Strategy Our Next Senior Coach: 2019 & Beyond... is Matthew Nicks

Our next senior coach...

Yeah I gotta say that whilst I am interested in who our head coach is going to be, I am more interested in what the package he brings along. So I am expecting the AFC to announce a team of coaches tomorrow and who makes up that team will determine how we go next year.

Likewise. I reckon Nicks is going to be someone who needs support with the tactical side of things (which is fine, teams exist for a reason) going by his history, so I'm also curious on how it goes.

If he/we can bring in someone tactically sound, and focus on his strengths, then he could work out quite nicely for a couple of years at least.

Actually laughable how many people on this board think they know who the right candidate is — and why Nicks isn’t. Please.

Give the bloke a chance for crying out loud. This whole “but he coached at Port and GWS only kicked 3 goals on GF” argument is so flawed. Back him in.

Couldn’t agree more. Nicks doesn’t “excite me” I must admit. But that is purely because I know absolutely nothing of his abilities. The club has gone through a coach search for a reason and they will choose who they feel was the best candidate. So unless any of us were on the selection committee we as fans owe it to anybody who is selected to at least give them a go before we judge them.

I just don't understand the judgments either way re: Nicks. He hasn't been confirmed, and if it is him, literally hasn't even started the job.
Because he was one of the worst candidates out of all the rumoured coaches.

Which mostly reflects poorly on the Adelaide football club, as he was probably the fifth or sixth in line. if they weren't such a cluster#### and got a genuine coach with their first, second of third option we would still see Nicks being an assistant in GWS for a few years...but now he's here. Running our team.

Because he was one of the worst candidates out of all the rumoured coaches.

Which mostly reflects poorly on the Adelaide football club, as he was probably the fifth or sixth in line. if they weren't such a cluster#### and got a genuine coach with their first, second of third option we would still see Nicks being an assistant in GWS for a few years...but now he's here. Running our team.
How do you know he was 5th or 6th in line?

If Trade week ends and we haven't announced the whole coaching panel that's pretty shit.... player may want to come here once they are announced.
No they won't. I can guarantee no player is connected to Nicks that would make him want to come here. Especially from GWS.

The club has publicly stated they are concentrating on draft and not trades this year due to the cluster####

In typical AFC supporter fashion, let's all bag the coach before he even starts the job and why.....

a) because he was at Port under Hinkley.
b) he lost the most recent GF.
c) because I heard him talk once and he sounded a little meh!
d) some mate of the postie's brother heard that he was the 4th or 5th choice.
e) the shine from his head.
f) because he's not Clarko.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

We have the horse, how long until Spok and Swan97 take to return...

If Yze is named it will be a race to who had the inside info first!!

In typical AFC supporter fashion, let's all bag the coach before he even starts the job and why.....

a) because he was at Port under Hinkley.
b) he lost the most recent GF.
c) because I heard him talk once and he sounded a little meh!
d) some mate of the postie's brother heard that he was the 4th or 5th choice.
e) the shine from his head.
f) because he's not Clarko.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

g) because he has the puppet look like pyke
h) looks like a testical head cop that walks laps of adelaide oval on game day

I’ve def learnt my lesson to not report what I hear - even if I trust the person telling me.
I won’t be doing this again. You just get shot down.
Isn’t that what Big Footy is all about - people post stuff and we choose to believe or not

This has been pretty boring this year because we all know no players are coming to us - no one has even bothered to make stuff up!
At least we banter about who might coach us