Opinion Pick 5* 2024 – Who do you want? (profiles and consensus rankings included)

Who are your TWO favourite options for Pick 5*?

Updated Draft Tracker with combine results, talent league stats and consensus rankings

I know he is tied to an NGA but I'd still take a dip at Kako at pick #5 and see if the Bombers blink.

Best small forward in the pool and I reckon he'd make a good duo with Pickett.

All the good teams have a great group of smalls. I don't want to see us run it back with Chandler or DJ Shitboy as Pickett's running mate.

Yeah small forward is a huge hole in our list.

Not that it matters if Goody still plays five lumbering talls up forward.

I think you're conflating speed with an ability to operate in space and think quickly.

Bont and Pendles aren't the fastest players around, but they find space and use it well. I think Langford (and probably Reid) can do that as well.

We don't need someone with leg speed for the sake of leg speed.
Agree here, Hawthorn and Pies are the two fastest ball movement teams but not because they are littered with speedy players.

They have some real plodders but are smart with hands, composure, spacial awareness and taking the aggressive kick when it's on. They have mobile forward lines that push up and back hard. They play to their individual strengths.

We play too many talls and a style that sucks all the fun out.

I know he is tied to an NGA but I'd still take a dip at Kako at pick #5 and see if the Bombers blink.

Best small forward in the pool and I reckon he'd make a good duo with Pickett.

All the good teams have a great group of smalls. I don't want to see us run it back with Chandler or DJ Shitboy as Pickett's running mate.
Kako would be a great get but no way Bombers don't take him just because we bid at 5 which will be 6 by then.

A few hundred extra points isn't going to scare them off. Not going to pass on him to keep pick 20 something and bunch of other picks they don't need to use. The system is so generous it just isn't a consideration.

Twomey's October Phantom Form Guide and updated rankings have been added to the profiles now

Both Lalor and Smillie in their interviews on SEN said after Ashcroft that FOS was the standout player in the draft with the highest ceiling.

We're linked to reaching for pretty much every KPF according to that list. Not surprised by the main guys we are linked to but it was a bit of a surprise to see us mentioned as possibly considering Lindsay at pick 5.
I think we do need a couple of small defenders with both leg speed, and the IQ to setup attacking moves by foot.

I've had Lindsay as an preference option with our picks for a while now.

Another i like as an option is Berry, I can also see him as a Zorko like small defender, who can spot-up free players inside the corridor, or run & carry the footy himself thru our corridor.

Just 2 options there, however jSmith still looms, as well as Lalor, FO's, Draper...

We're linked to reaching for pretty much every KPF according to that list. Not surprised by the main guys we are linked to but it was a bit of a surprise to see us mentioned as possibly considering Lindsay at pick 5.
Going to blow a gasket if we draft a forward. Wouldn't matter if we drafted Buddy or Plugger into this team with the way we move the footy.

I've got doubts we would take one of the KPF's at 5 or 9. It seems to me like lazy journalism, but I've come to expect that.
I think we do need a couple of small defenders with both leg speed, and the IQ to setup attacking moves by foot.

I've had Lindsay as an preference option with our picks for a while now.

Another i like as an option is Berry, I can also see him as a Zorko like small defender, who can spot-up free players inside the corridor, or run & carry the footy himself thru our corridor.

Just 2 options there, however jSmith still looms, as well as Lalor, FO's, Draper...
I'm definitely not against taking Lindsay, just surprised to see him linked at 5 as he's mostly been ranked in the teens. JT's never shy about "reaching" for a player that goes against the grain early on, so if he picks Lindsay I'll be on board.

The optimist in me thinks that if we draft a forward that we might drop Petty to the magoos.

Doubt it, we will just put him down at Casey forward line with 5 other NQR tall forwards to compete with. That is if the ball ever gets down there since we have absolutely **** all midfield depth.

I've got doubts we would take one of the KPF's at 5 or 9. It seems to me like lazy journalism, but I've come to expect that.

I'm definitely not against taking Lindsay, just surprised to see him linked at 5 as he's mostly been ranked in the teens. JT's never shy about "reaching" for a player that goes against the grain early on, so if he picks Lindsay I'll be on board.

Most people who do phantom drafts have clubs they don’t support reaching to drive the agenda there fav teams will clean up.

I remember one year they had us taking Harley Balic at pick 7 in the phantoms.

I really like Lindsay, without injuries he would be much higher rated. Think 5 is too much of a reach but onboard for doing it at 9.

Guys like him and Hotton being pegged as 15+ picks is why I'd be comfortable splitting that 9 pick if the offer keeps us in striking distance of one of them and then an early/mid 20's pick for a key position player or small forward. I expect a few good ones to still be on the board there.

I don't think Lindsay in necessarily a P5... probably maybe a bit lower...
but it's which types will bring the missing skill sets that will complement the matured parts of the team.

Remember, we are not in a rebuild, but a mini refit.

From the videos I've watched over the past 5 weeks, and from written reports, and mentions on here, Lindsay is in one of my favorites list, along with Berry.. Berry said to be a small forward, I can see as a small-mid, playing behind the footy and pushing into f50.

Playmakers from the back behind the ball who can break the lines, via leg, or by great disposal skills.
... the movers with the footy in hand, who can deliver really well and with leg speed... they're the ones IMO, who I want, so this influences my thinking about our needs.

I've said it before... I'm not looking for bigger bodied Mids right now... as I think we have plenty, and we ARE too one-paced thru the core of our team sheets.

I am of the opinion that its easier to find big bodied Mids from drafts... than it is to find great uses of the ball who have the courage and toughness to get inside the stoppages and come away with the footy... and who can also then deliver.
These are the types who so often go on to become Brownlow medalists. And why its hard to find them in drafts.
This draft is said to be deep with Mids, and depth of quality.

We do have a number of players listed who can come in and perform in the running department... but we have too few who can turn on a 6-pence with ball in hand and deliver Via either foot side OR by Hand, off each side.

This is, I believe, a part of our issues with transition... and accurate delivery to hit-up our forwards; and so then to score.

Opinion Pick 5* 2024 – Who do you want? (profiles and consensus rankings included)