free cap room to target Houston

It's got to be cap space. He isn't that good, but it still makes no sense to me at all as surely he's on pretty much the minimum for a 5 or 6 year player - or however long he's been around. Did they really **** up his last contract?

They don't if you just sit near them at the footy.

yeh it's inappropriate to have them there. I can see how they fit in with the bunnings policy of taking your dogs to the store...but the line has to be drawn somewhere.

Talking about pets......I've heard on social media that they eat them...

Gerard Healy has had another go with his push in the back umpiring.

I have to say that I'm with Gerard with this one. The rule is usually forgotten, except for curious times when a player is jumped on. Players push opponents out in marking contests and everyone ignores it.

I know this rule is hard to adjudicate. There are times when the player behind needs to stop the player in front from pushing back onto them....but what is happening now is completely against the rule in the book.

And yet, rucks will get frees for nothing. Players will get frees if their opponents just tug on their jumpers. The whole thing is a mess.

While I'm at it, players should be required to hold marks - to control the ball until it is punched away or until the player hits the ground or their opponent.

Currently, players are dropping marks but umpires are paying them.

I live in Adelaide, Mark. It's a funny old place! I don't know many Collingwood people at all, so I have to make do with whoever comes along!

I've even got a Carlton friend, FWIW!!

Exactly. In a backwater like Adelaide, we can’t exactly afford to be too choosy about who we interact with.

Geelong is exploring a move for delisted Carlton forward Jack Martin as part of plans to help keep the Cats in premiership contention next year.
Martin looks a certain to find a new home next season with the Cats set to join Fremantle in the race for the 29-year-old.

Geelong has specialised in its mature-age recruiting missions over the past two decades and are eyeing Martin as a talented forward who could immediately add to their forward mix.

But he will have to pass a medical assessment after struggling with injuries in his five-year stint at Carlton which yielded only three senior games this season.
Martin would be a like-for-like replacement for Gary Rohan who could be delisted by the Cats at season’s end.

Hinkley has had a very long run at Port, and despite having a decent team for much of that time, they've most of the time failed miserably when it really matters, come finals time. He's very lucky to still be there, and unless they can somehow defy the odds and go on and win the flag, they need to give someone else a go. Acting like a juvenile and embarrassing himself and his club only makes it look worse for him. I would think most Port supporters would want him gone, and doubt many would be taken in simply because they've just snuck in at home against a young, inexperienced opponent. I have a good friend who is a Power supporter, and though he did hope they won the other night, he added that if they were to lose again he wanted it to be by a big enough margin that Hinkley getting the boot would have seemed inevitable! Lose badly to Sydney and that might still happen!

Telling a a cocky little smart arse that he's not catching a flight, is not embarrassing yourself.

What a world we live in.

I reckon there’s a bit of a “the natives are getting restless” going on.

We were well over Buckley by the time he left after 9 and a half seasons, getting to 4 finals, 1 GF and no Premierships …

… so we can understand how the proud Port people feel after 12 seasons, getting to 5 finals, no GF and no Premierships (yet).

Its a tough one. Ken dragged the club off the canvas from the tarp era.

He's got them to many a finals series, where they've failed every time.

He's got them them into another Prelim. The players proved on Fri night that it all comes down to them in a final. A coach can only do so much.

Port's record against Sydney is brilliant in recent years. You'd be surprised but not totally shocked if they won. Is it time for Kenny to go? Probably, but he's not getting sacked on the back of making at least another prelim.

An article in todays Herald Sun about the ingredients to Geelong's sustained success. I have only highlighted a bit about this weeks team: "If defender Sam De Koning gets picked to play against Brisbane he will be the highest draft pick – No. 19 in 2019 – the Cats have used to create this team.

Nine players in this team the Cats have got directly out of the national draft with their selections, ranging from No. 19 to No. 63 while seven have graduated from the club’s rookie list.

“I think Geelong in particular, through picks 40 to 60, or the third, fourth round and rookies, it feels like they have been able to maximise those picks as well as anyone in the competition,” Taylor said.

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

An article in todays Herald Sun about the ingredients to Geelong's sustained success. I have only highlighted a bit about this weeks team: "If defender Sam De Koning gets picked to play against Brisbane he will be the highest draft pick – No. 19 in 2019 – the Cats have used to create this team.

Nine players in this team the Cats have got directly out of the national draft with their selections, ranging from No. 19 to No. 63 while seven have graduated from the club’s rookie list.

“I think Geelong in particular, through picks 40 to 60, or the third, fourth round and rookies, it feels like they have been able to maximise those picks as well as anyone in the competition,” Taylor said.

On SM-N975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Their recruiting strategy is much better than what we have. Leppa has gone on record as saying we will be looking at different strategies to drafting and it's about time. Time to think outside the box or outside Hines list

Is there a drafting strategy we haven’t tried?

Rookie draft. Cat B overseas. Cat B local. Mid season. SSP. Father-son. Drafting athletes and turning them into footballers. Drafting footballers and building up their athletic base. Drafting basketballers. Drafting soccer players. Drafting from all around the country. Drafting from the local leagues. Drafting mature players.

It’s not as if our squad is bristling with first round draft picks?

Our list management has always been thinking out of the box …

… maybe the only thing we haven’t tried is thinking inside the box?

Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion