Pets

Clyde enjoying his Christmas Day arvo bone after I came home from my pig out. Bonnie over other side with hers, it's better that way.

dogsxmas2011.jpg

On another matter, how do you get your dogs to socialise with other dogs. Mine have only ever had anything to do with one, neighbour at back, who "broke" in on Saturday night, no drama but mine do go nuts if anyone walks past with their dog if they happen to be in front yard. I've met a couple not far from me who have a Dalmation pup, about 14 weeks old, as well as a few other people I know on Maggie with dogs and it would be nice to walk with others, but being the school/Xmas holiday period I've noticed more people out walking dogs I've not seen and it's taken all my strength to hold Clyde back when he spots a dog walking ACROSS the street when we are out. Don't know if he wants to be friends, or go for the jugular as he lets out this high pitched bark, not his usual baritone. He met the other Dally today so to speak when the owners pulled up in their car this morning, he was happy to see people/dog and no barking, and I'm happy that the young dog in the car looked happy, meanwhile, Bonnie, held back and let out a whine or two.

Gabbie, we're going through the process at the moment with a new dog and the Maremma. When they're at home they're in different areas and one barks (nervously/excitedly) and the other ignores. If we let them mix off-lead there'd be an incident, I reckon.

We're taking them on long walks on-lead and keeping ourselves between them as we walk along.

So far, so good. But early days.

Cesar might tell you to tag along on a walk on the lead with one or two well adjusted dogs and gradually join in, but we don't have access to any well adjusted dogs so we have to make do.

I once had a Mexican walking fish named Jose Romero.

Do the flogs in Bay 13 count as pets?

If so, I have a few of those also.

I suspect they're your biatches, not your pets!

Is there any love there for any of them?

Gabbie, we're going through the process at the moment with a new dog and the Maremma. When they're at home they're in different areas and one barks (nervously/excitedly) and the other ignores. If we let them mix off-lead there'd be an incident, I reckon.

We're taking them on long walks on-lead and keeping ourselves between them as we walk along.

So far, so good. But early days.

Cesar might tell you to tag along on a walk on the lead with one or two well adjusted dogs and gradually join in, but we don't have access to any well adjusted dogs so we have to make do.

I hear you Mr R. Would like to walk them with another but most people are snoring their heads off when I get up around 5.30 a.m. in the summer. Sooooooooo hot and humid at the moment.

Clyde's the worst one to re-act when he spots a dog not too far away. His bark even changes to a higher note than his usual baritone. He tries to get over to the other dog, maybe he wants to say hello and play, but when there's just me with two of them, each pulling in different directions (Bonnie goes all girly and wimpers and Clyde leaping and tugging on his lead) it's a bit hard. All Cesar's tip of "calm and assertive" goes out the window but I'm getting better. Usually same reaction when they spot a wallaby so maybe it's just other furry type animals that set them off, they completely ignore the horses in the paddock, maybe cos horses way bigger.

I've only taken them to the beach a few times as I had someone with me but that is a nightmare for me as there are a lot of people who live near me or even drive to "my" beach, it's a biggie, who let their dogs off the lead (a no no by law) and let them run. Some of the local bogans have big butch dogs that, let's say, are trained to be a bit agressive. Besides, mine are getting on and with the hotter mornings I've cut their walk down.

There was a glimmer of hope when the other dally owner pulled up today, an almost friendly greeting of sorts by Clyde who wanted to get up at full stretch against her 4WD with tail wagging. I'm thinking of giving her a call and see what we can arrange, her husband can tag along as well til the dogs get to know each other and everything should be honkey dorey, I Hope.

