Ovens and King Football League 2006-2010

ha well atleat we know session cant handle the pressure!
at the end of the day he is still a great player, and im pretty sure any club would be more than happy to have him. but, great games all round, unlucky for whorouly 3rds to come from behind like they did and force time on, but the side that was leading all day prevailed in the end by a point and congratulations to them. twos also a great game, first couple of minutes looked bad for the tigers, but to their credit fought back well, only disappointing part of the game was haddrick king hit on glenrowan player well behind play, and from where i was sitting plenty of tarra supporters not happy with him about it either. and seniors what an unbelievable great game played by both sides, many could blame daws for his stupidity and getting sent off at a crucial time, but to tarras credit they fought back and were unlucky not to win, had sessho kicked that goal, most probably would have been the game, but im sure they will be back next year

It was good being a neutral viewer of the game and standing between supporters from both clubs....Tarra supporters have become accustomed to winning (regardless)and the milawa mob believed it was their right to win, made for some interesting bi play and comments.....and scuffles.

2 best quotes during the arvo that I heard were (1) You have to watch that umpire in the orange ????? and (2) it was suggested to one of the umpires that he was favouring one side and as such should have umpired the previous game where his former club participated.

There were plenty of inconsistencies but they went both ways.

Overall thought the game was pretty scrappy all day. Dawes made the diff after coming back on on the last qtr, Tarra started getting the ball out of the middle. Pelly was fantastic at chb all day and should have got BOG ( I left before the announcement was made and don't know who got it).
Just wonder though why Bell would have started in the ruck and Dawes across hf, don't reckon that worked cuase Milawa were getting first use.

Tarra's delivery into the forward line wasn't that flash and made it very hard for Okeefe and Sessho to get their hands on it....Reckon Sessho looked uncomfortable all day. As for that miss well, you would back him 100% of the time, bread and butter goals. Sharp busted his gut to get the ball to him and was laying on the ground pumping his arms when sessho marked it.

Thought when Simms went down at 1/4 time that would be the end of Milawa.
Don't know if he got a prem medallion or an Oscar after the game but the big no. 53 milked a fair few. Thought Milawa's on ballers probably won the duel most of the day..

Over all the closeness was what everyone expected.

It would appear that the alleged sighting of a high profile Tigers player in the Albion at 3am'ish on the morning before a final may have been a case of mistaken identity.........Any truth Tige

your rite slim,he was not a happy boy when he found out how it all came about:mad::mad:

Excuse my ignorance, but how it all come about Tige? Im not up to speed with this thread!!!

Who is going to win each clubs B&F's in each grade?

And of club's who already held, who won each grade?

At Milawa, Scott Pell won seniors from Jack Stamp 2nd, Jeff Whitehead 3rd and Mark Scholte 4th.
Reserves went to Jarrod Borcshman, with Ryan Hussey second.
Thirds won by Jeremy Hourigan from Ben Clarke.

Sensational game on Saturday, one of the best country football games I've seen. The showgrounds were in immaculate condition, bright sunny day, huge crowd all made for a great day.

Big call by a Milawa player in the paper saying that Pell was the best defender in the league "by a mile". I thought he got towelled up against Moyhu the week b4 when he played on Moore. He did play a great game on satdy but did he actually have an opponent, cause i thought Johnny Jones played on Rory O'keefe and Allan played on Sesho, surely if he's the best in business he'd pick up one of the oppositions best fowards..

For Greta, Brett Pollard 1st, Brent Nichols 2nd and Shaker came third. While in the seconds Ash Woods won with Matt Saunders runner-up which was a fantastic effort considering it was Matts first season of football ever and he played a senior game.

At Milawa, Scott Pell won seniors from Jack Stamp 2nd, Jeff Whitehead 3rd and Mark Scholte 4th.
Reserves went to Jarrod Borcshman, with Ryan Hussey second.
Thirds won by Jeremy Hourigan from Ben Clarke.

Sensational game on Saturday, one of the best country football games I've seen. The showgrounds were in immaculate condition, bright sunny day, huge crowd all made for a great day.

And of course...2 GREAT WINS!!!!!!!

Big call by a Milawa player in the paper saying that Pell was the best defender in the league "by a mile". I thought he got towelled up against Moyhu the week b4 when he played on Moore. He did play a great game on satdy but did he actually have an opponent, cause i thought Johnny Jones played on Rory O'keefe and Allan played on Sesho, surely if he's the best in business he'd pick up one of the oppositions best fowards..

Agree with you completely there Full...Moore beat him the week before & he hadn't played for 6-8 weeks. Sure he did play well Saturday, but any reasonable player would play well if they didn't have an opponent for a game!

whorouy snrs, wayne millis b&f, shane wheeler 2nd
reserves, daniel harris b&f, paul chalwell 2nd
3rds, murray bennett b&f, jayden carroll 2nd i think

Whats happening with coaches next year?? North Wang and Benalla the only 2 who have advertised? Is newton staying on and wilson?

Agree with you completely there Full...Moore beat him the week before & he hadn't played for 6-8 weeks. Sure he did play well Saturday, but any reasonable player would play well if they didn't have an opponent for a game!

May not be the best one on one against the big forwards, but certainly the best at what he does - reads the play, makes early judgements and attacks the ball. He was beaten by Moore, but that was simply because of moore's ability to lay a late nudge. You can't say he didn't have an opponent on Sat, apart from the 15min Daws was off the ground. If he was running around loose all day, why couldn't Tarra hit Daws or Bell in the pocket, as they would surely have been loose as well. Pell's ability to judge the flight early and run off his opponent makes it appear as if he doesn't have an opponent a lot of the time. Having seen a lot of different sides this year, I would rate Pell the most damaging defender in the comp. Cross between Brian Lake's marking and Matt Scarlett's play making. Any other side would love him.

Good luck to the boy and he had a great GF , but if your going to rate backmen , you need to take into account the one on one ability because at the end of the day its about stopping forwards. Id like to see Sully play that role he played in the GF hed do twice the job , call me biased but give me balf as the backman of choice anyday.

may not be the best one on one against the big forwards, but certainly the best at what he does - reads the play, makes early judgements and attacks the ball. He was beaten by moore, but that was simply because of moore's ability to lay a late nudge. You can't say he didn't have an opponent on sat, apart from the 15min daws was off the ground. If he was running around loose all day, why couldn't tarra hit daws or bell in the pocket, as they would surely have been loose as well. Pell's ability to judge the flight early and run off his opponent makes it appear as if he doesn't have an opponent a lot of the time. Having seen a lot of different sides this year, i would rate pell the most damaging defender in the comp. Cross between brian lake's marking and matt scarlett's play making. Any other side would love him.

"hear hear" nonch....spot on!!!!!!

For Greta, Brett Pollard 1st, Brent Nichols 2nd and Shaker came third. While in the seconds Ash Woods won with Matt Saunders runner-up which was a fantastic effort considering it was Matts first season of football ever and he played a senior game.

*CORRECTION -

Seniors:
1. "Guns"
2. Brett Pollard
3. Brent Nichols
4. Brendan van Schaik

Reservs:
1. "Guns"
2. Ash Woods
3. Matt Saunders

yeah i saw that slim, it was in the chronicle on a wednesday, which only has netball in it, so nobody really buys it that day:thumbsu::D:D but heard today that gary okeefe is staying on at nth wang

Wednesday's Chronicle has been light on in terms of football and mainly focused on the netball, but I really thought the Monday Sports (footy) Liftout was a good edition to the paper.
Kudos Nonch :thumbsu: