Autopsy Our home losing streak and our current sorry state of affairs.

Not sure where he played, left, right, back and over - he was invisible.

He got injured in the second half and went off. Came back on and did nothing and was eventually subbed.

Also he showed far too much intensity around the contest and willingness to take the game on with run and carry so Simmo moved him to the forward pocket to get him out of the action.

• 7 losses in a row with more to come given our draw
  • Game plan is non existent
  • Injuries and Covid
  • Season over after Round 3

Clearly should have started rebuilding in the previous draft but no. Whose choice was it ? was it Simmo's or Nisbetts? or our list manager? Hurn and Kennedy
as legendary as they have been for us are clearly cooked and now are just keeping games away from youngsters.

Gaff should have been traded, his value will diminish further whilst last year it would have been high enough to attract a couple of first round picks.

Darling is shot, people forget he was woefully out of form at the end of last season he kicked like 15 goals in his last 13 games or something and yes has missed a lot of footy but continues to look no where near it.

No second Ruckman standing up, that's a huge gap that needs filling ASAP.

Rotham has gone backwards, a player who I thought his star would rise.

Who the hell has been advising Harry Edwards? he still looks underdeveloped for a Key backman, he should have more muscle by now.

So frustrating that the season is so young yet it's going to be nothing but misery for the entire year.

7 losses in a row is equal 2nd worst for us.
8 being the worst which I can't see us not breaking easily.

Owen?
Owen Wilson?
O and.
0 and Nathan Wilson.
Thanks for reminding me that Nathan Wilson has never played in a winning game against us since coming to Freo and declaring his hatred for the Eagles.
Small victories, I'll take it.

Utter trash performance the lack of effort was unbelievable.

Positives: Gov and Hurn held the backline up as well as they could
Naish having a crack needs to work on his foot skills but endeavour is there.
Nic Nat 2nd half back to what we expect.
Foley was serviceable again a bit of polishing required but heading the right way.

Negatives: Witherden. Needless to say why the Lions gave him away for steak knives because that is all he is worth. No defensive pressure no intensity literally needs to be dropped. And turns it over a lot for a supposedly good kick.
Darling your lack of being a team player has come back to bite the club. So under done and lacking intensity.
Small defenders. Do we have any that actually play on a man. Spuds like Shultz, Colyer and Banfield tearing us a new one. Where is the development from.below.
SPS where were you mate??

We had half a team out but effort of first 2 weeks wasn't there that was what was disappointing.

Can't get any worse onwards and upwards

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

+
WA on the verge of a first Sheffield Shield triumph in 23 years
Aussie girls won the World Cup
I didn't watch the footy
Draft picks

-
Freo supporters will be unentitledly arrogant for a while.
That's me too, son and his girlfriend visiting from Adelaide, gifted our tickets to the neighbours, drinking and eating didn't watch it.
No pain.

Huge negative for me was Zac Langdon, not once but twice, failing to put his head down and chase a Freo defender streaming out of our forward line.

You’re as fringe as fringe players come Zac; you don’t get to pick and choose when you’re going to go full bore or not.

Hard to really gauge it. Half the best side is out and hasn’t been close to the park this year…..and half the ones that played tonight are coming off either having COVID or being in Iso.

The season is done - but it was always a bit of an uphill battle.

Will we ever get close to our best group on the park? - probably not - very little has gone right this year, but it’d be nice to see how that group goes…
Season Is Done

Positive: we should get 3 good draft picks assuming Poort continue to struggle with us having their 2nd round pick.

Negative: we will pick up KPPs and refuse to get midfielders (although we might add /midfielder to their real position) to pretend they are midfielders.

Huge negative for me was Zac Langdon, not once but twice, failing to put his head down and chase a Freo defender streaming out of our forward line.

You’re as fringe as fringe players come Zac; you don’t get to pick and choose when you’re going to go full bore or not.

IMG_2710.JPG

Not all bad

I didn't mind West. He at least got his hands on the footy and I can see him developing into a Priddis type. Where he seemed to let himself down was his defensive positioning. I'd rather see West given an opportunity to build over O'Neill.
West can also tackle.

Sent from my SM-G998B using Tapatalk

...Gaff should have been traded, his value will diminish further whilst last year it would have been high enough to attract a couple of first round picks...

giphy.gif

Also he was very fumbly.

JFC...posters still talking about our "Kick-Mark" or "Possession" game plan.

There's no game plan...or if there is the entire coaching staff should be shot out of a cannon. The players cannot or will not execute anything approaching a semblance of a plan.

A message of "just go out and play" would be more effective than what we are doing.

There's the excuses of cattle but the fact is the more listed players we put on the park, the less effort is given, for a shorter amount of time.

None of them believe in what they are being asked to do, which is a 1 way street for the guys with the message. It's just a matter of how much pain the club goes through before the band-aid gets ripped off.

Last weeks gutsy performance vs what we served up this week should have alarms going off all over but that doesn't seem to be something that happens at Lathlain these days.

Has anyone asked why west coast have been hit way harder with covid than freo? If i were you guys i'd be asking a lot of questions about (your coach) why you as a club have been hit so much harder.

Older players who have kids which means that are far more likely to have to isolate due to close contacts than the Cockburn players.

I'm a little baffled here by the emotive response to what was undoubtedly a poor effort. Considering the circumstances, can we really be that gutted that our team struggled to maintain their effort levels today? We picked several less midfielders than we ordinarily would, half the team is recovering from COVID, it's been a taxing opening three rounds of the season and we're playing several underdone players that wouldn't be near the AFL side right now if we had better availability (Edwards, West coming back from injuries). The fact that we struggled to execute any sort of game plan playing a vastly different 22 week to week should come as a surprise to no one.

We need to look at this year as an opportunity. COVID & injury has forced our hand into exposing our youth to games, something we've been reluctant to do in recent years. I reckon there's a bit to work with from what we've seen this year so far from guys like Luke Foley, Luke Edwards, Bailey Williams, Brady Hough & Jamaine Jones. Through necessity, these guys are likely to accumulate games this year and they're likely to be better for that. They're no world beaters but I think SPS, Naish, Witherden and Dixon have the potential to be good solid fringe players in a good side. When you consider that in the context of what we gave up for them, that's a bit of a win. Getting frustrated that these guys aren't better is probably looking at it out of context.

Obviously we'd love to be pumping games into elite talent right now but the reality is we don't have much of that on the list. Our first round draft pick busted his ankle when he first touched the ball in the preseason - that's just shit luck. We can't control that, it is what it is. Oscar Allen is probably the best young(ish) talent we've got, again, unavailable.

I think this year presents as an interesting opportunity for us. We could snatch a pretty high draft pick that we ordinarily wouldn't be bad enough to obtain. I reckon with a fit list we'd be sitting 3-0 right now, but still be facing the same issue of lacking the talent to replace the ageing stars we have. Instead, we've dropped three relatively easy fixtures and are set to regain most of our list back in time for a pretty hard stretch of games. I can see us having a good back end of the season, displaying the quality that I still believe is there, but still ultimately having dropped enough games to nab a top 5-6 pick. Involuntarily, this season has been forced into a development year of sorts, and I think as fans we will be ultimately be happier if we embrace this year as such. With some support from some actual midfielders playing for once, I reckon a bunch of these young/fringe types could really blossom.

On the live draft order we currently hold picks 2, 20 and 21. Realistically, I expect that to blow out to about 5, 25 and 30. We get those picks right, along with 20 odd games into some of the guys I mentioned, this could turn out to be a pretty productive year for us. It may all seem doom and gloom right now, but the transition is coming, and there's plenty we can still do this year to help that process along.

Autopsy Our home losing streak and our current sorry state of affairs.