We can count the fleas if ya want :D

Clyde enjoying his Christmas Day arvo bone after I came home from my pig out. Bonnie over other side with hers, it's better that way.

dogsxmas2011.jpg

On another matter, how do you get your dogs to socialise with other dogs. Mine have only ever had anything to do with one, neighbour at back, who "broke" in on Saturday night, no drama but mine do go nuts if anyone walks past with their dog if they happen to be in front yard. I've met a couple not far from me who have a Dalmation pup, about 14 weeks old, as well as a few other people I know on Maggie with dogs and it would be nice to walk with others, but being the school/Xmas holiday period I've noticed more people out walking dogs I've not seen and it's taken all my strength to hold Clyde back when he spots a dog walking ACROSS the street when we are out. Don't know if he wants to be friends, or go for the jugular as he lets out this high pitched bark, not his usual baritone. He met the other Dally today so to speak when the owners pulled up in their car this morning, he was happy to see people/dog and no barking, and I'm happy that the young dog in the car looked happy, meanwhile, Bonnie, held back and let out a whine or two.

We have similar issue with Princess (our maltese/poodle), she'll bark at everything that moves outside the window and yaps at all the other dogs at the park. Luckily though she's only little thing, so she's no danger to other dogs.

Jack on the other hand, the complete opposite despite his pit bull intimidating look about him. Very placid and hardly ever barks.

If it's too much of a problem, perhaps its for the best if they didn't socialize with other dogs Gabbie.

Congratulations to you and Mrs TT for forking out the big bucks, TT :thumbsu:.

What a Christmas present you've given Archer and it's also a gift of love that you have shared with us.

Sounds a bit soppy but animal lovers will know what I'm trying to say.

Thanks Mr R. The dollar drain is a fair way from stopping too, given chemo's still to come, but there's nothing surer than the fact that IF we lost Archer as the vet expected, this Christmas would've been shyte. We all know how much we love our little hairy friends and I'm fortunate to be able to pay for the best help available (albeit on plastic for now). As the vet said "that surgeon's Archer's ONLY chance!"

With him being as much a part of our family as anyone else I couldn't face myself if I didn't give him his best chance at life. Love the little bloke!

He's doing well too btw, getting plenty of R&R at home, hating the collar and dribbling his wet food (which has to be stirred in a bowl filled with water to fend off dehydration) all over the place and providing me with plenty of great moments. I was away interstate for a couple of days over Chrissie and I can't believe how affectionate he's been since I've returned. It's like he knows how reliant he is on my support. Previously he was a funny and loud barking dog who guarded the family patch but who'd sit/stand alongside you whenever you were with him. It's like he has PTSD now.

So bloody glad he's still here. :thumbsu:

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year to y'all. :thumbsu:

We can count the fleas if ya want :D

We have similar issue with Princess (our maltese/poodle), she'll bark at everything that moves outside the window and yaps at all the other dogs at the park. Luckily though she's only little thing, so she's no danger to other dogs.

Jack on the other hand, the complete opposite despite his pit bull intimidating look about him. Very placid and hardly ever barks.

If it's too much of a problem, perhaps its for the best if they didn't socialize with other dogs Gabbie.

Those little dogs don't seem to be scared of anything do they, dogs have no conception of size so I guess Princess thinks she's as big as a Great Dane.

You're right Dan about not socialising with other woofers but I feel a bit guilty they don't. They're more happy with humans and if anyone came into the yard they'd say "welcome, help yourself". Their good points far outweigh their bad ones. Hey there was a thunder storm here last night and still a bit of distant thunder around this morning, and what did my two do, wanted to go for walkies, no fear of thunder, so off we trotted, and any dogs that can sleep through a Cat 4 Cyclone can't be too bad. huh.:)

Thanks Mr R. The dollar drain is a fair way from stopping too, given chemo's still to come, but there's nothing surer than the fact that IF we lost Archer as the vet expected, this Christmas would've been shyte. We all know how much we love our little hairy friends and I'm fortunate to be able to pay for the best help available (albeit on plastic for now). As the vet said "that surgeon's Archer's ONLY chance!"

With him being as much a part of our family as anyone else I couldn't face myself if I didn't give him his best chance at life. Love the little bloke!

