Our best rolling 22

Ed still doesn't get the credit he deserves.

In 2020 he ranked:

- #1 at the club for centre bounces attended;
- Top 30 for clearances, second at the club behind Cripps;
- Top 10 for tackles, top 5 if you exclude finals; and
- Top 20 for inside 50s, top 15 if you exclude finals

Sure, we'll start phasing him out at some point but he's still far too important for us to remove him completely. That just won't happen in 2021.

Jack may not be slower than Ed but speed isn't what Ed brings to the table.

Don't mind having more of a look at Jack in the midfield but he doesn't have anywhere near the endurance or contested game that Ed does.
Ed's main asset in the clearances is that he is strong and knows how to position himself and use his body to ensure his opponent (generally the opposition's #1 threat) just doesn't get access to the ball, while he does. He can also take a physical beating from the opposition trying to make space for their guy, while he is unflappable has remarkable powers of concentration. He's not one to collect the ball and burst from the stoppage and hit a forward lace out but that's mostly due to his positioning and our strategy, given he always sets up body on body, not floating without a man or on the run with the tap being directed to him.

He's an extremely competent AFL player and it would take a real leap of faith in our stoppage plans and personnel to see him shifted out of that role. If we felt that TDK would reliably win the tap and direct it to Cripps, Williams and Walsh, we may move away from needing to negate the opposition, rather letting them worry about us. I think Ed would still play a major role in stoppages around the ground but perhaps our centre clearance strategy could evolve.

Ed still doesn't get the credit he deserves.

In 2020 he ranked:

- #1 at the club for centre bounces attended;
- Top 30 for clearances, second at the club behind Cripps;
- Top 10 for tackles, top 5 if you exclude finals, 1st at the club; and
- Top 20 for inside 50s, top 15 if you exclude finals, second at the club behind Walsh

Sure, we'll start phasing him out at some point but he's still far too important for us to remove him completely. That just won't happen in 2021.

Jack may not be slower than Ed but speed isn't what Ed brings to the table.

Don't mind having more of a look at Jack in the midfield but he doesn't have anywhere near the endurance or contested game that Ed does.
Yep. I should have added in my little pontification earlier that it's probably not going to work like that in 2021, it's more of a PE (post-Ed) era. Between Cripps, Setterfield & Ed as inside mids, with Walsh & Williams as inside/outside players, we're already running out of opportunity for another player to get any significant time inside, provided those players above aren't spending significant time elsewhere (ie Cripps forward, Walsh wing, Williams hbf, etc).

I reckon Ed will either start in the square or on the bench as the first midfield rotation coming onto the ground.

CARLTON

B:
Caleb Marchbank, Liam Jones, Lachie Plowman
HB: Adam Saad, Jacob Weitering, Sam Docherty
C: Sam Petrevski-Seton, Sam Walsh, Marc Murphy
HF: Jack Martin, Charlie Curnow, Zac Fisher
F: Eddie Betts, Harry McKay, Michael Gibbons
FOLL: Tom De Koning, Patrick Cripps, Zac Williams
I/C: Will Setterfield, Ed Curnow, Levi Casboult, Jack Newnes

A pretty good line up Fox Footy, but I would have to go with Willo as the winger on the interchange instead of Newnes.

CARLTON

B:

A pretty good line up Fox Footy, but I would have to go with Willo as the winger on the interchange instead of Newnes.
Yep agree that’s my best 22 and I also have Willo instead of Newnes, which says plenty for our depth going into 2021. Newman for Marchy is the other possible change.

Love Ed but IMO, we need to move on from him this year. Team defence needs to be our mental strategy in the middle of the ground now and we have the players to replace him who will add more to the team offensively. I'd be disappointed if Cripps, Setterfield and Walsh weren't our starting mids for most games. All are ready.
As for Kennedy, the 2 inside mids that I believe might take his spot would be Stocker or Fogarty.
I like that starting mid group. Ed has to be part of that this year though. Value adds to the side on so many levels: two way running, accountability, hard ball gets and hits the scoreboard more than expected. This is widely known. Rotations need to be more frequent and system based, not beat up the same core ala 2020.

Don’t think any of these kids would see the year out playing Ed Curnow’s role. Takes a rare sort of athlete to play such a physical role while still clocking up almost the most miles of anyone on the ground each week. And yes I know how awesome Walsh is but we don’t want him to be as injury prone as Josh Kelly, he’s still maturing and needs plenty of time on the wing and to be turned into an on baller gradually.
Unique quality. Would have to be the fittest contested beast in the comp. The guy is a machine. Not pretty but hugely effective over extended periods. None of that next brigade could sustain that. Would also ramp up the already significant battering that Cripps would receive taking Curnow out of the mix. You loose a bit on skill/execution but sum of the parts would suggest he stays for a season or two more till someone is kicking the door down.

Love Ed but IMO, we need to move on from him this year. Team defence needs to be our mental strategy in the middle of the ground now and we have the players to replace him who will add more to the team offensively. I'd be disappointed if Cripps, Setterfield and Walsh weren't our starting mids for most games. All are ready.
As for Kennedy, the 2 inside mids that I believe might take his spot would be Stocker or Fogarty.

Ed will be the last of the veterans to go mate, Murphy and Eddie 100% go before Ed.

Kennedy is half-forward at best, 0 chance he ever plays consistent midfield.

