This is what I was trying to say as well a little earlier in the threadI feel like every player we make captain turns to turd for a couple years going back to Wanganeen
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
This is what I was trying to say as well a little earlier in the threadI feel like every player we make captain turns to turd for a couple years going back to Wanganeen
Yeah and he's having a down year and maybe its because of an injury, maybe life, maybe the captaincy.Connor Rozee is a jet and will end up a pretty solid captain under a better coach. His best is yet to come I reckon
Dunno pretty sure Bevo is Kane Cornes dad at this point.No premiership coach the last decade was anything close to a "father figure"
It's all too nice at the club
He's 24 years old with a kid and he's getting married next month. And yet here is he talking about Ken being a father figure to the players. Gonna have Ken hold your hand at the wedding too, Connor?
This whole "father figure" stuff is absolute garbage. Ken has turned his young boys into a bunch of Peter Pans who will never grow up under his tutelage.
They need a massive reality check and to ultimately grow the fück up.
Yep but most clubs have intelligent voices with them. At Port the nuffies have taken over internally.Every AFL player is encouraged to ignore outside noise if they listened to all the nuffies on the street, the media hype etc they'd go mad.
Connor Rozee is a jet and will end up a pretty solid captain under a better coach. His best is yet to come I reckon
To be fair, I have a 24 year old - he's actually pretty mature for his age and he speaks really well. I've met Connor and he's a decent bloke. His job as Captain is to lead his team, set an example by playing good hard football and represent his club in a way that makes its members proud. While I think JHF will be our best captain I think Rozee does a decent job in the interim. When he said that in his 6 years of footy he's been in in the top four in four of the six years it made me realise that while my kids haven't seen us win a grand final they've definitely been to a lot of winning games - the club hasn't had its greatest success as yet but we've been bloody close. Rozee had a quiet game last week I'm going to give him the benefit of the doubt that he'll come out firing on Friday.
Thats Ridiculous, JHF is nowherenear ready for captaincy.If he fails to raise the bar tomorrow night & we get embarrassed again the new coach will appoint JHF Captain, & rightfully so.
I don’t agree with the second sentence. But agree that he shouldn’t be captain yet.Thats Ridiculous, JHF is nowherenear ready for captaincy.
This whole board Glazes him way too much.
We're just desperate for someone who wants to win and is prepared to do something about it.Thats Ridiculous, JHF is nowherenear ready for captaincy.
You've completely missed the point I made.
They've always been around the mark the last few years in particular - talent has never been an issue, it's all mental with this lot. But until this playing group grows up and is treated like men instead of boys, it'll always be a boys vs men matchup in the finals.
Thats Ridiculous, JHF is nowherenear ready for captaincy.
butters does, everyone knows it, but this board seems to act like JHF is some god.We're just desperate for someone who wants to win and is prepared to do something about it.
On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Mate,Butters's praise for Ken is well beyond what would be considered normal football club lip service and solidarity. That's why.
Also he's got a longer record of finals underachieving.
Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk
I feel like the biggest myth about Connor Rozee is that he is a good ball user.Just coz JHF appears to be a once in a generation talent, it doesn’t mean every other player is sub par ffs. Different players, different strengths and different all round ability. Rozzee isn’t an enforcer type who wins a hard ball, bulldozes through packs and wins multiple 1:1 contests against larger opponents like JHF does. He does bring silky ball use, vision and a cool head. It’s been reported he’s supportive to all the players and well respected. He will get there and grow with maturity.
JHF definitely leads on field through his tough and fearless approach which is great! You don’t have to have the title ‘ captain ‘ to be a leader.
I thought Rozee, Butters and JHF were all between 65 to 71% disposal efficiency? (Not that I put much weight on that measure).I feel like the biggest myth about Connor Rozee is that he is a good ball user.
He is a blaster. All his kicks are 50m bombs that go to contests.
If you watch JHF or Butters they both always look to spot up the 15-30m lead up. They are good ball users. Rozee is not.
He has a good nose around goals and, on a good day, can eat up metres with his run and carry.
But his actual ball use is not much better than a Boak type player.
So he’s Tony McguinessI feel like the biggest myth about Connor Rozee is that he is a good ball user.
If you watch JHF or Butters they both always look to spot up the 15-30m lead up. They are good ball users. Rozee is not.
He has a good nose around goals and, on a good day, can eat up metres with his run and carry.
I feel like the biggest myth about Connor Rozee is that he is a good ball user.
What stats?You won't like what the stats say in regard to this..
It's true that Rozee is more of a "Long down the line" type. But he's also far from a poor ball user.
Butters easily the best kick out of the 3.