He's doing well too btw, getting plenty of R&R at home, hating the collar and dribbling his wet food (which has to be stirred in a bowl filled with water to fend off dehydration) all over the place and providing me with plenty of great moments. I was away interstate for a couple of days over Chrissie and I can't believe how affectionate he's been since I've returned. It's like he knows how reliant he is on my support. Previously he was a funny and loud barking dog who guarded the family patch but who'd sit/stand alongside you whenever you were with him. It's like he has PTSD now.

So bloody glad he's still here. :thumbsu:

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year to y'all. :thumbsu:

I reckon he knows TT and is trying his darndest not to disappoint. You can't beat a dog's unconditional love. I'm so glad for you and yours that he is still with you. Speaking for myself it's like we're willing Archer and Molly Meldrum to be back to their usual selves in no time.

Take care and you have a happy New Year.:)

:D ha, priceless - wonder if he lasted long after Mr Romero became a Bulldog?

I reckon he knows TT and is trying his darndest not to disappoint. You can't beat a dog's unconditional love. I'm so glad for you and yours that he is still with you. Speaking for myself it's like we're willing Archer and Molly Meldrum to be back to their usual selves in no time.

Take care and you have a happy New Year.:)

I echo these sentiments TT, keep punching Arch :thumbsu:

Xmas day has come again for my two. Frist the Woollies grocery delivery guy just dropped off my order, they love him, then as he left the lawn mowing guy rocked up who they think is the best thing since sliced bread, cos he gives them big pats when he's finished. Clyde was like a dog with two dicks (lol), raced around the yard, coconut palms and up the drive way like a two year old. Happy day

Jack on Xmas eve got excited by a Green Grocer Bug that was flying around the outside window....

[YOUTUBE]4qJNCwTr6gI[/YOUTUBE]

They are those noisy little buggers you hear at dusk.

Jack on Xmas eve got excited by a Green Grocer Bug that was flying around the outside window....

[YOUTUBE]4qJNCwTr6gI[/YOUTUBE]

They are those noisy little buggers you hear at dusk.

When your dog gets a bit antsy about something outside you get up, wondering if something with 2 legs is there uninvited, so out you go, and it's just a bug. Relief but funny. huh.

Who needs toys when dogs can chase and catch bugs. The march flies have been horrendous here, yay for rain and they're gone for the time being. Bonnie has been having a ball catching them or swooping on the ones I've killed with my trusty plastic fly swatter. Clyde has tried but his heart wasn't in it and doesn't like the taste of them, go figure when he loves the taste of wallaby poo.

Glad that's all you have for noise at dusk, throw in the lorikeets, curlews, cockies, crows, kookaburras and other bird life and it's screech city here, though I am getting used to it. Sometimes just before dusk or very early in the morning I can hear the mating call of a male koala, there is a hill a few streets back of mine where they live. It's the best feeling when you're out and about on Maggie and you spot one in a tree and if there is a baby one as well, it's a bonus, never have the camera though when you see one.

Hope you all have a Happy New Year and if you are going out, be safe and make sure you dog is secured safely in case of fire works. My brother once spent NYE wandering the streets of Glen Waverely after his 2 dogs went nuts over fireworks and escaped, one of which was an old dog who was half blind and deaf but somehow managed to dig under a fence he was so terrified. Dogs found eventually with another escapee who spent the night til owner was called next day.

We used to have a dog named Tigger. Sadly we had to get him put down on january 5th 2011 due to blindness. It got to the point where he was worried that the grass would poke him in the eyes when we would take him outside for him to do his business.

Am currently over at my sister in laws and they have two dogs called rexy and izzy, and a rabbit named whitey. They also have tropical fish in a tank.
Yeah the names of the dogs and the rabbit are original. My niece named the rabbit whitey when she was 6 years old. The rabbit is 7 years old. They used to have a guinea pig called squeak (my nephew named him that when he was 5).
The dogs names came from my niece and nephew as well. When they were 8 and 9 years old the family decided on getting two dogs.
The dogs are a cross breed. Golden Cocker Spaniel x King Charles Cavileer spaniel. They look more like cocker spaniels though.

