Opinion Pick 6* – who do you want?

Who are your TWO favourite options for Pick 6*?

Def don't want Sanders. Def don't want an interstate player in Curtin who will get poached in a couple years like Petty.

Give me Caddy or O'Sullivan please 🙏

Doesnt want Curtin coz hes from interstate and will be poached, happy to have O'Sullivan :drunk:

Def don't want Sanders. Def don't want an interstate player in Curtin who will get poached in a couple years like Petty.

Give me Caddy or O'Sullivan please 🙏
O'Sullivan looks a more safe bet than Caddy to me. As much as we need forwards, I reckon having a ready made replacement for May is more important. Tomlinson is on his last legs, May drawing closer to retirement, Petty looking likely to leave. That backline can start to look as bad as our F50 very quickly if we don't look to bring in a defender or two.

Pendles is obvious comparison with the way he moves I think, Curtin might not have Pendles long speed but there are similarities. The way Curtin is able to elude tacklers in a phone booth is pretty special. Never gets caught never looks rushed. I think he processes things at an extremely high level.

Simon Black another good example of a "slow player" where it doesnt matter coz he processes things so quickly.
Agree with your broad point. Need to watch more of Curtin as I’ve only watched the champs games when they were on 4 months ago. To me at the time he looked a bit of a lurch.

Surely North take Curtin? Them taking two mids would be weird with how many young guys in that position they already have.
I get this train of thought but it depends on the mids available at their picks how they project them to develop and the scope of the players they already have in the middle on their list. They look to have nailed it with Sheezel and Wardlaw but after that it gets a little murkier.

Davies-Uniacke has been a bit of a slow burn but looks to be coming good albeit I think there are still a few doubts about his overall fitness.

Simpkin is also good but is he ever going to be better than a B+?

Tarryn Thomas is talented but could easily have a Colin Sylvia or worse career.

Stephenson is quite crap and Phillips looks a genuine flop at this stage.

If Reid and McKercher round out their midfield I can see them overlooking Curtin. We added Viney, Petracca, Brayshaw and Oliver in short succession (albeit with far worse mid stocks) and it helped us deliver 21. I reckon when you’re at ground zero in a rebuild, your safest bet is to get in mids with those pointy end picks.

I get this train of thought but it depends on the mids available at their picks how they project them to develop and the scope of the players they already have in the middle on their list. They look to have nailed it with Sheezel and Wardlaw but after that it gets a little murkier.

Davies-Uniacke has been a bit of a slow burn but looks to be coming good albeit I think there are still a few doubts about his overall fitness.

Simpkin is also good but is he ever going to be better than a B+?

Tarryn Thomas is talented but could easily have a Colin Sylvia or worse career.

Stephenson is quite crap and Phillips looks a genuine flop at this stage.

If Reid and McKercher round out their midfield I can see them overlooking Curtin. We added Viney, Petracca, Brayshaw and Oliver in short succession (albeit with far worse mid stocks) and it helped us deliver 21. I reckon when you’re at ground zero in a rebuild, your safest bet is to get in mids with those pointy end picks.

Tend to agree mate.

Interested in if they might take a look at Watson, but can't go wrong with quality mids.

Durs & McKercher seems pretty likely from afar.

He measured 197cm and 95kg at the combine so he’s still growing!
If he can play as a mid at that height he'll be a lot closer to filling the hole left by Jackson than Grundy ever could have been.

Doomsday scenario at the top and how I fully expect it to shake out (if there aren't any trades)

Could live with those picks for us given who is available at both

Interesting mate!

For me;
  • Don't see North picking needs @ 4
  • Hope we don't bid on Croft.... not sure he's worth the risk in first round
I'd prefer Sanders or O'Sullivan to Caddy, but admittedly haven't followed this cohort very closely.

Most random comparison ever. I've got no idea what the point was either.
Curtin to fall out of love with the game in a years time, retire, and set us back ten years.

Interesting mate!

For me;
  • Don't see North picking needs @ 4
  • Hope we don't bid on Croft.... not sure he's worth the risk in first round
I'd prefer Sanders or O'Sullivan to Caddy, but admittedly haven't followed this cohort very closely.

Bulldogs will match, selecting Croft is just about getting them to pay up.

Curtin to fall out of love with the game in a years time, retire, and set us back ten years.

All those Victorian kids falling out of love with the game. Stuck in between a rock and a hard place. Do we pick someone who WILL get poached by interstate clubs or someone who will retire in 3 or 4 years after drafting him?

Fold the club is on the table surely?

All those Victorian kids falling out of love with the game. Stuck in between a rock and a hard place. Do we pick someone who WILL get poached by interstate clubs or someone who will retire in 3 or 4 years after drafting him?

Fold the club is on the table surely?
Take all the Tasmanian kids, then when the new Tassie team comes in we ask the AFL to make us the second Tasmanian team, taking the go-home factor off the table.

Toump just doesn't like his brother. That's what he's going off.
It's not that I don't like his brother, It's that I absolutely ****in' hate him.

Doomsday scenario at the top and how I fully expect it to shake out (if there aren't any trades)

Could live with those picks for us given who is available at both

Yeah, would take that if Curtin was off the board. Windsor getting to our second pick would be ideal.

Maybe Zane hates him as much as you do and thinks the bow and arrow is super cringe too :$
Bow and arrow would be the first topic if I was a recruiter conducting an interview with young Zane.

Zane is a big fan of Michel Jordan, I doubt he's about bow and arrow nonsense, probably a fan of telling his teammates they are shit, something you like Toump. I think you and Zane would get along great.

0:58