PC Pc Gaming/building thread

The worthiness is obviously subjective, but the 5700x3d is purely to alleviate any/most bottlenecks. Even my 5900x is a bottleneck at times. Then the graphics card will be just what you want to spend vs performance. We're going to need to wait for benchmarks which are still coming but the 5080 would give you more performance, but just wait to keep an eye on the 5070ti. It uses the same memory and has the same amount of memory as the 5080 and isn't too far shy in terms of shaders and RT cores and obviously will be better on the wallet. I'd wager it will come in very closely with the 4080 as the specs are similar. If you're planning on keeping it for a while then both the 5080 and 5070ti will have very similar longevity.

Thanks mate.

After reading your recent posts about 80/90 costs. I reckon 5070ti will be the go, and a good in-between upgrade. Plus there's a few other hobby purchases I wanna make.

Bloody hard balancing between voice in your head that says "pump $ into your mortgage". But we're here for a good time, not a long one. Wife and I don't and won't have kids, don't go out and get on this piss either. Got enjoy life and hard work in the end eh?

Thanks mate.

After reading your recent posts about 80/90 costs. I reckon 5070ti will be the go, and a good in-between upgrade. Plus there's a few other hobby purchases I wanna make.

Bloody hard balancing between voice in your head that says "pump $ into your mortgage". But we're here for a good time, not a long one. Wife and I don't and won't have kids, don't go out and get on this piss either. Got enjoy life and hard work in the end eh?

The wife doesn't usually have a say on what I spend on my hobbies like what she spends on her stuff is none of my business. However for this particular purchase I just run it by her and she scoffed but also gave the green light. We have no issues with the mortgage and I'm not putting more into it until rates come down (a rate cut next month would be hugely welcome), no kids either, we don't go out places and spend money (take away every friday doesn't count), no other outstanding debts besides the partial finance I have on the car (car loans I would assume are pretty normal), the emergency bathroom renovation last year is done and paid for, savings in the bank. You're right though. My head says it's irresponsible but it's also my hobby. She said I work hard and after a shit couple years I could do with splurging on something I enjoy doing.

I worked it out I average 28 hours a week on the computer. That's 2-4 hours most weeknights and weekend sessions. I'm roughly 2 years between graphics cards. Calculator says thats 2912 hours, and if I were round up new graphics card price to $5500 for worst case scenario or allow for not using it as much that's $1.88 an hour. I think that's a fair price for my hobby.

That's a long time rahrahrahrahrah (same criticism I cop lol)

I'd go for it if I had a computer (still yet to pull the trigger on my dream pc... not that I've used my 2012 era pc much over the last few years sticking with my gaming laptops etc).

I've turned my nose at prices for certain things (price of ssds when I wanted to update them, the laptops I had my eye on, the xbox expansion card etc), yet I still purchased them. They fulfil both a need and a want.

That's a long time rahrahrahrahrah (same criticism I cop lol)

I'd go for it if I had a computer (still yet to pull the trigger on my dream pc... not that I've used my 2012 era pc much over the last few years sticking with my gaming laptops etc).

I've turned my nose at prices for certain things (price of ssds when I wanted to update them, the laptops I had my eye on, the xbox expansion card etc), yet I still purchased them. They fulfil both a need and a want.

I don't game in the morning though so you got me there 😜.

Honestly I don't care how much or little someone else games. It's none of my business how they spend their time and I don't judge.

Regarding price it's a bit of need vs want I think. If I need something then I probably don't have a choice in it, don't care for it as much and just want to get it for the best price. If I want something it's probably not something I need but I want to be satisfied with the purchase. If it costs more I save more. If I can't afford it then I'm responsible enough to draw the line. I really wanted a new car in 2023 but didn't have enough deposit for what I wanted to keep the repayments at an amount I wanted to pay. I refused to bite off more than I was prepared to pay in finance so I kept saving for another 6 or so months to cover most of a brand new Kia Sportage that I bought last year.

I'm starting to see the "the price of a 5090 can buy a used car" line a lot. Absolutely no offence to these people but if that's your car budget then high end PC gaming isn't your thing. My first car was a VN Commodore, black rims, undercoat and needed work and cost $2500 in about 2001. Using the inflation calculator on the RBA site which only goes to 2023 (so will probably be a little higher now) comes out at $4503. So they're saying instead of buying a luxury item like a graphics card I'm better off buying another shitbox.

I actually do that a lot to myself lol. When I purchased a few ssd's in one hit (upgrading ssd's in multiple laptops - 2 birds 1 stone effectively lol). I was pondering the other things I could be buying with the same amount of money.

I recently added up the amount of money I had spent on the 4K movies I've purchased since 2020......... could have gone interstate a few times with the same amount of money, oh well!!

The wife doesn't usually have a say on what I spend on my hobbies like what she spends on her stuff is none of my business. However for this particular purchase I just run it by her and she scoffed but also gave the green light. We have no issues with the mortgage and I'm not putting more into it until rates come down (a rate cut next month would be hugely welcome), no kids either, we don't go out places and spend money (take away every friday doesn't count), no other outstanding debts besides the partial finance I have on the car (car loans I would assume are pretty normal), the emergency bathroom renovation last year is done and paid for, savings in the bank. You're right though. My head says it's irresponsible but it's also my hobby. She said I work hard and after a shit couple years I could do with splurging on something I enjoy doing.

I hear ya mate. We're practically the same across the board as well lol. Probably haven't been travelling as bad you - but when times are rough, retail therapy is warranted.

Yeah makes no sense. More future $ and time dealing with maintenance.

Speaking of cars though, my 07 Lancer started going to shit about 6 months ago. Silver lining of Mrs not working because of her condition meant that could just use her car. Wasn't keen on buying a shitbox for convenience. Put the 600 bucks towards gaming shit :) . If I had have bothered with another car in the 5 figures would have been big dent in savings, and probably not getting stuff I'm getting now. TLDR, those people can FRO. :)

I upgraded from an '09 FG Ford G6. Bought it for $16000 when it was only a few years old and just held onto it forever. By the end I was running it into the ground. Heaps of stuff was starting to go wrong with it. That's when I noticed that half decent second hand cars aren't as cheap as they used to be and decided I was just better off saving more of buying some brand new. That's why I know these comments that for the price of a 5090 you could buy a second hand car are rubbish lol.

PC Pc Gaming/building thread