Would say Ed has 2-3 years left in him would be a huge mistake to left him go too soon, no-one works harder than he does, consummate Carlton Blues workhorse.

Looks quite good, but personally I would take out either Gov or Casboult and bring in one of Murphy, Betts or Fogarty.

Up forward, there's Charlie, McKay, Gov and JSOS. In defence you've got Jones, Weiters, Marchy and Plowman. Bringing in Levi into any of those lines, I just fear we would be too tall and/or slow.

In a fully fit side, there will be some serious competition between Casboult and McGovern.

Looks quite good, but personally I would take out either Gov or Casboult and bring in one of Murphy, Betts or Fogarty.

Up forward, there's Charlie, McKay, Gov and JSOS. In defence you've got Jones, Weiters, Marchy and Plowman. Bringing in Levi into any of those lines, I just fear we would be too tall and/or slow.

In a fully fit side, there will be some serious competition between Casboult and McGovern.
I agree and I was going to omit Casboult but just thought that TDK may not be ready to play 100% ruck. If another one of our talls could take some ruck time I'd remove one of those talls for a small.

CARLTON

B:

A few tweaks but pretty much how I'd see them lining up;

CARLTON

B:
Lachie Plowman, Liam Jones, Caleb Marchbank
HB: Sam Docherty, Jacob Weitering, Adam Saad
C: Will Setterfield, Sam Walsh, Sam Petrevski-Seton
HF: Marc Murphy, Levi Casboult, Jack Martin
F: *JSOS*, Harry McKay, Zac Fisher
I/C: Eddie Betts, Ed Curnow, Michael Gibbons, Tom Williamson

A few tweaks but pretty much how I'd see them lining up;

CARLTON

B:
Lachie Plowman, Liam Jones, Caleb Marchbank
HB: Sam Docherty, Jacob Weitering, Adam Saad
C: Will Setterfield, Sam Walsh, Sam Petrevski-Seton
HF: Marc Murphy, Levi Casboult, Jack Martin
F: *JSOS*, Harry McKay, Zac Fisher
I/C: Eddie Betts, Ed Curnow, Michael Gibbons, Tom Williamson
Much prefer this version to Fox Footy's one. Would love to see JSOS start forward but rotate into the guts to allow Cripps to rest up in the forward line. Exciting times.

I agree and I was going to omit Casboult but just thought that TDK may not be ready to play 100% ruck. If another one of our talls could take some ruck time I'd remove one of those talls for a small.
I think either Teague or another one of the coaches in their press conferences a few weeks ago, mentioned that McKay was doing some ruck work during this pre-season.

Round One v Richmond

B- Saad Jones Plowman
HB- Docherty Weitering Williamson
C- Walsh Setterfield Williams
HF- Cuningham Casboult Martin
F- McGovern McKay Fisher
R- DeKoning Cripps Dow
I- SPS Murphy Curnow Fogarty
E- Silvagni Betts Pittonett Marchbank

Another week another run through - :)

Docherty Jones Plowman
Saad Weitering SPS.................Changed my mind on SPS, as can see the fit better now with Saad in the backline and Walsh, Williamson and Walsh falling back.

De Koning Cripps Williams
Walsh Setterfield Williamson......I like this starting midfield set-up. Just seems right with Walsh having midfield stints along with ECurnow, obviously.

Martin McKay Fisher
McGovern CCurnow Betts..........Still scope for Fogarty or Gibbons to get involved.

ECurnow Murphy Casboult Marchbank.....Really tricky here and there's others I'd sooner include, but it's a work in progress.

Another week another run through - :)

Docherty Jones Plowman
Saad Weitering SPS.................Changed my mind on SPS, as can see the fit better now with Saad in the backline and Walsh, Williamson and Walsh falling back.

De Koning Cripps Williams
Walsh Setterfield Williamson......I like this starting midfield set-up. Just seems right with Walsh having midfield stints along with ECurnow, obviously.

Martin McKay Fisher
McGovern CCurnow Betts..........Still scope for Fogarty or Gibbons to get involved.

ECurnow Murphy Casboult Marchbank.....Really tricky here and there's others I'd sooner include, but it's a work in progress.

Talk about hedging bets

And, thought Fog was a lay down misere over Gibbo, softening I see

Talk about hedging bets

And, thought Fog was a lay down misere over Gibbo, softening I see

It's unfortunate we can't get in to view training at the moment, as real opinions are formed from what you see there.
This is just for a little 'fun' Maybe that will change in the New Year, as things relax a little more.

Hedging bets? Lay down misère? No one said that. It's just in your imagination.
My experience is that players traded in, most often front up come round one, if health allows. No big revelation here.

Ed will be the last of the veterans to go mate, Murphy and Eddie 100% go before Ed.

Kennedy is half-forward at best, 0 chance he ever plays consistent midfield.

Would say Ed has 2-3 years left in him would be a huge mistake to left him go too soon, no-one works harder than he does, consummate Carlton Blues workhorse.
Expect longer quarters run 2021 will only make him more important. Endurance beast!

It's unfortunate we can't get in to view training at the moment, as real opinions are formed from what you see there.
This is just for a little 'fun' Maybe that will change in the New Year, as things relax a little more.

Hedging bets? Lay down misère? No one said that. It's just in your imagination.
My experience is that players traded in, most often front up come round one, if health allows. No big revelation here.

You must truly be losing your mind

Our best rolling 22