Ovens and Murray

Anyone tell me if there was any truth in the rumor of K.Stevens leaving this year that was mentioned a while back?

Also what is the go with that big p*ick Kirby i hear he is still to make a decision on where he's playing in 07??

There seems to be some uncertainty about the Wang Rovers off season recruiting drive. As a player at the club i can confirm 10+ signings, all of excellent calibre and ability.

Tyler Harries - Flanker from North Wang who has always been thought of as too skilled to play in the O&K for as long as he did.

Jamie Bell - Ruckman also from North Wang and highly skilled and mobile. Teamed with Timmy Schuermann, should provide good service from the stopages. Can also play forward

Steve McIntyre - Skilled tall from Melbourne who has come at the invitation of Marcus Webb and Ben Tsamakis. Highly rated and has John McNamara liking his lips at the prospct

Mark Strack - Tough in and under midfielder who won two league medals for Romsey in the Riddel League. Comes with big wraps.

Craig Crzycki - Skillful key position player and ex calder cannons star. Was in line to play last year but had defenc force commitments. Will be an imposing figure at CHF and will team well with star full forward Peter Christoforo. Unsure of correct surname spelling!

Travis Hubble - Technically not a nw playr but a valuable recruit none the less. Has returned from the Sydney lague after a season there and is fit and raring to go. Those who know him are aware that his tagging ability and relentless running are worht their weight in gold.

Aaron Mooney - Cousin of Geelong star Cameron. Aaron is a skilled and hard running midfielder who was being chased havily by many other clubs. Is currently living in Wang and is a prized addition who is hoped will be able to cover the loss of Jamie Allan.

Ben Kneebone - Ben has returned to the Rovers after some years away from the club where he was a star junior. Big man with excellent stamina. Will be looked upon to play as a key backman to and take some of the pressure off the ever reliable veteran Matty Allen.

Lee Gallop - Don't know alot about this guy but have heard that he is a highly rated and much sought after player. Solidly built, skillful, quick and vry fit, he along with his key backman brother (unsure of name) are the Rovers prized recruits for the year. From rumours i have heard, Lee was being chased heavily by Essendon last year to accept a spot on their list however refused for personal reasons. Will be an important figure in the Rover's midfield.

Michael O'Donohue - Emerging key Forward, fresh from a year of Senior football with King Valley in the Ovens & King League. At just 17 years of age, will be looked upon as a goalkicker of the future. Played a game of Seconds for the Rovers at the end of last year and dominated taking many strong grabs and finishing with a couple of goals. A vry exciting prospect.

At this stage these are the only confirmed recruits however i believe the club may still be in discussions withseveral other possible additions, including a ruckman.

There seems to be some uncertainty about the Wang Rovers off season recruiting drive. As a player at the club i can confirm 10+ signings, all of excellent calibre and ability.

Tyler Harries - Flanker from North Wang who has always been thought of as too skilled to play in the O&K for as long as he did.

Jamie Bell - Ruckman also from North Wang and highly skilled and mobile. Teamed with Timmy Schuermann, should provide good service from the stopages. Can also play forward

Steve McIntyre - Skilled tall from Melbourne who has come at the invitation of Marcus Webb and Ben Tsamakis. Highly rated and has John McNamara liking his lips at the prospct

Mark Strack - Tough in and under midfielder who won two league medals for Romsey in the Riddel League. Comes with big wraps.

Craig Crzycki - Skillful key position player and ex calder cannons star. Was in line to play last year but had defenc force commitments. Will be an imposing figure at CHF and will team well with star full forward Peter Christoforo. Unsure of correct surname spelling!

Travis Hubble - Technically not a nw playr but a valuable recruit none the less. Has returned from the Sydney lague after a season there and is fit and raring to go. Those who know him are aware that his tagging ability and relentless running are worht their weight in gold.

Aaron Mooney - Cousin of Geelong star Cameron. Aaron is a skilled and hard running midfielder who was being chased havily by many other clubs. Is currently living in Wang and is a prized addition who is hoped will be able to cover the loss of Jamie Allan.

Ben Kneebone - Ben has returned to the Rovers after some years away from the club where he was a star junior. Big man with excellent stamina. Will be looked upon to play as a key backman to and take some of the pressure off the ever reliable veteran Matty Allen.

Lee Gallop - Don't know alot about this guy but have heard that he is a highly rated and much sought after player. Solidly built, skillful, quick and vry fit, he along with his key backman brother (unsure of name) are the Rovers prized recruits for the year. From rumours i have heard, Lee was being chased heavily by Essendon last year to accept a spot on their list however refused for personal reasons. Will be an important figure in the Rover's midfield.

Michael O'Donohue - Emerging key Forward, fresh from a year of Senior football with King Valley in the Ovens & King League. At just 17 years of age, will be looked upon as a goalkicker of the future. Played a game of Seconds for the Rovers at the end of last year and dominated taking many strong grabs and finishing with a couple of goals. A vry exciting prospect.

At this stage these are the only confirmed recruits however i believe the club may still be in discussions withseveral other possible additions, including a ruckman.
You should get a job as a sports Journo Darc!