2quqefd.jpg

This is our cat. We rescued her from a Cat Shelter back in 2003. She was 1. So now she's 9, almost 10 (human years). Her name is Cookie, but she doesn't answer to it.

9llbbt.png

And even though she's "Black and White" and a "Cat" she actually supports North Melbourne ;)

2quqefd.jpg

This is our cat. We rescued her from a Cat Shelter back in 2003. She was 1. So now she's 9, almost 10 (human years). Her name is Cookie, but she doesn't answer to it.

9llbbt.png

And even though she's "Black and White" and a "Cat" she actually supports North Melbourne ;)

Lovely Cat. If dogs, chooks, alpacas and wookies can support North, then i'm sure a black and white cat can:thumbsu:

Yep, a cutie pie is Cookie.

And, my black and white dogs support North, they're even members, can't wait for their North tags to arrive so I can pop it on their collars and show off when we go for walks.

Meanwhile, a sleep in this morning would have been nice but no the whines started around 5.40 a.m. for their morning constitutional. I didn't have a real late one but geeez dogs.

Hope all of you had a pleasant and or fun evening and no dramas with your pets if you live near any fire works.

We used to have a dog named Tigger. Sadly we had to get him put down on january 5th 2011 due to blindness. It got to the point where he was worried that the grass would poke him in the eyes when we would take him outside for him to do his business. Am currently over at my sister in laws and they have two dogs called rexy and izzy, and a rabbit named whitey. They also have tropical fish in a tank. Yeah the names of the dogs and the rabbit are original. My niece named the rabbit whitey when she was 6 years old. The rabbit is 7 years old. They used to have a guinea pig called squeak (my nephew named him that when he was 5). The dogs names came from my niece and nephew as well. When they were 8 and 9 years old the family decided on getting two dogs. The dogs are a cross breed. Golden Cocker Spaniel x King Charles Cavileer spaniel. They look more like cocker spaniels though.

Aaww, shame about Tigger, hopefully up there in doggie heaven chasing tennis balls and eating the best bones.

Any chance of a pic of your "nephew/niece" pets? They're part of your family's family so it counts. :)

Sister's dog on her walk yesterday....

That's one happy looking pooch Dan.

Not much excitement happening in the past day or so on my dog walks til this morning when I returned home. Shut gat, took leads off and they both went to spot in yard sniffing around, I investigate and :eek::eek: SNAKE, lucky a headless dead one. About a metre long, skinny, with pale brown patterned markings. Dragged dogs away and put em out the back, grabbed shovel and now snake in bin. I hate snakes mroe than anything, would rather go to the dentist in fact than have to deal with a snake. How it got there beats me, maybe fell out of a bird's mouth???

That's one happy looking pooch Dan.

Not much excitement happening in the past day or so on my dog walks til this morning when I returned home. Shut gat, took leads off and they both went to spot in yard sniffing around, I investigate and :eek::eek: SNAKE, lucky a headless dead one. About a metre long, skinny, with pale brown patterned markings. Dragged dogs away and put em out the back, grabbed shovel and now snake in bin. I hate snakes mroe than anything, would rather go to the dentist in fact than have to deal with a snake. How it got there beats me, maybe fell out of a bird's mouth???

I found half a rabbit near our house, inside our fences, the other day. Maybe a fox dropped it there?? Probably too heavy even for a crow to carry.

Had to pick it up and dispose of it (yuk!). Otherwise, Tyson the Lab would have happily eaten most of it.

I'm with you on the snakes, Gabbie. You seem to have more varieties and more non-poisonous ones than we do down south. They're all to be given a wide berth of course.

Pets