Peter Street - we must get him

Aug 3, 2007
Peter Street should be our number one poaching priority this October. The man is huge, and can win 20+ taps a game and take a good grab. Brogan has an anger problem and won't leave Port, and Warnock is not developed - he's only just above Hampson. I don't see what all the fuss is about in regards to him.

If we got Street, he could take #1 ruck giving us twice as much first use of the ball. Cloke would be #2 and would make up for Street's difficiences around the ground. This gives Kreuzer the option to play forward for longer, and also rest him more often in the VFL for a rucking role - we don't want a Josh Fraser. Hampson will also be able to develop a lot better and take his time. Street would be 31 around 2010, meaning he will retire in the same time frame as when Hampson and Kreuzer can take full ruck roles. Perfect fit really.

Blues 4th round pick (55 or so) + Adam Hartlett for Peter Street. I reckon the doggies could use Adam well as a CHF or FF target - Fevola leeches too much ball off him.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=477508 - discussion with Bulldogs.

I hope the Club is looking very seriously at him.

I don't know about recruiting older rucks.

Hasn't worked for us in the past. Actually has backfired horribly on us in the past.

We are getting smashed in the Ruck weekly - but are good enough to win the clearances anyway more often than not.

I dont think the damage caused by our inexperienced/ undersized rucks is hurting us as anywhere near as much as our one dimensional forward line. Its the rebounds out of 50 that KILL us.

Chase forwards. A tall marking forward with good hands and a good kick for CHF. That Brown fella from Brisbane looks pretty good. ;) And another small crumbing forward pocket specialist would help as well (god knows we don't take many marks inside 50).

Im just not sold on the the idea of another older Ruck.

Peter Street should be our number one poaching priority this October. The man is huge, and can win 20+ taps a game and take a good grab. Brogan has an anger problem and won't leave Port, and Warnock is not developed - he's only just above Hampson. I don't see what all the fuss is about in regards to him.

If we got Street, he could take #1 ruck giving us twice as much first use of the ball. Cloke would be #2 and would make up for Street's difficiences around the ground. This gives Kreuzer the option to play forward for longer, and also rest him more often in the VFL for a rucking role - we don't want a Josh Fraser. Hampson will also be able to develop a lot better and take his time. Street would be 31 around 2010, meaning he will retire in the same time frame as when Hampson and Kreuzer can take full ruck roles. Perfect fit really.

Blues 4th round pick (55 or so) + Adam Hartlett for Peter Street. I reckon the doggies could use Adam well as a CHF or FF target - Fevola leeches too much ball off him.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=477508 - discussion with Bulldogs.

This would be unfair for the Dogs, that would be robbery.

this thread is a joke yeah?
peter street is probably top 5 worst players in the afl.
dylan mcclaren, cain hackland and now peter street, what a joke.

You must be joking, you would actually give a draft pick away for him, have we not had enough useless ruckman in the past five years, surely the focus should be the continued development of Hampson/Kruezer and focus attention on recruiting some more forward options.
Peter Street is tall but that is were it finishes, he has nothing to offer us, otherwise why we he not be getting a game with the Bulldogs if he was any good.

You have suggested Kruezer resting in the reserves, he is going to improve significantly next year with endurance and physical development, he has not played seconds this year, he will go onto bigger things next year, he will not be playing seconds footy in 2009 .

Older average ruck players (e.g. like King) are going for nothing these days in terms of trades. I doubt any club would offer anything significant at all for Street. In fact, WB may want rid of him to make room in their salary cap. Think we could get him for nothing or our very last pick. If this was case I would vote yes to sign him on for 2 years, just for use as a tap ruckman. I dont rate him highly at all but we need a ruck who can win first use of the ball. Judd is such a professional, he would ensure Street provides great system and first tap to advantage. This would then allow Kruezer and Hampson to develop normally.
PS I'm of the same opinion with the other experienced ruck options that will be available in this years draft. If you can get them for nothing or last pick, then YES!

That would make the perfect trifecta of crap ruckman recruited from other clubs - Dylan McLaren, Cain Ackland and Peter Street. :thumbsdown:

More like a quadrella of crap. You forgot Ricky Mott. :eek:

I would rather get Harry Madden back on the training track than opt for Peter Street. At 47 years of age I am certain that Harry would have more to offer.

Get on board. Bring back Harry. You know it makes sense.

Is this an April Fools joje - no it can't be it is August...
Do you have any idea mate - the best place for P Street is Willy.. Why would we recruit an AFL ruckam closer to 30 than 20 who has never been able to establish hikslef at the level despite nearly 10 years in the system...

Wake up to yourself mate !!!