By all reports Nth Albury has been doing there hardest pre-season in years, does any one rate Nth Albury as a chance this year??? Picked up a few quality players but have lost a few also. Any one in the know?

Not in the know but think they will go okay with some of the players they have picked up.

Didn't play in their premiership team last year and was very much in the shadow of No.1 ruckman Josh Frawley.
Originally from Cobram and was on the Murray Bushrangers list at some stage.

Kidding yourself Darc.

First 2 from O&K would struggle to get a senior gig at most O&M clubs.

If "Timmy Schuermann" is your number 1 big man i would hope your looking fairly hard for another couple of talls.

Typical Rovers bloke talking up not much at all!

Yes, looks like games won't be played at Wangaratta for the opening rounds of the season, a decision is being made regarding the fixtures on March 1.

Well someone had to get Porter and Stevens to Benalla, half the battle with country footy is being able to attract players and he seemed to do pretty well at Benalla.

It doesnt hurt when the brother of Anthony Stevens was playing playing at Benalla either (Brendan)

just curious to see if there is a bloke named jake ryan training with carowa. i played against him in the geelong fl. he's a strong midfielder and would be a great coup

Kidding yourself Darc.

First 2 from O&K would struggle to get a senior gig at most O&M clubs.

If "Timmy Schuermann" is your number 1 big man i would hope your looking fairly hard for another couple of talls.

Typical Rovers bloke talking up not much at all!

Clearly glitter your basing your opinion on Jamie and Tyler on the fact the are from the O&K. Fellow Rovers teamate John Conroy spent considerable time at Milawa winning 3 club best and fairests before coming into the Rovers and is now highly rated in the league. Jamie and Tyler are in much the same mould and many have thought they should of come in sooner. As for Timmy Schuermann, he will get under many guards this season. And at no stag did i mention that he was our number one ruckman. I clearly stated that we are in talks with ruckmen and also have other useful players who can fill that void. Out of curiousity, who do you support glitter? Maybe your a maggies man if you think you have such knowledge on these particular players?

I assume he is training at Corowa-Rutherglen after signing with them late last year along wih Nic Raines.
Are we talking recent times about Jake playing in the Geelong FL, Lucky?

Care to take a stab at how Rovers' best 21 will line-up Darc given your intimate knowledge of all things brown and gold?
Will be interesting to see where you slot a lot of these blokes in.
Have you conceded Jamie Allan is gone.
I rate him as the club's best player, just ahead of Andy Hill so he will be hard to replace.
Is Justin Hoggan back on the track yet?

Care to take a stab at how Rovers' best 21 will line-up Darc given your intimate knowledge of all things brown and gold?
Will be interesting to see where you slot a lot of these blokes in.
Have you conceded Jamie Allan is gone.
I rate him as the club's best player, just ahead of Andy Hill so he will be hard to replace.
Is Justin Hoggan back on the track yet?

I dont assume to know everything bout rovers i just can't stand people writing them off before the season has even begun. And we can't compete with big spending clubs like yarra and the maggies. But i think with what we have then we will give it a good go

My idea of a line up would be:

B: Conroy Gallop Allen
HB: Raven Kneebone Sharp
C: N.Hill A.Hill Mooney
HF: Hartwig Cyrzycki R.Hill
F: Taylor Christoforo McIntyre
F: J.Bell Tucci Gallop
Int: Strack K.Simpson Webb McLaughlin
Emerg: S.Oliver Hubble Harries Schuermann

However I have probably left some people out. I think it is a good team though. As far as i know Hoggan has been back running for half a year and is expected to play sometim throughout the season. Jamie will be hard to cover but Lee Gallop is a quality player and will be one of the stars of the comp this yar i think. Strack should be handy too.

Good effort.
But it's fair fall from grace for big Timmy. No.1 ruckman to kicking the dew off in the scoobies.
You are a hard man.
Also I reckon Anthony Carlile might be in the Hawks' best 21 and I've got a bit of an opinion of Kyle Simpson who didn't have a lot of luck with injury last year.
Wot about Luke Walker? Is he not coming back.

I assume he is training at Corowa-Rutherglen after signing with them late last year along wih Nic Raines.
Are we talking recent times about Jake playing in the Geelong FL, Lucky?

yer mate, played with st. mary's in gfl last year. broke his collarbone in week 1 of the finals i believe

Good effort.
But it's fair fall from grace for big Timmy. No.1 ruckman to kicking the dew off in the scoobies.
You are a hard man.
Also I reckon Anthony Carlile might be in the Hawks' best 21 and I've got a bit of an opinion of Kyle Simpson who didn't have a lot of luck with injury last year.
Wot about Luke Walker? Is he not coming back.

Yes i forgot about Anthony. Plays well when confidence is up. Unfortunatel Luke Walker isn't returning this year which will be a blow but hopefully Peter Taylor can stay injury free coz hes a star when fit and Steve McIntyre should deliver on his big wraps. You seem to have a fair knowledge of the hawks as well harsh, but fair. Can i ask who you are?

Most regulars on this thread know who HBF is as he always has the Mail.

Not too hard to work out who you are DB.

Has anyone heard any news regarding Albury's Adam Levy, talk is that he has left Albury and is set to play for Greta in the O&K League?